New York State Census, 1865 - FamilySearch Historical Records
|Access the Records|
New York State Census, 1865
|This article describes a collection of records at FamilySearch.org.|
|New York, |
|Flag of New York|
|Location of New York|
|Record Type||State Census|
What is in This Collection?[edit | edit source]
This collection contains most of the 1865 New York state census records still in existence. Most counties are covered, but some records were destroyed. The record is a printed form that was filled in by hand by the enumerator. The records are usually arranged by county and town.
This census does not cover the entire population of the state of New York. The following counties are missing:
- New York
- St Lawrence
Ten schedules were filed for each locality, including population, marriages, and deaths schedules.
The population schedule includes the name, age, birthplace, and occupation of each household member.
The collection includes two military schedules with information of officers and enlisted men currently in the military and officers and enlisted men who had served in the military. This census contains information on when and where the individual first entered the military, their rank, how long they were in the service, their present health, as well as several other items.
The census also includes tables on marriages and deaths occurring during the year ending June 1, 1865. These tables contain typical marriage and death information.
One other table that contains valuable information is entitled deaths of officers and enlisted men. This table contains deaths of individuals which had occurred while in the military or naval service of the United States, or from wounds or disease acquired in said service since April, 1861, reported by the families to which the deceased belonged when at home. It includes the name of the deceased, age at death, if married or single, if a citizen, several items relating to military information, date of death, place of death, manner of death, survivors of the deceased, place of burial and any remarks.
To Browse This Collection[edit | edit source]
|You can browse through images in this collection using the waypoints on the Collection Browse Page for New York, State Census, 1865.|
Image Visibility[edit | edit source]
Whenever possible FamilySearch makes images and indexes available for all users. However, rights to view these data are limited by contract and subject to change. Because of this there may be limitations on where and how images and indexes are available or who can see them. Please be aware some collections consist only of partial information indexed from the records and do not contain any images. For additional information about image restrictions see Restrictions for Viewing Images in FamilySearch Historical Record Collections.
What Can These Records Tell Me?[edit | edit source]
The following information may be found in these records:
- Name of every person whose usual place of abode was with this family on 1 June 1865
- Head of household, name of employer
- Name of each person in household
- Age, gender, race of each person
- Marital status and occupation of each person
- Relationship to head of household
- In what county of New York or in what state or country born
- Number of children born to mother
- Number of times married
- Citizenship (native, naturalized or alien)
- If a land owner
- If over 21 and illiterate
- If handicapped
- If currently or formerly in the Army or Navy
Collection Content[edit | edit source]
Sample Images[edit | edit source]
How Do I Search This Collection?[edit | edit source]
Before searching this collection, it is helpful to know:
- The full name of your ancestor
- The place where the individual lived
- The names of other family members
Search the Index[edit | edit source]Search by name on the Collection Details Page.
- Fill in the search boxes in the Search Collection section with the information you know
- Click Search to show possible matches
View the Images[edit | edit source]View images in this collection by visiting the Collection Browse Page:
- Select County
- Select Town/City/Borough/Ward and Election District to view the images
How Do I Analyze the Results?[edit | edit source]
Compare each result from your search with what you know to determine if there is a match. This may require viewing multiple records or images. Keep track of your research in a research log.
What Do I Do Next?[edit | edit source]
I Found the Person I Was Looking For, What Now?[edit | edit source]
- Use the age listed to determine an approximate birth date
- Birthplaces can tell you former residences and can help to establish a migration pattern for the family
- Use the naturalization information to find their naturalization papers in the county court records. It can also help you locate immigration records such as a passenger list which would usually be kept records at the port of entry into the United States
- If they are subject to military service, they may have military files in the State or National Archives
- It is often helpful to extract the information on all families with the same surname in the same general area. If the surname is uncommon, it is likely that those living in the same area were related
- Married family members may have lived nearby but in a separate household so you may want to search an entire town, neighboring towns, or even a county
- Additional searches may be needed to locate all members of a particular family in the census
I Can’t Find the Person I’m Looking For, What Now?[edit | edit source]
- Look for variant spellings of the names. You should also look for nicknames and abbreviated names
- Look for another index. Local genealogical and historical societies often have indexes to local records
- Search the indexes and records of nearby counties
- Be sure to search both the male section (listed first) and the female section
- There is also the possibility that a family was missed in the census
Research Helps[edit | edit source]
The following articles will help you in your research for your family in the state of New York.
- New York Guided Research
- New York Research Tips and Strategies
- Step-by-Step New York Research, 1880-Present
Other FamilySearch Collections[edit | edit source]
These collections may have additional materials to help you with your research.
FamilySearch Catalog[edit | edit source]
- New York State Archives. Town clerks' registers of men who served in the Civil War, ca. 1865-1867
- Franklin B. Hough, Instructions for taking the census of the state of New York in the year 1865 : issued by the Secretary of State to the officers charged with the duty of taking it, together with the laws relating to the same Albany, New York : Weed, Parsons & Co., 1865
- Albany County, New York, census records, 1865
- State census records, Allegany County, New York, 1865
- State census of Broome Co., New York, 1865
- Census of Cattaraugus County, New York, 1865
- Chenango Co., New York census, 1865
- New York state census, Delaware County, 1865
- Census of Dutchess County, New York, 1865
- State census of Erie County, New York, 1865
- Herkimer County, New York, census records, 1865
- New York state census, Kings County, 1865
- New York state census, Niagara County, 1865
- New York State census records: Oneida County, 1865
- State census records of Rensselaer County, New York, 1865
- Census records for Saratoga County, New York, 1865
- State census, Steuben County, New York, 1865
- 1865 census records, Suffolk County, New York
FamilySearch Historical Records[edit | edit source]
- United States Census, 1860
- United States Census, 1870
- New York State Census, 1855
- New York State Census, 1875
FamilySearch Digital Library[edit | edit source]
Known Issues[edit | edit source]
Citing This Collection[edit | edit source]
Citations help you keep track of places you have searched and sources you have found. Identifying your sources helps others find the records you used.
The citation for this collection can be found on the Collection Details Page in the section Citing this Collection.
When looking at a record, the citation can be viewed by clicking the drop-down arrow next to Document Information.
When looking at an image, the citation is found on the Information tab at the bottom left of the screen.