New Haven County, Connecticut Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Guide to New Haven County, Connecticut ancestry, genealogy and family history, birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

County Facts
County seat: New Haven
Organized: 10 May 1666
Parent County(s): Original County[1]
Neighboring Counties
Fairfield  • Hartford  • Litchfield  • Middlesex  • Suffolk (NY)
See County Maps
Courthouse
Connecticut, New Haven County Courthouse.jpg
Location Map
Ct-new-haven.png
Adoption
Adopt-a-wiki page
CTGenWeb Project.jpg This page adopted by:
USGenWeb CT Archives
who welcome you to contribute.
Adopt a page today

County Information[edit | edit source]

Description[edit | edit source]

County Courthouse[edit | edit source]

New Haven County Courthouse
235 Church Street
New Haven, CT 06510
Phone: 203-503-6800
New Haven County Courthouse

There is no county government today. The government is at the town level.
County Clerk has divorce and court records.
Probate Court has probate records.
Town Clerks have birth, death and land records. [2]

New Haven County, Connecticut Record Dates[edit | edit source]

Known Beginning Dates for Major County Records[3]
Birth* Marriage Death* Court Land Probate Census
at town creation at town creation at town creation late 1600s Unknown Unknown 1670
*Statewide registration of births and deaths started in 1897. General compliance by 1915.

Record Loss[edit | edit source]

There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.

Boundary Changes[edit | edit source]

Populated Places[edit | edit source]

For a complete list of populated places, including small neighborhoods and suburbs, visit Hometown Locator. The following are the most historically and genealogically relevant populated places in this county:[5]

ConnecticutNew Haven CountyFairfield CountyLitchfield CountyHartford CountyMiddlesex CountyWolcottWaterburyMiddleburySouthburyOxfordSeymourDerbyAnsoniaOrangeWoodbridgeBethanyBeacon FallsNaugatuckMilfordProspectCheshireHamdenNew HavenWest HavenEast HavenNorth HavenWallingfordMeridenBranfordNorth BranfordGuilfordMadisonWestportFairfieldBridgeportStratfordSheltonTrumbullEastonWestonMonroeReddingBethelNewtonBrookfieldBridgewaterNew MilfordRoxburyWashingtonMorrisBethlehemWatertownWoodburyThomastownPlymouthBristolSouthingtonPlainvilleFarmingtonNew BritainBerlinNewingtonWethersfieldRocky HillGlastonburyMarborough=CromwellPortlandMiddletownEast HamptonE. HaddamHaddamChesterDeep RiverWestbrookClintonKillingworthDurhamMiddlefield
Modern towns and cities in New Haven County, Connecticut. Click map to go to each respective town page.


Cities
Towns
Villages
Unincorporated communities
Census-designated places

Towns Organized before 1800:

  • Branford 1639
  • Cheshire 1780
  • East Haven 1785
  • Guilford 1639
  • Hamden 1786
  • Meriden 1796
  • Millford 1639
  • New Haven 1638
  • North Haven 1786
  • Oxford 1798
  • Seymour 1672
  • Southbury 1787
  • South Derby 1675
  • Wallingford 1670
  • Waterbury 1686
  • Wolcott 1796
  • Woodbridge 1784.

History Timeline[edit | edit source]

Resources[edit | edit source]

Bible Records[edit | edit source]

Bible Records USGenWeb CT Archives

Biographies[edit | edit source]

