Morris County, New Jersey Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Guide to Morris County, New Jersey ancestry, genealogy and family history, birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

County Facts
County seat: Morristown
Organized: March 15, 1739
Parent County(s): Essex, Hunterdon
Neighboring Counties
Essex  • Hunterdon  • Passaic  • Somerset  • Sussex  • Union  • Warren
See County Maps
Courthouse
New Jersey, Morris County Courthouse.png
Location Map
Nj-morris.png
Adoption
Adopt-a-wiki page
NJGenWeb.gif This page adopted by:
NJGenWeb and its coordinators
who welcome you to contribute.
Adopt a page today

County Information[edit | edit source]

Description[edit | edit source]

Morris County is located in the north central region of the state. It was created on March 15, 1739 . Morristown is the county seat. The county was named for Colonel Lewis Morris (1671–1746), colonial governor of New Jersey at the time of the county's formation.[1]

County Courthouse[edit | edit source]

Morris County Courthouse
Hall of Rec Admin Bldg
56 Washington Street
Morristown, NJ 07960
Phone: 973-656-4000
Morris County Courthouse

County Clerk has marriage records 1795-1881, court records 1739-1978, land records from 1785, slave records 1804-1820, naturalization records, from 1816 and military discharge records from 1945.
Court has probate records. These provide death date, executor's name and probate file number.
Clerk Superior Court has divorce records. [2]

Morris County, New Jersey Record Dates[edit | edit source]

Known Beginning Dates for Major County Records[3]
Birth* Marriage Death* Court Land Probate Census
1901 1795 1901 1739 1765 1785 1830
*Statewide registration for births and deaths started 1 May 1848. General compliance by 1920.

Record Loss[edit | edit source]

There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.

Boundary Changes[edit | edit source]

Populated Places[edit | edit source]

For a complete list of populated places, including small neighborhoods and suburbs, visit HomeTown Locator. The following are the most historically and genealogically relevant populated places in this county:[5]

Boroughs
Towns
Unincorporated communities
Census-designated places
Townships


History Timeline[edit | edit source]

  • 16 May 1753: Sussex County set off. (Worldcat)
  • 1749 the boundary with Somerset County was clarified.
  • Morris County was first settled by the white man in the early 1700s.
  • Named after Lewis Morris, who was then the Governor of the Province of New Jersey
  • Beginning in 1740 Morris County had 3 Municipal Subdivisions (Hanover Twp., Morris Twp., and Pequannock Twp.)
  • Beginning of the 19th century (1800) Morris County had 7 Municipal Subdivisions (Hanover, Morris, Pequannock, Chester, Mendham, Roxbury and Washington Townships).
  • Beginning of the 20th century (1900) Morris County had 25 Municipal Subdivisions.
  • Beginning of the 21st century (2000) Morris County is composed of 39 Municipal Subdivisions.

Morris County Library has a more detailed Genealogy geography - to view, click here. [accessed March 7, 2014]

Resources[edit | edit source]

Bible Records[edit | edit source]

Biographies[edit | edit source]

Business, Commerce, and Occupations[edit | edit source]

Cemeteries[edit | edit source]

Cemeteries of Morris County, New Jersey online and in print
Tombstone Transcriptions Online
Tombstone Transcriptions in Print (Often more complete)
List of Cemeteries in the County
See New Jersey Cemeteries for more information.

 

Census Records[edit | edit source]

For tips on accessing census records online, see: New Jersey Census.

Historical populations
Census Pop.
1790 16,216
1800 17,750 9.5%
1810 21,828 23.0%
1820 21,368 −2.1%
1830 23,666 10.8%
1840 25,844 9.2%
1850 30,158 16.7%
1860 34,677 15.0%
1870 43,137 24.4%
1880 50,861 17.9%
1890 54,101 6.4%
1900 65,156 20.4%
1910 74,704 14.7%
1920 82,694 10.7%
1930 110,445 33.6%
1940 125,732 13.8%
1950 164,371 30.7%
1960 261,620 59.2%
1970 383,454 46.6%
1980 407,630 6.3%
1990 421,353 3.4%
2000 470,212 11.6%
2010 492,276 4.7%
Source: "Wikipedia.org".

State Census Records

  • Many Directories for Morris County have been microfilmed or abstracted. Some of those copies are available at the Family History Library in Salt Lake City. For a listing of their holdings, see topic details.

Church Records[edit | edit source]

Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about denominations, view the New Jersey Church Records wiki page.

List of Churches and Church Parishes

Court Records[edit | edit source]

Directories[edit | edit source]

Emigration and Immigration[edit | edit source]

Ethnic, Political, and Religious Groups[edit | edit source]

Funeral Homes[edit | edit source]

Genealogies[edit | edit source]

Guardianship[edit | edit source]

Land and Property Records[edit | edit source]

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a specific location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See New Jersey Land and Property for information about New Jersey Proprietary land records. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse.

