Montgomery County, Virginia Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Guide to Montgomery County, Virginia ancestry, genealogy and family history, birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

County Facts
County seat: Christiansburg
Organized: 31 Dec 1776[1]
Parent County(s): Fincastle
Neighboring Counties
Craig  • Floyd  • Giles  • Pulaski  • Roanoke
See County Maps
Courthouse
VirginiaMontgomeryCourthouse.jpg
Location Map
Location of Montgomery County, Virginia.png
Adoption

County Information[edit | edit source]

Description[edit | edit source]

Montgomery County is located in the Southwestern portion of the Commonwealth of Virginia and was named for Richard Montgomery, an American Revolutionary War general[2].

County Courthouse[edit | edit source]

Montgomery County Courthouse
55 East Main Street
Christiansburg, VA 24073
Phone: 540-394-2086
Montgomery County Website

Clerk Circuit Court has birth, and death records 1853-1871, marriage, divorce, probate, court and land records from 1773[3]

Montgomery County, Virginia Record Dates[edit | edit source]

Information for this chart was taken from various sources, often containing conflicting dates. This information should be taken as a guide and should be verified by contacting the county and/or the state government agency.

Known Beginning Dates for Major County Records[4]
Birth* Marriage Death* Court Land Probate Census
1853 1773 1853 1773 1773 1773 1810
* Statewide registration for births and deaths began in 1912.
General compliance year is unknown.

Record Loss[edit | edit source]

There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.

  • Lost censuses: 1790, 1800, 1890

For suggestions about research in places that suffered historic record losses, see:

Boundary Changes[edit | edit source]

Populated Places[edit | edit source]

For a complete list of populated places, including small neighborhoods and suburbs, visit HomeTown Locator. The following are the most historically and genealogically relevant populated places in this county:[7]

Towns
Unincorporated communities
Census-designated places


History Timeline[edit | edit source]

Montgomery-richard.jpg

The county was named after Brigadier-General Richard Montgomery (1738-1775). Montgomery died during the Revolutionary War in the failed 1775 invasion of Canada.

Resources[edit | edit source]

Bible Records[edit | edit source]

For databases and indexes, see Virginia Bible Records.

Biographies[edit | edit source]

Business, Commerce, and Occupations[edit | edit source]

Cemeteries[edit | edit source]

Cemeteries of Montgomery County, Virginia online and in print
Tombstone Transcriptions Online
Tombstone Transcriptions in Print (Often more complete)
List of Cemeteries in the County
See Virginia Cemeteries for more information.

Census Records[edit | edit source]

For databases, indexes, and information online, see Virginia Census.

Historical populations
Census Pop.
1790 13,228
1800 9,044 −31.6%
1810 8,409 −7.0%
1820 8,733 3.9%
1830 12,306 40.9%
1840 7,405 −39.8%
1850 8,359 12.9%
1860 10,617 27.0%
1870 12,556 18.3%
1880 16,693 32.9%
1890 17,742 6.3%
1900 15,852 −10.7%
1910 17,268 8.9%
1920 18,595 7.7%
1930 19,605 5.4%
1940 21,206 8.2%
1950 29,780 40.4%
1960 32,923 10.6%
1970 47,157 43.2%
1980 63,516 34.7%
1990 73,913 16.4%
2000 83,629 13.1%
2010 94,392 12.9%
Source: "Wikipedia.org".

1790 Lost, but a substitute is available, see Taxation.

1800 Lost, but a substitute is available, see Taxation.

1810

  • 1810 Census of Montgomery County, Virginia. Beverly, W. Va.: Crickard, 1969?, 1979. Available at FHL; digital version at Ancestry ($).

1840

  • Douthat, James L. 1840 Mountain Empire of Virginia Census. Signal Mountain, Tenn.: Mountain Press, 2001. FHL Collection 975.5 X2d 1840. Free online surname index and purchase details at Mountain Press website. [Includes Montgomery County.]

1890 Union Veterans

Church Records[edit | edit source]

List of Churches and Church Parishes

Baptist
Early Baptist churches (with years constituted):

  1. Greasy Creek (1789)[8]
  2. Meadow Creek (1785)[8]
  3. N.F. Roanoke (1801)[8]
  4. Pine Creek (1803)[8]
  5. West Fork (1803)[8]
  • 1776 Petition of Baptists (10,000 names!) and sympathizers from all over Virginia, dated 16 October 1776, asking for an end to persecution of Baptists by the established church. After locating your ancestor, view the digital copies.
    – Digital copies at Library of Congress; also at Library of Virginia using the code word "000606093"
    – Hall, Jean Pickett. "Legislative Petitions: the 10,000 name petition" transcription in the Magazine of Virginia Genealogy, Vols. 35-38, with annotations in Vol. 39, (Richmond, Virginia: Virginia Genealogical Society, 1983-) online at Ancestry ($) and in book form at various libraries.
    Montgomery County fell within the bounds of the New River Association.

