New London County, Connecticut Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Guide to New London County, Connecticut ancestry, genealogy and family history, birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, and military records.

County Facts
County seat: New London
Organized: 10 May 1666
Parent County(s): Original County[1]
Neighboring Counties
Hartford  • Middlesex  • Tolland  • Windham  • Suffolk (NY)  • Kent (RI)  • Washington (RI)
See County Maps
Courthouse
Connecticut, New London County Courthouse.png
Location Map
Ct-new-london.png
Adoption
Adopt-a-wiki page
CTGenWeb Project.jpg This page adopted by:
USGenWeb CT Archives
who welcome you to contribute.
Adopt a page today

County Information[edit | edit source]

Description[edit | edit source]

This county was named for the City of London, England. The County is located in the southeast area of the state.[2]

County Courthouse[edit | edit source]

New London County Court
70 Huntington Street
New London, CT 06320
Phone: 860-443-5363
New London County Website

There is no county government today. The government is at the town level.
Clerk of the Superior Court has divorce records.
Town Clerks have birth, marriage, death and land records from 1659 and burial records from 1893.[3]

New London County, Connecticut Record Dates[edit | edit source]

Known Beginning Dates for Major County Records[4]
Birth* Marriage Death* Court Land Probate Census
1659 1659 1659 1661 Unknown Unknown 1670
*Statewide registration of births and deaths started in 1897. General compliance by 1915.

Record Loss[edit | edit source]

There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.

Boundary Changes[edit | edit source]

Populated Places[edit | edit source]

For a complete list of populated places, including small neighborhoods and suburbs, visit Hometown Locator. The following are the most historically and genealogically relevant populated places in this county:[6]

Cities
Towns
Villages
Unincorporated communities
Census-designated places


Towns Organized before 1800:

  • Bozrah 1786
  • Colchester 1698
  • Franklin 1786
  • Groton 1705
  • Lebanon 1700
  • Lisbon 1786
  • Lyme 1665
  • Montville 1786
  • New London 1646
  • Norwich 1659
  • Preston 1687
  • Stonington 1649
  • Voluntown 1721

History Timeline[edit | edit source]

Resources[edit | edit source]

Bible Records[edit | edit source]

Biographies[edit | edit source]

  • A Catalogue of the Names of the Early Puritan Settlers of the Colony of Connecticut: With the Time of Their Arrival in the Country and Colony, Their Standing in Society, Place of Residence, Condition of Life, Where From, Business, etc., as Far as is Found on Record. By Royal Ralph Hinman. Hartford, Connecticut: Case, Tiffany Co., 1852. Salt Lake City, Utah: Digitized by FamilySearch International, 2017. Online at: FamilySearch Digital Library.
  • Connecticut Historical Collections: Containing a General Collection of Interesting Facts, Traditions, Biographical Sketches, Anecdotes, etc., Relating to the History and Antiquities of Every Town in Connecticut, With Geographical Descriptions, Illustrated by 190 Engravings. By John Warner Barber. 2nd ed. New Haven, Connecticut: Durrie & Peck and J.W. Barber, 1837. Online at: FamilySearch Digital Library.
  • Encyclopedia of Connecticut Biography, Genealogical-Memorial: Representative Citizens. By Samuel Hart. Boston, Massachusetts: American Historical Society, 1917-1923. Online at: FamilySearch Digital Library, Vol. 1-8, 11, 13.
  • Ye Names & Ages of All Ye Old Folks in Every Hamlet, City and Town in Ye State of Connecticut, Now Living: With Ye Sketches of Twenty Living Centenarians Compiled by Frederick H. Nash. New Haven, Connecticut: Price, Lee & Co., 1884. San Francisco, California: Internet Archive, 2012. Online at: FamilySearch Digital Library.
  • Who's Who in Connecticut By Ward E. Duffy. Tucson, Arizona: W.C. Cox & Co., 1975. Online at: FamilySearch Digital Library.
  • Linkpendium, Biographies, Oral Histories, Diaries, Memoirs, Genealogies, Correspondence - New London County
  • Leading business men of New London and vicinity embracing Groton and Niantic. 1988. Washington [District of Columbia]. Filmed by the Library of Congress Photoduplication Service. FHL US/CAN Film 1486502.
  • Genealogical and biographical record of New London County, Connecticut containing biographical sketches of prominent and representative citizens and genealogical records of many of the early settled families, (Chicago, Illinois J.H. Beers & Co., 1905).Includes index. Available at the Family History Library, FHL US/CAN Book 974.65 D3bg, or Part 1: FHL US/CAN Film 844968 Item 1, Part 2: FHL US/CAN Film 962323 Item 1, or FHL US/CAN Film 1000152 Item 2.
  • Biographical Review Publishing Company, Biographical review containing life sketches of leading citizens of New London County, Connecticut, (Salt Lake City, Utah Filmed by the Genealogical Society of Utah, 1967).Includes index. Available online at Internet Archives, Also available at the Family History Library, FHL US/CAN Film 528759 Item 1. Also see Biographical review. containing life sketches of leading citizens of New London County, Connecticut, a database at ancestry.com($)
  • Susan Fraile, James R. Benn and Southeastern Connecticut Library Association, Genealogical and local history resources in New London County libraries, (Groton, Connecticut Southeastern Connecticut Library Association, 1982). Includes indexes. Available at the Family History Library, FHL US/CAN Book 974.65 D23f.
  • Connecticut Biography at FamilySearch Research Wiki

