Middlesex County, Virginia Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Guide to Middlesex County, Virginia ancestry, genealogy and family history, birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

County Facts
County seat: Saluda
Organized: 1674[1]
Parent County(s): Lancaster
Neighboring Counties
Essex  • Gloucester  • King and Queen  • Lancaster  • Mathews  • Richmond
See County Maps
Courthouse
VirginiaMiddlesexCourthouse.jpg
Location Map
Location of Middlesex County, Virginia.png
Adoption

County Information[edit | edit source]

Description[edit | edit source]

Middlesex County is located in the eastern portion of the Commonwealth of Virginia and was more than likely named for the English county.[2]

County Courthouse[edit | edit source]

Middlesex County Courthouse
73 Bowden Street/PO Box 158
Saluda, VA 23149
Phone: 804-758-5317
Middlesex County Website

Clerk Circuit Court has birth and death records 1853-1871, marriage, divorce, probate, court and land records from 1773[3]

Middlesex County, Virginia Record Dates[edit | edit source]

Information for this chart was taken from various sources, often containing conflicting dates. This information should be taken as a guide and should be verified by contacting the county and/or the state government agency.

Known Beginning Dates for Major County Records[4]
Birth* Marriage Death* Court Land Probate Census
1840 1840 1856 1673 1673 1673 1810
* Statewide registration for births and deaths began in 1912.
General compliance year is unknown.

Record Loss[edit | edit source]

Boundary Changes[edit | edit source]

Populated Places[edit | edit source]

For a complete list of populated places, including small neighborhoods and suburbs, visit HomeTown Locator. The following are the most historically and genealogically relevant populated places in this county:[8]

Towns
Unincorporated communities
Census-designated places


History Timeline[edit | edit source]

Resources[edit | edit source]

Bible Records[edit | edit source]

For databases and indexes, see Virginia Bible Records.

Biographies[edit | edit source]

Business, Commerce, and Occupations[edit | edit source]

Philip Alexander Bruce's book Economic History of Virginia in the Seventeenth Century (Vol. II, 1896, p. 334 footnote 1) includes a list of early English merchants in Middlesex County.

Cemeteries[edit | edit source]

Cemeteries of Middlesex County, Virginia online and in print
Tombstone Transcriptions Online
Tombstone Transcriptions in Print (Often more complete)
List of Cemeteries in the County
See Virginia Cemeteries for more information.

Census Records[edit | edit source]

For databases, indexes, and information online, see Virginia Census.

Historical populations
Census Pop.
1790 4,140
1800 4,203 1.5%
1810 4,414 5.0%
1820 4,057 −8.1%
1830 4,122 1.6%
1840 4,392 6.6%
1850 4,394 0.0%
1860 4,364 −0.7%
1870 4,981 14.1%
1880 6,252 25.5%
1890 7,458 19.3%
1900 8,220 10.2%
1910 8,852 7.7%
1920 8,157 −7.9%
1930 7,273 −10.8%
1940 6,673 −8.2%
1950 6,715 0.6%
1960 6,319 −5.9%
1970 6,295 −0.4%
1980 7,719 22.6%
1990 8,653 12.1%
2000 9,932 14.8%
2010 10,959 10.3%
Source: "Wikipedia.org".

1668-1704

  • Rutman, Darrett B. and Anita H. Rutman. "'More True and Perfect Lists': The Reconstruction of Censuses for Middlesex County, Virginia, 1668-1704," Virginia Magazine of History and Biography, Vol. 88 (1980):37-74. Available at JSTOR ($).

1783 Enumeration

1890 Union Veterans

Church Records[edit | edit source]

List of Churches and Church Parishes

Baptist

  • 1776 Petition of Baptists (10,000 names!) and sympathizers from all over Virginia, dated 16 October 1776, asking for an end to persecution of Baptists by the established church. After locating your ancestor, view the digital copies.
    – Digital copies at Library of Congress; also at Library of Virginia using the code word "000606093"
    – Hall, Jean Pickett. "Legislative Petitions: the 10,000 name petition" transcription in the Magazine of Virginia Genealogy, Vols. 35-38, with annotations in Vol. 39, (Richmond, Virginia: Virginia Genealogical Society, 1983-) online at Ancestry ($) and in book form at various libraries.

Church of England
go to See also Christ Church Parish

Court Records[edit | edit source]

Online Court Indexes and Records

Chancery Court

  • Indexed images of Middlesex County, Virginia Chancery Records 1754-1912 are available online through Virginia Memory: Chancery Records Index. These records, often concerned with inheritance disputes, contain a wealth of genealogical information.

Directories[edit | edit source]

Emigration and Immigration[edit | edit source]

For databases and immigrant groups, see Virginia Emigration and Immigration

Urbanna has been a port since colonial times.[9] No official passenger lists survive for the seventeenth or eighteenth centuries.

  • Coldham, Peter Wilson. North American Wills Registered in London 1611-1857. Baltimore: Genealogical Publishing Co., Inc., 2007. [Includes wills of residents of Middlesex County proved in London. These records often help establish an immigrant's place of origin.]
  • 1674-1702 Immigrants to Middlesex County Virginia Pioneers ($).
  • List of imported servants and transported convicts from Europe who served labor terms in Colonial Virginia are online at: Immigrant Servants Database.
  • Ljungstedt, Milnor. "Items from Southern Records" [Showing Family and Trade Connections with Northern Colonies and the Home Countries], The American Genealogist, Vol. 15 (1938):95-104. Online at American Ancestors by NEHGS ($). [Middlesex Co., VA possible residents: Hudson, Musgrove, Pickwerth, Steevens, Whiteacre.]
  • O'Brien, Michael J. "Virginia, Middlesex County. - Extracts from the Parish Register of Christ Church," The Journal of the American Irish Historical Society, Vol. 12 (1913):149-155. Available at FHL; digital version at Google Books (full-view). [O'Brien attempts to identify Irish surnames in this Church of England parish register.]

Ethnic, Political, and Religious Groups[edit | edit source]

African American

Funeral Homes[edit | edit source]

Genealogies[edit | edit source]

Compiled Genealogies by Surname

A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z

Compiled Genealogies for Multiple Families

  • DeBusk, Jessie M. Family Histories of Middlesex County, Virginia. Urbanna, Va.: Ralph Wormeley Branch APVA, 1982. Available at Virginia Historical Society; FHL Book 975.533 D2f
  • Heinegg, Paul. Free African Americans of Virginia, North Carolina, South Carolina, Maryland and Delaware. 2005-present. - free online book. Bond, Bowles, Burwell, Cassidy, Chapman, Chavis, Day, Driver, Dungee, Gillett, Gilmore, Goings, Goldman, Grimes, Haynes, Hearn, Howard, Key, Lawhan (see introduction), Lawrence, Lighty, Meggs, Month, Morris, Nickens, Ormes (see introduction), Peters, Pinn, Robinson, Sampson, Simms, Smith, Snelling, Syphax, Toyer, Twopence, Tyre, West, Whistler, Williams, Young families of pre-1820 Middlesex County, Virginia.
  • Yurechko, John Otto. Virginians Along and Near the Lower Rappahannock River, 1607-1799. 2 vols. Westminster, Md.: Family Line Publications, 1997-1998. FHL Book 975.5 D2yj v. 1-v. 2. Contents: v. 1. Blake, Brooks (Brook), Churchill, Cook (Cock), Daniel, Dixon, Gore, Kidd, Lewis, Martin, Montague, Taylor and Wood -- v. 2. Brown, Clark, Elliott, Fox (Fowkes, Vaulx), Harrison, McTyre, Moore, Pate, Rawlins (Rollins), Rhodes, Sanders (Saunders) and Williams.
  • Darrett B. Rutman and Anita H. Rutman reconstructed families that lived in seventeenth- and early-eighteenth century Middlesex County, Virginia in order to complete a history book, but they have not yet published the genealogies they compiled.

Guardianship[edit | edit source]

Land and Property Records[edit | edit source]

For land indexes, records, and databases, see Virginia Land and Property, including Colonial and State Land Grants.

Online Land Indexes and Records
Land patents (pre-1779), land grants (after 1779) and surveys are available online at the Library of Virginia website. For step-by-step instructions on retrieving these records, read the Virginia Land and Property article.

Local Histories[edit | edit source]

Rappahannock River 2008.jpg

Urbanna has been a port since colonial times.[10] No official passenger lists survive for the seventeenth or eighteenth centuries.

Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]

County and state maps, historical and more current, are valuable research tools. For map collections, online and in libraries, see Virginia Maps.

Lancaster CountyEssex CountyKing and Queen CountyGloucester CountyMathews CountyVA MIDDLESEX.PNG
Click a neighboring county
for more resources

Migration[edit | edit source]

  • Clay, Robert Y. "Some Delinquent Taxpayers 1787-1790," The Virginia Genealogist, Vol. 22, No. 1 (Jan.-Mar. 1978):43-50. Available at FHL; online at American Ancestors by NEHGS ($). [These records identify migrants who left the county and often their intended destinations. Middlesex County's 1789 Delinquent List appears on 22:50.]

Military Records[edit | edit source]

French and Indian War

  • Bockstruck, Lloyd DeWitt. Virginia's Colonial Soldiers. Baltimore: Genealogical Publishing Co., 1988. Available at FHL. [Identifies some Middlesex County militia officers, soldier enlistments, and veterans; see place name index.]
  • Boogher, William F. Gleanings of Virginia History: An Historical and Genealogical Collection, Largely from Original Sources. Washington: n.p., 1903. Available at FHL; digital version at Google Books. [Includes a chapter titled "Legislative Enactments connecting the preceding historic sketch [French and Indian War, Lord Dunmore's War] with the adjudication of the resulting accounts that follow; with the list of officers, soldiers and civilians entitled to compensation for military and other services rendered." For Middlesex County, see p. 95.]
  • 1651-1776 Crozier, William Armstrong. Virginia Colonial Militia 1651-1776. Baltimore: Southern Book Co., 1954. Available at FHL US/CAN Book 975.5 M2c; digital book at Ancestry ($). Identifies some County militia officers and soldiers; see place name index.


Revolutionary War

  • A Census of Pensioners for Revolutionary or Military Services: With their Names, Ages, and Places of Residence, as Returned by the Marshalls of the Several Judicial Districts, Under the Act for Taking the Sixth Census]. 1841. Digital version at Google Books et. al. 1967 reprint: FHL Collection 973 X2pc 1840. [See Virginia, Eastern District, Middlesex County on page 132.]
  • Rejected or Suspended Applications for Revolutionary War Pensions. Washington, D.C., 1852. Reprinted by Genealogical Publishing Co., Inc., 1969, and 1991. Reprints include "an Added Index to States." FHL Book 973 M24ur; digital version at Ancestry ($). Includes veterans. Virginia section begins on page 238.

Regiments. Service men in Middlesex County served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Middlesex County supplied soldiers for the:

- 7th Virginia Regiment


War of 1812
Middlesex County men served in the 109th Regiment.[11]

  • List of Pensioners on the Roll, January 1, 1883; Giving the Name of Each Pensioner, the Cause for Why Pensioned, the Post-Office Address, the Rate of Pension Per Month, and the Date of Original Allowance... Washington, D.C.: Government Printing Office, 1883. FHL Collection 973 M2Lp v. 5; digital versions at Google Books and Internet Archive. [See Vol. 5, Virginia, Middlesex County, p. 90. Identifies War of 1812 veterans living in this county in 1883.]


Civil War

Regiments. Civil War service men in Middlesex County served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed here:

- 24th Regiment, Virginia Cavalry (Confederate). Company D (Clopton's Partisan Rangers).[12]
- 47th Regiment, Virginia Infantry (Confederate). Company G (1st) (Middlesex Rifles) and Company K (1st) (Middlesex Artillery).[13]
- 55th Regiment, Virginia Infantry (Confederate). Companies B (Middlesex Artillery), C (Middlesex Southerners), and H (Middlesex Rifles).[14]


World War II

Naturalization and Citizenship[edit | edit source]

Online Naturalization Indexes and Records

Newspapers[edit | edit source]

For online newspaper resources, see the Virginia Newspapers page.