  • Linkpendium, Biographies, Oral Histories, Diaries, Memoirs, Genealogies, Correspondence New Haven County,
  • Dorothy A. DeBisschop, Historic personalities of the Lower Naugatuck Valley, ([S.I. D.A. DeBisschop, 1971]). Available at the Family History Library, FHL US/CAN Book 974.67 D3d.
  • J.L. Rockey, History of New Haven County, Connecticut, (New York, New York W.W. Preston, 1892). Volume 1 available online at Google Books Also available at the Family History Library, FHL US/CAN Book 974.67 H2r. Volume 2 is available on film, FHL US/CAN Film 845225 or 1000150.
  • J.H. Beers & Co., Commemorative biographical record of New Haven County, Connecticut containing biographical sketches of prominent and representative citizens, and of many of the early settled families, (Chicago, Ill. J.H. Beers, 1902). Includes index. Available online at Internet Archives Also available at the Family History Library, FHL US/CAN Film 162012-162014.
  • Mary Hewitt Mitchell, History of New Haven County, Connecticut, (Chicago, Illinois Pioneer Historical Publishing, 1930). Includes indexes.Available at the Family History Library, FHL US/CAN 974.67 H2m v. 1-3, also FHL US/CAN Film 1320557 Items 1-3.
  • Munson, Myron A. 1637-1887, the Munson record, a genealogical and biographical account of Captain Thomas Munson, a pioneer of Hartford and New Haven, and his descendants (1896). Freely available online
  • Everett Gleason Hill, A modern history of New Haven and eastern New Haven County, (New York, New York S.J. Clarke Pub. Co., 1918). Includes index.Volume 1 is available online at Google Books Volume 2 is available online at Internet Archives Volumes 1 and 2 are also available at the Family History Library, FHL US/CAN Book 974.67 H2h v. 1-2, or FHL US/CAN Film 1573599 Item 5.

Business, Commerce, and Occupations[edit | edit source]

Cemeteries[edit | edit source]

Cemeteries of New Haven, Connecticut online and in print
Tombstone Transcriptions Online
Tombstone Transcriptions in Print (Often more complete)
List of Cemeteries in the County
See Connecticut Cemeteries for more information

Census Records[edit | edit source]

For online and statewide census resources and information, see: Connecticut Census.

Historical populations
Census Pop.
1790 30,703
1800 32,162 4.8%
1810 37,064 15.2%
1820 39,616 6.9%
1830 43,847 10.7%
1840 48,619 10.9%
1850 65,588 34.9%
1860 97,345 48.4%
1870 121,257 24.6%
1880 156,523 29.1%
1890 209,058 33.6%
1900 269,163 28.8%
1910 337,282 25.3%
1920 415,214 23.1%
1930 463,449 11.6%
1940 484,316 4.5%
1950 545,784 12.7%
1960 660,315 21.0%
1970 744,948 12.8%
1980 761,337 2.2%
1990 804,219 5.6%
2000 824,008 2.5%
2010 862,477 4.7%
Source: Wikipedia.org".

Territory and State Census Records

Federal Census Records

Church Records[edit | edit source]

  • Connecticut Genealogy, New Haven County Church Records, Includes church and vital records.
  • Frederick John Kingsbury, A narrative and documentary history of St. John's Protestant Episcopal Church, formerly St. James, of Waterbury, Connecticut with some notice of St. Paul's Church, Plymouth, Christ Church, Waterbury, St. Michael's Church, Naugatuck, a church in Middlebury, All Saint's Church, Wolcott, St. Paul's Church, Waterville, Trinity Church, Waterbury, All Colonies of St. John's, (New Haven [Connecticut] Price Lee & Adkins Co., 1907).Includes index.Available online at Google Books, Also available at the Family History Library, FHL US/CAN Book 974.67/W1 K2k.
  • 1749-1795 Scofield, Ethel Lord. "The Baptismal Record of the Societies of Whitehaven and Fairhaven, Now the United Church (Congregational), New Haven, Conn.," The New York Genealogical and Biographical Record, Vol. 42, No. 1 (Jan. 1911):28-50. Digital versions at Internet Archive - free; FHL Book 974.7 B2n v. 42.

