Montgomery County, Iowa Genealogy
Guide to Montgomery County, Iowa ancestry, genealogy and family history, birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
|
| ||||||||||||||||||||||||
| ||||||||||||||||||||||||
County Information[edit | edit source]
Description[edit | edit source]
Montgomery County was named for Richard Montgomery and is located in southwestern Iowa.[3]
County Courthouse[edit | edit source]
Montgomery County Courthouse
105 E. Coolbaugh Street / PO Box 469
Red Oak, IA 51566
Phone: 712-623-4986
Montgomery County Website
Montgomery County, Iowa Record Dates[edit | edit source]
Information for this chart was taken from various sources, often containing conflicting dates. This information should be taken as a guide and should be verified by contacting the county and/or the state government agency.
| Birth* | Marriage | Death* | Court | Land | Probate | Census |
| 1880 | 1856 | 1880 | 1873 | 1854 | 1860 | 1847 |
Record Loss[edit | edit source]
|
There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county. |
Boundary Changes[edit | edit source]
|
Populated Places[edit | edit source]
For a complete list of populated places, including small neighborhoods and suburbs, visit HomeTown Locator. The following are the most historically and genealogically relevant populated places in this county:[8]
| Cities | ||
| Unincorporated communities | ||
| Townships | ||
|
||
| Historic communities | ||
|
|
|
History Timeline[edit | edit source]
Resources[edit | edit source]
Bible Records[edit | edit source]
Listed below are resources for Bible records specific to Montgomery County. To find more resources, go to the Iowa Bible Records page.
Biographies[edit | edit source]
- Biographical History of Montgomery and Adams Counties, Iowa. 1892 Chicago, IL: The Lewis Publishing Company. Online at: FamilySearch Digital Library.
- History of Montgomery County, Iowa: Containing Biographical Directory of Many of Its Leading Citizens. 1881. Des Moines, IA: Iowa Historical and Biographical Co. Online at: HathiTrust — index & images,
- Montgomery County, Iowa Biographies Project at RootsWeb — links to biographies and local histories
Business, Commerce, and Occupations[edit | edit source]
Cemeteries[edit | edit source]
Census Records[edit | edit source]
Iowa recorded not only federal, but state censuses for several in-between years as well. For more information, see the very informative Iowa Census article.
| Historical populations | ||
|---|---|---|
| Census | Pop. | %± |
| 1860 | 1,256 | — |
| 1870 | 5,934 | 372.5% |
| 1880 | 15,895 | 167.9% |
| 1890 | 15,848 | −0.3% |
| 1900 | 17,803 | 12.3% |
| 1910 | 16,604 | −6.7% |
| 1920 | 17,048 | 2.7% |
| 1930 | 16,752 | −1.7% |
| 1940 | 15,697 | −6.3% |
| 1950 | 15,685 | −0.1% |
| 1960 | 14,467 | −7.8% |
| 1970 | 12,781 | −11.7% |
| 1980 | 13,413 | 4.9% |
| 1990 | 12,076 | −10.0% |
| 2000 | 11,771 | −2.5% |
| 2010 | 10,740 | −8.8% |
| Source: "Wikipedia.org". | ||
State Census
- 1885 Iowa State Census, 1885 at FamilySearch — How to Use this Collection; index and images
- 1895 Iowa State Census, 1895 at FamilySearch — How to Use this Collection; index and images
- 1905 Iowa State Census, 1905 at FamilySearch — How to Use this Collection; index and images (individual cards, not family context)
- 1915 Iowa State Census, 1915 at FamilySearch — How to Use this Collection; index and images
- 1925 Iowa State Census, 1925 at FamilySearch — How to Use this Collection; index and images
Church Records[edit | edit source]
Most church records are held by individual churches. Some denominations are gathering their records into a central repository. For more information about these major repositories, see Iowa Church Records.
- FamilySearch Places
- Montgomery County Churches at IAGenWeb
Court Records[edit | edit source]
Directories[edit | edit source]
- 1896 Directory of Montgomery County, Iowa(*) at FamilySearch Catalog — images
Emigration and Immigration[edit | edit source]
Ethnic, Political, and Religious Groups[edit | edit source]
Funeral Homes[edit | edit source]
- Nelson-Boylan-LeRette Funeral Chapel, Inc. in Red Oak
- Wolfe-Billings Funeral Chapel in Villisca
Genealogies[edit | edit source]
Guardianship[edit | edit source]
Land and Property Records[edit | edit source]
Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. They include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.
See Iowa Land and Property for information about early Iowa land grants. After land was transferred to private ownership, transactions were usually recorded and housed at the county courthouse.
Online Land and Property Records
- 1854-1927 Deeds, 1854-1927 at FamilySearch Catalog - index & images
- 1854-1927 Town lot deeds, 1854-1927 at FamilySearch Catalog - index & images
- 1853-1869 Original entries, 1853-1869 at FamilySearch Catalog - images
- 1864-1967 Tax sale deeds, 1864-1967 at FamilySearch Catalog - images
Local Histories[edit | edit source]
Local histories are available for Montgomery County, which may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see Iowa Local Histories.