Online Land Indexes and Records

Local Histories[edit | edit source]

Your relatives may be included in biographies, in church, school and government history, or in military events and lists. For more information, see New Jersey History and scroll to Local Histories.

Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]

Sussex CountyPassaic CountyEssex CountyUnion CountySomerset CountyHunterdon CountyWarren CountyNJ MORRIS.PNG
Click a neighboring county
for more resources



Morris County, New Jersey Municipalities

Migration[edit | edit source]

Military Records[edit | edit source]

Naturalization and Citizenship[edit | edit source]

Online Naturalization Indexes and Records

Newspapers[edit | edit source]

Obituaries[edit | edit source]

Other Records[edit | edit source]

Periodicals[edit | edit source]

Probate Records[edit | edit source]

From 1797 or the creation of the county, probate records were held by the Court of Common Pleas and may have earlier records. In 1852, most of those records were transferred to the Morris County Probate Court. For more complete information and for online and other resources, see New Jersey Probate Records.

Online Probate Indexes and Records

School Records[edit | edit source]

Online School Indexes and Records

  • Schools of Morris County, New Jersey

Social Security Records[edit | edit source]

Tax Records[edit | edit source]

New Jersey tax records complement land records and can be used in place of censuses before 1820 or to supplement the years between censuses. Because only persons who owned taxable property were listed, many residents were not included in tax lists. There may also be gaps of several years in the tax records of some counties. For more information see the wiki page New Jersey Taxation.

Online Tax Indexes and Records

  • Many Taxation Records for Morris County have been microfilmed or abstracted. Some of those copies are available at the Family History Library in Salt Lake City. For a listing of their holdings, see the topic details.

Vital Records[edit | edit source]

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. United States Vital Records has additional research guidance on researching and using vital records. A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the New Jersey Vital Records State Department of Health or the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred. Original marriage records are usually held at the county Bureau of Vital Statistics.

Birth[edit | edit source]

Marriage[edit | edit source]

Death[edit | edit source]

Divorce[edit | edit source]

Research Facilities[edit | edit source]

Archives[edit | edit source]

Family History Centers[edit | edit source]

Family History Center and Affiliate Library Locator map - search for local Family History Centers or Affiliate Libraries

  • Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance, free access to center-only databases, and to premium genealogical websites.
  • FamilySearch Affiliate Libraries have access to most center-only databases, but may not always have full services normally provided by a family history center.

Local Centers and Affiliate Libraries

Libraries[edit | edit source]

Morris County LibraryWebsite
North Jersey History & Genealogy CenterWebsite

Museums[edit | edit source]

Museums of Morris CountyWebsite

Societies[edit | edit source]

Morris Area Genealogy Society
Mailing address P.O. BOX 105
Covent Station, NJ 07961-0105
Currently meeting at Morris County Library
30 East Hanover Ave.
Whippany, NJ
Website

Morris County Historical Society
68 Morris Avenue
Morristown 07960
Telephone: 973-267-3465
Website

Historical Society of Boonton Township
591 Powerville Road
PO Box 362
Boonton Township New Jersey 07005
Website

Chatham Historical Society
24 Southern Boulevard
Chatham 07928-0262
Website

Chester Historical Society
PO Box 376
Chester NJ 07930
Telephone: 908-866-6717
E-mail:historicchesternj@gmail.com
Website

Cornish Heritage Society
East 197 Wykertown Rd
Branchville, New Jersey 07885

Denville Historical Society
Diamond Spring Rd
Denville, NJ 07834
Telephone: 973-627-6894

Harding Township Historical Society
16 Village Road
New Vernon, NJ 07826-4431
Telephone: 973-292-3661
E-mail:varker@optonline.net

Lake Hopatcong Historical Society
PO Box 668
Landing, NJ 07850
Telephone: 973-398-2616
Website

Historical Society Of Rockaways
Mount Hope Rd
Rockaway, NJ 07866‎
Telephone: 973-366-6730

Websites[edit | edit source]

  • FamilySearch Catalog – The FamilySearch catalog contains descriptions and access information for all genealogical materials (including books, online materials, microfilm, microfiche, and publications) in their collection.  Use Historical Records to search for specific individuals in genealogical records.

Research Guides[edit | edit source]

References[edit | edit source]

  1. Wikipedia contributors, "Morris County, New Jersey" in Wikipedia : the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Morris_County,_New_Jersey accessed 23 September 2018.
  2. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Morris County, New Jersey page 465, At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  3. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Morris County, New Jersey . Page 464-465 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002; Alice Eichholz, ed. Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County, and Town Sources, Third ed. (Provo, Utah: Ancestry, 2004), 460.
  4. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002).At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  5. Wikipedia contributors, "Morris County, New Jersey," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia,https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Morris_County,_New_Jersey#Communities accessed 15 March 2020.