Minidoka County, Idaho Genealogy
Guide to Minidoka County, Idaho ancestry, family history, and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
|Minidoka County, Idaho|
Location in the state of Idaho, United States Genealogy
Location of Idaho in the U.S.
|Founded||January 28, 1913|
|Address||Minidoka County Courthouse|
715 G Street
Rupert, ID 83350-0474
Phone: (208) 436-9511
Fax: (208) 436-0737
County Information[edit | edit source]
Description[edit | edit source]
The County was named for Minidoka which means "well, spring". The County has Rupert as its seat and the County was created January 28, 1913. The County is located in the south central area of the state.
Minidoka County, Idaho Record Dates[edit | edit source]
Quick Facts[edit | edit source]
Parent County[edit | edit source]
Boundary Changes[edit | edit source]
Record Loss[edit | edit source]
There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.
Places/Localities[edit | edit source]
For a complete list of populated places, including small neighborhoods and suburbs, visit Home Town Locator. The following are the most historically and genealogically relevant populated places in this county:
The above list of places includes incorporated cities and towns, unincorporated towns and communities, and place names that may have been used in family histories. Some have well-organized records and even have web sites. Some are simply social communities with no official records, but which may be referenced in small-town newspapers. The list is provided to help researchers identify localities within the county. As records or histories of these localities are identified, a page will be added for each of these place names.
Resources[edit | edit source]
The types of records that follow are used for genealogy and family history. Most tell what you may learn and how to locate the records. Links to Internet sites usually go directly to Minidoka County, Idaho Genealogy entries with names, images, or information.
|Don't overlook Minidoka County, Idaho Genealogy items in the FamilySearch Library Catalog. For other libraries (local and national) or to gain access to items of interest, see Archives and Libraries.|
Many of the older court, land, naturalization, probate, pension, and vital records for Minidoka County have been microfilmed and are available at the Family History Library in Salt Lake City and through their family history centers. They are also available at the Idaho State Archives in Boise. Details of the county records in these respective institutions can be obtained from their online catalogs or listings. Original records which have been microfilmed and more recent records are in the county courthouse in Rupert.
Cemeteries[edit | edit source]
There are many cemeteries in Minidoka County. For a list of those that have been identified, and links to transcriptions and/or photographs of tombstones, go to Minidoka County, Idaho Cemetery Records.
For the cemeteries in or immediately adjacent to the cities, please see the city pages for the cities listed above.
Census[edit | edit source]
The 1890 federal census for Idaho was destroyed. However, the Idaho State Historical Society Public Archives and Research Library is creating a list of 1890 Idaho residents by indexing a variety of records, 1885-1894. This reconstructed list will substitute for the destroyed 1890 federal census.
For a summary of census records for the state of Idaho, see Idaho Census Records.
Church[edit | edit source]
The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-Day Saints (Mormons)[edit | edit source]
- List of Minidoka County stakes and wards to about 1948.
The following are local congregations (wards) of The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-Day Saints which existed in Minidoka County, Idaho prior to 1950. Many of the original records of these church units are in the Historical Library in Salt Lake City. Many of the membership records covering these units from the date of their creation to about 1948 have been microfilmed and are available at the Family History Library in Salt Lake City.
List of Churches and Church Parishes
County Commissioners' Records[edit | edit source]
The minute books of the County Commissioners contain interesting tidbits of history about the county as well as the names of individuals appealing to the County Commissioners for action on issues of concern to them. Minutes of those meetings were recorded from the formation of the county, for most counties. Some counties now post the minutes of current meetings online.
Most of these records have been preserved in the county courthouses of the State of Idaho. Few have been microfilmed. Contact the county clerk for information about years covered and availability.
Online County Records
- 1913-1961 - Idaho, Minidoka County Records, 1913-1961 at FamilySearch — index and images
Court Records[edit | edit source]
Some of the early court records of Minidoka County, Idaho have been microfilmed and are available at the Idaho State Archives in Boise, Idaho. The records filmed include civil suits, divorce papers, judgment dockets, etc. Copies of these microfilmed court records are also available at the Family History Library in Salt Lake City, Utah or at any of the Library'sFamily History Centers. Additional court records and more recent records are housed at the Minidoka County courthouse in Rupert, and can be accessed by making a visit there.
Some of the records of the courts of Minidoka County that have been microfilmed include:
- Court minutes, 1913-1947
- Power of attorney, v. 1, 1912-1958
- Judgment records, 1913-1935
Directories[edit | edit source]
The Idaho State Archives has a collection of city, county, state and regional directories.
