Monroe County, Iowa Genealogy
Guide to Monroe County, Iowa ancestry, genealogy and family history, birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, and military records.
|
| ||||||||||||||||||||||||
| ||||||||||||||||||||||||
County Information[edit | edit source]
Description[edit | edit source]
Monroe County was named for James Monroe and is located in southeastern Iowa.[3]
County Courthouse[edit | edit source]
Monroe County Courthouse
10 Benton Avenue East
Albia, IA 52531
Phone: 641-932-5212
Monroe County Website
Monroe County, Iowa Record Dates[edit | edit source]
Information for this chart was taken from various sources, often containing conflicting dates. This information should be taken as a guide and should be verified by contacting the county and/or the state government agency.
| Birth* | Marriage | Death* | Court | Land | Probate | Census |
| 1880 | 1845 | 1880 | 1845 | 1847 | 1845 | 1847 |
Record Loss[edit | edit source]
|
There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county. |
Boundary Changes[edit | edit source]
|
Populated Places[edit | edit source]
For a complete list of populated places, including small neighborhoods and suburbs, visit HomeTown Locator. The following are the most historically and genealogically relevant populated places in this county:[8]
| Cities | ||
| Unincorporated communities | ||
| Townships | ||
| Ghost towns | ||
History Timeline[edit | edit source]
Resources[edit | edit source]
Bible Records[edit | edit source]
Listed below are resources for Bible records specific to Monroe County. To find more resources, go to the Iowa Bible Records page.
- Monroe County Bible Records at USGenWeb Iowa Archives
Biographies[edit | edit source]
- Biographical and Genealogical History of Appanoose and Monroe Counties, Iowa. 1903 By S. Thompson Lewis. New York, NY: Lewis Pub. Co. Online at: FamilySearch Digital Library, Internet Archive, HathiTrust — index & images,Ancestry — index & images ($).
- The History of Monroe County, Iowa: Containing a History of the County, Its Cities, Towns, &c., a Biographical Directory of Citizens. 1878. Chicago, IL: Western Historical. Online at: FamilySearch Digital Library, Internet Archive, HathiTrust — index & images.
- An Illustrated History of Monroe County, Iowa. 1896. By Frank Hickenlooper. Albia, IA: F. Hickenlooper. Online at: Internet Archive, HathiTrust — index & images, Google Books.
- Monroe County, Iowa Biographies Project at RootsWeb — links to biographies and local histories
Business, Commerce, and Occupations[edit | edit source]
Cemeteries[edit | edit source]
Census Records[edit | edit source]
Iowa recorded not only federal, but state censuses for several in-between years as well. For more information, see the very informative Iowa Census article.
| Historical populations | ||
|---|---|---|
| Census | Pop. | %± |
| 1850 | 2,884 | — |
| 1860 | 8,612 | 198.6% |
| 1870 | 12,724 | 47.7% |
| 1880 | 13,719 | 7.8% |
| 1890 | 13,666 | −0.4% |
| 1900 | 17,985 | 31.6% |
| 1910 | 25,429 | 41.4% |
| 1920 | 23,467 | −7.7% |
| 1930 | 15,010 | −36.0% |
| 1940 | 14,553 | −3.0% |
| 1950 | 11,814 | −18.8% |
| 1960 | 10,463 | −11.4% |
| 1970 | 9,357 | −10.6% |
| 1980 | 9,209 | −1.6% |
| 1990 | 8,114 | −11.9% |
| 2000 | 8,016 | −1.2% |
| 2010 | 7,970 | −0.6% |
| Source: "Wikipedia.org". | ||
State Census
- 1885 Iowa State Census, 1885 at FamilySearch — How to Use this Collection; index and images
- 1895 Iowa State Census, 1895 at FamilySearch — How to Use this Collection; index and images
- 1905 Iowa State Census, 1905 at FamilySearch — How to Use this Collection; index and images (individual cards, not family context)
- 1915 Iowa State Census, 1915 at FamilySearch — How to Use this Collection; index and images
- 1925 Iowa State Census, 1925 at FamilySearch — How to Use this Collection; index and images
Church Records[edit | edit source]
Most church records are held by individual churches. Some denominations are gathering their records into a central repository. For more information about these major repositories, see Iowa Church Records.