Church of England
Meade's 1861 history of parishes in Montgomery County is available online.[9]

German Reformed

  • Braun, Johannes, Klaus Wust and Joseph H. Meyerhoeffer. Shenandoah Valley Family Data, 1799-1813: From the Memorandum Book of Pastor Johannes Braun. Edinburg, Va.: Shenandoah History Publishers, 1978. FHL Book 975.5 K2bjo.

Quaker
Early monthly meetings (with years of existence):

  • Burk's Fork Monthly Meeting (1800-1812)[10]

Court Records[edit | edit source]

Online Court Indexes and Records
Library of Virginia's Virginia Memory: Chancery Records Index can be used to search Montgomery County chancery records for the years 1773-1938. Digital images are available for 1773-1913. Post-1913 records available at the Montgomery County Office of the Circuit Court Clerk's Office.

Directories[edit | edit source]

Emigration and Immigration[edit | edit source]

For databases and immigrant groups, see Virginia Emigration and Immigration

Ethnic, Political, and Religious Groups[edit | edit source]

African American

Funeral Homes[edit | edit source]

Genealogies[edit | edit source]

Compiled Genealogies by Surname

A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z

Compiled Genealogies for Multiple Families

  • Allison, Elizabeth Kelly. Early Southwest Virginia Families: Families of Kelly, Smyth, Buchanan, Clark and Related Families of Edmonson, Keys, Beattie, Ryburn, McDonald. Auburn, Ala., 1960.
  • Heavener, Ulysses S.A. German New River Settlement: Virginia. 1929; reprint, Baltimore, Md.: Genealogical Publishing Co., 1976. FHL Book 975.5 F2ghu 1976.
  • Kegley, Mary B. Early Adventurers on the Western Waters. 5 vols. 1990-1998. FHL Books 975.57 H2k v. 1-v. 5.

Guardianship[edit | edit source]

Land and Property Records[edit | edit source]

For land indexes, records, and databases, see Virginia Land and Property, including Colonial and State Land Grants.

Online Land Indexes and Records
An early settlers map is available for Montgomery County. Hildebrand plots the locations of pioneers from 1750-1865. The Family History Library has a copy: FHL Map 975.5785 E7h.

Grants and Patents
Land patents (pre-1779), land grants (after 1779) and surveys are available online at the Library of Virginia website. For step-by-step instructions on retrieving these records, read the Virginia Land and Property article.*Hudgins. 1009 patents dated 1746-1891 in what is now Montgomery County, Virginia placed on a map. DeedMapper, 2009. [Names of those who received land patents, dates, land descriptions, and references may be viewed free of charge (click "Index" next to the county listing); however, in order to view the maps, it is necessary to purchase Direct Line Software's DeedMapper product.]

  • Sims, Edgar Barr. Sims Index to Land Grants in West Virginia. [Springfield, Virginia]: Genealogical Books in Print, c1992. Available at FHL. [Includes Montgomery County, Virginia.]

Local Histories[edit | edit source]

  • Crush, Charles W. The Montgomery County Story, 1776-1957. unknown: unknown, 1957. Available at FHL; digital version at Ancestry ($).
  • Montgomery County, Virginia. Blacksburg?, Va.: unknown, 1907. Available at FHL; digital version at Ancestry ($).

Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]

County and state maps, historical and more current, are valuable research tools. For map collections, online and in libraries, see Virginia Maps.

