Moore County, Tennessee Genealogy
Guide to Moore County, Tennessee ancestry, genealogy and family history, birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
|
| ||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
| ||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
County Information[edit | edit source]
Description[edit | edit source]
Moore County was named for General William Moore, an early settler and long-time member of the state legislature. The county is located in the south-central area of the state.[2]
County Courthouse[edit | edit source]
Moore County Courthouse
Public Square
Lynchburg, TN 37352
County Courthouse Phone: 931-759-7028
Register of Deeds Phone: 931-759-7913
County Clerk Phone: 931-759-7346
Clerk Circuit Court Phone: 931-759-7208
Clerk and Master Phone: 931-759-7028
Register of Deeds has land records
County Clerk has birth, marriage, death, and probate records
Clerk of Circuit Court has court records[3]
Moore County, Tennessee Record Dates[edit | edit source]
Information for this chart was taken from various sources, often containing conflicting dates. This information should be taken as a guide and should be verified by contacting the county and/or the state government agency.
| Birth* | Marriage | Death* | Court | Land | Probate | Census |
| 1881 | 1872 | 1908 | 1872 | 1872 | 1871 | 1810 |
Record Loss[edit | edit source]
|
There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county. |
Boundary Changes[edit | edit source]
For animated maps illustrating Tennessee county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Tennessee County Boundary Maps" (1777-1985) may be viewed at the MapofUS.org website. |
Populated Places[edit | edit source]
For a complete list of populated places, including small neighborhoods and suburbs, visit HomeTown Locator. The following are the most historically and genealogically relevant populated places in this county:[6]
| Cities | ||
Neighboring Counties[edit | edit source]
Neighboring Counties[edit | edit source]
History Timeline[edit | edit source]
Additional Information
Middle Tennessee county in the Chestnut Ridge region. Established 1871.
The county is named after "Tennessee state legislator William Moore."[7]
Resources[edit | edit source]
Bible Records[edit | edit source]
Biographies[edit | edit source]
- Douthat, James L. Moore County, Tennessee Biographies. 1887; reprint, Signal Mountain, Tenn.: Mountain Press. Free Surname Index and purchase details at Mountain Press website.
- Family Biographies from The History of Moore County, Tennessee (1886) published by Goodspeed are available free on the My Genealogy Hound website.
Business, Commerce, and Occupations[edit | edit source]
- Middle Tennessee's Forgotten Children: Apprentices from 1784 to 1902. 2004. By Alan N. Miller. Baltimore, Md.: Clearfield Company. FHL US/CAN 976.8 U2ma. Includes Moore County.
Cemeteries[edit | edit source]
| See Tennessee Cemeteries for more information. | |
Additional Cemetery Resources
- Tennessee Cemeteries - Hometown Locator
Census Records[edit | edit source]
| Historical populations | ||
|---|---|---|
| Census | Pop. | %± |
| 1880 | 6,233 | — |
| 1890 | 5,975 | −4.1% |
| 1900 | 5,706 | −4.5% |
| 1910 | 4,800 | −15.9% |
| 1920 | 4,491 | −6.4% |
| 1930 | 4,037 | −10.1% |
| 1940 | 4,093 | 1.4% |
| 1950 | 3,948 | −3.5% |
| 1960 | 3,454 | −12.5% |
| 1970 | 3,568 | 3.3% |
| 1980 | 4,510 | 26.4% |
| 1990 | 4,721 | 4.7% |
| 2000 | 5,740 | 21.6% |
| 2010 | 6,362 | 10.8% |
| Source: "Wikipedia.org". | ||
1880, 1900, 1910, 1920, and 1930 Moore County federal population schedules are available online. For tips on accessing census records online, see Tennessee Census. If you're having trouble finding your ancestors in online indexes, try checking printed indexes. Created by local experts familiar with the area's families, these indexes are often transcribed more accurately than nationwide online indexes.
