New Kent County, Virginia Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Guide to New Kent County Virginia ancestry, family history, and genealogy. Birth, marriage, death, and census records, family histories, immigration records, and military records. This article is about a county in the state of Virginia. For other uses, see Kent (disambiguation).

County Facts
County seat: New Kent
Organized: 1654[1]
Parent County(s): York
Neighboring Counties
Charles City  • Hanover  • Henrico  • James City  • King and Queen  • King William
See County Maps
Courthouse
VirginiaNewKentCourthouse.jpg
Location Map
Location of New Kent County, Virginia.png
Adoption

County Information[edit | edit source]

Description[edit | edit source]

New Kent County is located in the eastern part the Commonwealth of Virginia and named for Kent, England.[2]

County Courthouse[edit | edit source]

New Kent County Courthouse
12001 Courthouse Circle/PO Box 98
New Kent, VA 23124-0098
Phone: 804-966-9520
New Kent County Website

Clerk Circuit Court has marriage, divorce, probate, Court, and land records from 1808 [3]

New Kent County, Virginia Record Dates[edit | edit source]

Information for this chart was taken from various sources, often containing conflicting dates. This information should be taken as a guide and should be verified by contacting the county and/or the state government agency.

Known Beginning Dates for Major County Records[4]
Birth* Marriage Death* Court Land Probate Census
1865 1865 1865 1865 1865 1865 1810
* Statewide registration for births and deaths began in 1912.
General compliance year is unknown.

Record Loss[edit | edit source]

Boundary Changes[edit | edit source]

Populated Places[edit | edit source]

For a complete list of populated places, including small neighborhoods and suburbs, visit HomeTown Locator. The following are the most historically and genealogically relevant populated places in this county:[9]

Unincorporated communities
Census-designated places


History Timeline[edit | edit source]

The county is named after the English County of Kent, England. There was a Quaker settlement in Colonial New Kent County.

Resources[edit | edit source]

Bible Records[edit | edit source]

For databases and indexes, see Virginia Bible Records.

  • Bible Records [1822-1860] of John H. Christian of New Kent County, Son of Gideon and Lucy Christian. Transcript, 1977. FHL Collection 1036555 Item 40
  • Chapman Bible Records [ca. 1809-1926], New Kent County. Transcript, microfilmed 1977. FHL Collection 1036555 Item 40
  • Smithie, Hannah More Moore and Martha Dandridge Woman's Club (New Kent County, Virginia). Bible Records Collected by the Martha Dandridge Woman's Club, New Kent County, Virginia. Typescript, microfilmed 1977. FHL Collection 1036555 Item 40
  • Taylor Bible Records [1802-1912], New Kent Co. Transcript, microfilmed 1977. FHL Collection 1036555 Item 40
  • 1607-2007 Virginia, Historical Society Papers, 1607-2007 at FamilySearch — How to Use this Collection; index & images
  • Turner, Bell Woodward. John Ratcliffe's Bible [Records, ca. 1814-1841], New Kent County, Va. Transcript, microfilmed 1977. FHL Collection 1036555 Item 40

Biographies[edit | edit source]

Business, Commerce, and Occupations[edit | edit source]

Providence Forge was constructed in the 1760s. Providence Forge, in The William and Mary Quarterly, Vol. 5, No. 1 (Jul. 1896):20-22. Digital version at JSTOR - free.

Cemeteries[edit | edit source]

Cemeteries of New Kent County, Virginia online and in print
Tombstone Transcriptions Online
Tombstone Transcriptions in Print (Often more complete)
List of Cemeteries in the County
See Virginia Cemeteries for more information.

Census Records[edit | edit source]

For databases, indexes, and information online, see Virginia Census.

Historical populations
Census Pop.
1790 6,239
1800 6,363 2.0%
1810 6,478 1.8%
1820 6,630 2.3%
1830 6,458 −2.6%
1840 6,230 −3.5%
1850 6,064 −2.7%
1860 5,884 −3.0%
1870 4,381 −25.5%
1880 5,515 25.9%
1890 5,511 −0.1%
1900 4,865 −11.7%
1910 4,682 −3.8%
1920 4,541 −3.0%
1930 4,300 −5.3%
1940 4,092 −4.8%
1950 3,995 −2.4%
1960 4,504 12.7%
1970 5,300 17.7%
1980 8,781 65.7%
1990 10,445 19.0%
2000 13,462 28.9%
2010 18,429 36.9%
Source: "Wikipedia.org".

