Middlesex County, New Jersey Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Guide to Middlesex County, New Jersey ancestry, genealogy and family history, birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

County Facts
County seat: New Brunswick
Organized: 1675
Parent County(s): Colonial lands
Neighboring Counties
Mercer  • Monmouth  • Richmond (NY)  • Somerset  • Union
See County Maps
Courthouse
New Jersey, Middlesex County Courthouse.png
Location Map
Nj-middlesex.png
Adoption
Adopt-a-wiki page
NJGenWeb.gif This page adopted by:
NJGenWeb and its coordinators
who welcome you to contribute.
Adopt a page today

County Information[edit | edit source]

Description[edit | edit source]

Middlesex County is located in the east central region of the state. It was created on February 16, 1867. Hastings is the county seat. The county was named for the Historic English county of Middlesex.[1]

County Courthouse[edit | edit source]

Middlesex County Courthouse
56 Paterson Street
New Brunswick, NJ 08901
Phone: 732-645-4300
Middlesex County Website

County Clerk has marriage, divorce, court and land records.
County Surrogate has probate records.[2]

Middlesex County, New Jersey Record Dates[edit | edit source]

Known Beginning Dates for Major County Records[3]
Birth* Marriage Death* Court Land Probate Census
1901 1683 1901 1786 1766 1786 1830
*Statewide registration for births and deaths started 1 May 1848. General compliance by 1920.

Record Loss[edit | edit source]

There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.

Boundary Changes[edit | edit source]

Populated Places[edit | edit source]

For a complete list of populated places, including small neighborhoods and suburbs, visit HomeTown Locator. The following are the most historically and genealogically relevant populated places in this county:[6]

Cities
Boroughs
Unincorporated communities
Census-designated places
Townships


History Timeline[edit | edit source]

  • 26 May 1688, part taken for Somerset County.[7]
  • 1710, some boundary changes
  • 1714, part of Somerset County taken back
  • 1790, some boundary changes with Somerset County
  • 1822, water boundary established
  • 22 February 1838, West Windsor and part of East Windsor twps. to Mercer County.[8]
  • 1844, part of Monroe twp. to Monmouth County
  • 1844, part of Monroe twp. to Monmouth County and returned in 1845
  • 1847, piece of Monroe twp. to Monmouth County
  • 1850, part of Franklin twp. of Somerset County to North Brunswick twp.; water boundary clarified
  • 1855, some changes to boundary with Somerset County and again in 1858
  • 1860, part of Woodbridge twp. to Rahway, Union County
  • 1871, boundary with Plainfield, Union County changed
  • 1878, boundary at Kingston, Somerset County clarified
  • 1892, water boundary further clarified
  • 1939, land to Matawan, Monmouth County.

Resources[edit | edit source]

Bible Records[edit | edit source]

Biographies[edit | edit source]

Business, Commerce, and Occupations[edit | edit source]

Cemeteries[edit | edit source]

Cemeteries of Middlesex County, New Jersey online and in print
Tombstone Transcriptions Online
Tombstone Transcriptions in Print (Often more complete)
List of Cemeteries in the County
See New Jersey Cemeteries for more information.

 

Census Records[edit | edit source]

For tips on accessing census records online, see: New Jersey Census.

Historical populations
Census Pop.
1790 15,956
1800 17,890 12.1%
1810 20,381 13.9%
1820 21,470 5.3%
1830 23,157 7.9%
1840 21,893 −5.5%
1850 28,635 30.8%
1860 34,812 21.6%
1870 45,029 29.3%
1880 52,286 16.1%
1890 61,754 18.1%
1900 79,762 29.2%
1910 114,426 43.5%
1920 162,334 41.9%
1930 212,208 30.7%
1940 217,077 2.3%
1950 264,872 22.0%
1960 433,856 63.8%
1970 583,813 34.6%
1980 595,893 2.1%
1990 671,780 12.7%
2000 750,162 11.7%
2010 809,858 8.0%
Source: "Wikipedia.org".

Church Records[edit | edit source]

Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about denominations, view the New Jersey Church Records wiki page.

Lutheran

  • Records of Our Savior's Lutheran Church, Perth Amboy, in Evangelical Lutheran Church in America database at Archives.com ($).