1810-1891
- Tennessee, Compiled Census and Census Substitutes Index, 1810-1891 at Ancestry $
- See Tennessee Population Schedule Indexes: Fiche, Film, or Book for more information about statewide printed indexes.
- See Moore County, TN census assignments, including links to transcribed files and scanned census images. The USGenWeb Census Project®.
1890 Lost Substitutes are available:
- Reed, Sue S. Enumeration of Male Inhabitants of Twenty-one Years of Age and Upward, Citizens of Tennessee, January 1, 1891, as Provided for by an Act of General Assembly of Tennessee, Passed January 15, 1891, and Approved January 22, 1891. 8 vols. Houston, Texas: S.S. Reed, 1989. FHL US/CAN Book 976.8 X2r v. 6 1891. Pickett County is included in Vol. 6.
- Sistler, Byron H. and Barbara Sistler. 1890 Civil War Veterans Census, Tennessee. Evanston, Ill.: Byron Sister and Associates, 1978. FHL US/CAN Book 976.8 X2s 1890.
1891 Male Voters
Church Records[edit | edit source]
List of Churches and Church Parishes
Court Records[edit | edit source]
Law and Legislation
- Tennessee State Library and Archives, Acts of Tennessee 1796-1850: Index to Names. January 25, 2005. [In addition to creating new laws, legislative acts were often required to obtain a divorce, grant legitimacy to a child, or for appointments to or grant payments for public service.] TSLA has created an index to names that appear in these acts covering the years 1796 to 1850. Online searchable index at TSLA.
Directories[edit | edit source]
Emigration and Immigration[edit | edit source]
Ethnic, Political, and Religious Groups[edit | edit source]
Funeral Homes[edit | edit source]
Genealogies[edit | edit source]
DNA
- DNA has been collected from men claiming descent from the following Moore County residents. Attempts have not been made to verify the lineages of those tested.
- Doss - Descendant of Samuel H. Doss, b. 1803 Virginia, resident of Shelby and Moore counties, Tennessee; Illinois; and Madison County, Arkansas. Y-DNA 37 Marker Test, FTDNA (Kit 85939). Genetic signature available online (labeled Sh-1), courtesy: The Doss DNA Project, World Families. Matches have been found.
General
- As of August 2010, a query for persons born in Moore, Tennessee at World Connect, results in more than 4,000 entries.
- Daniel - Parkes, John Franklin. Descendants of Calaway Daniel. Online at Montgomery County Genealogy.
- Frost - Frost, Wright Wilson. The Frosts and Related Families of Bedford County, Tennessee. Knoxville, TN: W.W. Frost, c1962. Available at FHL FAM HIST Book 929.273 F929f and FHL US/CAN Fiche 6104871. Online at Internet Archive.
- Edens - Colsher, Sue M. The Edens Family. Online at Moore County, Tennessee Genealogy. (Part of the TNGenWeb Project.)
- Felps - Parks, Roy H. The Felps Family. Online at Moore County, Tennessee Genealogy. (Part of the TNGenWeb Project.)
- Logan - Dietz, Virginia My Logan ancestors from Scotland to Logan, Missouri. Salt Lake City, Utah Filmed by the Genealogical Society of Utah, 2002. FHL book 929.273 L828. Online at FamilySearch Digital Library.
- Parkes - Parks, Rufus Alonzo. The Parkes Family History, The Parkes Family History 2 and A Statement of M.N. Parkes, Jr. Online at Moore County, Tennessee Genealogy. (Part of the TNGenWeb Project.)
- Simpson - Miner, Ethel Nerim. Descendants of Rice and Rachael Simpson: of Franklin and Moore Counties, Tennessee. Fountain Hills, Arizona: Four Peaks Enterprise, 1986. FHL FAM HIST Book 929.273 Si58me.
Guardianship[edit | edit source]
Land and Property Records[edit | edit source]
- Evans, 91 deeds dated 1807-1915 in Moore County, Tennessee placed on a map. DeedMapper, 2009. It is necessary to purchase Direct Line Software's DeedMapper product to view the maps.