- 1907 Standard Atlas of Montgomery County, Iowa. 1907. Chicago, IL: Geo. A. Ogle & Company, Publishers and Engravers. Online at: FamilySearch Digital Library.
- Biographical History of Montgomery and Adams counties, Iowa. 1892 Chicago, IL: The Lewis Publishing Company. Online at: FamilySearch Digital Library.
- Directory of Montgomery County, Iowa - 1905-06, 6th ed. 1905, Red Oak, IA: The Red Oak Express Publishing. Online at: FamilySearch Digital Library.
- A History of the County of Montgomery from the earliest days to 1906. 1906. By W. W. Merritt. Red Oak, IA: Express Publishing. Online at: FamilySearch Digital Library, Internet Archive, HathiTrust
- History of Montgomery County, Iowa: Containing Biographical Directory of Many of Its Leading Citizens. 1881. Des Moines, IA: Iowa Historical and Biographical Co. Online at: HathiTrust — index & images,
- Iowa Indexes at EveryNameIndex.com — Select the county.
Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]
County and state maps, historical and more current, are valuable research tools. For online maps and collections in libraries and societies, see Iowa Maps. Historical maps may be especially useful.
- 1860-1918 U.S., Indexed County Land Ownership Maps, 1860-1918, Montgomery County at Ancestry ($) - index.
- 1875-2007 Montgomery County 1875-2007 at Historic Map Works - may include names of land-owners.
- 1886-1921 Fire Insurance Maps for Montgomery County, Iowa at Library of Congress - various years between 1886 and 1921.
- 1907 Standard Atlas of Montgomery County, Iowa. 1907. Chicago, IL: Geo. A. Ogle & Company, Publishers and Engravers. Online at: FamilySearch Digital Library.
- Montgomery County Maps at IAGenWeb
- Iowa Digital Library, Montgomery County at Iowa University Libraries.
- Montgomery County Maps at FamilySearch Catalog.
- Plat Book, Montgomery County, Iowa(*); at FamilySearch Catalog — images.
- The Iowa Heritage Digital Collections, Montgomery County at State Library of Iowa.
- FamilySearch Places: Map of cities and towns in this county - How to Use FS Places.
Migration[edit | edit source]
Military Records[edit | edit source]
Multiple Wars
- 1812-2004 Montgomery County Military at IAGenWeb
- 1835-1998 Iowa, Armed Forces Grave Registrations, ca. 1835-1998 at FamilySearch — How to Use this Collection; index only
- 1862-1910 Iowa, Records of Persons Subject to Military Duty, 1862-1910 at FamilySearch — How to Use this Collection; index and images
Civil War
- 1861-1949 Iowa, Grand Army of the Republic Membership Records, 1861-1949 at FamilySearch — How to Use this Collection; index and images
Naturalization and Citizenship[edit | edit source]
Please see the Iowa Naturalization and Citizenship page for state-wide information.
Online Naturalization Indexes and Records
- 1859-1990 United States, Iowa Naturalization Records, 1859-1990 at FamilySearch — How to Use this Collection; index and images
- 1869-1929 Naturalization Records, 1869-1929(*); Clerk of the District Court at FamilySearch Catalog — index, images
Newspapers[edit | edit source]
Obituaries[edit | edit source]
Other Records[edit | edit source]
- Montgomery County Queries, IAGenWeb Project
- Montgomery County Docs, IAGenWeb Project
Periodicals[edit | edit source]
Probate Records[edit | edit source]
In most counties in Iowa, probate records have been kept by the county judge. They include wills, fee books, claim registers, legacy records, inheritance records, probate ticklers, and dockets. The records are available at the county courthouse.
Online Probate Indexes and Records
- 1758-1997 Iowa, U.S., Wills and Probate Records, 1758-1997 at Ancestry — index and images, ($)
- 1838-1964 Probate Records, 1838-1964(*); Clerk of the District Court at FamilySearch Catalog - index & images
- 1898-1926 Inheritance Tax Records, 1898-1926(*); County Recorder at FamilySearch Catalog - images
School Record[edit | edit source]
- Montgomery County Schools at IAGenWeb
Social Security Records[edit | edit source]
- 1935-2014 United States Social Security Death Index at FamilySearch — How to use this collection; index. Also at Ancestry, findmypast, Fold3, GenealogyBank, MyHeritage, and Steve Morse. Click here for more information.
- 1936-2007 U.S., Social Security Applications and Claims Index, 1936-2007 at Ancestry — index and images ($)
Tax Records[edit | edit source]
Iowa tax records complement land records and can supplement the years between censuses. Iowa's unique Old Age Assistance tax gives names, addresses and birth years. There may be gaps of several years. For more information, see the wiki page Iowa Taxation.
Online Tax Indexes and Records
- 1934-1958 Iowa, Old Age Tax Assistance Records, 1934-1958 at FamilySearch — How to Use this Collection; index and images
Vital Records[edit | edit source]
Vital Records consist of births, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded by civil officials on registers, certificates, and other documents. Copies or extracts may be purchased from the Iowa Department of Public Health or the County Clerk's office. See also Iowa Vital Records.
