Montgomery County, Missouri Genealogy
Guide to Montgomery County, Missouri ancestry, genealogy and family history, birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
|
| ||||||||||||||||||||||||
| ||||||||||||||||||||||||
County Information[edit | edit source]
Description[edit | edit source]
The County was named for Richard Montgomery. The County is located in the east central area of the state.[2]
County Courthouse[edit | edit source]
Montgomery County Courthouse
211 E 3rd Street
Montgomery City, MO 63361-1956
Phone: 573-564-3357
Montgomery County Website
Clerk Circuit Court has marriage records from 1864, divorce and court records from 1886.
Probate Judge has probate records from 1890. [3]
Montgomery County, Missouri Record Dates[edit | edit source]
Information for this chart was taken from various sources, often containing conflicting dates. This information should be taken as a guide and should be verified by contacting the county and/or the state government agency.
| Birth* | Marriage | Death* | Court | Land | Probate | Census |
| 1910 | 1864 | 1910 | 1886 | 1839 | 1890 | 1830 |
Record Loss[edit | edit source]
|
1860s Courthouse damaged by fire, with record loss unknown. 1901 Courthouse burned on April 12, 1901, destroying many county records. Copies of early original deeds are at Jones Abstract Company in Montgomery City. For suggestions about research in places that suffered historic record losses, see:
|
Boundary Changes[edit | edit source]
For animated maps illustrating Missouri county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Missouri County Boundary Maps" (1804-1889) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website. |
Populated Places[edit | edit source]
For a complete list of populated places in Montgomery County, MO, including small neighborhoods and suburbs, visit HomeTown Locator.
The State Historical Society of Missouri has information on historical Missouri place names for all 114 Missouri Counties.
The following are the most historically and genealogically relevant populated places in this county:[6]
| Cities | ||
|
||
| Villages | ||
| Unincorporated communities | ||
| Census-designated places | ||
| Townships | ||
History Timeline[edit | edit source]
Resources[edit | edit source]
Bible Records[edit | edit source]
Biographies[edit | edit source]
Business, Commerce, and Occupations[edit | edit source]
Cemeteries[edit | edit source]
- Missouri Cemeteries Missouri Access Genealogy
- Montgomery County, Missouri, Cemetery Records, Vol. 1-2 at Ancestry ($)
Census Records[edit | edit source]
| Historical populations | ||
|---|---|---|
| Census | Pop. | %± |
| 1820 | 3,074 | — |
| 1830 | 3,902 | 26.9% |
| 1840 | 4,371 | 12.0% |
| 1850 | 5,489 | 25.6% |
| 1860 | 9,718 | 77.0% |
| 1870 | 10,405 | 7.1% |
| 1880 | 16,249 | 56.2% |
| 1890 | 16,850 | 3.7% |
| 1900 | 16,571 | −1.7% |
| 1910 | 15,604 | −5.8% |
| 1920 | 15,233 | −2.4% |
| 1930 | 13,011 | −14.6% |
| 1940 | 12,442 | −4.4% |
| 1950 | 11,555 | −7.1% |
| 1960 | 11,097 | −4.0% |
| 1970 | 11,000 | −0.9% |
| 1980 | 11,537 | 4.9% |
| 1990 | 11,355 | −1.6% |
| 2000 | 12,136 | 6.9% |
| 2010 | 12,236 | 0.8% |
| Source: "Wikipedia.org". | ||
- 1732-1933 Missouri State and Territorial Census Records, 1732-1933 at FamilySearch — index and images - How to Use this Collection
Church Records[edit | edit source]
Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Missouri denominations, view the Missouri Church Records wiki page.
List of Churches and Church Parishes
The Immaculate Conception Catholic Church is located in Montgomery City. The church dates to 1861 but parish records for births, marriages and deaths began to be recorded in the mid 1860's. There is a cemetery onsite with a fairly complete plot map for burials. The cemetery is run by a separate organization but the parish secretary knows how to reach them. The parish does not allow the public to view their records but the priest is willing to look up information as time permits.
Court Records[edit | edit source]
- 1800-1991 Missouri, County Marriage, Naturalization, and Court Records, 1800-1991 at FamilySearch — index and images - How to Use this Collection
Directories[edit | edit source]
Emigration and Immigration[edit | edit source]
Ethnic, Political, and Religious Groups[edit | edit source]
African Americans[edit | edit source]
- 1865-1881 Montgomery County Colored Marriage Index 1865-1881. Batch M515482 at FamilySearch.
Funeral Homes[edit | edit source]
Genealogies[edit | edit source]
Guardianship[edit | edit source]
Land and Property Records[edit | edit source]
Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.
See Missouri Land and Property for information about records of land transfers from the government to private ownership. After that transfer, transactions were usually recorded and are currently housed at the county courthouse.
