Guide to Myanmar, family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Myanmar Wiki Topics|
|Local Research Resources|
Country Information[edit | edit source]
Myanmar, known for most of its history in the West as Burma, is a country in Asia bordered by Bangladesh, China, India, Laos, and Thailand. It was formerly ruled by Great Britain. The official language is Burmese.
Getting Started[edit | edit source]
Getting Started with Myanmar Research
Links to articles on getting started with Myanmar research.
Myanmar Research Tools
Links to articles and websites that assist in Myanmar research.
Myanmar Map[edit | edit source]
Genealogy records are kept on the local level in Myanmar.
Jurisdictions[edit | edit source]
Genealogy records are kept on the local level in Myanmar. Click on a place below to go to the corresponding Wiki article listing more information.
Regions and States[edit | edit source]
- Ayeyarwady Region
- Bago Region
- Chin State
- Kachin State
- Kayah State
- Kayin State
- Magway Region
- Mandalay Region
- Mon State
- Rakhine State
- Sagaing Region
- Shan State
- Tanintharyi Region
- Yangon Region
Cities[edit | edit source]
Territory[edit | edit source]
FamilySearch Resources[edit | edit source]
Below are FamilySearch resources that can assist you in researching your family.
- Facebook Communities - Facebook groups discussing genealogy research
- Learning Center - Online genealogy courses
- Historical Records
References[edit | edit source]
- Wikipedia contributors, "Myanmar," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Myanmar, accessed 25 April 2016.