Business, Commerce, and Occupations[edit | edit source]

Cemeteries[edit | edit source]

Cemeteries of New London, Connecticut online and in print
Tombstone Transcriptions Online
Tombstone Transcriptions in Print (Often more complete)
List of Cemeteries in the County
See Connecticut Cemeteries for more information

Census Records[edit | edit source]

For online and statewide census resources and information, see: Connecticut Census.

Historical populations
Census Pop.
1790 32,918
1800 34,888 6.0%
1810 34,707 −0.5%
1820 35,943 3.6%
1830 42,201 17.4%
1840 44,463 5.4%
1850 51,821 16.5%
1860 61,731 19.1%
1870 66,570 7.8%
1880 73,152 9.9%
1890 76,634 4.8%
1900 82,758 8.0%
1910 91,253 10.3%
1920 104,611 14.6%
1930 118,966 13.7%
1940 125,224 5.3%
1950 144,821 15.6%
1960 185,745 28.3%
1970 230,654 24.2%
1980 238,409 3.4%
1990 254,957 6.9%
2000 259,088 1.6%
2010 274,055 5.8%
Source: Wikipedia.org".

Territory and State Census Records

Federal Census Records

Church Records[edit | edit source]

  • Connecticut Genealogy, New London County Church Records - Includes church and vital records.
  • Hiram P. Arms, Historical notes of the Congregational churches in New London County, from 1836 to 1869 presented to the conference at Montville, October 12th, 1869, (Ann Arbor, Michigan: University Microfilms, 1987).A database for this book is available at ancestry.com($), Available at the Family History Library, FHL US/CAN Fiche 6062281.
  • First Congregational Church, A list of all those who have been members of the First Congregational Church in New-London, between the fifth day of October, 1670, and the first day of May, 1840, (Sarasota, Florida Aceto Bookmen, 1996).Available at the Family History Library, FHL US/CAN Book 974.65/N2 K2Lf.

List of Churches and Church Parishes

Court Records[edit | edit source]

Online Court Indexes and Records

  • New London County Connecticut Court Records Directory
  • Connecticut. Superior Court (New London County), Divorce papers, 1719-1875 , (Salt Lake City, Utah Filmed by the Genealogical Society of Utah, 1989).Available at the Family History Library, 1st of 18 films, FHL US/CAN Film 1638067 Item 2.
  • Grace Louise Knox, Connecticut divorces Superior Court records for the counties of New London, Tolland & Windham, 1719-1910 , (Bowie, Maryland Heritage Books, c1987). Available at the Family History Library, FHL US/CAN Book 974.6 P2k.
  • Connecticut. County Court (New London), Records of trials, 1661-1700, in the county court of New London County, Connecticut, (Salt Lake City, Utah Filmed by the Genealogical Society of Utah, 1954).Some pages wanting.Available at the Family History Library, FHL US/CAN Film 5138.

Directories[edit | edit source]

  • Linkpendium, Directories, New London County
  • Norwich directory, (New Haven [Connecticut] Price and Lee Co., 1930-). Available at the Family History Library, FHL US/CAN Book 974.65/N1 E4p.
  • Montville, Ledyard (New London County, Conn.) city directory including Gales Ferry, Uncasville, Mohegan and Oakdale, (New Haven [Connecticut] Price & Lee, 1972-). Available at the Family History Library, FHL US/CAN Book 974.65 E4pm.
  • Norwich (Connecticut) suburban directories, ([Woodbridge, Connecticut] Primary Source Microfilm, [199-?]). 1912 available at the Family History Library, FHL US/Can Film 2310367 Item 7, 1923-24, Item 8.
  • New London (Connecticut) city directories, (Woodridge, Connecticut Research Publications, c1980-1984, [199-?].Available at the Family History Library, FHL US/CAN Fiche 6044248. (5 fiche, 14 films covering a variety of years between 1855 and 1935.)

