Montgomery County, Texas Genealogy
Guide to Montgomery County Texas ancestry, family history, and genealogy research page. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
|Montgomery County, Texas|
Location in the state of Texas, United States Genealogy
Location of Texas in the U.S.
|Founded||14 December, 1837|
|Address||Montgomery County Courthouse|
301 N Main
PO Box 959
Conroe, Texas 77305-0959
County Information[edit | edit source]
Description[edit | edit source]
The county was named for the town of Montgomery. The County is located in the southeast area of the state.
County Courthouse[edit | edit source]
Montgomery County Courthouse
301 N Main PO Box 959
Conroe, Texas 77305-0959
County Clerk has birth, death and burial records from 1903, marriage, probate and land records from 1838 and court records from 1929.
District Clerk has divorce records from 1914.
210 W. Davis
P.O. Box 2985
Montgomery county has had three county seats: Montgomery, 1837-1874, Willis, 1874-1880, Montgomery 1880-1889, Conroe, 1889-present.
The first Montgomery County Courthouse, built in Montgomery in 1838 was a two-room log structure. It was replaced in 1842 with a two-story building made of hand-hewn lumber. In 1855 a large Greek Revival style brick courthouse was built in Montgomery.
After Conroe became the county seat, a Greek Revival style courthouse designed by Eugene T. Heiner was built in 1891. In 1936, the current courthouse, a modern style stone building opened. The courthouse was extensively remodeled in 1965. 
Montgomery County Courthouse
501 North Thompson Suite 401
Conroe, Texas 77301
(936)756-0571 or (281)364-4200
County Clerk - Mark Turnbull
210 W. Davis (Hwy 105)
P.O. Box 959
Conroe, Texas 77305
Montgomery County, Texas Record Dates[edit | edit source]
General compliance by the 1930s.
History[edit | edit source]
Parent County[edit | edit source]
Boundary Changes[edit | edit source]
- Montgomery County (Texas State Historical Association)
Record Loss[edit | edit source]
There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.
Places / Localities[edit | edit source]
Town/city records in the FamilySearch Catalog
Populated Places[edit | edit source]
For a complete list of populated places, including small neighborhoods and suburbs, visit Hometown Locator. The following are the most historically and genealogically relevant populated places in this county:
‡This populated place also has portions in an adjacent county or counties
Neighboring Counties[edit | edit source]
Resources[edit | edit source]
Cemeteries[edit | edit source]
Cemetery records often reveal birth, marriage, death, relationship, military, and religious information.
|Tombstone Transcriptions Online||Tombstone Transcriptions in Print||List of Cemeteries in the county|
|FindAGrave||Family History Library||FindAGrave|
|BillionGraves (name)||Cemeteries of TX|
|GenWeb Archives||Texas Cemeteries|
|Names in Stone||FamilySearch Places|
|See Texas Cemeteries for more information.|
- Houston, Texas, Historic Hollywood Cemetery Records, 1895-2008 at Ancestry - index and images ($)
- Conroe Community Cemetery - Community Trees
- Conroe Community Cemetery
Census[edit | edit source]
Church[edit | edit source]
Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death/burial date and place. For general information about Texas denominations, view the Texas Church Records wiki page.
While St Mary's Catholic Church is in Plantersville, Grimes County, Texas, it is the church of many in the West side of Montgomery County. They have a cemetery and burial records for member. St. Mary’s Catholic Church
List of Churches and Church Parishes
Court[edit | edit source]
Land[edit | edit source]
- Montgomery Central Appraisal District. Present day land search through the Appraisal District by name.
- Deeds, 1838-1900; index, 1838-1900 at FamilySearch
- GLO Texas Land Grants (Texas General Land Office)
After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions, including deeds and mortgages, have been recorded by the county. You can obtain copies of these land records by writing to the county clerk at the county courthouse. For more information, see Texas Land and Property.
The FamilySearch Catalog lists microfilm copies of deeds, trust deeds, and mortgages of many counties.
Local Histories[edit | edit source]
Local histories are available for Montgomery County, Texas Genealogy. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Texas Local Histories.
- Austin Colony Pioneers: Including History of Bastrop, Fayette, Grimes, Montgomery and Washington Counties, Texas. 1949. By Worth S. Ray. Austin, Texas : n.p. Online at: FamilySearch Digital Library; At various libraries (WorldCat).
- The Choir Invisible: An Early History of Montgomery County. n.d. By the Montgomery Historical Society. n.p. Online at: FamilySearch Digital Library; At various libraries (WorldCat).
- A History of Montgomery County, Texas. 1952. By William H. Gandy. n.p. Online at: Internet Archive the Montgomery County TXGenWeb.
- The Early History of Historic Montgomery County, Texas by Kameron Searle
- Montgomery County Birthplace of the Texas Flag
Maps[edit | edit source]
Besides historical maps, research, and data, the Land Office today uses Geographic Information Systems (GIS), global positioning system (GPS)
- Texas Counties Map. Click on the county to go to the TXGenWeb site.
- FamilySearch Places: Map of cities and towns in this county - How to Use FS Places
Military[edit | edit source]
War of 1812[edit | edit source]
- 1812 - 1815 - War of 1812 Pension Files - index and images - free
Mexican-American War[edit | edit source]
Civil War[edit | edit source]
- 1861 - 1865 Texas, Civil War Service Records of Confederate Soldiers, 1861-1865 at FamilySearch — index
- 1861 - 1865 Texas, Civil War Records of Union Soldiers, 1861-1865 at FamilySearch — index
World War I[edit | edit source]
- 1917 - 1920 Texas, World War I Records, 1917-1920 at FamilySearch — index and images
Newspapers[edit | edit source]
Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Montgomery County, Texas Genealogy newspapers in online catalogs like:
- TX Newspaper Abstracts (For instructions see WorldCat Online Catalog).