List of Churches and Church Parishes

Court Records[edit | edit source]

Online Court Indexes and Records

Directories[edit | edit source]

  • Linkpendium, Directories, New Haven County
  • Waterbury suburban city directory including Middlebury, Terryville, Thomaston, Watertown, and Wolcott, (New Haven [Connecticut] Price & Lee Company, 1940?-). Available at the Family History Library, FHL US/CAN Book 974.67 E4pws.
  • Prospect city directory including Beacon Falls, Bethany, Oxford, (New Haven [Connecticut] Price & Lee Co., 1976-). Available at the Family History Library, FHL US/CAN Book 974.67 E4pp.
  • Ansonia, Derby, Shelton, Seymour directory combining five distinct directories: governmental directory, buyers directory, alphabetical directory, numerical directory, classified directory, (New Haven [Connecticut] Price & Lee, 1931-).Available at the Family History Library, FHL US/CAN Book 974.67 E4pa.

Emigration and Immigration[edit | edit source]

Ethnic, Political, and Religious Groups[edit | edit source]

Funeral Homes[edit | edit source]

Genealogies[edit | edit source]

Guardianship[edit | edit source]

Land and Property Records[edit | edit source]

Deeds, mortgages, releases, and other documents are at the town halls. Most are indexed by grantor and grantee, no statewide index. Microfilm copies (early to the mid or late 1800s, with some up to the 1900s) are available at the Connecticut State Library and also online at FamilySearch.org.

Online Land Indexes and Records

  • Library of Congress. Geography and Map Division, New Haven County, Connecticut land ownership map, 1852 and 1856, (Washington, District of Columbia Library of Congress, 1983). 1852 map available online at flickr from yahoo - Available at the Family History Library, FHL US/CAN Fiche 6079301, and FHL US/CAN Fiche 6079301.

Local Histories[edit | edit source]

Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]

Fairfield CountyLitchfield CountyHartford CountyMiddlesex CountyCT NEW HAVEN.PNG
Click a neighboring county
for more resources


Migration[edit | edit source]

Military Records[edit | edit source]

American Revolution

  • Individual Records of the American Revolution, USGenWeb CT Archives
  • James Spencer Hedden and Sons of the American Revolution. General David Humphries Branch, Roster of graves of, or monuments to, patriots of 1775-1783, and of soldiers of colonial wars in and adjacent to New Haven County, Connecticut, Typescript (photocopy).Includes indexes.Available at the Family History Library, FHL US/CAN Book 974.67 M2h, or FHL US/CAN Film 1421668 Item 9.

Civil War

Regiments. Service men from New Haven County served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Most of the men in the following companies were from New Haven County.

-1st Regiment Connecticut Volunteers - Field, Staff, Band and Company A,B, D and F.
-2nd Regiment Connecticut Volunteers - Infantry Company C and D. Rifle Company F.
-3rd Regiment Connecticut Volunteers - Field and Staff, Infantry Company B and D. Rifle Company B and C.
-1st Regiment Connecticut Cavalry - Company A, B, C, D, E, F, G, H, K, L, M and Unassigned Recruits.
-1st Light Battery Connecticut Volunteers -
-1st Regiment Heavy Artillery Connecticut Volunteers - Field, Staff and Band, Company B, C, D, E, F, G, H, I, K, L, and M.
-2nd Regiment Heavy Artillery Connecticut Volunteers - Company A, B, C, D, G, I, M and Unassigned Recruits.
-5th Regiment Connecticut Volunteer Infantry - Company A, C, D and F.
-6th Regiment Connecticut Volunteer Infantry - Field, Staff and Band, Company C, E, F, G, H, I, and K.
-7th Regiment Connecticut Volunteer Infantry - Company A, C, D, F, and K.
-8th Regiment Connecticut Volunteer Infantry - Company A, D, E, F, I and K.
-9th Regiment Connecticut Volunteer Infantry - Field and Staff, Company A, B, C, E, F, K and Unassigned Recruits.
-10th Regiment Connecticut Volunteer Infantry - Company A, E, F, H, I and Unassigned Recruits.
-11th Regiment Connecticut Volunteer Infantry - Company D, E, G, I and K.
-12th Regiment Connecticut Volunteer Infantry - Field and Staff, Company A, C, F and Unassigned Recruits.
-13th Regiment Connecticut Volunteer Infantry - Company B, D, and H.
-14th Regiment Connecticut Volunteer Infantry - Field and Staff, Company A, B, C, D, E, F, G, H, I, and K.
-15th Regiment Connecticut Volunteer Infantry - Company A, B, C, D, F, G, H, I and K.
-18th Regiment Connecticut Volunteer Infantry - Company D.
-20th Regiment Connecticut Volunteer Infantry - Company A, B, E, F, G, I and K.
-23rd Regiment Connecticut Volunteer Infantry - Field and Staff, Company A, F, and H.
-24th Regiment Connecticut Volunteer Infantry - Company H and I.
-27th Regiment Connecticut Volunteer Infantry - Company A, B, C, D, E, F, H, I and K.
-29th Regiment Connecticut Volunteer Infantry (Colored) - Company A, B, H and K.
-30th Regiment Connecticut Volunteer Infantry - Company B and C.

