Muscatine County, Iowa Genealogy

United States

Iowa

Muscatine County

Guide to Muscatine County, Iowa ancestry, genealogy and family history, birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

Iowa Online Genealogy Records

County Facts County seat: Muscatine Organized: December 7, 1836 Parent County(s): Des Moines Neighboring Counties Cedar  • Johnson  • Louisa  • Scott  • Mercer (IL)  • Rock Island (IL) See County Maps Courthouse Location Map Adoption This page is available for adoption

County Information

Description

Muscatine County was named for the Mascouten tribe and is located in southeastern Iowa.

County Courthouse

Muscatine County Courthouse
401 East 3rd Street
Muscatine, IA 52761
Phone: 563-263-6511
Muscatine County Website

Muscatine County, Iowa Record Dates

Information for this chart was taken from various sources, often containing conflicting dates. This information should be taken as a guide and should be verified by contacting the county and/or the state government agency.

Known Beginning Dates for Major County Records
Birth*	Marriage	Death*	Court	Land	Probate	Census
1880	1838	1880	1839	1838	1838	1847
* Statewide registration started for births in July 1880 and for deaths January 1891. General compliance by 1924.

Record Loss

1864 Courthouse was destroyed by fire, but no records were reported lost.

Boundary Changes

Parent Counties: Created from Des Moines county December 7, 1836. County seat: Muscatine Interactive Map of Iowa County Formation History (1790-1897) - animated maps illustrating Iowa county boundary changes Iowa Historical Boundary Changes - list of all boundary changes by county provided by Newberry Library

Populated Places

For a complete list of populated places, including small neighborhoods and suburbs, visit HomeTown Locator. The following are the most historically and genealogically relevant populated places in this county:

Cities
Atalissa Blue Grass Conesville Durant	Fruitland Muscatine Nichols Stockton	Walcott West Liberty Wilton
Unincorporated communities
Ardon Cranston Fairport	Hinkeyville Midway Beach Montpelier	Moscow Petersburg Port Allen
Townships
Bloomington Cedar Fruitland Fulton Goshen	Lake Montpelier Moscow Orono Pike	Seventy-Six Sweetland Wapsinonoc Wilton

Resources

Bible Records

Listed below are resources for Bible records specific to Muscatine County. To find more resources, go to the Iowa Bible Records page.

• Bible Records, Muscatine Co IA and Vicinity at Muscatine County Iowa Genealogy Home page via Rootsweb — transcriptions

Biographies

• History of Muscatine County, Iowa, From the Earliest Settlements to the Present Time 1911. by Irving Berdine Richman. Chicago, IL: S.J Clarke Publishing Co. Vol I Online at: Internet Archive, HathiTrust — index & images, Google Books; Vol II Online at: Internet Archive

• A History of Muscatine County, Iowa: Containing Biographical Sketches of Citizens. 1879. Chicago, IL: Western Historical Co. Online at: Internet Archive, HathiTrust — index & images.

• Portrait and Biographical Album of Muscatine County, Iowa: Containing Full-page Portraits and Biographical Sketches of Prominent and Representative Citizens of the County 1889. Chicago, IL: Acme Publishing Co. Online at: FamilySearch Digital Library, Internet Archive, HathiTrust — index & images, Ancestry — index & images ($)

• Muscatine County, Iowa Biographies Project at RootsWeb — links to biographies and local histories
  

Cemeteries

Cemeteries of Muscatine County, Iowa online and in print
Tombstone Transcriptions Online	BillionGraves Find A Grave IA Tombstone Transcription Project IAGenWeb Iowa Gravestone Photo Project USGenWeb Archives WPA 1930's Graves Registration Survey
Tombstone Transcriptions in Print (Often more complete)	Family History Library WorldCat
List of Cemeteries in the County	FamilySearch Places Find A Grave
See Iowa Cemeteries for more information.

 

Census Records

Iowa recorded not only federal, but state censuses for several in-between years as well. For more information, see the very informative Iowa Census article.

Historical populations
Census	Pop.	%±
1850	5,731	—
1860	16,444	186.9%
1870	21,688	31.9%
1880	23,170	6.8%
1890	24,504	5.8%
1900	28,242	15.3%
1910	29,505	4.5%
1920	29,042	−1.6%
1930	29,385	1.2%
1940	31,296	6.5%
1950	32,148	2.7%
1960	33,840	5.3%
1970	37,181	9.9%
1980	40,436	8.8%
1990	39,907	−1.3%
2000	41,722	4.5%
2010	42,745	2.5%
Source: "Wikipedia.org".