Birth[edit | edit source]
- 1850-1939 Iowa, Delayed Birth Records, 1850-1939 at FamilySearch — How to Use this Collection; index and images
- 1880-1935 Iowa, County Births, 1880-1935 at FamilySearch — How to Use this Collection; index and images
- 1921-1942 Iowa, Birth Records, 1921-1942 at FamilySearch — How to Use this Collection; index and images
Marriage[edit | edit source]
- 1518-1996 Iowa, United States Marriages at Findmypast — index ($)
- 1809-1992 Iowa, Marriages, 1809-1992 at MyHeritage — index ($)
- 1836-1926 Iowa, Marriages, 1836 - 1926 at MyHeritage — index ($)
- 1838-1934 Iowa, County Marriages, 1838-1934 at FamilySearch — How to Use this Collection; index and images
- 1880-1951 Iowa, U.S., Marriage Records, 1880-1951 at Ancestry — index and images ($)
- 1855-1880 IAGenWeb, Marriages Index, Montgomery County
Death[edit | edit source]
- 1850-1990 Iowa Deaths and Burials, 1850-1990 at FamilySearch — How to Use this Collection; index and some images; Also at: MyHeritage($)
- 1880-1992 Iowa, County Death Records, 1880-1992 at FamilySearch — How to Use this Collection; index and images
- 1900-1939 Iowa Death Index, 1900-1939 at MyHeritage — index ($)
- 1904-1951 Iowa, Death Records, 1904-1951 at FamilySearch — How to Use this Collection; index and images
- 1920-1967 Iowa, U.S., Death Records, 1920-1967 at Ancestry — index and images ($)
Divorce[edit | edit source]
Research Facilities[edit | edit source]
Archives[edit | edit source]
Listed below are archives in Montgomery County. For state-wide library facilities, see Iowa Archives and Libraries.
Family History Centers[edit | edit source]
Family History Center and Affiliate Library Locator map - search for local Family History Centers or Affiliate Libraries
- Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance, free access to center-only databases, and to premium genealogical websites.
- FamilySearch Affiliate Libraries have access to most center-only databases, but may not always have full services normally provided by a family history center.
Local Centers and Affiliate Libraries
- Omaha Public Library - an affiliate library
Libraries[edit | edit source]
Listed below are libraries in Montgomery County. For state-wide library facilities, see Iowa Archives and Libraries.
Red Oak Public Library
400 N. 2nd Street
Red Oak, IA 51566
712-623-6516
E-mail: webmaster@redoak.lib.ia.us
Website
Villisca Public Library
204 S. 3rd Avenue
Villisca, IA 50864
712-826-2452
E-mail: staff@villisca.lib.ia.us
Website
Museums[edit | edit source]
Montgomery County History Center
2700 N. 4th Street
Red Oak, IA 51566
712-623-2289
E-mail: mchsociet@qwestoffice.net
Website
Burlington Northern Depot & WWII Memorial Museum
305 South 2nd Street
Red Oak, IA 51566
712-621-9099
Website
Swedish Heritage and Cultural Center
410 Hilltop Avenue
Stanton, IA 51573
712-829-2840
E-mail: shcc@myfmtc.com
Website
Societies[edit | edit source]
Listed below are societies in Montgomery County. For state-wide genealogical societies, see Iowa Societies.
Montgomery County Iowa Historical Society and History Center
2700 N 4th Street
Red Oak, IA 51566
712-623-2289
Website
Websites[edit | edit source]
- Montgomery County at Cyndi's List - a comprehensive, categorized & cross-referenced list of links that point you to genealogical research sites online
- Montgomery County at Genealogy Trails - volunteer transcriptions of genealogical and historical data
- Montgomery County at Iowa USGenWeb - free online resources for genealogical research
- Montgomery County at Iowa USGenWeb Archives - free online data for genealogical research
- State Historical Society of Iowa — select from research collection topics
- State Library of Iowa — electronic depository of documents intended for the general public produced by Iowa agencies
- The Iowa Heritage Digital Collection — digital images from a variety of Iowa cultural institutions
- FamilySearch Catalog – The FamilySearch catalog contains descriptions and access information for all genealogical materials (including books, online materials, microfilm, microfiche, and publications) in their collection. Use Historical Records to search for specific individuals in genealogical records.
Research Guides[edit | edit source]
References[edit | edit source]
- ↑ Iowa Historical Boundary Changes - list of all boundary changes by county provided by Newberry Library; accessed on 11 April 2021.
- ↑ Iowa Historical Boundary Changes - list of all boundary changes by county provided by Newberry Library; accessed on 11 April 2021.
- ↑ Wikipedia contributors, "Montgomery, Iowa," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, "https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Montgomery_County,_Iowa."
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Iowa.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- ↑ Iowa Historical Boundary Changes - list of all boundary changes by county provided by Newberry Library; accessed on 11 April 2021.
- ↑ Iowa Historical Boundary Changes - list of all boundary changes by county provided by Newberry Library; accessed on 11 April 2021.
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Iowa.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- ↑ Wikipedia contributors, ",Montgomery County, Iowa" in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Montgomery_County,_Iowa, accessed 18 October 2019.