World War I

World War II

Naturalization and Citizenship[edit | edit source]

Online Naturalization Indexes and Records

  • 1851-1992 Connecticut, District Court Naturalization Indexes, 1851-1992 at FamilySearch — How to Use this Collection; index/images
  • Connecticut. City Court (New Haven), Naturalization records (New Haven, New Haven, Connecticut), 1874-1877, 1906-1923, (Salt Lake City, Utah Filmed by the Genealogical Society of Utah, 1984-2008).Includes index.Contains records of declarations of intent for persons from the city of New Haven, or from towns in New Haven County.Available at the Family History Library, FHL US/CAN Film 1398567 Item 6. (12 Films)
  • Connecticut. City Court (Meriden), Petitions and records of naturalization (Meriden, New Haven, Connecticut), 1903-1939 , (Salt Lake City, Utah Filmed by the Genealogical Society of Utah, 1984-2008).Indexes are found within each volume.Available at the Family History Library, FHL US/CAN Film 1398568 Items 2-3. (8 Films)
  • United States. Circuit Court and District Court (Connecticut District), Naturalization records (New Haven County, Connecticut), 1906-1945 , (Salt Lake City, Utah Filmed by the Genealogical Society of Utah, 2007-2008). Includes index in some volumes.Available at the Family History Library, Vault US/CAN Film 2421323 Item 1. (92 Films)
  • Scott, Kenneth. "Some New Haven County, Connecticut Naturalizations, 1803-1844," National Genealogical Society Quarterly, Vol. 71 (1983):217-219. Digital version at National Genealogical Society website ($); FHL Book 973 B2ng v. 71 (1983)
  • Connecticut. City Court (New Haven), Name index to declarations filed, 1844-1923 , (Salt Lake City, Utah Filmed by the Genealogical Society of Utah, 1984). Includes records for persons living in the city of New Haven, or in nearby towns. FHL US/CAN Film 1398571. (6 films)
  • Connecticut. City Court (New Haven), Name index to petitions filed, 1843-1923 , (Salt Lake City, Utah Filmed by the Genealogical Society of Utah, 1984).Includes records for persons living in the city of New Haven, or in nearby towns.Available at the Family History Library, FHL US/CAN Film 1398568 Item 4. (3 films)
  • United States Circuit Court ; United States District Court, Index to naturalization records, New Haven, CT, (Salt Lake City, Utah Filmed by the Genealogical Society of Utah, 2004).Index is in alphabetical order by surname.Includes name, age, country of birth, name of court, date issued, volume and page number.Available at the Family History Library, Vault US/CAN Film 2370600. (18 Films)

Newspapers[edit | edit source]

Obituaries[edit | edit source]

Other Records[edit | edit source]

Photographs[edit | edit source]

Periodicals[edit | edit source]

Probate Records[edit | edit source]

The records are kept at district courts. The County government does not exist. Not every town has a court. Some are included in a district making up from 1 to 5 towns. The Districts are: Avon, Berlin, Bristol, Burlington, Canton, East Granby, East Hartford, East Windsor, Enfield, Farmington, Granby, Hartford, Hartland, Manchester, Marlborough, Plainville, Simsbury, Southington, Suffield, and Windsor.
See Connecticut Probate Records. See also Connecticut State Library, Research Guide to Connecticut Probate Records.

