Monmouthshire, Wales Genealogy
| Monmouthshire Wiki Topics | |
 | |
| Beginning Research | |
| Record Types | |
| Wales Background | |
| Local Research Resources | |
Guide to Monmouthshire County, Wales ancestry, family history and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, parish registers, and military records. Monmouthshire was created from the historic county of Breconshire. View the Breconshire County page.
Historic Monmouthshire[edit | edit source]
|
Monmouthshire (Welsh:Sir Fynwy or Mynwy) was one of the thirteen historic counties of Wales. It was a maritime county, bounded to the north by Breconshire, to the east by Herefordshire (in England), to the west by Glamorgan and to the south by the Bristol Channel. The county was created following the Act of Union of 1536, between Wales and England, and was formed from the lordships of Abergavenny, Caerleon, Chepstow, Monmouth, Newport, Three Castles, Usk and part of Ewias. The administrative county of Monmouthshire, with an elected county council, was formed in 1889 by the Local Government Act 1888. The 1971 census recorded the population of Monmouthshire as 461,700. Motto: Usque Fidelis (English: Faithful to both) Chapman Code: MON |
1974-1996 Gwent[edit | edit source]
|
Under the Local Government Act 1972, the county and administrative county of Monmouthshire was abolished on April 1, 1974. Most of its area formed the new county of Gwent, with parts going to the new counties of Mid Glamorgan and South Glamorgan. |
Modern Monmouthshire[edit | edit source]
|
Following further local government reorganisation, the county of Gwent was abolished on April 1, 1996 and was divided into the newly created county boroughs of:
|
Parishes[edit | edit source]
- See a list of the parishes in Monmouthshire with links to their pages.
- Interactive map of Monmouthshire Parishes.
Hundreds[edit | edit source]
Below are the Hundreds of Monmouthshire.
Online Records[edit | edit source]
- 1542-1911 - Wales Court and Miscellaneous Records, 1542-1911 at FamilySearch — images
- 1551-1994 - Monmouthshire, Wales, Anglican Baptisms, Marriages and Burials, 1551-1994 at Ancestry.com — index & images, ($)
- 1650-1900 - Wales, Marriage Bonds, 1650-1900 at FamilySearch — index
- 1678-2001 - Wales, Parish Registers, 1678-2001 at FamilySearch — index
- 1839-1889 - Wales, Monmouthshire (Gwent), Electoral Registers 1839-1889 at FamilySearch — index & images
- 1843-1929 - Wales, Monmouthshire (Gwent) Workhouse Registers 1843-1929 at FamilySearch — index & images
Topics[edit | edit source]
- Monmouthshire Archives and Libraries
- Monmouthshire Societies
- Monmouthshire Nonconformist Records
- Monmouthshire Poor Law Unions
Research tools[edit | edit source]
Wales, Monmouthshire, Parish Registers, 1538-1912
Ancestry($) - Monmouthsire, Wales, Selected Parish Registers, 1568
Websites[edit | edit source]
- Monmouthshire Resources and Help pages RootsChat Monmouthshire Resources and Help pages. (Free).
- Gwent Archives at Ebbw Vale.
- Gwent Family History Society
- Monmouthshire Monumental Inscriptions
- The Big Pit National Coal Museum at Blaenafon.
- The National Roman Legion Museum at Caerleon
- 1885 County Map: Courtesy of London Ancestor
- Monmouthshire Monumental Inscriptions
- Monmouthshire Parishes
- Church records - Dissenter Index for Glamorgan & Monmouthshire
- Caerwent Church records
- Crime and Punishment 1730-1830
- 1901
- Rootsweb Monmouthshire board
- BBC Wales south-east genealogy
- Original Wills Online
