New Jersey Census

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Online Federal Censuses[edit | edit source]

Population Schedules[edit | edit source]

Starting in 1790, federal population schedules were taken every 10 years in the United States. Click here for more information about federal census records.

New Jersey was the 3rd state to join the Union on December 18, 1787. "New Jersey census records for the first four federal census--1790, 1800 (except for Cumberland County), 1810, and 1820--have not survived. Except for parts of Hudson County, the 1890 (11th census) records were destroyed in a fire at the National Archives in 1921." [1]

United States Federal Censuses with Online Links[edit | edit source]
1790 1800 1810 1820 1830 1840
FamilySearch
Ancestry.com
FamilySearch
Ancestry.com
FamilySearch
Ancestry.com
FamilySearch
Ancestry.com
FamilySearch
Ancestry.com
FamilySearch
Ancestry.com
1850 1860 1870 1880 1890 1900
FamilySearch
Ancestry.com
FamilySearch
Ancestry.com
FamilySearch
Ancestry.com
FamilySearch
Ancestry.com
FamilySearch
Ancestry.com
FamilySearch
Ancestry.com
1910 1920 1930 1940 1950 1960
FamilySearch
Ancestry.com
FamilySearch
Ancestry.com
FamilySearch
Ancestry.com
FamilySearch
Ancestry.com
NARA Index
FamilySearch Images
Release Date
April 1, 2032

Non-Population Schedules for New Jersey[edit | edit source]

Federal non-population schedules included such things mortality schedules, agriculture schedules, slave schedules, and manufacturing schedules.

Year Type of Census Links
1890 Veterans at Ancestry
1880 Defective at Ancestry
1880 Mortality at Ancestry
1870 Mortality at Ancestry
1860 Mortality at Ancestry
1850 Slave Owner at Ancestry
1850 Mortality at Ancestry
1840 Pensioners at Ancestry

Existing and Lost Censuses[edit | edit source]

Online State and Territorial Censuses[edit | edit source]

State censuses are census records that were taken at the state-level rather than at the federal. Often, but not always, a state took their census in ten year increments 5 years from when the Federal Census was taken, such as 1885. State censuses can even serve as substitutes for missing federal censuses. For more information on state censuses, visit United States Census Bureau.

Territorial censuses were taken by the federal government to count the population in federal territories. The government needed to count the population in the territory to see if it could qualify for statehood. For more information on territorial censuses, visit the US Territorial Census page.

Year Type of Census Links
1915 State, all household members at FamilySearch

at Ancestry

1905 state, all household members at FamilySearch

at Ancestry

1895 State, head of household at FamilySearch

at Ancestry

1885 State, head of household at FamilySearch

at Ancestry

1875 State (select counties), all household members at Ancestry
1865 State (select counties), all household members at FamilySearch

at Ancestry

1855 State (select counties), mostly head of household at FamilySearch

at Ancestry

Other Census Images[edit | edit source]

Why Use the Census?[edit | edit source]

State census records can be one of the easiest ways to locate where an ancestor's family lived and when they lived there. Information varies based on year and location, but information that may be included in a census can include:

  • Name of each person in the family at the time the census was taken
  • Street or Avenue, or number Rural Free Delivery
  • Sex
  • Age
  • Color
  • Nativity
  • Place of birth of this person
  • Place of birth of Father of this person
  • Place of birth of Mother of this person
  • Period of Residence
  • How long a resident of this State (years and months)
  • How long a resident of this enumeration district (years and months)
  • Regular occupation
  • Military service

References[edit | edit source]

  1. Rutgers University Libraries, "New Jersey Genealogy: Census," https://libguides.rutgers.edu/c.php?g=337082&p=2268653, accessed 3 November 2021.



Wiki articles describing online collections are found at: