Middleton, Lancashire Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Guide to Middleton, Lancashire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish register transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.


View a List of Chapelries within Middleton Parish.

Middleton, Lancashire
Middleton, St Leonard Lancashire.jpg
Type England Jurisdictions
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Salford
County Lancashire, England Genealogy
Poor Law Union Oldham
Registration District Bolton; Bury; Oldham
Records begin
Parish registers: 1541; Separate registers exist for Great Lever beginning 1851
Bishop's Transcripts: 1609
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Bury
Diocese Manchester
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Chester (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Lancashire Archives

Parish History[edit | edit source]

MIDDLETON St. Leonard, a market-town and a parish, in the hundred of Salford, S. division of Lancashire; containing, with the chapelries of Ainsworth and Ashworth, and the townships of Birtle cum Bamford, Hopwood, Great Lever, Pilsworth, and Thornham, is 6 miles north by northeast from Manchester.

At Ainsworth, Ashworth, Birch, and Birtle Thornham, are separate incumbencies [chapels of ease with parish registers--all of which lay within the boundary of St Leonard  Middleton Parish]. There are places of worship for Independents, Primitive Methodists, Wesleyans, the Countess of Huntingdon's Connexion, and Swedenborgians.[1]

Resources[edit | edit source]

Find Neighboring Parishes[edit | edit source]

Use England Jurisdictions 1851 Map

  • Type the name of the parish in the search bar
  • Click on the location pin on the map
  • Choose Options from the pop up box
  • Click "List Contiguous Parishes" to find the neighboring parishes

Civil Registration[edit | edit source]

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. Here are two outstanding Internet sites with indexes to vital births, marriages and deaths for Lancashire and England in general:

  1. FreeBMD - from 1837 to 1940; later (part.) with free B M Ds for the county and country
  2. Lancashire BMD - Online index of Lancashire Births, Marriages and Deaths; and provides the parish or place of marriages 

Church Records[edit | edit source]

The Church of England (Anglican) became the official state religion in 1534, with the reigning monarch as its Supreme Governor.
Non-Conformist refers to all other religious denominations that are not the official state religion.

Church of England[edit | edit source]

Chapelry is a church or churches built in a large ecclesiastical parish to help the members attend worship services closer to their homes.

Chapelries of Middleton[edit | edit source]
  • Ainsworth Christ Church Chapelry - 1727
  • Ashworth St James Chapelry - 1813
  • Birch in Hopwood St Mary Chapelry - 1829
  • Birtle St John the Baptist Chapelry - 1846
  • Bowlee St Thomas Chapelry - 1877
  • Great Lever St Bartholomew Chapelry - 1851
  • Great Lever St Michael with St Bartholomew Chapelry - 1851
  • Hopwood Chapelry
  • Middleton Holy Trinity Chapelry - 1862
  • Rhodes All Saints Chapelry - 1864
  • Thornham St John the Evangelist Chapelry - 1841

Online Parish Records Table

Due to the increasing access of online records:

  • Individual parish coverage for databases in this table are inconsistent and should be verified
  • Dates in the following table are approximate

Hover over the collection's title for more information

Middleton Parish Records
All Chapelries Found in Middleton are included in these links.
Collections
Baptisms
Marriages
Burials
Indexes and images
Indexes only
Indexes and images
Indexes only
Indexes and images
Indexes only
FamilySearch Collections-Lancashire
1500s-1900s
-
1500s-1900s
-
1500s-1900s
-
Parish Registers-Lancashire
1500s-1900s
-
1500s-1900s
-
1500s-1900s
-
Bishop's Transcripts - FamilySearch Catalog
1700s-1800s
-
1700s-1800s
-
1700s-1800s
-
FreeREG
-
1500s-1900s
-
1500s-1900s
-
1500s-1900s
Findmypast-Lancashire ($)
1500s-1900s
-
1500s-1900s
-
1500s-1900s
-
Ancestry-Church of England BMD-Lancashire ($)
1500s-1900s
-
1500s-1900s
-
1500s-1900s
-
Ancestry-England & Wales, Birth, Christening, Marriage and Death Indexes ($)
-
1500s-1900s
1500s-1900s
-
1500s-1900s
1500s-1900s
-
1500s-1900s
Databases with Known Incomplete Parish Coverage
Boyd's Marriage Indexes-FMP (Free)
-
-
-
1500s-1800s
-
-
National Burial Index-FMP (Free)
-
-
-
-
-
1800s-1900s

Other Websites
These databases have incomplete parish coverage.

Non-Conformist Churches (All other Religions)[edit | edit source]

Census Records[edit | edit source]

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.


Genealogy
[edit | edit source]

Todd, Andrew:  Researching Handloom Weavers from Parish Registers.  Booth and Dakin of Prestwich and Middleton.  History and family tree of John Dakin and Elizabeth, 2) John and Mary Mally also Booth, dating from 1776-1880. Other surnames are Brooks, Fitlon, Holt, Joynson, Smethhurst, and Jackson. Article in The Lancashire Family History and Heraldry Soc. vol. 10. no.1. pages 36-41 FHL Ref. 942.72 B2r

Poor Law Unions[edit | edit source]

Oldham Poor Law Union

Probate records
[edit | edit source]

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Lancashire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Taxation[edit | edit source]

  • 1541 - 1541 Subsidy of Myddelton (p. 143)[2]
  • 1622 - 1622 Subsidy of Midleton (p. 158)[2]
  • 1665-1667 - Lancashire Hearth Tax: Lonsdale Hundred, Middleton. E 179/132/352, The National Archives. Microfilm: FHL Film 2228692.

Maps and Gazetteers
[edit | edit source]

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites[edit | edit source]

Here are some major websites affecting Lanacashire online family history research:

Civil Registration:

  1. FreeBMD - from 1837 to 1940; later (part.) with free B M Ds for the county and country
  2. Lancashire BMD - Online index of Lancashire Births, Marriages and Deaths; and provides the parish or place of marriages 

Church Records:


British History Online Middleton

Pilsworth

References[edit | edit source]

  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 306-310. Date accessed 21 October 2013
  2. 2.0 2.1 J.P. Earwaker, Three Lancashire Subsidy Rolls, viz., for the Hundred of Salford, 1541, the Hundred of Salford, 1622 and the Hundred of Leyland, 1628, Together with a Recusant Roll for the Hundred of Leyland, in 1628 (London: Record Society of Lancashire and Cheshire, 1885). Digital version at FamilySearch Digital Library.