Online Probate Indexes and Records

School Records[edit | edit source]

Social Security Records[edit | edit source]

Tax Records[edit | edit source]

Vital Records[edit | edit source]

Birth[edit | edit source]

Marriage[edit | edit source]

Death[edit | edit source]

Divorce[edit | edit source]

  • Connecticut. Superior Court (New Haven County), Divorce Papers, 1712-1899 , Manuscript/On Film. Available at the Family History Library starting with, FHL US/CAN Film 1672069 Item 2. (56 films)
  • Connecticut. Superior Court (New Haven County), Divorce papers, no appearance files, 1808-1900 , (Salt Lake City, Utah Filmed by the Genealogical Society of Utah, 1990).A record of divorce cases which were withdrawn or discontinued. Available at the Family History Library starting with, FHL US/CAN Film 1673026 Item 2. (9 films)
  • 1746-1927 Daughters of the American Revolution. Oneida Chapter, Volume 6: Bible, cemetery and church records, 1746-1927 , (Salt Lake City, Utah Filmed by the Genealogical Society of Utah, 1985).Available at the Family History Library, FHL US/CAN Film 1435718 Item 1.
  • Linkpendium, Vital Records, New Haven County.

Research Facilities[edit | edit source]

Archives[edit | edit source]

Listed below are archives in New Haven County. For state-wide facilities, see Connecticut Archives and Libraries.

  • USGenWeb Connecticut Archives, New Haven County,
  • Historical Records Survey.Connecticut. Inventory of the town and city archives of Connecticut, no. 5, New Haven County vol. viii, North Branford, North Haven, Orange, Oxford, Prospect, Seymour, Southbury, (New Haven, Connecticut The Survey, 1938).Includes index.Available at the Family History Library, FHL US/CAN Book 974.67 A3h, or FHL US/CAN Film 897354 Item 2.

Family History Centers[edit | edit source]

Family History Center and Affiliate Library Locator map - search for local Family History Centers or Affiliate Libraries

  • Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance, free access to center-only databases, and to premium genealogical websites.
  • FamilySearch Affiliate Libraries have access to most center-only databases, but may not always have full services normally provided by a family history center.

Local Centers and Affiliate Libraries

Libraries[edit | edit source]

Listed below are libraries in New Haven County. For state-wide library facilities, see Connecticut Archives and Libraries.