Local Histories[edit | edit source]
Local histories are available for Montgomery County, Missouri Genealogy. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the Wiki page section Missouri Local Histories.
- History of Missouri's Counties, County Seats, and Courthouse Squares. 1983. by Marian M. Ohman. Missouri: Missouri State Library. Online at: Missouri Digital History
- History of St. Charles, Montgomery and Warren Counties, Missouri. 1969. St. Louis: Paul V. Cochrane. Online at: FamilySearch; and at Missouri Digital History
- State of Missouri: an autobiography. 1904. By Walter Williams. Columbia, Mo: Press of E. W. Stephens. Online at: Missouri Digital History
Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]
for more resources
- Maps of Missouri (1804-1889)
- Map of Montgomery County townships (Histopolis)
- Missouri As It Is In 1867. 1867. by Nathan II. Parker. Philadelpia: J. B. Lippincott & Co. Online at: Missouri Digital History
- The University of Missouri Digital Library has digital copies of Missouri county plat books (ca. 1930) for all Missouri counties including Montgomery County. The city of St. Louis is not included in this collection.
- An illustrated historical atlas of Montgomery County, Mo. at Missouri Digital Heritage
- Standard Atlas of Montgomery County, Missouri at Missouri Digital Heritage
- FamilySearch Places: Map of cities and towns in this county - How to Use FS Places
Migration[edit | edit source]
Military Records[edit | edit source]
- 1900-1941 Missouri, Pre-WWII Adjutant General Enlistment Contracts, 1900-1941 at FamilySearch — images - How to Use this Collection
Civil War[edit | edit source]
Online Records
- 1861-1865 Missouri, Civil War Service Records of Confederate Soldiers, 1861-1865 at FamilySearch — index - How to Use this Collection
- 1861-1865 Missouri, Civil War Service Records of Union Soldiers, 1861-1865 at FamilySearch — index - How to Use this Collection
- 1911-1938 Missouri, Confederate Pension Applications and Soldiers Home Applications, 1911-1938 at FamilySearch — index and images - How to Use this Collection
World War II[edit | edit source]
- 1940-1945 Missouri, World War II Draft Registration Cards,1940-1945 at FamilySearch — index and images - How to Use this Collection
- 1941-1946 Missouri, Reports of Separation Notices, 1941-1946 at FamilySearch — index - How to Use this Collection
Naturalization and Citizenship[edit | edit source]
- 1800-1991 Missouri, County Marriage, Naturalization, and Court Records, 1800-1991 at FamilySearch — index - How to Use this Collection
Newspapers[edit | edit source]
- Chronicling America has The Montgomery Tribune which was published from 1900-1910 online. It can be searched using single words or combinations of words. It covers news local to Montgomery county and the surrounding areas.
- Missouri Digital Newspaper Project at Missouri State Historical Society
- Newspaperarchive.com ($) has historical newspapers available on-line. Their database has Jefferson City newspapers from the early 1900's covering local news that sometimes included residents from Montgomery County communities.
Obituaries[edit | edit source]
Other Records[edit | edit source]
Periodicals[edit | edit source]
Probate Records[edit | edit source]
Probate records include wills, bonds, petitions, accounts, inventories, administrations, orders, decrees, and distributions. For further information, see United States Probate Records.
In Missouri, probate records have usually been recorded by the clerks of the probate courts, but in some counties the common pleas or circuit courts handled this function. They are frequently indexed.
Online Probate Indexes and Records
- 1750-1988 Missouri Probate Records 1750-1998 at FamilySearch — images- How to Use this Collection
- 1766-1988 Missouri Wills and Probate Records 1766-1988 at Ancestry — index and images ($)
School Records[edit | edit source]
Social Security Records[edit | edit source]
- 1935-2014 United States Social Security Death Index at FamilySearch - How to use this collection; index. Also at Ancestry, findmypast, Fold3, GenealogyBank, MyHeritage, and Steve Morse. Click here for more information.
- 1936-2007 U.S., Social Security Applications and Claims Index, 1936-2007 at Ancestry ($) — index, click here for more information.
Tax Records[edit | edit source]
Taxes were levied on free white males over 21 and slaves aged 21 to 60. These persons are referred to as "polls." Tax listings, or digests, of a county generally list the taxable landowners and other polls and the amount of tax. The records for each county are divided by militia district. For more information see the wiki page Missouri Taxation.
Vital Records[edit | edit source]
Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths. For additional guidance on researching and using vital records, see United States Vital Records or How to order Missouri Vital Records.
St. Louis and Kansas City recorded births and deaths starting as early as 1850 for deaths and 1870 for births. The Missouri Department of Health began keeping birth and death records in 1909. County records vary by year and the county. A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Missouri Vital Records State Department of Health, the County Clerk's office or order electronically online.
