New Mexico, United States Genealogy
|New Mexico Wiki Topics|
|New Mexico Background|
|Local Research Resources|
Guide to New Mexico genealogy. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, and military records.
New Mexico Information[edit | edit source]
New Mexico is a state in the western portion of the United States. It is divided into 33 counties. New Mexico was the 47th State to join the Union on January 6, 1912. The State of New Mexico was created from the New Mexico Territory. The capital city is Santa Fe. 
In the past, New Mexico has been "Santa Fe de Nuevo México" as part of the Spanish Kingdom, "Nuevo México" when the area was a province of Mexico, as well as New Mexico Territory and the state of New Mexico when it became part of the United States of America.
Santa Fe de Nuevo México was established in the early seventeenth and had an estimated population of 2,500 by 1680.
In the United States, New Mexico has the second largest Native American population by percentage. These tribes include Navajo, Pueblo and Apache. 
Getting Started[edit | edit source]
Getting Started with New Mexico Research
Links to articles on getting started with New Mexico research.
New Mexico Research Tools
Links to articles and websites that assist in United States research.
New Mexico Clickable Map[edit | edit source]
Genealogy records are kept on the county level in New Mexico. Click on a county below to go to the Wiki article listing more information.
Counties[edit | edit source]
Counties: Many genealogy records are kept at the county level.
Extinct and former counties that might have records for your New Mexico ancestors:
See also: Previous Jurisdictions to Land in Arizona for further details on the self-proclaimed Arizona Territory.
FamilySearch Resources[edit | edit source]
Below are FamilySearch resources that can assist you in researching your family.
- Facebook Communities - Facebook groups discussing genealogy research
- Learning Center - Online genealogy courses
- Historical Records
- Family History Center locator map
Other Resources[edit | edit source]
- Cyndi's List - New Mexico genealogy sites on the internet
- Hispanic Genealogical Research Center of New Mexico - Newsletters and resources for New Mexico
- New Mexico Genealogy Trails - collection of transcribed data for the state of New Mexico
- Access Genealogy – Genealogy guide for New Mexico
- Random Acts of Genealogical Kindness - Guide to Ancestry and Family Tree Records for New Mexico
- New Mexico Genealogy - New Mexico genealogical and historical resources on the web
- New Mexico Research Outline – Original Family History Library research outline; contains many out of date links
- Beyond Origins of New Mexico Families
- Karen Stein Daniel, CG, Research in New Mexico Falls Church, Virginia : National Genealogical Society, 2022 FHL 978.9 D27ngs
- Wikipedia contributors, "List of US States by Date of Admission," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_U.S._states_by_date_of_admission_to_the_Union, accessed 09/18/2016.
- New Mexico Resources, Ancestry.com