History[edit | edit source]
Land and Property[edit | edit source]
Land and Property records are generally recorded in the county courthouse of the county in which the transaction took place. For original records of Minidoka County, Idaho, one may visit the courthouse in Rupert, Idaho. It is suggested too that one search Lincoln County from which Minidoka was formed.
The Idaho State Archives has microfilmed many county records of Minidoka County and these can be accessed by visiting the Archives in Boise, Idaho.
The Family History Library in Salt Lake City, Utah has microfilmed originals of the following records found in the Minidoka County Courthouse in Rupert, Idaho (though from the Probate Court they contain land and property information), which can be accessed at the Library in Salt Lake City or in any of its Family History Centers:
Maps[edit | edit source]
- A digital Minidoka County Idaho map is available online.
- Map of Minidoka County, Idaho is available online.
- FamilySearch Places: Map of cities and towns in this county - How to Use FS Places
Military[edit | edit source]
World War I draft registration cards, 1917-1918, for Minidoka County have been microfilmed. Copies of these records are available at the Family History Library (their microfilm number 1452219) and are also available online at Ancestry.com, for a subscription fee. The original cards are maintained in the Southeast Regional Archives of the National Archives and Records Administration (NARA) in East Point, Georgia and have been microfilmed by the National Archives as their Microcopy M1509.
The Minidoka County USGenWeb has listed the World War I draft registration cards for Minidoka County and the information on the cards is available on their website.
- Prof. J. R. Conway. Cassia and Minidoka counties in the World War. Ogden, Utah : A. L. Scoville Press, 1919. Digital Images
Online Records[edit | edit source]
- 1940-1945 - Idaho, World War II Draft Registration Cards,1940-1945 at FamilySearch — index and images
Miscellaneous Series[edit | edit source]
Often overlooked by the genealogist, this group of volumes may contain affidavits for citizenship, final disposition of estates, divorce decrees, and many other types of valuable documents. The content varies from county to county, year to year and from clerk to clerk. When the estate case files, civil or criminal files are not available or have been destroyed, you may find key documents recorded here. Most counties will have an index to this series and it is a must search if the information you are seeking is not found elsewhere.
Both the Idaho State Archives in Boise, Idaho, and the Family History Library in Salt Lake City, Utah have copies of the miscellaneous record of Minidoka County. The originals are held in the Minidoka County courthouse in Rupert, Idaho and can be accessed by visiting there. Copies in the Idaho State Archives are available for viewing in Boise. Those held by the Family History Library can be viewed either at the Library in Salt Lake City or at any of itsFamily History Centers.
Naturalization and Citizenship[edit | edit source]
- 1892-1990 - Idaho Naturalization Records, 1892-1990 at FamilySearch — index and images
Newspapers[edit | edit source]
- 1800s-1999 U.S., Newspapers.com Marriage Index, 1800s-1999 at Ancestry - index ($)
Current[edit | edit source]
Historical[edit | edit source]
Copies of issues of many Idaho newspapers are in the collections of the Idaho State Archives.
Obituaries- There is a collection of obituaries at the Burley Family History Center covering the period of 1987 to 2013 (with a few dating back to 1972, and additions made as they come) as published in the local newspapers. The collection contains those persons who resided in Cassia and Minidoka Counties. They are indexed by year. Contact our center and we will be happy to look up the obituraries. Phone: (208)878-7286 or e-mail:Burley Family History Center.
Obituaries[edit | edit source]
- 1943-2013 - Idaho, Southern Counties Obituaries, 1943-2013 at FamilySearch — index and images
Pension Records[edit | edit source]
Mothers' Pensions were provided by the State of Idaho for widows and/or orphans, under certain conditions. Petitions for those pensions were filed with the probate court in each county. The original papers for several counties have been transferred to the Idaho State Archives in Boise and have been indexed. Minidoka County Mothers' Pensions are included in that index.
Probate[edit | edit source]
Probate records are generally found at the county level. The Minidoka County courthouse is located in Rupert, Idaho and original records should be available for viewing by visiting in Rupert. Online Probate Indexes and Records
- 1857 – 1989 Idaho Wills and Probate Records 1857-1989 at Ancestry.com $
Some of the earlier probate records of Minidoka County have been microfilmed by the Idaho State Archives and are available for viewing at the Archives facility in Boise, Idaho.
The Family History Library in Salt Lake City, Utah has also microfilmed some Minidoka County probate records, and these copies can be viewed at the Library in Salt Lake City or at any of its Family History Centers. Those available are as follows:
- Letters of Administration 1920-1923
- Probate Bonds 1913-1949
- Probate Minutes1913-1931
- Wills 1911-1957
Taxation[edit | edit source]
Any existing tax assessment rolls for Minidoka County should be in the courthouse in Rupert and would need to be accessed by visiting there.