Probate[edit | edit source]
Probate records of Texas, United States Genealogy have been kept by the probate clerk in each county courthouse. You can obtain copies of the records from the clerk's office. In most counties, all information pertaining to a probate case is recorded in the "probate minutes."
Content: Probate Records may give the decedent's date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, neighbors, associates, relatives, and their places of residence.
Record types: Wills, estates, guardianships, naturalizations, marriage, adoption, and birth and death records.
See the Wiki page Texas Probate Records for information about how to use probate records.
Online Probate Indexes and Records
- 1800 – 1990 Texas Probate Records 1800-1990 at FamilySearch — images
- 1800 – 2000 Texas Wills and Probate Records 1800-2000 at Ancestry.com — index and images $
Taxation[edit | edit source]
Texas tax records complement land records and can be used in place of censuses or to supplement the years between censuses. Because only persons who owned taxable property were listed, many residents were not included in tax lists. There may also be gaps of several years in the tax records of some counties. For more information, see the wiki page Texas Taxation.
- 1846-1910 Texas, County Tax Rolls 1846-1910 at findmypast ($) — index and images
Vital Records[edit | edit source]
Certified birth and death certificates or birth and death verifications can be ordered online or by mail at the Texas Vital Records State Department of Health. Copies can also be obtained from the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred and are often less expensive.
See Texas Vital Records for more information about Vital records in Texas.
Birth[edit | edit source]
Online Birth Indexes and Records
- 1840 - 1981 Texas, Births and Christenings, 1840-1981 at FamilySearch
- 1903 - 1935 Texas, Birth Certificates, 1903-1935 at FamilySearch — index and images
- 1903 - 1997 Texas Birth Index, 1903-1997 at FamilySearch — index
- 1926-1995 Texas Births, 1926 - 1995 at MyHeritage ($) — index
Marriage[edit | edit source]
Online Marriage Indexes and Records
- 1802 - 2010 Texas, United States Marriages at FindmyPast — index $
- 1814 - 1909 and 1966 - 2011 Texas Marriage Collection 1814-1909 and 1966-2011 at Ancestry.com — index $
- 1827-1965 Texas, U.S., Select County Marriage Records at Ancestry.com — index & images, ($)
- 1837 - 1965 Texas, County Marriage Records, 1837-1965 at FamilySearch — index and images
- 1837 - 1973 Texas, Marriages, 1837-1973 at FamilySearch — index
- 1839 - 1982 Texas, Church Marriages, 1839-1982 at FamilySearch — index
- 1837 - 1977 Texas Select County Marriage Index 1837-1977 at Ancestry.com — index $
- 1966 - 2011 Texas Marriage Collection 1966-2011 at FamilySearch
- 1966-2016 Texas Marriages and Divorces at MyHeritage ($) — index
Death[edit | edit source]
Online Death Indexes and Records
- 1903 - 1973 Texas Deaths and Burials 1903-1973 at FamilySearch — index
- 1903 - 1982 Texas Death Certificates 1903-1982 at Ancestry.com — index and images $
- 1964 - 1998 Texas Death Index 1964 to 1998 — index
- 1977 - 1986 Texas Deaths 1977-1986 at FamilySearch — index and images
Divorce[edit | edit source]
- 1968 - 2005 Texas Divorce Records 1968 - 2005 Hidden Ancestors — index
- 1968 - 2010 Texas Divorce Index 1968-2010 at FamilySearch — index
- 1968 - 2011 Texas Divorces 1968-2011 at Ancestry.com — index $
- 1966-2016 Texas Marriages and Divorces at MyHeritage ($) — index
Societies and Libraries[edit | edit source]
Montgomery County Genealogical and Historical Society
PO Box 867
Conroe, TX 77305-0867
President Frances Ellsworth
Montgomery Historical Society
PO Box 513
Montgomery, TX 77356
President Billy Ray Duncan
P.O. Box 1927
New Caney, TX 77357
Humble Area Genealogical Society
PO Box 2723
Humble, TX 77347-2723
Family History Centers[edit | edit source]
Family History Center and Affiliate Library Locator map - search for local Family History Centers or Affiliate Libraries
- Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance, free access to center-only databases, and to premium genealogical websites.
- FamilySearch Affiliate Libraries have access to most center-only databases, but may not always have full services normally provided by a family history center.
Local Centers and Affiliate Libraries
Websites[edit | edit source]
- FamilySearch Catalog — The catalog is genealogical materials (including books, online materials, microfilm, microfiche, and publications) This catalog is different than the indexed Historical Records
- Montgomery County TXGenWeb site
- TXGenWeb project. May have maps, name indexes, history or other information for this county. Select the county .
- City of Montgomery
- Texas History Page
- The Early History of Historic Montgomery County, Texas
References[edit | edit source]
- Wikipedia contributors, "Montgomery, Texas" in "https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Montgomery_County,_Texas. accessed 11/22/2019
- Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Montgomery County, Texas. Page 670 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- HistoricTexas.net: Montgomery County http://www3.historictexas.net/montgomery-county-texas
- Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Montgomery County, Texas . Page 658-677 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002; Alice Eichholz, ed. Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County, and Town Sources, Third ed. (Provo, Utah: Ancestry, 2004), 655-665.
- The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
- Wikipedia contributors, "Montgomery County, Texas," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Montgomery_County,_Texas, Last accessed 14 August 2019.