Methodist

Contains the church records of:
  • Monroe: Methodist Church

Quakers

  • 1687-1825 Vail, Hugh D. "Records of Rahway and Plainfield (N.J.) Monthly Meeting of Friends (Formerly Held at Amboy and Woodbridge) from 1687 to 1825," The New York Genealogical and Biographical Record, Vol. 8, No. 4 (Oct. 1877):176-181; Vol. 9, No. 1 (Jan. 1878):28-37; Vol. 9, No. 2 (Apr. 1878):64-71; Vol. 9, No. 4 (Oct. 1878):174-180; Vol. 10, No. 1 (Jan. 1879):20-23; Vol. 10, No. 3 (Jul. 1879):139-143; Vol. 11, No. 1 (Jan. 1880):42-46. Digital version at New York Family History ($); FHL Book 974.7 B2n v. 8-11. Internet Archives has digitized Vols. 8-9, Vol. 10, and Vol. 11 - free.[9] Includes births, marriages.
  • 1826-1889 Haviland, Frank. "Records of Rahway and Plainfield (N.J.) Monthly Meetings of Friends (Formerly Held at Amboy and Woodbridge)," The New York Genealogical and Biographical Record, Vol. 114, no. 1 (Jan. 1983):23-36. Digital version at New York Family History ($); FHL Book 974.7 B2n v. 114.

Ward and Branch Records of The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints

  • New Brunswick

List of Churches and Church Parishes

Court Records[edit | edit source]

Directories[edit | edit source]

Emigration and Immigration[edit | edit source]

Ethnic, Political, and Religious Groups[edit | edit source]

African Americans

Funeral Homes[edit | edit source]

Genealogies[edit | edit source]

Guardianship[edit | edit source]

Land and Property Records[edit | edit source]

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a specific location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See New Jersey Land and Property for information about New Jersey Proprietary land records. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse.

Online Land Indexes and Records
Middlesex County Land Records Search website
Middlesex County land records are freely searchable online back to January 1950. Watermarked copies are free to print; printing clean copies is a paid service. Cookies must be enabled for the site to function properly and be sure to read the User Guide.

Local Histories[edit | edit source]

Your relatives may be included in biographies, in church, school and government history, or in military events and lists. For more information, see New Jersey History and scroll to Local Histories.

Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]

Union CountySomerset CountyMercer CountyMonmouth CountyStaten Island Borough (previously Richmond County)Manhattan Borough (previously New York County)NJ MIDDLESEX.PNG
Click a neighboring county
for more resources


The Sanborn Map Company is the oldest mapping company in the United States. Founded in 1866, the company created detailed building maps of cities and towns all across the country, primarily for use by insurance companies. These maps also have been used extensively by local government agencies for over a century in conducting their daily operations efficiently. Genealogists, local history buffs, city planners, architects, and countless others have been drawn to the quality of detail found in them. Digital archive provided by Princeton University.

Migration[edit | edit source]

Early migration routes to and from Middlesex County for settlers included:[10]

Military Records[edit | edit source]

Civil War

Naturalization and Citizenship[edit | edit source]

Online Naturalization Indexes and Records

Newspapers[edit | edit source]

  • New Brunswick Daily Times 1871-1916 - digitized archive of the newspaper; freely available via the New Brunswick Public Library
  • New Brunswick, New Jersey Newspaper Extracts is a database part of an ongoing project to extract deaths, marriages, and notable events such as disappearances, fires, and crimes reported by The Daily Times in the 1870’s. Use this database as an aid for finding articles and obituaries in the New Brunswick Public Library's images of The Daily Times.
  • The South Amboy Citizen (1910-1943)
  • The South Amboy Citizen (1944-2000)
    The South Amboy Citizen offers online access from July 2, 1910, through December 29, 2000. Provided by the Sadie Pope Dowdell Library. (Note: There is no search capability for the South Amboy Citizen but you can use Google Advanced search http://www.google.com/advanced_search and enter "dowdell.org/citizen" into the bottom box labeled “Search within a site or domain” to search the paper.)
    [1]
  • Woodbridge Township Newspapers digitized archive freely available via the Woodbridge Township Public Library
  • Carteret Press (1925 -1965)
  • Fords Beacon (1936 - 1961)
  • Independent Leader (1940 -1965)
  • Leader Press (1967 - 1970)
  • The Independent Hour (1876 - 1877)
  • The Weekly Register (1898 - 1902)
  • The Woodbridge Leader (1927 - 1928)
  • The Woodbridge News (1899 - 1902)
  • Woodbridge Independent (1919 - 1938)
  • Woodbridge Leader (1926 -1939)
  • New Jersey Online Historical Newspapers - identifies historical archived and digitized newspapers available online on both free and pay-to-access websites.