Birth[edit | edit source]
- Pre-1910 Missouri Birth and Death Records Database, Pre-1910 at Missouri Digital Heritage - index.
- 1817-1939 Missouri Births, 1817-1939 at FamilySearch — index - How to Use this Collection
- 1827-1935 Missouri, Births and Christenings, 1827-1935 at FamilySearch — index - How to Use this Collection
- 1851-1910 Missouri Birth Records, 1851-1910 at Ancestry — index/images ($)
- 1920-2015 Missouri, Birth Index, 1920-2015 at MyHeritage — index, ($)
- 1920-2015 Reclaim the Records: Missouri Birth Index at Archive.org - images of index
Marriage[edit | edit source]
- 1750-1920 Missouri, Marriages, 1750-1920 at FamilySearch — index - How to Use this Collection
- 1776-1988 Missouri, United States Marriages at FindMyPast — index $
- 1800-1991 Missouri, County Marriage, Naturalization, and Court Records, 1800-1991 at FamilySearch — index and images - How to Use this Collection
- 1805-2002 Missouri, Marriage Records, 1805-2002 at Ancestry ($)
- 1850 Missouri Marriages to 1850 at Ancestry — index ($)
- 1863-1873 Montgomery County Marriage Index 1863-1873. Batch M515481 at FamilySearch. [7]
Death[edit | edit source]
- 1834-1910 Missouri, Death Records, 1834-1910 at Ancestry — index/images ($)
- 1867-1976 Missouri, Deaths and Burials, 1867-1976 at FamilySearch — index - How to Use this Collection
- 1883-1930 Missouri Deaths, 1883-1930 at FamilySearch — index and images - How to Use this Collection
- 1889-1935 Montgomery County, Missouri Obituaries, 1889-1935 at Ancestry ($)
- 1898-1952 Montgomery County, Missouri Deaths 1898-1952 at Ancestry ($)
- 1910-1960 Missouri Death Certificates, 1910 - 1960 at MyHeritage ($) — index
- 1910-1960 Missouri Death Certificates, 1910-1969 at Missouri Digital Heritage - index and images.
- Missouri State Archives provides on-line access to Missouri Death Certificates more than 50 yrs old starting in 1910.
- 1968-2015 Missouri, Death Index, 1968-2015 at MyHeritage — index, ($)
Divorce[edit | edit source]
Research Facilities[edit | edit source]
Archives[edit | edit source]
Listed below are archives in Montgomery County. For state-wide archival repositories, see Missouri Archives and Libraries.
Family History Centers[edit | edit source]
Family History Center and Affiliate Library Locator map - search for local Family History Centers or Affiliate Libraries
- Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance, free access to center-only databases, and to premium genealogical websites.
- FamilySearch Affiliate Libraries have access to most center-only databases, but may not always have full services normally provided by a family history center.
Local Centers and Affiliate Libraries
Libraries[edit | edit source]
Listed below are libraries in Montgomery County. For state-wide library facilities, see Missouri Archives and Libraries.
Museums[edit | edit source]
Societies[edit | edit source]
Listed below are societies in Montgomery County. For state-wide genealogical societies, see Missouri Societies.
- Montgomery County Genealogical/Historical Society
112 West Second St.
Montgomery City, MO 63361
Phone: (573) 564-8022
Email: info@MCHSMO.org
Website Facebook
Websites[edit | edit source]
- Missouri Digital Heritage. Free. digital images of many types of records from institutions across the State
- MOGenWeb. Free. Data may be submitted by individuals or complete transcriptions
- USGenWeb Archives. Free. Data may be submitted by individuals or may be complete transcriptions
- FamilySearch Catalog . Free. - The FamilySearch catalog contains descriptions and access information for all genealogical materials (including books, online materials, microfilm, microfiche, and publications) in their collection. Use Historical Records to search for specific individuals in genealogical records
- RootsWeb resources. Free. Data may be submitted by individuals or may be complete transcriptions
- Linkpendium. Free. Click links. Some sites they link to may have fees ($)
- CyndisList. Free. Click links. Some sites they link to may have fees ($)
- StateofUS. Free. family history resources and government records
- Missouri Genealogy. Free. Click links. Some sites they link to may have fees ($)
Research Guides[edit | edit source]
References[edit | edit source]
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Missouri. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- ↑ Wikipedia contributors, "Montgomery, Missouri," in https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Montgomery_County,_Missouri. accessed 9/12/2018
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Missouri. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Montgomery County, Missouri. Page 397-407 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002; Alice Eichholz, ed. Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County, and Town Sources, Third ed. (Provo, Utah: Ancestry, 2004), 393-397.
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Missouri. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- ↑ Wikipedia contributors, "Montgomery County, Missouri," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, Montgomery County Missouri, accessed Oct 2019.
- ↑ Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/wiki/en/images/d/d8/Igimissourij.pdf.