Indexed images of the Virginia Gazette (1736-1780) are available online through the Colonial Williamsburg website. In addition, Professor Tom Costa and The Rector and Visitors of the University of Virginia have created a database of all runaway advertisements for slaves, indentured servants, transported convicts, and ship deserters listed in this source and other Virginia newspapers (1736-1803), see: The Geography of Slavery in Virginia. These newspapers are valuable resources for all regions of Virginia.

Obituaries[edit | edit source]

Other Records[edit | edit source]

Periodicals[edit | edit source]

Probate Records[edit | edit source]

For probate records, indexes, and databases, see Virginia Probate Records.

Online Probate Indexes and Records

London Courts

School Records[edit | edit source]

Social Security Records[edit | edit source]

Tax Records[edit | edit source]

For additional online collections and the value and use of Virginia's tax lists in your research, see Virginia Taxation.

Online Tax Indexes and Records
The original volumes of Middlesex County, Virginia Personal Property Tax Lists are held at the Library of Virginia in Richmond, Va. The Genealogical Society of Utah microfilmed these records for the years 1782 to 1799 in 1947: FHL US/CAN Film 29302 Item 1. In 1992, the Genealogical Society of Utah microfilmed these records for the years 1782 to1850: FHL US/CAN Film 1905689.

  • 1704 "Virginia Quit Rent Rolls, 1704," Virginia Magazine of History and Biography, Vol. 28 (1920):207-218, 328-339; Vol. 29 (1921):18-28, 337-343, 402-412; Vol. 30 (1922):21-30, 280-285, 341-347; Vol. 31 (1923):70-75, 153-163, 215-231, 314-318; Vol. 32 (1924):69-75, 144-158, 281-287, 338-343; Vol. 33 (1925):47-50, 359-370; Vol. 34 (1926):113-119, 252-258, 313, 321. Available at FHL; reprinted in Virginia Tax Records. Baltimore: Genealogical Publishing Co., Inc., 1983, which is also available at FHL; digital version of VMHB at JSTOR ($). [Middlesex County appears in 33:47-50.]
  • 1782-1819 Heinegg, Paul. "Middlesex County Personal Property Tax List, 1782-1819," Free African Americans.com. [Heinegg abstracted free blacks listed in these records.]
  • 1783 - Personal Property (or Land) Tax List, 1783; index online at Revolutionary War Service website - free.
  • 1787 Schreiner-Yantis, Netti and Florene Speakman Love. The 1787 Census of Virginia: An Accounting of the Name of Every White Male Tithable Over 21 Years, the Number of White Males Between 16 & 21 Years, the Number of Slaves over 16 & Those Under 16 Years, Together with a Listing of Their Horses, Cattle & Carriages, and Also the Names of All Persons to Whom Ordinary Licenses and Physician's Licenses Were Issued. 3 vols. Springfield, Va.: Genealogical Books in Print, 1987. Available at FHL. [The source of this publication is the 1787 personal property tax list. Middlesex County is included in Vol. 2.]
  • 1789 Clay, Robert Y. "Some Delinquent Taxpayers 1787-1790," The Virginia Genealogist, Vol. 22, No. 1 (Jan.-Mar. 1978):43-50. Available at FHL; online at American Ancestors by NEHGS ($). [These records identify migrants who left the county and often their intended destinations. Middlesex County's 1789 Delinquent List appears on 22:50.]
  • 1790, 1801 Indexed images of the 1790 and 1801 Personal Property Tax Lists of Middlesex County, Virginia are available online, courtesy: Binns Genealogy.
  • 1800 Tax List, 1800, Virginia Genealogist, Vol. 41, No. 3 (Jul. 1997). Available at FHL.
  • 1810 Schreiner-Yates, Netti. A Supplement to the 1810 Census of Virginia: Tax Lists of the Counties for which the Census is Missing. Springfield, Va.: Genealogical Books in Print, 1971. Available at FHL. [The sources for this publication are the 1810 Personal Property Tax List and the 1810 U.S. Federal Census. The names listed in these two sources are compared for Middlesex County.]
  • 1815 Ward, Roger D. 1815 Directory of Virginia Landowners (and Gazetteer). 6 vols. Athens, Georgia: Iberian Pub. Co., 1997-2000. Available at FHL. [The source for this publication is the 1815 land tax. Middlesex County is included in Vol. 3.]
  • 1820-1821 Sheriffs Receipt Book, 1820-21, Tidewater Virginia Families, Vol. 4, No. 3 (Nov. 1995); Vol. 4, No. 4 (Feb. 1996); Vol. 5, No. 2 (Aug. 1996). Available at FHL.