Emigration and Immigration[edit | edit source]

Vessels sailing from New London, Connecticut between 1803 and 1878 made over 2500 voyages to foreign ports. A Crew List was required to be filed stating the vessel's destination and its crew. An Index to those Lists, containing over 37,400 names, may be found at http://library.mysticseaport.org/initiative/CrIndex.cfm. The Index may provide the following information: • Name
• Age
• Birth Place
• Residence
• Complexion
• Voyage (Name of ship and date)

Ethnic, Political, and Religious Groups[edit | edit source]

Native Races

  • Will Ottery, Rudi Ottery and Samson Occum, A man called Sampson the ancestry and progeny of Sampson, a Mashantucket Pequot Indian, born in what is now New London County, Connecticut - including brief descriptions of family connections to other historic native American family groups, the ancient Pequot tribe, the Pequot War ..., (Weare, New Hampshire W. & R. Ottery, c1989).Includes index. Surnames include Sampson, Samson, Smith, Welch, Roulette, Pendleton, Miller, Mathers, Johnson, Coyhis, Baker, and others.Available at the Family History Library, FHL FAM HIST Book 929.273 Sa48o.

Funeral Homes[edit | edit source]

Genealogies[edit | edit source]

  • New London County Genealogy 1,843 New London county genealogy record sources.
  • Betty Brown Sheeran and Arthur D. Fiske, Browne-Brown ancestral lines Browne-Brown and allied families of Lynn, Massachusetts; Stonington, Connecticut; Ellisburg, New York; Rochester, Minnesota; Waseca, Minnesota, (Fall City, Washington Sheeran of Stonegate Press, c1997). Includes Adams, Avery, Beecher, Brooks, Bullard, Burdick, Chesebrough, Clarke, Collins, Fenn, French, Frink, Graves, Hall, Holdridge, Hudson, Lewis, Marvin, Miner, Nichols, Palmer, Pardee, Parker, Reed, Scott, Shumway, Weld, Wilcox, Wilkins, York and related families.Available at the Family History Library, FHL FAM HIST Book 929.273 B815sb v. 1, and v.2, also FHL US/CAN Film 2055431 Items 5 - 6.
  • Gerald James Parsons, The Palmer family ancestors and descendants of Othniel Palmer (1743-c1798), Revolutionary soldier of Stonington, Conn., and Saratoga and Cayuga Counties, N.Y., ([Syracuse, New York] G.J. Parsons, 1978).Includes bibliographic references.Available at the Family History Library, FHL FAM HIST Book 929.273 P182pgj, or FHL US/CAN Film 1321493 Item 8.

Guardianship[edit | edit source]

Land and Property Records[edit | edit source]

Deeds, mortgages, releases, and other documents are at the town halls. Most are indexed by grantor and grantee, no statewide index. Microfilm copies (early to the mid or late 1800s, with some up to the 1900s) are available at the Connecticut State Library and also online at FamilySearch.org.

Online Land Indexes and Records

  • Library of Congress. Geography and Map Division, New London County, Connecticut land ownership map, 1854 , Washington, District of Columbia Library of Congress, 1983).Available at the Family History Library, FHL US/CAN Fiche 6079303.

Local Histories[edit | edit source]

Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]

Washington CountyKent CountyWindham CountyTolland CountyHartford CountyMiddlesex CountyCT NEW LONDON.PNG
Click a neighboring county
for more resources


Migration[edit | edit source]

Military Records[edit | edit source]

Civil War

Regiments. Service men from New London County served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Most of the men in the following companies were from New London County.

-1st Regiment, Connecticut Heavy Artillery - Company D
-1st Regiment, Connecticut Cavalry - Company C
-2nd Regiment, Connecticut Infantry - Rifle Company C
-3rd Regiment, Connecticut Infantry - Rifle Company D
-8th Regiment, Connecticut Infantry - Company G
-14th Regiment, Connecticut Infantry - Company H
-18th Regiment, Connecticut Infantry - Company A and F
-21st Regiment, Connecticut Infantry - Company C, E, F, G and H.
-26th Regiment, Connecticut Infantry - Company C, E, F, H, I and K.