Court Records[edit | edit source]
- 1847-1861 District Court Record, v. 1-2, 1847-1861(*); District Court at FamilySearch Catalog — index and images
- 1861-1931 Iowa, Monroe County, District Court Records, 1861-1931(*); District Court at FamilySearch Catalog — images
- 1869-1886 Iowa, Monroe County, Circuit Court Records, 1869-1886(*); Circuit Court at FamilySearch Catalog — images
Directories[edit | edit source]
- 1919 Standard Atlas of Monroe County, Iowa : Including a Plat Book of the Villages, Cities and Townships of the County; Map of the State, United States and World; Patrons Directory, Reference Business Directory ... Analysis of the System of U. S. Land Surveys, Digest of the System of Civil Government, etc(*) at FamilySearch Catalog — images
Emigration and Immigration[edit | edit source]
Ethnic, Political, and Religious Groups[edit | edit source]
African American
- Gradwohl, David M. & Nancy M. Osborn Exploring Buried Buxton: archaeology of an abandoned Iowa coal mining town with a large Black population. Iowa City, IA: University of Iowa Press, 1984. Online at: Google Books
Funeral Homes[edit | edit source]
- Eddyville Funeral Chapel in Eddyville
- Sinnott Funeral Home-Albia in Albia and Lovilia
- Tharp Funeral Home in Albia
Genealogies[edit | edit source]
Guardianship[edit | edit source]
Land and Property Records[edit | edit source]
Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. They include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.
See Iowa Land and Property for information about early Iowa land grants. After land was transferred to private ownership, transactions were usually recorded and housed at the county courthouse.
Online Land and Property Records
- 1847-1888 Deeds, 1847-1888; index, 1847-1901 at FamilySearch Catalog - index & images
Local Histories[edit | edit source]
Local histories are available for Monroe County, which may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see Iowa Local Histories.
- Biographical and Genealogical History of Appanoose and Monroe Counties, Iowa. 1903 By S. Thompson Lewis. New York, NY: Lewis Pub. Co. Online at: FamilySearch Digital Library, Internet Archive, HathiTrust — index & images,Ancestry — index & images ($).
- The History of Monroe County, Iowa: Containing a History of the County, Its Cities, Towns, &c., a Biographical Directory of Citizens. 1878. Chicago, IL: Western Historical. Online at: FamilySearch Digital Library, Internet Archive, HathiTrust — index & images.
- An Illustrated History of Monroe County, Iowa. 1896. By Frank Hickenlooper. Albia, IA: F. Hickenlooper. Online at: Internet Archive, HathiTrust — index & images, Google Books.
- Monroe County History, Iowa. 1940. by Iowa Writers Project. Albia, IA: Monroe County Schools. Online at: Ancestry ($)
Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]
County and state maps, historical and more current, are valuable research tools. For online maps and collections in libraries and societies, see Iowa Maps. Historical maps may be especially useful.
for more resources
- 1860-1918 U.S., Indexed County Land Ownership Maps, 1860-1918, Monroe County at Ancestry ($) - index.
- 1875-2007 Monroe County 1875-2007 at Historic Map Works - may include names of land-owners.
- 1886-1933 Fire Insurance Maps for Monroe County, Iowa at Library of Congress - various years between 1886 and 1933.
- Atlas of Monroe County, Iowa(*); at FamilySearch Catalog — images.
- IAGenWeb - Monroe County.
- Iowa Digital Library, Monroe County at Iowa University Libraries.
- Monroe County Maps at FamilySearch Catalog.
- Standard Atlas of Monroe County, Iowa(*); at FamilySearch Catalog — images.
- The Iowa Heritage Digital Collections, Monroe County at State Library of Iowa.
- FamilySearch Places: Map of cities and towns in this county - How to Use FS Places.