County Public Libraries.
Ansonia Public Library
53 South Cliff Street
Ansonia, CT 06401
(203) 734-6275
E-mail: ansonialibrary@biblio.org
Facebook
Website
Beacon Falls Public Library
10 Maple Avenue
Beacon Falls, CT 06403
203-729-1441
E-mail: https://www.mybflib.org/contact-staff/
Facebook
Website
Bernice Morehouse Research Center
1090 Hanover Avenue
South Meriden, CT 06451
(203)639-1913
E-mail: meridenhistoricalsociety@gmail.com
Website
Charlotte L. Evarts Memorial Archives
8 Meetinghouse Ln
Madison, CT 06443
203 245-5667
E-Mail: evartsarchives@aol.com
Website
Cheshire Public Library
104 Main Street
Cheshire, CT 06410
203-272-2245
Website
Clark Memorial Library – Bethany Library
538 Amity Road (CT 63)
Bethany, CT 06524
203-393-2103
E-mail: director@bethanylibrary.org
Facebook
Website
Derby Historical Society Research Library
37 Elm Street
Ansonia, CT 06401
203 735-1908
E-mail:info@derbyhistorical.org
Facebook
Website
Derby Public Library
313 Elizabeth Street
Derby, CT 06418
(203) 736-1482
E-mail: ncignoli@biblio.org
Facebook
Website
Derby Neck Library
307 Hawthorne Ave
Derby, CT 06418
203-734-1492
E-mail: headlibrarian@biblio.org
Facebook
Website
Guilford Free Library
67 Park Street
Guilford, CT 06437
203-453-8282.
E-mail: rmccoole@guilfordfreelibrary.org
Facebook
Website
Hagaman Memorial Library
227 Main Street
East Haven, CT 06512
203-468-3890
E-mail: bgeorge@hagamanlibrary.org
Facebook
Website
James Blackstone Memorial Library
758 Main Street
Branford, CT 06405
203 488-1441
Karen Jensen, Library Director, ext. 312
E-Mail: kjensen@blackstonelibrary.org
Website
Hamden Public Library
There are three branch locations in the town of Hamden
Facebook
Website
Howard Whittemore Library
243 Church Street,
Naugatuck, CT 06770
203-729-4591
Website
James Blackstone Memorial Library
758 Main Street
Branford, CT 06405
203 488-1441
E-Mail: kjensen@blackstonelibrary.org
Facebook
Website
Meriden Public Library
105 Miller Street
Meriden, CT 06450
203.238.2344
E-mail: Croseboro@meridenct.gov
Website
Memorable Milford History
Milford, CT 06460
Website
Middlebury Public Library
30 Crest Rd
Middlebury, CT 06762
203-758-2634
Website
Milford Public Library
57 New Haven Ave
Milford, CT 06460
203-783-3290
Website
New Haven Free Public Library- Ives Main Campus
133 Elm Street
New Haven, CT 06510
(203) 946-8130
Website
North Branford Libraries
Atwater Memorial Library
1720 Foxon Road
North Branford, CT 06471
203-315-6020
Edward Smith Library
3 Old Post Road
Northford, CT 06472
203-484-0469
E-mail: director@nbranfordlibraries.org
Website
North Haven Memorial Library
17 Elm Street
North Haven, CT 06473
203-239-5803
Website
Scranton Library
801 Boston Post Road
Madison, CT 06443
203‑245‑7365
Website
Silas Bronson Library
267 Grand St.
Waterbury, CT 06702
203-574-8225
E-Mail: sbl-refdesk@waterburyct.org
Website
Southern Connecticut Ancestry Network (SCAN)
Hamden Miller Memorial Central Library
2901 Dixwell Ave
Hamden, CT. 06518
E-Mail: hhs@hamdenlibrary.org
Website

Museums[edit | edit source]

New Haven Museum and Historical Society
114 Whitney Ave.
New Haven, CT 06510
203-562-4183
FAX 203-562-2002
E-Mail: info@newhavenmuseum.org
Website
North Haven Historical Society and Museums
27 Broadway
North Haven CT 06473
203-239-7722
Website


Societies[edit | edit source]

Listed below are societies in New Haven County. For state-wide genealogical and historical societies, see Connecticut Societies.