Obituaries[edit | edit source]

Other Records[edit | edit source]

Periodicals[edit | edit source]

Probate Records[edit | edit source]

From 1797 or the creation of the county, probate records were held by the Court of Common Pleas and may have earlier records. In 1852, most of those records were transferred to the Middlesex County Probate Court. For more complete information and for online and other resources, see New Jersey Probate Records.

Online Probate Indexes and Records

School Records[edit | edit source]

Social Security Records[edit | edit source]

Tax Records[edit | edit source]

New Jersey tax records complement land records and can be used in place of censuses before 1820 or to supplement the years between censuses. Because only persons who owned taxable property were listed, many residents were not included in tax lists. There may also be gaps of several years in the tax records of some counties. For more information see the wiki page New Jersey Taxation.

Vital Records[edit | edit source]

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. United States Vital Records has additional research guidance on researching and using vital records. A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the New Jersey Vital Records State Department of Health or the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred. Original marriage records are usually held at the county Bureau of Vital Statistics.

Birth[edit | edit source]

Marriage[edit | edit source]

Death[edit | edit source]

Divorce[edit | edit source]

Research Facilities[edit | edit source]

Archives[edit | edit source]

Family History Centers[edit | edit source]

Family History Center and Affiliate Library Locator map - search for local Family History Centers or Affiliate Libraries

  • Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance, free access to center-only databases, and to premium genealogical websites.
  • FamilySearch Affiliate Libraries have access to most center-only databases, but may not always have full services normally provided by a family history center.

Local Centers and Affiliate Libraries

Libraries[edit | edit source]

Middlesex County Cultural and Heritage Commission
Middlesex County Annex
841 Georges Rd.
North Brunswick, NJ 08902
Telephone: 732-745-4489
Website

Museums[edit | edit source]

Societies[edit | edit source]

Plainsboro Historical Society
641 Plainsboro Rd Ste A
Plainsboro, NJ 08536
Telephone: 609-799-9040

Metuchen/edison Historical Society
PO Box 61
Metuchen NJ
Website

South River Historical and Preservation Society
PO Box 446
South River 08882
Website
Website

Websites[edit | edit source]

  • FamilySearch Catalog – The FamilySearch catalog contains descriptions and access information for all genealogical materials (including books, online materials, microfilm, microfiche, and publications) in their collection.  Use Historical Records to search for specific individuals in genealogical records.

Research Guides[edit | edit source]

References[edit | edit source]

  1. Wikipedia contributors, "Middlesex County, New Jersey" in Wikipedia : the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Middlesex_County,_New_Jersey accessed 29 August 2018.
  2. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Middlesex County, New Jersey page 464, At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  3. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Middlesex County, New Jersey . Page 464-465 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002; Alice Eichholz, ed. Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County, and Town Sources, Third ed. (Provo, Utah: Ancestry, 2004), 460.
  4. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), 464. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  5. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002).At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  6. Wikipedia contributors, "Middlesex County, New Jersey," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia,https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Middlesex_County,_New_Jersey#Communities accessed 12 March 2020.
  7. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), 181. [FHL book 973 D27e 2002].
  8. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), 181. [FHL book 973 D27e 2002].
  9. WeRelate contributors, "Source:New York Genealogical and Biographical Record (New York Genealogical and Biographical Society)," in WeRelate, http://www.werelate.org/wiki/Source:New_York_Genealogical_and_Biographical_Record_%28New_York_Genealogical_and_Biographical_Society%29, accessed 17 February 2012.
  10. Handybook, 847-61.