Migration[edit | edit source]
Military Records[edit | edit source]
Multiple Wars
- 1835-1998 Iowa, Armed Forces Grave Registrations, ca. 1835-1998 at FamilySearch — How to Use this Collection; index only
- 1862-1910 Iowa, Records of Persons Subject to Military Duty, 1862-1910 at FamilySearch — How to Use this Collection; index and images
Civil War
- 1861-1949 Iowa, Grand Army of the Republic Membership Records, 1861-1949 at FamilySearch — How to Use this Collection; index and images
Civil War service men in Monroe County served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed here:
- - 1st Regiment, Iowa Cavalry, Company H
- - 6th Regiment, Iowa Infantry, Company E
- - 8th Regiment, Iowa Infantry, Company I
- - 17th Regiment, Iowa Infantry, Company H
- - 22nd Regiment, Iowa Infantry, Company D
- - 46th Regiment, Iowa Infantry (100 days, 1864), Company G
Naturalization and Citizenship[edit | edit source]
Please see the Iowa Naturalization and Citizenship page for state-wide information.
Online Naturalization Indexes and Records
- 1852-1929 Iowa, Monroe County, Naturalization Records, 1852-1929(*); District Court at FamilySearch Catalog —index, images
- 1859-1990 United States, Iowa Naturalization Records, 1859-1990 at FamilySearch — How to Use this Collection; index and images
- 1870-1930 Naturalization Records, 1870-1930(*); Clerk of District Court at FamilySearch Catalog —3 indexes, images
Newspapers[edit | edit source]
- 1898-2015 Iowa, Monroe County, Card Index of Births, Deaths & Marriages from Newspaper Clippings, 1898-2015 at FamilySearch — How to Use this Collection; index and images
- 1951-1971 The Monroe County News. 1951-59, 1961-63, 1966-68, and 1970-71. Albia, IA, USA. Online at Ancestry ($)
Obituaries[edit | edit source]
Other Records[edit | edit source]
Periodicals[edit | edit source]
Probate Records[edit | edit source]
In most counties in Iowa, probate records have been kept by the county judge. They include wills, fee books, claim registers, legacy records, inheritance records, probate ticklers, and dockets. The records are available at the county courthouse.
Online Probate Indexes and Records
- 1758-1997 Iowa, U.S., Wills and Probate Records, 1758-1997 at Ancestry — index and images, ($)
- 1848-1889 Probate Records, 1848-1889(*); District Court at FamilySearch Catalog - index & images
- 1852-1939 Will Record, 1852-1939(*); District Court at FamilySearch Catalog - index & images
- 1861-1978 Iowa, Monroe County, Probate Records, 1861-1978(*); Clerk of the District Court at FamilySearch Catalog - images
- 1862-1888 Complete Record Probate, 1862-1888(*); District Court at FamilySearch Catalog - index & images
- 1883-1915 Albia Newspaper Extractions, Monroe County, Iowa : The Albia Union(*); at FamilySearch Catalog - index & images
School Records[edit | edit source]
Social Security Records[edit | edit source]
- 1935-2014 United States Social Security Death Index at FamilySearch — How to use this collection; index. Also at Ancestry, findmypast, Fold3, GenealogyBank, MyHeritage, and Steve Morse. Click here for more information.
- 1936-2007 U.S., Social Security Applications and Claims Index, 1936-2007 at Ancestry — index and images ($)
Tax Records[edit | edit source]
Iowa tax records complement land records and can supplement the years between censuses. Iowa's unique Old Age Assistance tax gives names, addresses and birth years. There may be gaps of several years. For more information, see the wiki page Iowa Taxation.
Online Tax Indexes and Records
- 1934-1958 Iowa, Old Age Tax Assistance Records, 1934-1958 at FamilySearch — How to Use this Collection; index and images
Vital Records[edit | edit source]
Vital Records consist of births, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded by civil officials on registers, certificates, and other documents. Copies or extracts may be purchased from the Iowa Department of Public Health or the County Clerk's office. See also Iowa Vital Records.
