Nevada, United States Genealogy
| Nevada Wiki Topics |
|
| Beginning Research |
| Record Types |
|
| Nevada Background |
| Cultural Groups |
| Local Research Resources |
Guide to Nevada genealogy. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records. This article is about the U.S. state of Nevada. For other uses, see Nevada (disambiguation).
Nevada Information[edit | edit source]
Nevada is a state in the western portion of the United States. It is divided into 16 counties. Nevada was the 36th State to join the Union on October 31, 1864. It was created from the Nevada Territory. The State Capital is Carson City. [1]
Getting Started[edit | edit source]
Getting Started with Nevada ResearchLinks to articles on getting started with Nevada research. |
Nevada Research ToolsLinks to articles and websites that assist in Nevada research.
|
Nevada Clickable Map[edit | edit source]
Genealogy records are kept on the county level in Nevada Click on a county below to go to the Wiki article listing more information.
Counties[edit | edit source]
Many genealogy records are kept at the county level.
Counties:
- Churchill
- Clark
- Douglas
- Elko
- Esmeralda
- Eureka
- Humboldt
- Lander
- Lincoln
- Lyon
- Mineral
- Nye
- Pershing
- Storey
- Washoe
- White Pine
Independent Cities: Carson City
Extinct or former counties having records for your Nevada ancestors:
- Beaver NV
- Bernalillo NM
- Carson NV
- Desert NV
- Humboldt UT
- Iron UT
- Juab UT
- Lake UT
- Millard UT
- Mohave AZ
- Ormsby NV
- Pahute NV
- Pah-Ute AZ
- Rio Arriba NM
- Rio Virgin UT
- Roop NV
- Saint Mary's UT
- San Juan NM
- Santa Ana NM
- Taos NM
- Tooele UT
- Valencia NM
- Washington UT
- Weber UT
- Nataqua Territory
See also: Previous Jurisdictions to Land in Arizona for further details on the annexation of the southeast corner of Nevada.
Nevada Migration Routes[edit | edit source]
|
Applegate Trail · California Trail · Central Overland Trail · Mormon Trail to Southern California · Old Trail · Central Pacific Railroad · Southern Pacific Railroad · Union Pacific Railroad
FamilySearch Resources[edit | edit source]
Below are FamilySearch resources that can assist you in researching your family.
- Facebook Communities - Facebook groups discussing genealogy research
- Learning Center - Online genealogy courses
- Historical Records
- Family History Center locator map
Additional Resources[edit | edit source]
- Cyndi's List - Nevada genealogy sites on the internet
- Wyoming Genealogy Trails - collection of transcribed data for the state of Nevada
- Access Genealogy – Genealogy guide for Nevada
- Ancestorhunt.com - resources for Nevada genealogy research
- Random Acts of Genealogical Kindness - Guide to Ancestry and Family Tree Records for Nevada
- Nevada Research Outline – Original Family History Library research outline; contains many out of date links
- ↑ Wikipedia contributors, "List of US States by Date of Admission," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_U.S._states_by_date_of_admission_to_the_Union, accessed 09/18/2016.