Amity & Woodbridge Historical Society
1907 Litchfield Turnpike
Woodbridge, CT 06525
203-768-1029
E-Mail: info@woodbridgehistory.org
Website
Beacon Falls Historical Society
10 Maple Ave
P.O. Box 171
Beacon Falls, CT 06403
203-558-8565
E-mail: http://www.bfhistorical.org/contact-us/
Facebook
Website
Bethany Historical Society Inc
512 Amity Road,
Bethany, CT 06524
203-393-1832
E-mail: bethanyhistoricalsociety@gmail.com
Facebook
Website
Branford Historical Society
The Harrison House Museum
P.O. Box 504
124 Main Street
Branford, CT 06405
203-488-4828
E-mail: info@branfordhistoricalsociety.org
Website
Cheshire Historical Society
43 Church Drive
Cheshire, CT 06410-3104
203-272-2574
E-mail: cheshirehistory@che.necoxmail.com
Facebook
Website
Derby Historical Society
37 Elm Street
Ansonia, CT 06401
203 735-1908
E-mail:info@derbyhistorical.org
Facebook
Website
East Haven Historical Society
200 Tyler Street,
PO Box: 120052
East Haven CT, 06512
(203)-467-1766
E-mail: eh.historical@gmail.com
Facebook
Website
Greater New Haven African-American Historical Society
Email: gnhaahs@gmail.com
Facebook
Website
Guilford Keeping Society
171 Boston St
Guilford, CT 06437
203-453-2263
E-mail: info@guilfordkeepingsociety.com
Facebook
Website
Madison Historical Society
14 Meetinghouse Lane
Madison, CT 06443-3155
203.245.4567
E-mail: contact@madisonhistory.org
Website
Meriden Historical Society
P. O. Box 3005
Meriden, CT 06450
E-mail: meridenhistoricalsociety@gmail.com
Website
Middlebury Historical Society
PO Box 104
Middlebury, Connecticut 06762
203-758-9798
E-mail: robraff@frontier.com
Website
Milford Historical Society
P.O. Box 337
34 High Street
Milford, CT 06460
203-874-2664
Website
The Naugatuck Historical Society
P.O Box 317
195 Water Street
Naugatuck, Connecticut 06770
203-729-9039
E-mail: naugatuckhistory@att.net
Website
Naugatuck Valley Genealogy Club
c/o Prospect Public Library
17 Center Street Prospect, CT 06712
Website
Orange Historical Society
605 & 615 Orange Center Rd.
Orange, CT 06477
​203-795-3106
E-Mail: ​orangehistorical@yahoo.com
Facebook
Website
Oxford Historical Society
60 Towner Ln
Oxford, CT 06478
(203) 910-4574
E-Mail: office@oxford-historical-society.org
Facebook
Website
Prospect Historical Society
PO Box 7335
61 Waterbury Road
Prospect, CT 06712
203-758-5503
E-Mail: prospect.historical.society@gmail.com
Website
Seymour Historical Society
P.O. Box 433
59 West St
Seymour, CT 06483
(203) 888-7471
E-Mail: President@SeymourHistoricalSociety.org
Website
Southbury Historical Society
PO Box 124
Southbury, CT 06488
203-405-3124
E-Mail: info@southburyhistory.org
Website
The Totoket Historical Society
P.O. Box 491
Northford, CT 06472
203-488-0423
E-mail: totokethistoricalsociety@gmail.com
Website
Wallingford Historical Society
P. O. Box 73
180 South Main Street
Wallingford, CT 06492
(203) 294-1996
E-Mail:wallingfordhistory@att.net
Website
West Haven Historical Society
686 Savin Ave
West Haven, CT 06516
(203) 932-0088
E-Mail: info@whhistoricalsociety.org
Website
Wolcott Historical Society
P.O. Box 6410
Wolcott, CT 06716
203-879-9818
E-Mail: stanzepa@sbcglobal.net
Website
Hamden Historical Society
2901 Dixwell Avenue
Hamden, CT 06518
203-287-2680
Email: hhs@hamdenlibrary.org
Website

Websites[edit | edit source]

  • FamilySearch Catalog – The FamilySearch catalog contains descriptions and access information for all genealogical materials (including books, online materials, microfilm, microfiche, and publications) in their collection.  Use Historical Records to search for specific individuals in genealogical records.

Research Guides[edit | edit source]

References[edit | edit source]

  1. Newberry
  2. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), 113. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  3. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), New Haven County, Connecticut . Page 113 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002; Alice Eichholz, ed. Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County, and Town Sources, Third ed. (Provo, Utah: Ancestry, 2004), 104-110.
  4. Newberry
  5. Wikipedia contributors,"New Haven County, Connecticut, " in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia,https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/New_Haven_County,_Connecticut, accessed 8 October 2018.