1782 Enumeration

1785 Enumeration

1890 Union Veterans

Church Records[edit | edit source]

List of Churches and Church Parishes

Baptist
Early Baptist churches (with years constituted):

  1. Black Creek (1777)[10]
  • 1776 Petition of Baptists (10,000 names!) and sympathizers from all over Virginia, dated 16 October 1776, asking for an end to persecution of Baptists by the established church. After locating your ancestor, view the digital copies.
    – Digital copies at Library of Congress; also at Library of Virginia using the code word "000606093"
    – Hall, Jean Pickett. "Legislative Petitions: the 10,000 name petition" transcription in the Magazine of Virginia Genealogy, Vols. 35-38, with annotations in Vol. 39, (Richmond, Virginia: Virginia Genealogical Society, 1983-) online at Ancestry ($) and in book form at various libraries.

New Kent County fell within the bounds of the Dover Association.

Church of England
Gotoarrow.png See also Blisland Parish
Gotoarrow.png See also St. John's Parish
Gotoarrow.png See also St. Paul's Parish
Gotoarrow.png See also St. Peter's Parish
Gotoarrow.png See also St. Stephen's Parish
Gotoarrow.png See also Stratton Major Parish

Presbyterian
Providence Forge Church (originally met at St. Peter's, later called Olivet Church) was organized around 1750. Records have been microfilmed FHL Film 1490377 Items 16-19.

Quaker
Early monthly meetings (with years of existence):

  • Black Creek Monthly Meeting (1691-1805)[11]

Court Records[edit | edit source]

Online Court Indexes and Records

Chancery Court

  • Indexed images to New Kent County, Virginia Chancery Records 1848-1956 are available online through Virginia Memory: Chancery Records Index. These records, often concerned with inheritance disputes, contain a wealth of genealogical information.

Directories[edit | edit source]

Emigration and Immigration[edit | edit source]

For databases and immigrant groups, see Virginia Emigration and Immigration

  • Coldham, Peter Wilson. North American Wills Registered in London 1611-1857. Baltimore: Genealogical Publishing Co., Inc., 2007. [Includes wills of residents of St. Peter's Parish, Stratton Major Parish, and New Kent County proved in London. These records often help establish an immigrant's place of origin.]
  • List of imported servants and transported convicts from Europe who served labor terms in Colonial Virginia are online at: Immigrant Servants Database.

Ethnic, Political, and Religious Groups[edit | edit source]

African American

Native American
The Pamunkeys Tribe, Chickahominies Tribe, Mattaponeys Tribe, Rappahannocks Tribe, and Totas-Chees Tribe lived in the area in the late 1600s.[12]

Funeral Homes[edit | edit source]

Genealogies[edit | edit source]

Compiled Genealogies by Surname

A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z

Compiled Genealogies for Multiple Families

  • Barham, Nellie McLane and Marius Randolph Barham. Kith and Kin: Whence They Came and Wither They Went. 2 vols. n.p.: N.M. Barham and M.R. Barham, 1992-. FHL Book 975.543 D2b v. 1-v. 2
  • Evans, June Banks. Men of Matadequin, Three Hundred Years from New Kent County Sourcebook for Related Lines, Banks, Blackwell, Burnett, Durvin, Gaulding, Goodman, Lipscomb, McGhee, Parsley, Slaughter, Weisiger, Wood, Zall. New Orleans, La.: Bryn Ffyliaid Publications, 1984. FHL Collection 975.54 D2e
  • The New Kent County VA GenWeb website includes a Surname Register, Ancestor Queries, and Biographies.

Guardianship[edit | edit source]

Land and Property Records[edit | edit source]

For land indexes, records, and databases, see Virginia Land and Property, including Colonial and State Land Grants.

Online Land Indexes and Records

Grants and Patents
Land patents (pre-1779), land grants (after 1779) and surveys are available online at the Library of Virginia website. For step-by-step instructions on retrieving these records, read the Virginia Land and Property article.*Hudgins. 54 patents dated 1647-1694 in New Kent County, Virginia placed on a map. DeedMapper, 2012. [Names of those who received land patents, dates, land descriptions, and references may be viewed free of charge (click "Index" next to the county listing); however, in order to view the maps, it is necessary to purchase Direct Line Software's DeedMapper product.]

