Mississippi Census
| Mississippi Wiki Topics |
|
| Beginning Research |
| Record Types |
|
| Mississippi Background |
| Cultural Groups |
| Local Research Resources |
Online Federal Censuses[edit | edit source]
Population Schedules[edit | edit source]
Starting in 1790, federal population schedules were taken every 10 years in the United States. Click here for more information about federal census records.
Mississippi became the twentieth state admitted to the United States on December 10, 1817. It was first included on the 1800 U.S. Census as Mississippi Territory.
United States Federal Censuses with Online Links[edit | edit source]
Non-Population Schedules for Mississippi[edit | edit source]
Federal non-population schedules included such things mortality schedules, agriculture schedules, slave schedules, and manufacturing schedules.
| Year | Type of Census | Links |
|---|---|---|
| 1890 | Veterans | FamilySearch
Ancestry ($) |
| 1880 | Mortality | Ancestry ($) |
| 1870 | Mortality | Ancestry ($) |
| 1860 | Slave owner | FamilySearch
Ancestry ($) |
| 1850 | Mortality | FamilySearch
Ancestry ($) |
| 1840 | Pensioners | Google Books
Ancestry ($) |
Existing and Lost Censuses[edit | edit source]
Online State and Territorial Censuses[edit | edit source]
State censuses are census records that were taken at the state-level rather than at the federal. Often, but not always, a state took their census in ten year increments 5 years from when the Federal Census was taken, such as 1885. State censuses can even serve as substitutes for missing federal censuses. For more information on state censuses, visit United States Census Bureau.
Territorial censuses were taken by the federal government to count the population in federal territories. The government needed to count the population in the territory to see if it could qualify for statehood. For more information on territorial censuses, visit the US Territorial Census page.
| Year | Type of Census | Links |
|---|---|---|
| 1866 | State (select counties), head of household | at FamilySearch
at Ancestry ($) |
| 1860 | State (Choctaw County), head of household | at FamilySearch
at Ancestry ($) |
| 1853 | State (select counties), head of household | at FamilySearch
at Ancestry ($) |
| 1845 | State (select counties), head of household | at FamilySearch
at Ancestry ($) |
| 1837 | State (select counties), head of household | at FamilySearch
at Ancestry ($) |
| 1833 | State (Amite and Franklin counties- statistical only) | Amite County at Mississippi Department of Archives and History
Franklin County at Mississippi Department of Archives and History |
| 1830 | State (select counties- some are statistical only), head of household | at FamilySearch
at Ancestry ($) |
| 1825 | State (select counties- some are statistical only), head of household | at FamilySearch
at Ancestry ($) |
| 1824 | State (select counties- some are statistical only, some births and deaths), head of household | at FamilySearch
at Ancestry ($) |
| 1823 | State (select counties- some are statistical only, some births and deaths), head of household | at FamilySearch
at Ancestry ($) |
| 1822 | State (select counties- some are statistical only, some births and deaths), head of household | at FamilySearch
at Ancestry ($) |
| 1820 | State (select counties), head of household | at FamilySearch
at Ancestry ($) |
| 1818 | State (Adams County), head of household | at FamilySearch
at Ancestry ($) |
| 1816 | Territorial (select counties), head of household | at Ancestry ($) |
| 1813 | Territorial (Wilkinson County), head of household | at Ancestry ($) |
| 1810 | Territorial (select counties), head of household | at Ancestry ($) |
| 1808 | Territorial (Jefferson and Washington Counties), head of household | at Ancestry ($) |
| 1805 | Territorial (Jefferson and Wilkinson counties), head of household | at Ancestry ($) |
| 1792 | Territorial (Natchez District - now Adams, Amite, Claiborne, Franklin, Jefferson, Warren and Wilkinson counties) , head of household (In Spanish) | at Ancestry ($) |
Why Use the Census?[edit | edit source]
State census records can be one of the easiest ways to locate where an ancestor's family lived and when they lived there. Information varies based on year and location, but information that may be included in a census can include:
- Name of each person in the family at the time the census was taken
- Street or Avenue, or number Rural Free Delivery
- Sex
- Age
- Color
- Nativity
- Place of birth of this person
- Place of birth of Father of this person
- Place of birth of Mother of this person
- Period of Residence
- How long a resident of this State (years and months)
- How long a resident of this enumeration district (years and months)
- Regular occupation
- Military service
More about censuses[edit | edit source]
Click here for additional details about how to use censuses, such as:
Sources and footnotes[edit | edit source]
A wiki article describing an online collection is found at:
Mississippi State Archives, Various Records (FamilySearch HIstorical Recoords)
| ||||||||||||||||||||