State Census

• 1885 Iowa State Census, 1885 at FamilySearch — How to Use this Collection; index and images
• 1895 Iowa State Census, 1895 at FamilySearch — How to Use this Collection; index and images
• 1905 Iowa State Census, 1905 at FamilySearch — How to Use this Collection; index and images (individual cards, not family context)
• 1915 Iowa State Census, 1915 at FamilySearch — How to Use this Collection; index and images
• 1925 Iowa State Census, 1925 at FamilySearch — How to Use this Collection; index and images

Church Records

Most church records are held by individual churches. Some denominations are gathering their records into a central repository. For more information about these major repositories, see Iowa Church Records.

• FamilySearch Places

Lutheran

• 1781-1969 U.S., Evangelical Lutheran Church in America Church Records, 1781-1969 at Ancestry — index and images, ($)

Court Records

• 1838-1992 Probate Records, 1838-1992(*); District Court at FamilySearch Catalog — images
• 1839-1930 District Court Records, 1839-1930(*); District Court at FamilySearch Catalog — images
• 1853-1869 County Judge Minutes, 1853-1869(*); County Judge at FamilySearch Catalog — images

Directories

• 1876- Muscatine County History and Directory(*) at FamilySearch Catalog — images

• 1879 Owen's Gazetteer and Directory of Muscatine County, Iowa(*) at FamilySearch Catalog — images

• 1899 Atlas of Muscatine County, Iowa : Containing Maps of Villages, Cities and Townships of the County; Farmer's Directory; Business Directory(*) at FamilySearch Catalog — images

• Muscatine, Iowa Directory, 1891-93 at Ancestry ($)

Funeral Homes

• Bentley Funeral Home in Durant and Wilton
  
• Henderson-Barker Funeral Homes in West Liberty
  
• Nichols Bewlley Funeral and Cremation Services in Muscatine
  
• Ralph J Wittick Riley Freers Funeral Home in Muscatine
  
• Snyder and Hollenburgh Funeral and Cremation Homes in Muscatine
  

Land and Property Records

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. They include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Iowa Land and Property for information about early Iowa land grants. After land was transferred to private ownership, transactions were usually recorded and housed at the county courthouse.

Online Land and Property Records

• 1838-1930 Land and Lot deed records, 1838-1930 at FamilySearch Catalog – index & images

Local Histories

Local histories are available for Muscatine County, which may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see Iowa Local Histories.

• Early Recollections of Bloomington and Its Surroundings. 1887. By Josiah Proctor Walton. n.p.: n.p. Online at: FamilySearch Digital Library.

• History of Muscatine County, Iowa, From the Earliest Settlements to the Present Time 1911. by Irving Berdine Richman. Chicago, IL: S.J Clarke Publishing Co. Vol I Online at: Internet Archive, HathiTrust — index & images, Google Books; Vol II Online at: Internet Archive

• Log Cabin History of the Settlement of Wapsinonoc, Pike and Springdale townships. 1903. By L.O. Mosher, West Liberty, IA: Enterprise Printing House. Online at: FamilySearch Digital Library.

• The Fork of the Rivers: History and Partial Genealogy of People of Oakland-Orono Townships, (Louisa-Muscatine Counties, Iowa).1978. By Mabel Estle Brown. Conesville, IA: Brown. Online at: FamilySearch Digital Library.

• Portrait and Biographical Album of Muscatine County, Iowa: Containing Full-page Portraits and Biographical Sketches of Prominent and Representative Citizens of the County. 1889. Chicago, IL: Acme Publishing Co. Online at: FamilySearch Digital Library, Internet Archive, HathiTrust — index & images, Ancestry — index & images ($)

• Iowa Indexes at EveryNameIndex.com — Select the county.

Maps and Gazetteers

County and state maps, historical and more current, are valuable research tools. For online maps and collections in libraries and societies, see Iowa Maps. Historical maps may be especially useful.