  • Nugent, Nell Marion. Cavaliers and Pioneers: Abstracts of Virginia Land Patents and Grants 1623-1666. Vol. I (1934; reprint, Baltimore: Genealogical Publishing Co., Inc., 1991). Available at FHL; digital version at Ancestry ($). [Includes New Kent County. N.B. If Ancestry's search engine fails, try checking the printed index at the end of the book.]

Local Histories[edit | edit source]

  • Harris, Malcolm Hart. Old New Kent County, Some Account of the Planters, Plantations, and Places in ... 2 vols. West Point, Va.: M.H. Harris, 1977. FHL Collection 975.5 H2har v. 1

Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]

County and state maps, historical and more current, are valuable research tools. For map collections, online and in libraries, see Virginia Maps.

Hanover CountyKing William CountyKing and Queen CountyJames City CountyCharles City CountyHenrico CountyVA NEW KENT.PNG
Click a neighboring county
for more resources

Migration[edit | edit source]

  • Clay, Robert Y. "Some Delinquent Taxpayers 1787-1790," The Virginia Genealogist, Vol. 22, No. 2 (Apr.-Jun. 1978):121-130. Available at FHL; digital version at American Ancestors by NEHGS ($). These records identify migrants who left the county and often their intended destinations. New Kent County's 1789 Delinquent List appears on 22:121.

Military Records[edit | edit source]

French and Indian War

  • Bockstruck, Lloyd DeWitt. Virginia's Colonial Soldiers. Baltimore: Genealogical Publishing Co., 1988. Available at FHL. [Identifies some New Kent County militia officers, soldier enlistments, and veterans; see place name index.]
  • Boogher, William F. Gleanings of Virginia History: An Historical and Genealogical Collection, Largely from Original Sources. Washington: n.p., 1903. Available at FHL; digital version at Google Books. [Includes a chapter titled "Legislative Enactments connecting the preceding historic sketch [French and Indian War, Lord Dunmore's War] with the adjudication of the resulting accounts that follow; with the list of officers, soldiers and civilians entitled to compensation for military and other services rendered." For New Kent County, see p. 96.]
  • Crozier, William Armstrong. Virginia Colonial Militia 1651-1776. Baltimore: Southern Book Co., 1954. Available at FHL; digital book at Ancestry ($). [Identifies some New Kent County militia officers; see place name index.]


Revolutionary War

  • A Census of Pensioners for Revolutionary or Military Services: With their Names, Ages, and Places of Residence, as Returned by the Marshalls of the Several Judicial Districts, Under the Act for Taking the Sixth Census]. 1841. Digital version at Google Books et. al. 1967 reprint: FHL Collection 973 X2pc 1840. [See Virginia, Eastern District, New Kent County on page 132.]

Regiments. Service men in New Kent County served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. New Kent County supplied soldiers for the:

- 6th Virginia Regiment


War of 1812

  • List of Pensioners on the Roll, January 1, 1883; Giving the Name of Each Pensioner, the Cause for Why Pensioned, the Post-Office Address, the Rate of Pension Per Month, and the Date of Original Allowance... Washington, D.C.: Government Printing Office, 1883. FHL Collection 973 M2Lp v. 5; digital versions at Google Books and Internet Archive. [See Vol. 5, Virginia, New Kent County, p. 92. Identifies War of 1812 veterans living in this county in 1883.]

Regiments. New Kent County men served in the 52nd Regiment.[13]

Civil War

Regiments. Civil War service men in New Kent County served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed here:

- 3rd Regiment, Virginia Cavalry (Confederate). Company F (New Kent Cavalry or Light Dragoons).[14]


Civil War Battle
The following Civil War battle was fought in New Kent County.

Maps of Civil War battles in Virginia: 1861, 1862, 1863, 1864, 1865


World War II

Naturalization and Citizenship[edit | edit source]

Online Naturalization Indexes and Records

Newspapers[edit | edit source]

For online newspaper resources, see the Virginia Newspapers page.