Radford (Independent City)Pulaski CountySalem (Independent City)Roanoke (Independent City)Roanoke CountyGiles CountyCraig CountyFloyd CountyVA MONTGOMERY.PNG
Click a neighboring county
for more resources

Migration[edit | edit source]

Military Records[edit | edit source]

French and Indian War

  • Bockstruck, Lloyd DeWitt. Virginia's Colonial Soldiers. Baltimore: Genealogical Publishing Co., 1988. Available at FHL. {Identifies some Montgomery County veterans; see place name index.}


Revolutionary War

  • Montgomery County residents' participation in the Revolutionary War.[11]
  • Kegley, Mary B. Revolutionary War Pension Applications of Southwest Virginia Soldiers. n.p.: M.B. Kegley, 1997. FHL Collection [Includes Montgomery County pensioners.]
  • A Census of Pensioners for Revolutionary or Military Services: With their Names, Ages, and Places of Residence, as Returned by the Marshalls of the Several Judicial Districts, Under the Act for Taking the Sixth Census]. 1841. Digital version at Google Books et. al. 1967 reprint: FHL Book 973 X2pc 1840. [See Virginia, Western District, Montgomery County on page 135.]
  • Rejected or Suspended Applications for Revolutionary War Pensions. Washington, D.C., 1852. Reprinted by Genealogical Publishing Co., Inc., 1969, and 1991. Reprints include "an Added Index to States." FHL Book 973 M24ur; digital version at Ancestry ($). Includes veterans. Virginia section begins on page 238.


War of 1812

  • List of Pensioners on the Roll, January 1, 1883; Giving the Name of Each Pensioner, the Cause for Why Pensioned, the Post-Office Address, the Rate of Pension Per Month, and the Date of Original Allowance... Washington, D.C.: Government Printing Office, 1883. FHL Collection 973 M2Lp v. 5; digital versions at Google Books and Internet Archive. [See Vol. 5, Virginia, Montgomery County, p. 91. Identifies War of 1812 veterans living in this county in 1883.]

Regiments. Montgomery County men served in the 75th Regiment.[12]

Civil War

Regiments. Civil War service men in Montgomery County served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed here:

- 4th Regiment, Virginia Infantry (Confederate). Company B (Fort Lewis Volunteers), Company E (Montgomery Highlanders), Company G (Montgomery Fencibles).[13]
- 11th Regiment, Virginia Infantry (Confederate).[14]
- 14th Regiment, Virginia Cavalry (Confederate). Company F (2nd) and Company G (Border Rangers).[15]
- 22nd Regiment, Virginia Cavalry (Bowen's Virginia Mounted Riflemen) (Confederate). Company K.
- 24th Regiment, Virginia Infantry (Confederate). Company K (New River Grays).[16]
- 25th Regiment, Virginia Cavalry (Confederate). Company E and Company F.[17]
- 54th Regiment, Virginia Infantry (Confederate). Companies C and E (Montgomery Grays).[18]
- 63rd Regiment, Virginia Infantry (McMahon's) (Confederate). Company D.[19]


World War II

Naturalization and Citizenship[edit | edit source]

Online Naturalization Indexes and Records

Newspapers[edit | edit source]

For online newspaper resources, see the Virginia Newspapers page.

Indexed images of the Virginia Gazette (1736-1780) are available online through the Colonial Williamsburg website. In addition, Professor Tom Costa and The Rector and Visitors of the University of Virginia have created a database of all runaway advertisements for slaves, indentured servants, transported convicts, and ship deserters listed in this source and other Virginia newspapers (1736-1803), see: The Geography of Slavery in Virginia. These newspapers are valuable resources for all regions of Virginia.

Obituaries[edit | edit source]

Other Records[edit | edit source]

Periodicals[edit | edit source]

Watauga Association of Genealogists Bulletin
Several genealogical articles with abstracts of Montgomery County, Virginia records have been published in the Watauga Association of Genealogists Bulletin (39+ vols., 1972-present), the journal of the Watauga Association of Genealogists. The organization has posted tables of contents for most volumes on their website. Back issues are available for purchase.The Family History Library has a complete collection FHL US/CAN Books 976.897 B2w, including Margaret W. Hougland and Betty Jane Hylton's Bulletin Subject Index: The First Thirty Years, 1972-2001 (Johnson City, Tenn.: Watauga Association of Genealogists, 2002) FHL US/CAN Book 976.897 B2w index 1972-2001.

Probate Records[edit | edit source]

For probate records, indexes, and databases, see Virginia Probate Records.

Online Probate Indexes and Records

School Records[edit | edit source]

Social Security Records[edit | edit source]

Tax Records[edit | edit source]

For additional online collections and the value and use of Virginia's tax lists in your research, see Virginia Taxation.