Click a neighboring county
for more resources

• 1860-1918 U.S., Indexed County Land Ownership Maps, 1860-1918, Muscatine County at Ancestry ($) - index.
• 1874-2007 Muscatine County 1874-2007 at Historic Map Works - may include names of land-owners.
• 1883-1941 Fire Insurance Maps for Muscatine County, Iowa at Library of Congress - various years between 1883 and 1941.
• Atlas of Muscatine County, Iowa-repro:Harrison & Warner(*); at FamilySearch Catalog — images.
• Atlas of Muscatine County, Iowa-repro:Huebinger(*); at FamilySearch Catalog — images.
• IAGenWeb - Muscatine County.
• Iowa Digital Library, Muscatine County at Iowa University Libraries.
• Muscatine County Maps at FamilySearch Catalog.
• The Iowa Heritage Digital Collections, Muscatine County at State Library of Iowa.
• Township Map of 1875 Muscatine County, Iowa at My Genealogy Hound; enlarged views of each township.
• FamilySearch Places: Map of cities and towns in this county - How to Use FS Places.

Military Records

Multiple Wars

• 1835-1998 Iowa, Armed Forces Grave Registrations, ca. 1835-1998 at FamilySearch — How to Use this Collection; index only
• 1862-1910 Iowa, Records of Persons Subject to Military Duty, 1862-1910 at FamilySearch — How to Use this Collection; index and images

Civil War

• 1861-1949 Iowa, Grand Army of the Republic Membership Records, 1861-1949 at FamilySearch — How to Use this Collection; index and images
• Muscatine County, Iowa Civil War Soldiers at Ancestry ($)

Civil War service men in Muscatine County served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed here:

- 1st Regiment, Iowa Infantry (3 months, 1861), Company A and C

- 2nd Regiment, Iowa Cavalry, Company A and G

- 7th Regiment, Iowa Cavalry, Company A

- 11th Regiment, Iowa Infantry, Company A, D, H, and I

- 16th Regiment, Iowa Infantry, Company C

- 18th Regiment, Iowa Infantry, Company E and K

- 44th Regiment, Iowa Infantry (100 days, 1864), Company B

Naturalization and Citizenship

Please see the Iowa Naturalization and Citizenship page for state-wide information.

Online Naturalization Indexes and Records

• 1829-1953 Naturalization Records, 1829-1953(*); District Court at FamilySearch Catalog — images
• 1837-1945 Naturalization Records, 1855-1945; Indexes, 1837-1944(*); District Court at FamilySearch Catalog —some index, images
• 1859-1990 United States, Iowa Naturalization Records, 1859-1990 at FamilySearch — How to Use this Collection; index and images

Newspapers

• 1940, 1952 The Muscatine Journal. 1940 and 1952. Muscatine, IA, USA. Online at Ancestry ($)

Probate Records

In most counties in Iowa, probate records have been kept by the county judge. They include wills, fee books, claim registers, legacy records, inheritance records, probate ticklers, and dockets. The records are available at the county courthouse.

Online Probate Indexes and Records

• 1758-1997 Iowa, U.S., Wills and Probate Records, 1758-1997 at Ancestry - index and images ($)
• 1838-1992 Probate Records, 1838-1992 at FamilySearch Catalog - images
• 1839-1930 District Court Records, 1839-1930 at FamilySearch Catalog - images

Social Security Records

• 1935-2014 United States Social Security Death Index at FamilySearch — How to use this collection; index. Also at Ancestry, findmypast, Fold3, GenealogyBank, MyHeritage, and Steve Morse. Click here for more information.
• 1936-2007 U.S., Social Security Applications and Claims Index, 1936-2007 at Ancestry — index and images ($)

Tax Records

Iowa tax records complement land records and can supplement the years between censuses. Iowa's unique Old Age Assistance tax gives names, addresses and birth years. There may be gaps of several years. For more information, see the wiki page Iowa Taxation.

Online Tax Indexes and Records

• 1934-1958 Iowa, Old Age Tax Assistance Records, 1934-1958 at FamilySearch — How to Use this Collection; index and images

Vital Records

Vital Records consist of births, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded by civil officials on registers, certificates, and other documents. Copies or extracts may be purchased from the Iowa Department of Public Health or the County Clerk's office. See also Iowa Vital Records.

