Nebraska, United States Genealogy
|Nebraska Wiki Topics|
|Local Research Resources|
Guide to Nebraska genealogy. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, and military records.
Nebraska Information[edit | edit source]
Nebraska is a state in the midwest portion of the United States. It has 93 counties. Nebraska was the 37th State to join the Union on March 1, 1867. The State was formed from the Nebraska Territory. Lincoln is the State Capital. 
Getting Started[edit | edit source]
Getting Started with Nebraska Research
Links to articles on getting started with United States research.
Nebraska Research Tools[edit | edit source]
Links to articles and websites that assist in United States research.
Nebraska Clickable Map[edit | edit source]
Genealogy records are kept on the county level in Nebraska. Click on a county below to go to the Wiki article listing more information.
Counties[edit | edit source]
Nebraska Migration Routes[edit | edit source]
FamilySearch Resources[edit | edit source]
Below are FamilySearch resources that can assist you in researching your family.
- Facebook Communities - Facebook groups discussing genealogy research
- Learning Center - Online genealogy courses
- Historical Records
- Family History Center locator map
Additional Resources[edit | edit source]
- Roberta King, Research in Nebraska Arlington, Virginia : National Genealogical Society, c2015 FHL 978.2 D27k 2015
- Nebraska Research Outline – Original Family History Library research outline; contains many out of date links
- Cyndi's List - Nebraska genealogy sites on the internet
- Nebraska Genealogy Trails - collection of transcribed data for the state of Nebraska
- Access Genealogy – Genealogy guide for Nebraska
- Random Acts of Genealogical Kindness - Guide to Ancestry and Family Tree Records for Nebraska
- O’Bits of Nebraska is an ongoing collection of obituaries, notices of death, and news of tragic deaths printed before 1930. The focus is on newspapers in smaller towns. New items are added each week.
- The Nebraska Library Commission Western Trails web site links to artifacts, books, documents, maps, and photos.
- Every Name Index
References[edit | edit source]
- Wikipedia contributors, "List of US States by Date of Admission," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_U.S._states_by_date_of_admission_to_the_Union, accessed 09/18/2016.