Online Tax Indexes and Records

  • 1770-1773 Kegley, Mary B. New River Tithables, 1770-1773. Wytheville, Virginia: M.B. Kegley, 1972. Available at FHL.
  • 1782 1782 Montgomery County, Virginia Personal Property Tax List; index online at New River Notes - free.
  • 1782 The 1782 Montgomery County, Virginia Land Tax List (New River Notes) - free.
  • 1782 Fothergill, Augusta B. and John Mark Naugle. Virginia Tax Payers, 1782-87, Other Than Those Published by the United States Census Bureau. 1940; reprint, Baltimore: Genealogical Publishing Co., Inc., 1978. Available through the FamilySearch Catalog. [1782 personal property tax list of Montgomery County.]
  • 1782; 1787-89 Tax Digests at Virginia Pioneers ($)
  • 1787-1812 Montgomery County Personal Property Tax Lists 1787-1812 (images); digital version in Tax List Club at Binns Genealogy ($).
  • 1787 Schreiner-Yantis, Netti and Florene Speakman Love. The 1787 Census of Virginia: An Accounting of the Name of Every White Male Tithable Over 21 Years, the Number of White Males Between 16 & 21 Years, the Number of Slaves over 16 & Those Under 16 Years, Together with a Listing of Their Horses, Cattle & Carriages, and Also the Names of All Persons to Whom Ordinary Licenses and Physician's Licenses Were Issued. 3 vols. Springfield, Va.: Genealogical Books in Print, 1987. FHL. [The source of this publication is the 1787 personal property tax list. Montgomery County is included in Vol. 1.]
  • 1787 Taxables, 1787, Watauga Association of Genealogists Bulletin, Vol. 1, No. 2 (Summer 1972).
  • 1787 Delinquent Tax Lists, 1787, Magazine of Virginia Genealogy, Vol. 37, No. 3 (Aug. 1999); Vol. 38, No. 1 (Feb. 2000). Available at FHL; digital version at Ancestry ($).
  • 1787-1788, 1797] Delinquent Tax List, 1787, 1788, 1797 Magazine of Virginia Genealogy, Vol. 37, No. 4 (Nov. 1999). Available at FHL; digital version at Ancestry ($).
  • 1787, 1798-1799] Delinquent Tax Lists, 1787 (sel.), 1798-99, Magazine of Virginia Genealogy, Vol. 34, No. 2 (Spring 1996). Available at FHL; digital version at Ancestry.
  • 1787-1812 Heinegg, Paul. "Montgomery County Personal Property Tax List, 1787-1812," Free African Americans.com. [Heinegg abstracted free blacks listed in these records.]
  • 1788 Indexed images of the 1788 Personal Property Tax List of Montgomery County, Virginia are available online, courtesy: Binns Genealogy.
  • 1789 Tax List, 1789, Harlan Mountain Roots, Vol. 11, No. 4 (Summer 1997).
  • 1789 Possible Family Groups from 1789 Tax List, Boone Genealogical Quarterly, [Madison, West Va.] Vol. 13, No. 2 (Apr. 1990).
  • 1789-1790 Tax List, 1789-90, Lincoln Lineage, [Griffithsville, West Va.], Vol. 16, No. 4 (Nov. 1995).
  • 1790 County Tax Delinquents, 1790, Magazine of Virginia Genealogy, Vol. 43, No. 4 (Nov. 2005). Available at FHL.
  • 1790 Tax List, 1790, Harlan Mountain Roots, Vol. 11, No. 2 (Winter 1996).
  • 1799 Images of the 1799 Personal Property Tax List of Montgomery County, Virginiaare indexed online, courtesy: Binns Genealogy.
  • 1806 Personal Property Tax List, 1806, A-C, Friends of Genealogy Journal, [Shreveport, La.], Vol. 7, No. 1 (1995).
  • 1806 Personal Property Tax List, 1806, Virginia Appalachian Notes, Vol. 9, No. 3 (Aug. 1985); online at Roanoke Public Library - free.
  • 1800 Tax List, 1800, Virginia Genealogist, Vol. 42, No. 4 (Oct. 1998); Vol. 43, No. 1 (Jan. 1999); Vol. 43, No. 2 (Apr. 1999).
  • 1815 Ward, Roger D. 1815 Directory of Virginia Landowners (and Gazetteer). 6 vols. Athens, Georgia: Iberian Pub. Co., 1997-2000. Available at FHL. [The source for this publication is the 1815 land tax. Montgomery County is included in Vol. 5.]
  • 1818 Delinquent Tax Lists, 1818, Magazine of Virginia Genealogy, Vol. 38, No. 1 (Feb. 2000). Available at FHL; digital version at Ancestry ($).
  • 1830 Delinquent Muster Tax, Capt. Osborne, 1830, Magazine of Virginia Genealogy, Vol. 38, No. 1 (Feb. 2000). Available at FHL; digital version at Ancestry ($).