Birth

• 1850-1939 Iowa, Delayed Birth Records, 1850-1939 at FamilySearch — How to Use this Collection; index and images
• 1880-1935 Iowa, County Births, 1880-1935 at FamilySearch — How to Use this Collection; index and images
• 1921-1942 Iowa, Birth Records, 1921-1942 at FamilySearch — How to Use this Collection; index and images

Marriage

• 1518-1996 Iowa, United States Marriages at Findmypast — index ($)
• 1809-1992 Iowa, Marriages, 1809-1992 at MyHeritage — index ($)
• 1836-1926 Iowa, Marriages, 1836 - 1926 at MyHeritage — index ($)
• 1838-1934 Iowa, County Marriages, 1838-1934 at FamilySearch — How to Use this Collection; index and images
• 1880-1951 Iowa, U.S., Marriage Records, 1880-1951 at Ancestry — index and images ($)

Death

• 1850-1990 Iowa Deaths and Burials, 1850-1990 at FamilySearch — How to Use this Collection; index and some images; Also at: MyHeritage($)
• 1880-1992 Iowa, County Death Records, 1880-1992 at FamilySearch — How to Use this Collection; index and images
• 1900-1939 Iowa Death Index, 1900-1939 at MyHeritage — index ($)
• 1904-1951 Iowa, Death Records, 1904-1951 at FamilySearch — How to Use this Collection; index and images
• 1920-1967 Iowa, U.S., Death Records, 1920-1967 at Ancestry — index and images ($)

Divorce

• 1907-1950 Divorce Records, 1907-1950(*) at FamilySearch Catalog — images

Research Facilities

Archives

Listed below are archives in Muscatine County. For state-wide library facilities, see Iowa Archives and Libraries.

Family History Centers

Family History Center and Affiliate Library Locator map - search for local Family History Centers or Affiliate Libraries

• Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance, free access to center-only databases, and to premium genealogical websites.
• FamilySearch Affiliate Libraries have access to most center-only databases, but may not always have full services normally provided by a family history center.
  

Local Centers and Affiliate Libraries

• Davenport Iowa Family History Center
• Iowa City Iowa Family History Center
• Muscatine Iowa Family History Center

• Iowa City Public Library - an affiliate library

Libraries

Listed below are libraries in Muscatine County. For state-wide library facilities, see Iowa Archives and Libraries.

Musser Public Library
408 East 2nd Street
Muscatine, IA 52761
563-263-3065
Website
Facebook

• Many genealogy databases available using your library barcode: Ancestry.com, Heritage Quest, Newspaper Archive, Newspapers.com, Sanborn Maps, and additional digital archives related to Muscatine.
  
  

West Liberty Public Library
400 N. Spencer Street
West Liberty, IA 52776
319-627-2084
Email: wllibrary@wlpl.org
Website

Wilton Public Library
1215 Cypress Street
PO Box 447
Wilton, IA 52778
563-732-2583
E-Mail: wplstaff@netwtc.net
Website
Facebook

Societies

Listed below are societies in Muscatine County. For state-wide genealogical societies, see Iowa Societies.

Muscatine County Genealogical Society
323 Main
Muscatine, IA 52761-3867
E-mail: ebmccleary@machlink.com
Website

Websites

• Muscatine County at Cyndi's List - a comprehensive, categorized & cross-referenced list of links that point you to genealogical research sites online
• Muscatine County at Genealogy Trails - volunteer transcriptions of genealogical and historical data
• Muscatine County at Iowa USGenWeb - free online resources for genealogical research
• Muscatine County at Iowa USGenWeb Archives - free online data for genealogical research
• State Historical Society of Iowa — select from research collection topics
• State Library of Iowa — electronic depository of documents intended for the general public produced by Iowa agencies
• The Iowa Heritage Digital Collection — digital images from a variety of Iowa cultural institutions
• FamilySearch Catalog – The FamilySearch catalog contains descriptions and access information for all genealogical materials (including books, online materials, microfilm, microfiche, and publications) in their collection.  Use Historical Records to search for specific individuals in genealogical records.

This website requires a paid subscription for full access.

Due to contractual agreements, some images and/or databases on FamilySearch.org may only be viewed at a Family History Center or FamilySearch Affiliate Library.

FamilySearch affiliate libraries may have access to center-only databases, but do not always have all services normally provided by a family history center.