New Jersey, United States Genealogy
Guide to New Jersey genealogy. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
|New Jersey Wiki Topics|
|New Jersey Background|
|Local Research Resources|
New Jersey Information[edit | edit source]
New Jersey is a state in the northeast portion of the United States. It is divided into 21 counties. New Jersey was the 3rd State to join the Union on December 18, 1787. It came from the Crown Colony of New Jersey. The State capital is Trenton, New Jersey. 
Getting Started[edit | edit source]
Getting Started with New Jersey Research
Links to articles on getting started with New Jersey research.
New Jersey Research Tools
Links to articles and websites that assist in United States research.
New Jersey Clickable Map[edit | edit source]
Genealogy records are kept on the county level in New Jersey Click on a county below to go to the Wiki article listing more information.
Counties[edit | edit source]
Genealogy records are kept on the county level in New Jersey. Click on a county below to go to the Wiki article listing more information.
- Cape May
New Jersey Migration Routes[edit | edit source]
Ellis Island, Castle Garden, etc. · Atlantic Coast Ports · Delaware Indian Path or King's Highway · Delaware River · Passaic River · Raritan River · Great Shamokin Path · King's Highway or Delaware Indian Path · Lincoln Highway · Delaware and Raritan Canal · Morris Canal
FamilySearch Resources[edit | edit source]
Below are FamilySearch resources that can assist you in researching your family.
- Facebook Communities - Facebook groups discussing genealogy research
- Learning Center - Online genealogy courses
- Historical Records
- Family History Center locator map
Additional Resources[edit | edit source]
- Index of names to various records in various New Jersey counties, 1600-1800s Typescript FamilySearch Catalog
- Early NJ records exist as part of both New Sweden Genealogy and New Netherland Genealogy
- New Jersey County Creation Dates and Parent Counties
- Cyndi's List - New Jersey genealogy sites on the internet
- New Jersey Genealogy Trails - collection of transcribed data for the state of New Jersey
- Access Genealogy – Genealogy guide for New Jersey
- Ancestorhunt.com - resources for New Jersey genealogy research
- Random Acts of Genealogical Kindness - Guide to Ancestry and Family Tree Records for New Jersey
- New Jersey Research Outline – Original Family History Library research outline; contains many out of date links
- Every Name Indexes for Old County Histories
- Kenneth W. Richards, Rebecca B. Colesar, David C. Munn. Genealogical research : a guide to source materials in the Archives and History Bureau of the New Jersey State Library Trenton, New Jersey : Genealogical Society of New Jersey, 1971
- Wikipedia contributors, "List of US States by Date of Admission," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_U.S._states_by_date_of_admission_to_the_Union, accessed 09/18/2016.