Vital Records[edit | edit source]
The County Clerk has marriage, divorce, court and land records from 1913.
Birth[edit | edit source]
- 1861-1911 - Idaho, Birth Index, 1861-1911 at FamilySearch — index
- 1883-1929 - Idaho County Birth and Death Records 1883-1929 at FamilySearch
Birth records, 1911 to present, for individuals born in the Minidoka County area are included in and recorded at the state level. These records are restricted for a period of one hundred years from the time of the individual's birth but can be obtained by following the guidelines as issued by the State of Idaho. See the Vital Records section under the subject Idaho for more details.
Marriage[edit | edit source]
- 1800-1987 - Idaho, United States Marriages at Findmypast — index $
- 1864-1976 - Idaho Church Marriages, 1864-1976 at FamilySearch — index
- 1864-1950 - Idaho County Marriages, 1864-1950 at FamilySearch — index and images
- 1878-1898; 1903-1942 - Idaho Marriages, 1878-1898; 1903-1942 at FamilySearch — index
- 1947-1963 - Idaho Marriage Index, 1947-1961 at FamilySearch — index
There are 314 Marriage records listed for Minidoka County in the online Idaho Marriages.
There is a collection of marriage licenses issued in Minidoka County from 1913 to 2000 as extracted from county records. These books are at the Burley Family History Center. Contact the center with information about the marriage to have one of the consultants assist in the search. Phone (208) 878-7286 or e-mail:Burley Family History Library
Divorce[edit | edit source]
- 1947-1963 - Idaho Divorce Index, 1947-1963 at FamilySearch — index
Deaths[edit | edit source]
- 1883-1929 - Idaho County Birth and Death Records 1883-1929 at FamilySearch
- 1938-1961 - Idaho Death Certificates, 1938-1961 at FamilySearch — index
Deaths occurring in Minidoka County after 1911 are included in the state-wide registration program. These records are restricted for a period of fifty years from the time of the individual's death but can be obtained by following the guidelines as issued by the State of Idaho. See the Vital Records section under Idaho for details.
Copies of death certificates from 1911-1954 are on microfilm and can be used at the Idaho State Archives, the Family History Library, BYU-Idaho University Library in Rexburg and several other locations.
There are 417 Minidoka County deaths listed in the online Idaho Deaths/Burials.
Deaths from other sources.
Societies and Libraries[edit | edit source]
- Many public libraries provide internet access to sites of value to the family historian. Some have special collections of historical and cultural interest, as well. The following libraries may have some resources of value, but use of some or all of them may require a visit to the library.
- DeMary Memorial Library
417 7th St
Rupert, ID 83350
- Minidoka County Historical Society and Museum
99 East Baselin
Rupert, ID 83350
- State Historical Society
2205 Old Penitentiary Rd
- Idaho Historical Society Facebook Page Website
- Idaho State Archives Digital Collections - Enter County in Search Bar
- The Idaho Welsh Society -- excellent cultural and historical site
Family History Centers[edit | edit source]
Family History Center and Affiliate Library Locator map - search for local Family History Centers or Affiliate Libraries
- Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance, free access to center-only databases, and to premium genealogical websites.
- FamilySearch Affiliate Libraries have access to most center-only databases, but may not always have full services normally provided by a family history center.
Local Centers and Affiliate Libraries
Websites[edit | edit source]
- The Minidoka County ID GenWeb Project, a member of The IDGenWeb Project, an affiliate of The USGenWeb Project
- FamilySearch Catalog
- Minidoka County, Idaho Genealogy and Family History (Linkpendium)
A wiki article describing an online collection is found at:
References[edit | edit source]
- Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Minidoka, Idaho page 179, At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- Genealogy Trails History Group, “Minidoka, Kansas Genealogy and History”, "http://genealogytrails.com/ida/minidoka/."
- Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Minidoka County, Idaho. Page 177-180 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002; Alice Eichholz, ed. Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County, and Town Sources, Third ed. (Provo, Utah: Ancestry, 2004), 180-181.
- The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
- Wikipedia contributors, "Minidoka County,Idaho," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia,https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Minidoka_County,_Idaho#Cities, accessed 11 June 2019.
- Idaho State Historical Society Reference Series, Number 10, Counties and County Seats, Reissued July, 1991.
- census.gov - Idaho population by county, 1900-90 accessed 2009-05-03
- quickfacts.census.gov - Canyon County accessed 2009-05-03