Local Histories[edit | edit source]
- Goodspeed firm, publishers, Chicago. History of Tennessee, from the earliest time to the present; together with an historical and a biographical sketch of Giles, Lincoln, Franklin and Moore counties.Nashville, Tenn., The Goodspeed Publishing Company, 1886. Free digital copy.
Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]
for more resources
- Maps of Tennessee (1777-1985)
- Map of 1888 Moore County, Tennessee with numerous small settlements. (My Genealogy Hound)
- FamilySearch Places: Cities and Towns in this county - How to Use FS Places
Migration[edit | edit source]
Military Records[edit | edit source]
War of 1812
- Embry, Hermione D. "War of 1812 - Tennessee Pensioners on List - January 2, 1883," Ansearchin' News, Vol. 8, No. 2 (Apr. 1961):49-52. FHL US/CAN Book 976.8 B2a v. 8 (1961); digital version at journal website. Includes Moore County pensioners (p. 49).
Civil War
Online Records
- 1861-1865 Tennessee, Civil War Service Records of Confederate Soldiers, 1861-1865 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection
- 1861-1865 Tennessee, Civil War Service Records of Union Soldiers, 1861-1865 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection
- 1861-1865 - U.S., Confederate Soldiers Compiled Service Records, 1861-1865 at Ancestry
- 1861-1865 - U.S., Union Soldiers Compiled Service Records, 1861-1865 at Ancestry
- 1861-1865 U.S., Civil War Soldier Records and Profiles, 1861-1865 at Ancestry
- 1891-1965 Tennessee, Confederate Pension Applications, Soldiers and Widows, 1891-1965 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection
- Civil War Soldiers and Sailors System
Regiments. Men in Moore County served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (part of a large regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Moore County:
Confederate Soldiers
- 1st Regiment, Tennessee Infantry (Turney's) - CSA - Companies D and E.
- 8th Regiment, Tennessee Infantry - CSA - Company K.
- 17th Regiment, Tennessee Infantry - CSA
- 23rd Battalion, Tennessee Infantry (Newman's) - CSA - Companies D and E.
- 34th Regiment, Tennessee Infantry (4th Confederate Infantry) - CSA - Company C.
- 41st Regiment, Tennessee Infantry - CSA - Company G.
Additional sources for Civil War soldiers from Moore County:
- USGenWeb, Civil War Regiments of Moore County, Tennessee.
- USGenWeb Archives, Moore County Tennessee Archives. Pensioners on the Roll 1883.
- Tennessee State Library and Archives, Tennessee Confederate Pension Applications: Moore County. Includes soldier's name, county, pension #, unit or widow.
- United States Pension Bureau, List of Pensioners on the Roll January 1, 1883: Giving the Name of Each Pensioner, the Cause for... (Washington Printing Office; 1883). Online at Internet Archive. Moore County, page 366-367.
Naturalization and Citizenship[edit | edit source]
Newspapers[edit | edit source]
Many Tennessee newspapers are filmed and available at TSLA. Most of these newspapers may be accessed by interlibrary loan to libraries within Tennessee, although there are some newspapers which are not available in or outside of Tennessee. For further information regarding interlibrary loan policies and newspapers not available for interlibrary loan click here. For a list of newspapers available at the archives for Moore County click on the following city:
- 1847 - 1851 - Smith, Jonathan K.T. Genealogical Abstracts from Reported Deaths, the Nashville Christian Advocate. [1847-1914] 10 vols. [Jackson, Tenn.]: J.K.T. Smith, 1997-2003. FHL US/CAN Books 976.855/N1 V48s 1847-1851 ff; digital versions at David Donahue Memorial: Tennessee Records Repository. Website expands upon the publications and includes deaths from the 1830s, 1840s, 1910s and 1920s. (Largely Methodist?)