Vital Records[edit | edit source]

For additional indexes, databases, and details, see Virginia Vital Records.

Birth[edit | edit source]

Marriage[edit | edit source]

Death[edit | edit source]

Divorce[edit | edit source]

Research Facilities[edit | edit source]

Archives[edit | edit source]

Listed below are archives in Middlesex County. For state-wide facilities, see Virginia Archives and Libraries.

Family History Centers[edit | edit source]

Family History Center and Affiliate Library Locator map - search for local Family History Centers or Affiliate Libraries

  • Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance, free access to center-only databases, and to premium genealogical websites.
  • FamilySearch Affiliate Libraries have access to most center-only databases, but may not always have full services normally provided by a family history center.

Local Centers and Affiliate Libraries

Libraries[edit | edit source]

Listed below are libraries in Middlesex County. For state-wide library facilities, see Virginia Archives and Libraries.

Middle Peninsula African-American Genealogical & Historical SocietyWebsite

Museums[edit | edit source]

Societies[edit | edit source]

Listed below are societies in Middlesex County. For state-wide genealogical and historical societies, see Virginia Societies.

Websites[edit | edit source]

  • FamilySearch Catalog – The FamilySearch catalog contains descriptions and access information for all genealogical materials (including books, online materials, microfilm, microfiche, and publications) in their collection.  Use Historical Records to search for specific individuals in genealogical records.

Research Guides[edit | edit source]

Compiled genealogies are a good place to start research for this area, see Middlesex County, Virginia Genealogy. If you are researching families who lived in Middlesex County, Virginia between the 1670s and 1720s, the Sparacios' book indexes are a great time saver. Surname index of Antient Press publications

  • Davis, Virginia Lee Hutcheson. "Records of Tidewater Virginia Counties," Tidewater Virginia Families: A Magazine of History and Genealogy, Vol. 1, No. 2 (May-June 1992):53-66. FHL Collection 975.51 D25t [For Middlesex County, see p. 62]

References[edit | edit source]

  1. Newberry
  2. Wikipedia Contributors, in Middlesex County, Virginia
  3. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Iowa.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  4. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Iowa.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  5. Lost Records Localities: Counties and Cities with Missing Records, 5, in Library of Virginia (accessed 4 April 2014).
  6. Newberry
  7. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Iowa.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  8. Wikipedia contributors, "Middlesex_ County,_Virginia," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia,https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Middlesex_County,_Virginia#Communities accessed 19 February 2020.
  9. Urbanna: A Port Town in Virginia 1680-1980 (1980).
  10. Urbanna: A Port Town in Virginia 1680-1980 (1980).
  11. Stuart Lee Butler, A Guide to Virginia Militia Units in the War of 1812 (Athens, Ga.: Iberian Pub. Co., 1988), 139. FHL Book 975.5 M2bs.
  12. Darryl Holland, 24th Virginia Cavalry (Lynchburg, Va.: H.E. Howard, 1997). FHL Book 975.5 M2vr v. 128.
  13. Homer D. Musselman, 47th Virginia Infantry (Lynchburg, Va.: H.E. Howard, 1991). FHL Book 975.5 M2vr v. 73.
  14. Richard O'Sullivan, 55th Virginia Infantry (Lynchburg, Va.: H.E. Howard, 1989). FHL Book 975.5 M2vr v. 59.