Multnomah County, Oregon Genealogy
Guide to Multnomah County, Oregon ancestry, family history, and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, and military records.
|Multnomah County, Oregon|
Location in the state of Oregon, United States Genealogy
Location of Oregon in the U.S.
|Founded||December 22, 1854|
|Address||Multnomah County Courthouse|
1021 SW 4th Avenue
Portland, OR 97204-1123
Multnomah County Website
County Information[edit | edit source]
Description[edit | edit source]
The County was named for the Chinookan word for the "lower river". The County is located in the northwest area of the state. 
Multnomah County, Oregon Record Dates[edit | edit source]
County Courthouse[edit | edit source]
County Clerk has divorce, court and land records from 1854 
Multnomah County Information[edit | edit source]
Boundary Changes[edit | edit source]
22 December 1854: Multnomah county was created from Clackamas and Washington Counties. Named after Native American people first recorded in the journals of the Lewis and Clark Expedition, the Mulknomans, who inhabited the area of Portland, most specifically on Sauvie Island. 
For animated maps illustrating Oregon County boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Oregon County Boundary Maps" (1843-1975) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.
- County Records Inventory listing Multnomah County records as of October 2006 inventory.
Record Loss[edit | edit source]
There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.
Places / Localities[edit | edit source]
For a complete list of populated places, including small neighborhoods and suburbs, visit HomeTown Locator.
The following are the most historically and genealogically relevant populated places in this county:
Defunct Post Offices
- Albina: Albina post office was in service from 1876 to 1892.
Trivia Tidbits[edit | edit source]
Information about localities, too small or too brief to describe in separate pages. Exception to this are Post Offices. Trivia Tidbits
Resources[edit | edit source]
Biography[edit | edit source]
Cemeteries[edit | edit source]
|Tombstone Transcriptions Online||Tombstone Transcriptions in Print||List of Cemeteries in the county|
|Findagrave.com||Family History Library||Findagrave.com|
|ORGenWeb Archives||FamilySearch Places|
|See Oregon Cemeteries for more information.|
- Mt. Calvary & Gethsemani Catholic Cemeteries, online index.
- Oregon Metro
- Oregon Genealogy Cemeteries
Census[edit | edit source]
Church Records[edit | edit source]
Lutheran[edit | edit source]
- Records of Central Lutheran Church, Portland, in Evangelical Lutheran Church in America database at Archives.com ($).
List of Churches and Church Parishes
Court Records[edit | edit source]
Gazetteers[edit | edit source]
History[edit | edit source]
Land and Property[edit | edit source]
Maps[edit | edit source]
Migration[edit | edit source]
Early migration routes to and from Multnomah County, Oregon Genealogy for European and African American settlers included:
Military History and Records[edit | edit source]
Civil War[edit | edit source]
- 1861-1865 Oregon, Civil War Service Records of Union Soldiers, 1861-1865 at FamilySearch — index
World War I[edit | edit source]
- 1919-1920 Oregon, World War I, County Military Service Records, 1919-1920 at FamilySearch — index
World War II[edit | edit source]
- 1921-1938 Oregon, World War I, Veteran State Aid Applications, 1921-1938 at FamilySearch — index and images
- 1942-1945 Idaho, Jerome County Historical Society, Minidoka Japanese Relocation Center Mixed Vital Records, 1942-1945 at FamilySearch — index
Newspapers[edit | edit source]
Oregon Online Historical Newspapers - identifies historical archived and digitized newspapers available online on both free and pay-to-access websites.
Poor Farm Records[edit | edit source]
- 1900-1962 Oregon, Multnomah County, Poor Farm Admissions Records, 1900-1962 at FamilySearch — index
Probate Records[edit | edit source]
- 1833 – 1963 Oregon Wills and Probate Records 1833-1963 at Ancestry.com — index and images $
Rivers and Waterways[edit | edit source]
Details about the rivers and waterways where farms and settlements are often found along them. Rivers and Waterways
Taxation[edit | edit source]
Vital Records[edit | edit source]
Birth Records[edit | edit source]
- 1842-1917 Oregon, Oregon State Archives, Births, 1842-1917 at FamilySearch — How to Use this Collection; index & images (*); Also at: Ancestry
- 1860-1952 Oregon Births, 1860-1952 at FamilySearch — index
- 1876-1940 Oregon, Center for Health Statistics, Birth Records, 1903-1918 at FamilySearch — How to Use this Collection; index & images
Delayed Birth Certificates
Marriage Records[edit | edit source]
- 1826-1975 - Oregon, United States Marriages at Findmypast — index
- 1842-1917 Oregon, U.S., State Births, 1842-1917 at Ancestry - index and images ($); Also at: FamilySearch
- 1849-1884; 1991-2006 Oregon Marriage Index, 1849-1884; 1991-2006 at FamilySearch — index and images; collection is incomplete.
- 1906-1968 Oregon, U.S., State Marriages, 1906-1968 at Ancestry - index and images ($)
- 1855 - 1901 of the Multnomah County Marriage Books
See also How to order Oregon Vital Records, order electronically online $ or download an application for Oregon Birth Certificate, Marriage Certificate, Divorce Certificate, Death Certificate Application to mail.
Death[edit | edit source]
- 1915-1924 Portland, Oregon Deaths, 1915-1924 at Ancestry - index & images ($)
Voter Registration Records[edit | edit source]
- 1908-1958 Oregon, Multnomah County, Voting Registration Records, 1908-1958 at FamilySearch — index
Societies, Libraries and Museums[edit | edit source]
East County Historical Organization
PO Box 946
Fairview, OR 97024
David Douglas Historical Society
11300 NE Halsey St
Portland, OR 97220
Family History Centers[edit | edit source]
Family History Center and Affiliate Library Locator map - search for local Family History Centers or Affiliate Libraries
- Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance, free access to center-only databases, and to premium genealogical websites.
- FamilySearch Affiliate Libraries have access to most center-only databases, but may not always have full services normally provided by a family history center.
Local Centers and Affiliate Libraries
- Beaverton Oregon West Family History Center
- Cedar Mill Oregon West Union Family History Center
- Cedar Mill Oregon Stake Center Family History Center
- Gresham Oregon Family History Center
- Hillsboro Oregon Family History Center
- Lake Oswego Oregon Family History Center
- Milwaukie Oregon Family History Center
- Oregon City Oregon Family History Center
- Portland Oregon Family History Center
- Tualatin Oregon Family History Center
Websites[edit | edit source]
- Multnomah County, OR History, Records, Facts and Genealogy
- Oregon Genealogy Network Group on Facebook
- The Multnomah County GenWeb Project, part of The ORGenWeb Project
- USGenWeb Archives
- USGenWeb Archives (backup site)
Multnomah County Oregon Genealogy References[edit | edit source]
- Wikipedia contributors, "Multnomah, Oregon" in https://www.familysearch.org/wiki/en/Multnomah_County,_Oregon_Genealogy accessed 28 Nov 2018
- Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Multnomah County, Oregon . Page 572-574 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002; Alice Eichholz, ed. Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County, and Town Sources, Third ed. (Provo, Utah: Ancestry, 2004), 563-564.
- Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Multnomah County, Oregon page 573, At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed.; Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002 WorldCat 50140092, FHL Book 973 D27e 2002
- Wikipedia contributors, "Multnomah County, Oregon" in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Multnomah_County,_Oregon, accessed 16 December 2018.
- Jim Tompkins, "The Oregon Trail 1841-1848 Map VI" in Oregon Trail Landmarks at http://www.oregonpioneers.com/OTMap6.jpg (accessed 18 July 2011).