Obituaries[edit | edit source]
Other Records[edit | edit source]
Prisons[edit | edit source]
- 1831-1850 Inmates of the Tennessee State Penitentiary 1831-1850 at Tennessee State Library and Archives
- 1851-1870 Inmates of the Tennessee State Penitentiary 1851-1870 at Tennessee State Library and Archives
Periodicals[edit | edit source]
Genealogical periodicals can contain unique sources and can be local, regional, or statewide. The following periodicals cover this county:
- Ansearchin' News: Quarterly magazine of the Tennessee Genealogical Society. For a keyword search, go to the county index. Read previous issues on their website; FHL Book 976.8 B2a.
- The Middle Tennessee Journal of Genealogy and History: Quarterly magazine of the Middle Tennessee Genealogical Society. For surnames, use the volume-by-volume index, or do a keyword search of the Article Index. FHL US/CAN Book 976.85 D25m.
Probate Records[edit | edit source]
The Moore County Court and Chancery Court have responsibility for probate records.
Online Records and Indexes
- 1779-2008 Tennessee Wills and Probate Records 1779-2008 at Ancestry $
- 1871-1966 Moore County portion of Tennessee, Probate Court Books, 1795-1927 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; handwritten indexes may be found at the front or back of some volumes.
School Records[edit | edit source]
Social Security Records[edit | edit source]
- 1935-2014 United States Social Security Death Index at FamilySearch - How to use this collection; index. Also at Ancestry, findmypast, Fold3, GenealogyBank, MyHeritage, and Steve Morse. Click here for more information.
- 1936-2007 U.S., Social Security Applications and Claims Index, 1936-2007 at Ancestry ($) — index, click here for more information.
Tax Records[edit | edit source]
Book Abstracts and Indexes
- 1860 Tax List, 1860, District 1, Moore County Review, Vol. 9, No. 2 (Jul. 1998).
Vital Records[edit | edit source]
- See also Tennessee Vital Records
Birth[edit | edit source]
- 1828-1939 Tennessee Births and Christenings 1828-1939 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection
- 1869-1909 Tennessee Delayed Birth Records 1869-1909 at Ancestry$
- 1881-1882 - Moore County Birth Index 1881-1882 in International Genealogical Index at FamilySearch. Batch C519572 [8]
- 1881-1882 - Moore County Clerk.Vital statistics, births and deaths 1908-1911, births 1881-1882. Manuscript. TSLA, 1967. FHL 501086
- 1908-1912 Tennessee, Birth Records (ER Series), 1908-1912 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection
Marriage[edit | edit source]
Online indexes and Records
- 1625-1966 Tennessee, United States Marriages at Findmypast $
- 1780-2002 Tennessee State Marriages 1780-2002 at Ancestry $
- 1780-2002 Tennessee State Marriage Index 1780-2002 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection
- 1790-1962 Tennessee County Marriages, 1790-1950 - at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection. Covers all counties in Tennessee.
- 1796-1950 Tennessee Marriages 1796-1950 (Indexes only) at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection
- 1838-1888 Tennessee Civil Marriages, 1838-1888 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection
- 1851-1900 Tennessee Marriages 1851-1900 at Ancestry $
- 1872-1938 - Moore County Marriage Index 1872-1938 in International Genealogical Index at FamilySearch[9]
- 1915-1978 - Moore County, Tennessee 1830-1993 index, 1915-1978. Manuscript. Tennessee, Chancery Court Records Click on Camera to view
- 1980-2014 Marriage Records Index 1980-2014 at Shelby County Register of Deeds - index
Death[edit | edit source]
- 1874-1955 Tennessee Deaths and Burials 1874-1955 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection
- 1908-1911 - Moore County Clerk.Vital statistics, births and deaths 1908-1911, births 1881-1882. Manuscript. TSLA, 1967. FHL 501086
- 1908-1933 Tennessee Deaths, 1908 - 1933 at MyHeritage ($) — index
- 1908-1958 Tennessee Death Records 1908 - 1958 at Ancestry $
- 1908-1912 Tennessee Death Records 1908-1912 at Tennessee State Library & Archives - index
- 1914-1933 Tennessee Death Records 1914-1933 at Tennessee State Library & Archives - index
- 1914-1966 Tennessee Deaths, 1914-1966 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection
- 1949-2014 Death Records Index 1949-2014 at Shelby County Register of Deeds - index
Divorce[edit | edit source]
- 1796 - 1850 Acts of Tennessee 1796-1850 at Tennessee State Library & Archives - index
- 1980-2014 Divorce Records Index 1980-2014 at Shelby County Register of Deeds - index
Research Facilities[edit | edit source]
Archives[edit | edit source]
Listed below are archives in Moore County. For state-wide archival repositories, see Tennessee Archives and Libraries.