Vital Records[edit | edit source]

For additional indexes, databases, and details, see Virginia Vital Records.

Birth[edit | edit source]

Marriage[edit | edit source]

Death[edit | edit source]

Divorce[edit | edit source]

Research Facilities[edit | edit source]

Archives[edit | edit source]

Listed below are archives in Montgomery County. For state-wide facilities, see Virginia Archives and Libraries.

Family History Centers[edit | edit source]

Family History Center and Affiliate Library Locator map - search for local Family History Centers or Affiliate Libraries

  • Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance, free access to center-only databases, and to premium genealogical websites.
  • FamilySearch Affiliate Libraries have access to most center-only databases, but may not always have full services normally provided by a family history center.

Local Centers and Affiliate Libraries

Libraries[edit | edit source]

Listed below are libraries in Montgomery County. For state-wide library facilities, see Virginia Archives and Libraries.

There are many genealogical MS holdings, including full collections located at Virginia Tech Special Collections Department on the first floor of Newman Library on campus.

Museums[edit | edit source]

Societies[edit | edit source]

Listed below are societies in Montgomery County. For state-wide genealogical and historical societies, see Virginia Societies.

Websites[edit | edit source]

  • FamilySearch Catalog – The FamilySearch catalog contains descriptions and access information for all genealogical materials (including books, online materials, microfilm, microfiche, and publications) in their collection.  Use Historical Records to search for specific individuals in genealogical records.

Research Guides[edit | edit source]

  • "A Guide to the Counties of Virginia: Montgomery County," The Virginia Genealogist, Vol. 18, No. 4 (Oct.-Dec. 1974):298-301. FHL Collection; digital version at American Ancestors ($).

References[edit | edit source]

  1. Newberry
  2. https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Montgomery_County,_Virginia
  3. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Iowa.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  4. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Iowa.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  5. Newberry
  6. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Iowa.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  7. Wikipedia contributors, "Montgomery_ County,_Virginia," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia,https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Montgomery_County,_Virginia#Communities accessed 19 February 2020.
  8. 8.0 8.1 8.2 8.3 8.4 Robert Baylor Semple and George William Beale, A History of the Rise and Progress of the Baptists in Virginia (Pitt and Dickinson, 1894), 349. Digital version at Google Books.
  9. William Meade, Old Churches, Ministers and Families of Virginia, 2 vols. (Philadelphia: J.B. Lippincott and Co., 1861). Digital versions at Internet Archive: Vol. I and Vol. II.
  10. Jay Worrall, The Friendly Virginians: America's First Quakers (Athens, Ga.: Iberian Publishing Company, 1994), 537-539. FHL Book 975.5 K2wj.
  11. J.T. McAllister, Virginia Militia in the Revolutionary War: McAllister's Data (Hot Springs, Va.: McAllister Pub. Co., 1913), 37-38. Digitized by Internet Archive.
  12. Stuart Lee Butler, A Guide to Virginia Militia Units in the War of 1812 (Athens, Ga.: Iberian Pub. Co., 1988), 145. FHL Book 975.5 M2bs.
  13. James I. Robertson, 4th Virginia Infantry (Lynchburg, Va.: H.F. Howard, 1982). FHL Book 975.5 M2vr v. 1.
  14. Robert T. Bell, 11th Virginia Infantry (Lynchburg, Va.: H.E. Howard, 1985). FHL Book 975.5 M2vr v. 20.
  15. Robert J. Driver, 14th Virginia Cavalry (Lynchburg, Va.: H.E. Howard, c1988). FHL Book 975.5 M2vr v. 47.
  16. Ralph White Gunn, 24th Virginia Infantry (Lynchburg, Va.: H.E. Howard, 1987). FHL Book 975.5 M2vr v. 34.
  17. Dobbie E. Lambert, 25th Virginia Cavalry (Lynchburg, Va.: H.E. Howard, 1994). FHL Book 975.5 M2vr v. 106.
  18. George L. Sherwood and Jeffrey C. Weaver, 54th Virginia Infantry (Lynchburg, Va.: H.E. Howard, 1993). FHL Book 975.5 M2vr v. 91.
  19. Jeffrey C. Weaver, 63rd Virginia Infantry (Lynchburg, Va.: H.E. Howard, 1991). FHL Book 975.5 M2vr v. 76.