Moore County, North Carolina Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Guide to Moore County, North Carolina ancestry, genealogy and family history, birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

County Facts
County seat: Carthage
Organized: 1784
Parent County(s): Cumberland[1]
Neighboring Counties
Chatham  • Cumberland  • Harnett  • Hoke  • Lee  • Montgomery  • Randolph  • Richmond  • Scotland
See County Maps
Courthouse
MOORE COUNTY COURTHOUSE, CARTHAGE, North Carolina.jpg
Location Map
Nc-moore.png
Adoption
Adopt-a-wiki page
Logonew small.gif This page adopted by:
NCGenWeb Project
who welcome you to contribute.
Adopt a page today

County Information[edit | edit source]

Description[edit | edit source]

Moore County is located in the south-central portion of North Carolina and is bounded by Harnett, Hoke, Scotland, Richmond, Montgomery, Randolph, Chatham, and Lee counties. The county was named for Alfred Moore, a Revolutionary War captain who later served as a U.S. Supreme Court justice.[2]

County Courthouse[edit | edit source]

Moore County Courthouse
102 Monroe Street
PO Box 936
Carthage, NC 28327
Phone: 910-947-2396
Moore County Website

Clerk of Superior Court has wills, estate records, and estate settlement records starting from 1783.
Register of Deeds has land records starting from 1787, and birth, death, and marriage records.

Moore County, North Carolina Record Dates[edit | edit source]

Information for this chart was taken from various sources, often containing conflicting dates. This information should be taken as a guide and should be verified by contacting the county and/or the state government agency.

Known Beginning Dates for Major County Records[3]
Birth* Marriage Death* Court Land Probate Census
1913 1889 1913 1784 1784 1783 1784
*Statewide registration for births and deaths started in 1913. General compliance by 1920.

Record Loss[edit | edit source]

1889 Courthouse fire destroyed most of the land records and many court records.

For suggestions about research in places that suffered historic record losses, see:

Boundary Changes[edit | edit source]

  • 1784 Moore County was created from Cumberland County.
  • County seat: Carthage[4]

For animated maps illustrating North Carolina county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation North Carolina County Boundary Maps" (1664-1965) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Populated Places[edit | edit source]

For a complete list of populated places, including small neighborhoods and suburbs, visit HomeTown Locator. The following are the most historically and genealogically relevant populated places in this county:[5]

Cities
Towns
Villages
Unincorporated communities
Census-designated places
Townships
  • Bensalem
  • Carthage
  • Deep River
  • Greenwood
  • Little River
  • McNeill
  • Mineral Springs
  • Ritter
  • Sandhill
  • Sheffields


History Timeline[edit | edit source]

Moore County was formed in 1784 from Cumberland. The act establishing the county provided for the erection of the public buildings. In 1795 an act was passed which stated that the location of the courthouse was inconvenient; it named commissioners to purchase land near the center of the county and erect a new courthouse. In 1796 an act was passed establishing Carthage on land where the courthouse was to stand. In 1803 an act was passed naming commissioners to lay out a town and build a courthouse as directed in the act of 1796. In 1806, Carthage was changed to Feaginsville. In 1818, "Feaginsville" was changed back to Carthage, and is now the county seat.

Resources[edit | edit source]

Bible Records[edit | edit source]

  • Bible Records at North Carolina Digital Archives - index and image

Biographies[edit | edit source]

Business, Commerce, and Occupations[edit | edit source]

Cemeteries[edit | edit source]

Cemeteries of Moore County, North Carolina online and in print
Tombstone Transcriptions Online
Tombstone Transcriptions in Print (Often more complete)
List of Cemeteries in the County
See North Carolina Cemeteries for more information

 

Census Records[edit | edit source]

Historical populations
Census Pop. %±
1790 3,870 —
1800 4,767 23.2%
1810 6,367 33.6%
1820 7,128 12.0%
1830 7,745 8.7%
1840 7,988 3.1%
1850 9,342 17.0%
1860 11,427 22.3%
1870 12,040 5.4%
1880 16,821 39.7%
1890 20,479 21.7%
1900 23,622 15.3%
1910 17,010 −28.0%
1920 21,388 25.7%
1930 28,215 31.9%
1940 30,969 9.8%
1950 33,129 7.0%
1960 36,733 10.9%
1970 39,048 6.3%
1980 50,505 29.3%
1990 59,013 16.8%
2000 74,769 26.7%
2010 88,247 18.0%
Source: "Wikipedia.org".


Church Records[edit | edit source]

Ward and Branch Records (The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints)

  • Cameron


List of Churches and Church Parishes

Court Records[edit | edit source]

The Clerk of the Superior Court is elected for four years and must be a resident of the county in which he or she is elected. Unlike clerks of court in other states, the Clerk of Superior Court in North Carolina has numerous judicial functions.

As judge of probate, the Clerk has exclusive original jurisdiction over matters relating to the probate of wills, and the administration of estates, including appointing personal representatives, auditing their accounting, and removing them from office if necessary. The Clerk also presides over many other legal matters including adoptions, incompetency proceedings, condemnation of private lands for public use, and foreclosures. The Clerk is responsible for all clerical and record-keeping functions of the district and superior court. In addition, the Clerk receives and disburses money collected each year from court fees and fines.

Transcribed court records:

Directories[edit | edit source]

Emigration and Immigration[edit | edit source]

Ethnic, Political, and Religious Groups[edit | edit source]


Funeral Homes[edit | edit source]

Genealogies[edit | edit source]

  • [Tidwell] Johnson, Charles Owen. "The Tidwell Family," The Virginia Genealogist, Vol. 17, No. 1 (Jan.-Mar. 1973):3-7; Vol. 17, No. 2 (Apr.-Jun. 1973):114-121; Vol. 17, No. 3 (Jul.-Sep. 1973):181-186; Vol. 17, No. 4 (Oct.-Dec. 1973):295-299; Vol. 18, No. 1 (Jan.-Mar. 1974):35-40; Vol. 18, No. 2 (Apr.-Jun. 1974):129-135; Vol. 18, No. 3 (Jul.-Sep. 1974):175-182; Vol. 18, No. 4 (Oct.-Dec. 1974):257-264; Vol. 19, No. 1 (Jan.-Mar. 1975):39-45. Digital version at American Ancestors $. FHL Book 975.5 B2vg v. 17 (1973) - v. 19 (1975).

Guardianship[edit | edit source]

Land and Property Records[edit | edit source]

  • Moore County Register of Deeds
    100 Dowd Street
    PO Box 1210
    Carthage, NC 28327
    Phone: 910-947-6300
    Has land records starting from 1787; website includes a searchable database.

Transcribed deed and land records:

Local Histories[edit | edit source]

Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]

Randolph CountyChatham CountyLee CountyHarnett CountyCumberland CountyHoke CountyScotland CountyRichmond CountyMontgomery CountyNC MOORE.PNG
Click a neighboring county
for more resources

Migration[edit | edit source]

Military Records[edit | edit source]

Revolutionary War

Civil War

Prisoner of War Records

Veteran and Burial Records

Regiments. Men in Moore County served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Moore County:

- 1st Brigade, North Carolina Reserves, Company E
- 1st Regiment, North Carolina Junior Reserves, Company E
- 2nd Regiment, North Carolina Cavalry, Company I
- 6th Regiment, North Carolina Senior Reserves, Company H
- 6th Regiment, North Carolina Senior Reserves, Company I
- Jarrett B. Graham, 30th Infantry Company H

Civil War Battles

World War I

World War II

Naturalization and Citizenship[edit | edit source]

Newspapers[edit | edit source]

Obituaries[edit | edit source]

Other Records[edit | edit source]

Voter Registration


Periodicals[edit | edit source]

Probate Records[edit | edit source]

Online Probate Indexes and Records

Transcribed copies of wills or estate records:

School Records[edit | edit source]

Social Security Records[edit | edit source]

Tax Records[edit | edit source]

Vital Records[edit | edit source]

Birth[edit | edit source]

Marriage[edit | edit source]

Death[edit | edit source]

Divorce[edit | edit source]

Research Facilities[edit | edit source]

Archives[edit | edit source]

Listed below are archives in Moore County. For state-wide archival repositories, see North Carolina Archives and Libraries.

Family History Centers[edit | edit source]

Family History Center and Affiliate Library Locator map - search for local Family History Centers or Affiliate Libraries

  • Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance, free access to center-only databases, and to premium genealogical websites.
  • FamilySearch Affiliate Libraries have access to most center-only databases, but may not always have full services normally provided by a family history center.

Local Centers and Affiliate Libraries

Libraries[edit | edit source]

Listed below are libraries in Moore County. For state-wide library facilities, see North Carolina Archives and Libraries.

Museums[edit | edit source]

Societies[edit | edit source]

Listed below are societies in Moore County. For state-wide genealogical societies, see North Carolina Societies.

Websites[edit | edit source]

  • FamilySearch Catalog – The FamilySearch catalog contains descriptions and access information for all genealogical materials (including books, online materials, microfilm, microfiche, and publications) in their collection.  Use Historical Records to search for specific individuals in genealogical records.

Research Guides[edit | edit source]

References[edit | edit source]

  1. ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), North Carolina.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. ↑ https://www.ncpedia.org/geography/Moore
  3. ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Moore County, North Carolina. Page 506-514 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002; Alice Eichholz, ed. Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County, and Town Sources, Third ed. (Provo, Utah: Ancestry, 2004), 505-509.
  4. ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), North Carolina.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  5. ↑ Wikipedia contributors, "Moore County, North Carolina," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Moore_County,_North_Carolina, accessed 22 February 2020.




v • d • e
Links to North Carolina-related articles
Topics
Counties
Alamance · Alexander · Alleghany · Anson · Ashe · Avery · Beaufort · Bertie · Bladen · Brunswick · Buncombe · Burke · Cabarrus · Caldwell · Camden · Carteret · Caswell · Catawba · Chatham · Cherokee · Chowan · Clay · Cleveland · Columbus · Craven · Cumberland · Currituck · Dare · Davidson · Davie · Duplin · Durham · Edgecombe · Forsyth · Franklin · Gaston · Gates · Graham · Granville · Greene · Guilford · Halifax · Harnett · Haywood · Henderson · Hertford · Hoke · Hyde · Iredell · Jackson · Johnston · Jones · Lee · Lenoir · Lincoln · Macon · Madison · Martin · McDowell · Mecklenburg · Mitchell · Montgomery · Moore · Nash · New Hanover · Northampton · Onslow · Orange · Pamlico · Pasquotank · Pender · Perquimans · Person · Pitt · Polk · Randolph · Richmond · Robeson · Rockingham · Rowan · Rutherford · Sampson · Scotland · Stanly · Stokes · Surry · Swain · Transylvania · Tyrrell · Union · Vance · Wake · Warren · Washington · Watauga · Wayne · Wilkes · Wilson · Yadkin · Yancey
Counties gone
to TN or VA
Extinct or
Renamed
Counties
Major
 Repositories
Library of Congress · National Archives at Atlanta · North Carolina State Archives · State Library of North Carolina · Duke University Perkins Library · Genealogical Society of Old Tyron County · McEachern Library of Local History · Olivia Raney Local History Library · Public Library of Charlotte and Mecklenburg County · Rowan Public Library · University of North Carolina Chapel Hill Libraries · Bristol Public Library · Chattanooga Public Library Downtown · Knox County Public Library · Santa Cruz Public Library Downtown
Migration
Routes

This website requires a paid subscription for full access.

Due to contractual agreements, some images and/or databases on FamilySearch.org may only be viewed at a Family History Center or FamilySearch Affiliate Library.

Retrieved from "https://www.familysearch.org/en/wiki/index.php?title=Moore_County,_North_Carolina_Genealogy&oldid=4783241"