World War I

World War II

Naturalization and Citizenship[edit | edit source]

Online Naturalization Indexes and Records

  • 1851-1992 Connecticut, District Court Naturalization Indexes, 1851-1992 at FamilySearch — How to Use this Collection - index/images
  • Connecticut. Court of Common Pleas (New London County), Naturalization books, 1874-1906 , (Salt Lake City, Utah Filmed by the Genealogical Society of Utah, 1983).Additional indexes included in each volume.Available at the Family History Library, FHL US/CAN Film 1319755. (4 Films)
  • Connecticut. Superior Court (New London County), Naturalization books, 1856-1905 , (Salt Lake City, Utah Filmed by the Genealogical Society of Utah, 1983) Indexes are found within each volume. Available at the Family History Library, FHL US/CAN Film 1319742 Item 4, and FHL US/CAN Film 1319743 Items 1-3.
  • Connecticut. Superior Court (New London County), Naturalization records (New London County, Connecticut), 1872-1906, 1909-1945 , (Salt Lake City, Utah Filmed by the Genealogical Society of Utah, 1983-2008).Includes index.Available at the Family History Library, FHL US/CAN Film 1319743 Item 4. (27 Films)
  • Connecticut. Court of Common Pleas (New London County), Naturalization papers, 1875-1902 , (Salt Lake City, Utah Filmed by the Genealogical Society of Utah, 1983).Contains naturalization testimony, some declarations of intention.Available at the Family History Library, FHL US/CAN Film 1319744. (6 Films)
  • Connecticut. Court of Common Pleas (New London County), Declarations of intentions, 1875-1906 , (Salt Lake City, Utah Filmed by the Genealogical Society of Utah, 1983).Indexes included within each volume.Available at the Family History Library, FHL US/CAN Film 1319741 Item 4, and FHL US/CAN Film 1319742 Items 1-3.

Newspapers[edit | edit source]

Obituaries[edit | edit source]

Other Records[edit | edit source]

Periodicals[edit | edit source]

Probate Records[edit | edit source]

The records are kept at district courts. The County government does not exist. Not every town has a court. Some are included in a district making up from 1 to 5 towns. The Districts are: Avon, Berlin, Bristol, Burlington, Canton, East Granby, East Hartford, East Windsor, Enfield, Farmington, Granby, Hartford, Hartland, Manchester, Marlborough, Plainville, Simsbury, Southington, Suffield, and Windsor.
See Connecticut Probate Records. See also Connecticut State Library, Research Guide to Connecticut Probate Records.

Online Probate Indexes and Records

School Records[edit | edit source]

Online School Indexes and Records

  • John Keep, Adin Webb and Baptist Church in Homer, New York, Miscellaneous records of Homer, New York, 1794-1860 , (Salt Lake City, Utah Filmed by the Genealogical Society of Utah, 1941).Available at the Family History Library, FHL US/CAN Film 17702, or FHL US/CAN Film 1421103 Items 2-4.

Social Security Records[edit | edit source]

Tax Records[edit | edit source]

Vital Records[edit | edit source]

Birth[edit | edit source]

Marriage[edit | edit source]

Death[edit | edit source]

Divorce[edit | edit source]

Research Facilities[edit | edit source]

Archives[edit | edit source]

Listed below are archives in New London County. For state-wide facilities, see Connecticut Archives and Libraries.

Family History Centers[edit | edit source]

Family History Center and Affiliate Library Locator map - search for local Family History Centers or Affiliate Libraries

  • Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance, free access to center-only databases, and to premium genealogical websites.
  • FamilySearch Affiliate Libraries have access to most center-only databases, but may not always have full services normally provided by a family history center.

Local Centers and Affiliate Libraries

Libraries[edit | edit source]

Listed below are libraries in New London County. For state-wide library facilities, see Connecticut Archives and Libraries.
New London County Public Libraries This site lists the addresses and websites of the public libraries in New London county.