Indexed images of the Virginia Gazette (1736-1780) are available online through the Colonial Williamsburg website. In addition, Professor Tom Costa and The Rector and Visitors of the University of Virginia have created a database of all runaway advertisements for slaves, indentured servants, transported convicts, and ship deserters listed in this source and other Virginia newspapers (1736-1803), see: The Geography of Slavery in Virginia. These newspapers are valuable resources for all regions of Virginia.

Obituaries[edit | edit source]

Other Records[edit | edit source]

Periodicals[edit | edit source]

Probate Records[edit | edit source]

For probate records, indexes, and databases, see Virginia Probate Records.

Online Probate Indexes and Records

Local Court
Hopkins, William Lindsay. Some Wills from the Burned Counties of Virginia and Other Wills Not Listed in Virginia Wills and Administrations 1632-1800. Richmond, Virginia: W.L. Hopkins, 1987. Available at FHL. [Includes New Kent County.]

London Courts
Coldham, Peter Wilson. North American Wills Registered in London 1611-1857. Baltimore: Genealogical Publishing Co., Inc., 2007. [Includes wills of residents of St. Peter's Parish, Stratton Major Parish, and New Kent County proved in London. These records often help establish an immigrant's place of origin.]

County Court

School Records[edit | edit source]

Social Security Records[edit | edit source]

Tax Records[edit | edit source]

For additional online collections and the value and use of Virginia's tax lists in your research, see Virginia Taxation.

Online Tax Indexes and Records

  • 1704 "Virginia Quit Rent Rolls, 1704," Virginia Magazine of History and Biography, Vol. 28 (1920):207-218, 328-339; Vol. 29 (1921):18-28, 337-343, 402-412; Vol. 30 (1922):21-30, 280-285, 341-347; Vol. 31 (1923):70-75, 153-163, 215-231, 314-318; Vol. 32 (1924):69-75, 144-158, 281-287, 338-343; Vol. 33 (1925):47-50, 359-370; Vol. 34 (1926):113-119, 252-258, 313, 321. Available at FHL; reprinted in Virginia Tax Records. Baltimore: Genealogical Publishing Co., Inc., 1983, which is also available at FHL; digital version of VMHB at JSTOR ($). [New Kent County appears in 31:215-235.]
  • 1782-1850 New Kent County Personal Property Tax Lists 1782-1850 (images); digital version in Tax List Club at Binns Genealogy ($).
  • 1782-1816 New Kent County Land Tax Lists 1782-1816 (images); digital version in Tax List Club at Binns Genealogy ($).
  • 1782 New Kent Co. Land Tax - 1782 at VAGenWeb
  • 1782 New Kent County, Virginia 1782 Land (Binns Genealogy) - free.
  • 1782 Smith, Paulette. New Kent County, Virginia Land Tax Records, 1782 [database on-line]. Provo, UT, USA: Ancestry.com Operations Inc, 1999. Available at Ancestry ($).
  • 1782 Land Tax Records, 1782, Tidewater Virginia Families, Vol. 2, No. 2 (Aug. 1993); Vol. 2, No. 3 (Nov. 1993). Available at FHL.
  • 1782-1820 Heinegg, Paul. "New Kent County Personal Property Tax List, 1782-1820," Free African Americans.com. [Heinegg abstracted free blacks listed in these records.]
  • 1783 - Personal Property (or Land) Tax List, 1783; index online at Revolutionary War Service website - free.
  • 1784 New Kent County, Virginia 1784 Personal Property (Binns Genealogy) - free.
  • 1788 Schreiner-Yantis, Netti and Florene Speakman Love. The 1787 Census of Virginia: An Accounting of the Name of Every White Male Tithable Over 21 Years, the Number of White Males Between 16 & 21 Years, the Number of Slaves over 16 & Those Under 16 Years, Together with a Listing of Their Horses, Cattle & Carriages, and Also the Names of All Persons to Whom Ordinary Licenses and Physician's Licenses Were Issued. 3 vols. Springfield, Va.: Genealogical Books in Print, 1987. Available at FHL. [The source of this publication is the 1788 personal property tax list. New Kent County is included in Vol. 2.]
  • 1789 Clay, Robert Y. "Some Delinquent Taxpayers 1787-1790," The Virginia Genealogist, Vol. 22, No. 2 (Apr.-Jun. 1978):121-130. Available at FHL; digital version at American Ancestors by NEHGS ($). [These records identify migrants who left the county and often their intended destinations. New Kent County's 1789 Delinquent List appears on 22:121.]
  • 1790, 1800 Indexed images of the 1790 and 1800 Land Tax Lists of New Kent County, Virginia are available online, courtesy: Binns Genealogy.
  • 1791, 1800 Indexed images of the 1791 and 1800 Personal Property Tax Lists of New Kent County, Virginia are available online, courtesy: Binns Genealogy.
  • 1800 Tax List, 1800, Virginia Genealogist, Vol. 44, No. 1 (Jan. 2000); Vol. 44, No. 2 (Apr. 2000).
  • 1815 Ward, Roger D. 1815 Directory of Virginia Landowners (and Gazetteer). 6 vols. Athens, Georgia: Iberian Pub. Co., 1997-2000. Available at FHL. [The source for this publication is the 1815 land tax. New Kent County is included in Vol. 1.]

