New South Wales, Australia Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Guide to New South Wales, Australia ancestry, family history and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

New South Wales Wiki Topics
Flag of New South Wales.png
Beginning Research
Record Types
New South Wales Background
Local Research Resources


New South Wales


Getting Started[edit | edit source]

Getting Started with New South Wales Research

Links to articles on getting started with New South Wales research.

New South Wales Research Tools

Links to articles and websites that assist in New South Wales research.

Ask the
Community

Archive Resources Kit[edit | edit source]

  • Archive Resources Kit
  • Community Access Points A list of libraries and archives which hold microcopies of the Archive Resource Kit records
    A list of libraries and archives which hold microcopies of the Archive Resource Kit records

"The ARK is held by 40 community access points across NSW. The majority of access points are libraries. The ARK consists of microfilm copies of our most popular and heavily used colonial records. Included are records relating to convict arrivals, assisted immigrants, births, deaths and marriages, publicans' licences, electoral rolls, naturalisation, returns of the colony ('Blue Books'), land grants, and the wide range of functions of the Colonial Secretary (1788-1825).

"The ARK was a result of our Access for All initiative to provide people in regional and rural NSW with better access to the State's archives. The Kit contains over 1565 items (962 fiche and 604 reels) of our most popular and heavily used colonial records. It builds on a genealogical research kit issued in the 1980s and already held by some of the community access points. The Kit includes explanatory material and links to information available on our website.

"You may find that the ARK (or parts of it) are held at a library near you." [1]

State Archives[edit | edit source]

NSW Government State Records and Archives
161 O'Connell Street
Kingswood NSW 2747
Australia

Counties and Parishes[edit | edit source]

  • The present State of New South Wales remains divided into 141 counties each with an area of about 40 square miles (the original survey measure). In turn, these are subdivided into 7,459 parishes.
  • These counties and parishes have significance for land ownership records and in legislative instruments but have almost none of the other significance that an English county or parish had and has.

References[edit | edit source]

  1. "Archive Resource Kit," New South Wales State Archives and Records, https://www.records.nsw.gov.au/archives/collections-and-research/guides-and-indexes/archives-resources-kit-ark, accessed 3 March 2022.