Cragin Memorial Library
8 Linwood Avenue
Colchester, CT 06415
(860) 537-5752
E-mail: https://www.colchesterct.gov/user/47/contact
Facebook
Website
The Denison Homestead
120 Pequotsepos Rd
Mystic, CT 06355-3043
860 536 9248
Website
East Lyme Public Library
39 Society Road
Niantic, CT 06357
(860) 739-6926
E-mail: elpl@ely.lioninc.org
Facebook
Website
Groton Public Library
52 Newtown Rd
Groton, CT 06340
860-441-6750
E-mail: jmiele@groton-ct.gov
Facebook
Website
Janet Carlson Calvert Library
1 Tyler Drive
Franklin, CT 06254
860-642-6207
E-mail: janetcarlsoncalvertlibrary@yahoo.com
Website
Jonathan Trumbull Library
580 Exeter Road
P.O. Box 145
Lebanon, CT 06249
860-642-7763
E-mail: librarian@lebanonctlibrary.org
Website
Ledyard Public Library- Bill Library
718 Colonel Ledyard Highway
Ledyard, CT 06339
860-464-9912
E-mail: [mailto: bill-lib@ledyard.lioninc.org bill-lib@ledyard.lioninc.org]
Website
Lyme Public Library
482 Hamburg Road
Lyme, CT 06371-3110
860.434.2272
E-mail: staff@lymepl.org
Website
Otis Library
261 Main St.
Norwich, CT 06360
860 889-2365
Fax 860 889-2533
E-Mail: genealogy@otis.lioninc.org
Website
The Public Library of New London
63 Huntington Street
New London, CT 06320
860-447-1411
Website
R.W. Woolworth Library
P.O. Box 103
Stonington, CT 06378-0103
860 535-1131
E-Mail: library@stoningtonhistory.org
Website
Raymond Library
832 Raymond Hill Rd.
Oakdale, CT 06370
(860)848-9943
Website
The Slater Library
26 Main Street
Jewett City, Connecticut 06351
860 376-0024
Website
Wheeler Library
PO Box 217
101 Main Street
North Stonington, CT 06359
(860) 535-0383
E-mail: wheelerlibrarystaff@gmail.com
Website

Museums[edit | edit source]

Lebanon Historical Society Museum and Visitors Center
856 Trumbull Highway
PO Box 151
Lebanon CT
860 642-6579
Fax (860) 642-6583
E-Mail: museum@historyoflebanon.org
Website

Societies[edit | edit source]

Listed below are societies in New London County. For state-wide genealogical and historical societies, see Connecticut Societies.

Colchester Historcial Society
24 Linwood Avenue
PO Box 13
Colchester, CT 06415
E-mail: mail@colchesterhistory.org
Facebook
Website
East Lyme Historical Society
P. O. Box 112
East Lyme, CT 06333
860.739.6070
E-mail:info@eastlymehistoricalsociety.org
Website
Franklin Historical Society
1 Tyler Drive
Franklin, CT 06254
860-642-6207
E-mail: franklinhistoryroom@gmail.com
Website
Griswold Historical Society
167 East Main Street
Jewett City, Ct. 06351
E-Mail: rick_lehner@hotmail.com
Website
Ledyard Historical Society
PO Box 411
Ledyard, CT 06339
(860) 464-9912
E-mail: research@ledyard.lioninc.org
Website
Facebook
Lisbon Historical Society
1 Newent Road
Newent, CT 06351
E-mail: lisbonhistorical@att.net
Website
Facebook
Montville Historical Society
P.O. Box 51
Montville, CT 06353
11 Depot Road
Uncasville, CT 06382
860-848-9943
Website
Mystic River Historical Society
74 High Street
P. O. Box 245
Mystic, CT 06355
E-Mail: info@mystichistory.org
Website
New London County Historical Society, Inc.
11 Blinman Street
New London, CT 06320
860-443-1209
Website
North Stonington Historical Society
1 Wyassup Road
North Stonington, CT
(860) 535-9448
Website
Norwich Historical Society
307 Main Street
Norwich, CT 06360
860-886-1776
E-mail: minerregan@gmail.com
Website
Old Lyme Historical Society
PO Box 352
55 Lyme St.
Old Lyme, CT 06371
(860) 434-0684
E-Mail: info@oldlymehistorical.org
Facebook
Website
Preston Connecticut Historical Society
123 Parks Road
Preston, CT 06365
860-710-1316
E-Mail: prestoncthistoricalsociety@gmail.com
Facebook
Website
Salem Historical Society
270 Hartford Rd
Salem, CT 06420
(860) 859-3873
Facebook
Sprague Historical Society
76 Main Street
Baltic, CT 06330
860.822.6867
E-Mail: spraguehistoricalsociety@gmail.com
Website
Stonington Historical Society
Town of Stonington
152 Elm Street
Stonington, CT 06378
Website
Voluntown Historical Society
124 Main St
Voluntown, CT 06384
Website
Waterford Historical Society
P.O. Box 117
Waterford, CT 06385
Facebook

Websites[edit | edit source]

Research Guides[edit | edit source]

References[edit | edit source]

  1. Newberry
  2. Wikipedia contributors, "New London County," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/New_London_County,_Connecticut 04/27/2017.
  3. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), 113. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  4. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), New London County, Connecticut . Page 113 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002; Alice Eichholz, ed. Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County, and Town Sources, Third ed. (Provo, Utah: Ancestry, 2004), 104-110.
  5. Newberry
  6. Wikipedia contributors,"New London County, Connecticut, " in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia,https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/New_London_County,_Connecticut, accessed 11 October 2018.