Vital Records[edit | edit source]

For additional indexes, databases, and details, see Virginia Vital Records.

Birth[edit | edit source]

Marriage[edit | edit source]

Death[edit | edit source]

Divorce[edit | edit source]

Research Facilities[edit | edit source]

Archives[edit | edit source]

Listed below are archives in New Kent County. For state-wide facilities, see Virginia Archives and Libraries.

Family History Centers[edit | edit source]

Family History Center and Affiliate Library Locator map - search for local Family History Centers or Affiliate Libraries

  • Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance, free access to center-only databases, and to premium genealogical websites.
  • FamilySearch Affiliate Libraries have access to most center-only databases, but may not always have full services normally provided by a family history center.

Local Centers and Affiliate Libraries

Libraries[edit | edit source]

Listed below are libraries in New Kent County. For state-wide library facilities, see Virginia Archives and Libraries.

Museums[edit | edit source]

Societies[edit | edit source]

Listed below are societies in New Kent County. For state-wide genealogical and historical societies, see Virginia Societies.

Websites[edit | edit source]

  • FamilySearch Catalog – The FamilySearch catalog contains descriptions and access information for all genealogical materials (including books, online materials, microfilm, microfiche, and publications) in their collection.  Use Historical Records to search for specific individuals in genealogical records.

Research Guides[edit | edit source]

  • Davis, Virginia Lee Hutcheson. "Records of Tidewater Virginia Counties," Tidewater Virginia Families: A Magazine of History and Genealogy, Vol. 1, No. 2 (May-June 1992):53-66. FHL Collection 975.51 D25t [For New Kent County, see p. 62]

References[edit | edit source]

  1. Newberry
  2. http://www.newkent.net/history.html
  3. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Iowa.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  4. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Iowa.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  5. Cameron Allen, "A Surname Used As a Given Name: Toward the Identification of Elizabeth (?Tinsley), Wife of Drury Allen (1714-1803), of Hanover County, Virginia," The American Genealogist, Vol. 85, No. 4 (Oct. 2011):267-279.
  6. John Frederick Dorman, "Review of Burned County Data 1809-1848," in The Virginia Genealogist, Vol. 31, No. 1 (Jan.-Mar. 1987):60-61.
  7. Newberry
  8. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Iowa.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  9. Wikipedia contributors, "New Kent_ County,_Virginia," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia,https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/New_Kent_County,_Virginia#Communities accessed 19 February 2020.
  10. Robert Baylor Semple and George William Beale, A History of the Rise and Progress of the Baptists in Virginia (Pitt and Dickinson, 1894), 118-119. Digital version at Google Books.
  11. Jay Worrall, The Friendly Virginians: America's First Quakers (Athens, Ga.: Iberian Publishing Company, 1994), 537-539. FHL Book 975.5 K2wj.
  12. Charles Campbell, History of the Colony and Ancient Dominion of Virginia (Philadelphia, Pa.: J.B. Lippincott and Co., 1860), 267-268. Digitized by Internet Archive.
  13. Stuart Lee Butler, A Guide to Virginia Militia Units in the War of 1812 (Athens, Ga.: Iberian Pub. Co., 1988), 150. FHL Book 975.5 M2bs.
  14. Thomas P. Nanzig, 3rd Virginia Cavalry (Lynchburg, Va.: H.E. Howard, c1989). FHL Book 975.5 M2vr v. 61.
  15. Heritage Preservation Services, Civil War Battle Summaries by State, (accessed 16 August, 2012)