Birth[edit | edit source]
- 1850-1939 Iowa, Delayed Birth Records, 1850-1939 at FamilySearch — How to Use this Collection; index and images
- 1880-1935 Iowa, County Births, 1880-1935 at FamilySearch — How to Use this Collection; index and images
- 1921-1942 Iowa, Birth Records, 1921-1942 at FamilySearch — How to Use this Collection; index and images
Marriage[edit | edit source]
- 1518-1996 Iowa, United States Marriages at Findmypast — index ($)
- 1809-1992 Iowa, Marriages, 1809-1992 at MyHeritage — index ($)
- 1836-1926 Iowa, Marriages, 1836 - 1926 at MyHeritage — index ($)
- 1838-1934 Iowa, County Marriages, 1838-1934 at FamilySearch — How to Use this Collection; index and images
- 1880-1951 Iowa, U.S., Marriage Records, 1880-1951 at Ancestry — index and images ($)
Death[edit | edit source]
- 1850-1990 Iowa Deaths and Burials, 1850-1990 at FamilySearch — How to Use this Collection; index and some images; Also at: MyHeritage($)
- 1880-1992 Iowa, County Death Records, 1880-1992 at FamilySearch — How to Use this Collection; index and images
- 1900-1939 Iowa Death Index, 1900-1939 at MyHeritage — index ($)
- 1904-1951 Iowa, Death Records, 1904-1951 at FamilySearch — How to Use this Collection; index and images
- 1920-1967 Iowa, U.S., Death Records, 1920-1967 at Ancestry — index and images ($)
Divorce[edit | edit source]
Research Facilities[edit | edit source]
Archives[edit | edit source]
Listed below are archives in Monroe County. For state-wide library facilities, see Iowa Archives and Libraries.
Family History Centers[edit | edit source]
Family History Center and Affiliate Library Locator map - search for local Family History Centers or Affiliate Libraries
- Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance, free access to center-only databases, and to premium genealogical websites.
- FamilySearch Affiliate Libraries have access to most center-only databases, but may not always have full services normally provided by a family history center.
Local Centers and Affiliate Libraries
- Iowa Genealogical Society Library - an affiliate library
Libraries[edit | edit source]
Listed below are libraries in Monroe County. For state-wide library facilities, see Iowa Archives and Libraries.
Eddyville Public Library
202 South 2nd Street
PO Box 399
Eddyville, IA 52553-0399
641-969-4815
E-mail: elibrary@pcsia.net
Website
Albia Public Library
203 East Benton
Albia, IA 52531
641-932-2469
E-mail: albialibrary@netscape.net
Website
Museums[edit | edit source]
Monroe County Historical Society & Museum
114 A. Avenue East
Albia, IA 52531
641-932-7046
Facebook
Societies[edit | edit source]
Listed below are societies in Monroe County. For state-wide genealogical societies, see Iowa Societies.
Monroe County Genealogical Society
C/O Albia Public Library
203 Benton Ave E
Albia, IA 52531-2036
Website
Websites[edit | edit source]
- Monroe County at Cyndi's List - a comprehensive, categorized & cross-referenced list of links that point you to genealogical research sites online
- Monroe County at Genealogy Trails - volunteer transcriptions of genealogical and historical data
- Monroe County at Iowa USGenWeb - free online resources for genealogical research
- Monroe County at Iowa USGenWeb Archives - free online data for genealogical research
- Monroe County Iowa Genealogical Resource - contains links to historical and county records, cemeteries, and other genealogical resources
- State Historical Society of Iowa — select from research collection topics
- State Library of Iowa — electronic depository of documents intended for the general public produced by Iowa agencies
- The Iowa Heritage Digital Collection — digital images from a variety of Iowa cultural institutions
- FamilySearch Catalog – The FamilySearch catalog contains descriptions and access information for all genealogical materials (including books, online materials, microfilm, microfiche, and publications) in their collection. Use Historical Records to search for specific individuals in genealogical records.
Research Guides[edit | edit source]
References[edit | edit source]
- ↑ Iowa Historical Boundary Changes - list of all boundary changes by county provided by Newberry Library; accessed on 11 April 2021.
- ↑ Iowa Historical Boundary Changes - list of all boundary changes by county provided by Newberry Library; accessed on 11 April 2021.
- ↑ Wikipedia contributors, "Monroe, Iowa," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, "https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Monroe_County,_Iowa."
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Iowa.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- ↑ Iowa Historical Boundary Changes - list of all boundary changes by county provided by Newberry Library; accessed on 11 April 2021.
- ↑ Iowa Historical Boundary Changes - list of all boundary changes by county provided by Newberry Library; accessed on 11 April 2021.
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Iowa.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- ↑ Wikipedia contributors, "Monroe County, Iowa," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Monroe_County,_Iowa#Communities, accessed 17 October 2019.