Moore County Archives
241 Main Street, Suite 105
Lynchburg, TN 37352
Phone: 931-759-7068
Email: moorecountyarchives@yahoo.com
Website
Family History Centers[edit | edit source]
Family History Center and Affiliate Library Locator map - search for local Family History Centers or Affiliate Libraries
- Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance, free access to center-only databases, and to premium genealogical websites.
- FamilySearch Affiliate Libraries have access to most center-only databases, but may not always have full services normally provided by a family history center.
Local Centers and Affiliate Libraries
- Columbia Tennessee Family History Center
- Fayetteville Tennessee Family History Center
- Murfreesboro Tennessee Family History Center
- Tullahoma Tennessee Family History Center
- Chattanooga Public Library - an affiliate library.
- Fayetteville-Lincoln County Public Library - an affiliate library.
- Spring Hill Public Library - an affiliate library.
Libraries[edit | edit source]
Listed below are libraries in Moore County. For state-wide library facilities, see Tennessee Archives and Libraries.
Moore County Public Library
P.O. Box 408
Lynchburg, TN 37352
Phone: 931-759-7285
Email: mcpl.lynchburg@gmail.com
WebsiteMoore County Archives
Museums[edit | edit source]
Societies[edit | edit source]
Listed below are societies in Moore County. For state-wide genealogical societies, see Tennessee Societies.
Moore County Historical Society
P.O. Box 408
Lynchburg, TN 37352
Facebook
Websites[edit | edit source]
- Chestnut Ridge Cousins Genealogy Records, Surname Exchange, Maps, Obituaries, Photos, History
- Moore County, TN Genealogy and Family History (Linkpendium)
- Moore County, TNGenWeb (USGenWeb)
- Moore County TN Genealogy (ldsgenealogy.com)
- FamilySearch Catalog – The FamilySearch catalog contains descriptions and access information for all genealogical materials (including books, online materials, microfilm, microfiche, and publications) in their collection. Use Historical Records to search for specific individuals in genealogical records.
Research Guides[edit | edit source]
- "Moore County Genealogical Records Survey," The Middle Tennessee Journal of Genealogy and History, Vol. 2, No. 4 (Spring 1989). For access, see Periodicals.
- Genealogical "Fact Sheets" About Tennessee Counties: Moore County, courtesy: TSLA. (Identifies published county histories, published local records, census records, newspapers and local records on microfilm, and select manuscripts.)
References[edit | edit source]
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Tennessee.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- ↑ Wikipedia contributors, "Moore, Tennessee" in https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Moore_County,_Tennessee accessed 27 Dec 2018
- ↑ The Handybook for Genealogists : United States of America, 10th ed., (Draper, UT: Everton Publishers, 2002) Moore County, Tennessee, p.642
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Tennessee.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Tennessee.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- ↑ Wikipedia contributors, "Moore County, Tennessee," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Moore_County,_Tennessee, accessed 5 December 2019.
- ↑ "List of counties in Tennessee," Wikipedia.
- ↑ Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at Media:Igitennesseel.pdf.
- ↑ Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/wiki/en/images/8/88/Igitennesseel.pdf