Middlesex County, Connecticut Genealogy
Guide to Middlesex County, Connecticut ancestry, genealogy and family history, birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
|
| ||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
| ||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
County Information[edit | edit source]
Description[edit | edit source]
Named for County of Middlesex, England, which is now part of Greater London, England. The County is located in the south central area of the state.[2]
County Courthouse[edit | edit source]
Middlesex County Courthouse
1 Court Street
Middletown, CT 06457
Phone: 860-343-6400
Middlesex County Courthouse
There is no county government today. The government is at the town level.
Probate records may be kept at regional courthouses.
Town Clerks have birth, marriage, death and land records.
Clerk of the Superior Court has divorce and court records from 1800.
Probate Judge has probate records.[3]
Middlesex County, Connecticut Record Dates[edit | edit source]
| Birth* | Marriage | Death* | Court | Land | Probate | Census |
| at town creation | at town creation | at town creation | 1800 | Unknown | Unknown | 1670 |
Record Loss[edit | edit source]
|
There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county. For possible town record losses, please visit town pages. |
Boundary Changes[edit | edit source]
|
Populated Places[edit | edit source]
For a complete list of populated places, including small neighborhoods and suburbs, visit Hometown Locator. The following are the most historically and genealogically relevant populated places in this county:[6]
| Cities | ||
| Towns | ||
| Villages | ||
| Hamlets | ||
| Census-designated places | ||
|
Towns Organized before 1800:
|
History Timeline[edit | edit source]
Resources[edit | edit source]
Bible Records[edit | edit source]
Biographies[edit | edit source]
- Wright, Benjamin 1610 - March 26, 1677, USGenWeb CTArchives
- History of Middlesex County, Connecticut with biographical sketches of its prominent men, (New YorkJ.B. Beers, 1884).Available online at Internet Libraries, Also available at the Family History Library, FHL US/CAN Film 982491 Item 3.
- Elaine F. Staplins, The Founders of Saybrook Colony and their descendants, 1635-1985, ([S.l. s.n.], 1985).Includes index.Available at the Family History Library, FHL US/CAN Book 974.66 D3f.Also see Saybrook Colony Founders Association,
- Commemorative biographical record of Middlesex County, Connecticut containing biographical sketches of prominent and representative citizens, and of many of the early settled families, (Chicago, Illinois J.H. Beers, 1903).Includes index.Available at the Family History Library, FHL US/CAN Book 974.66 D3c, or FHL US/CAN Film 982492 Item 4. Also see The Society of Middletown First Settlers Descendants,
- J.A. McKenzie for the Southern California Genealogical Society, An every name index to History of Middlesex County, Connecticut with biographical sketches of its prominent men, (Salt Lake City, Utah Filmed by the Genealogical Society of Utah, 2005).Available at the Family History Library, FHL US/CAN Film 1783640 Item 4.
Business, Commerce, and Occupations[edit | edit source]
Cemeteries[edit | edit source]
Census Records[edit | edit source]
For online and statewide census resources and information, see: Connecticut Census.
| Historical populations | ||
|---|---|---|
| Census | Pop. | %± |
| 1790 | 18,828 | — |
| 1800 | 19,874 | 5.6% |
| 1810 | 20,723 | 4.3% |
| 1820 | 22,405 | 8.1% |
| 1830 | 24,844 | 10.9% |
| 1840 | 24,879 | 0.1% |
| 1850 | 27,216 | 9.4% |
| 1860 | 30,859 | 13.4% |
| 1870 | 36,099 | 17.0% |
| 1880 | 35,589 | −1.4% |
| 1890 | 39,524 | 11.1% |
| 1900 | 41,760 | 5.7% |
| 1910 | 45,637 | 9.3% |
| 1920 | 47,550 | 4.2% |
| 1930 | 51,388 | 8.1% |
| 1940 | 55,999 | 9.0% |
| 1950 | 67,332 | 20.2% |
| 1960 | 88,865 | 32.0% |
| 1970 | 114,816 | 29.2% |
| 1980 | 129,017 | 12.4% |
| 1990 | 143,196 | 11.0% |
| 2000 | 155,071 | 8.3% |
| 2010 | 165,676 | 6.8% |
| Source: Wikipedia.org". | ||
Territory and State Census Records
- Census Finder, Connecticut Census Records, Online links by county.
- Connecticut Genealogy, Middlesex County Census Records,
- Linkpendium, Census Records and Indexes, Middlesex County, Connecticut.
Federal Census Records
- US Federal Census Collection, ancestry.com($),
- USGenWeb Census Project, Middlesex County, Connecticut Federal Census Index, Transcriptions in progress.
- Lowell M. Volkel, An index to the 1800 federal census of Fairfield and Hartford counties, state of Connecticut, ([S.l.] L.M. Volkel, c1968). Available at the Family History Center, FHL US/CAN Book 974.6 X22v 1800.
Church Records[edit | edit source]
- Connecticut Genealogy, Middlesex County Church Records, Includes church and vital records.
List of Churches and Church Parishes
- FamilySearch Places: Map of cities and towns in this county - How to Use FS Places
Court Records[edit | edit source]
Online Court Indexes and Records
- Deeds and Land Records, USGenWeb CTArchives
- Middlesex County Connecticut Court Records Directory,
- Connecticut.Superior Court, Middlesex County, Court Records, 1786-1797 , (Salt Lake City, Utah Filmed by the Genealogical Society of Utah, 1989).Microfilm of original records in the Connecticut State Archives, Hartford.Court papers are arranged in several files: miscellaneous, partition of land, jurors, court expense, costs, travel and inquest.Available at the Family History Library, FHL US/CAN Film 1639454 Items 2-8.
Directories[edit | edit source]
- Linkpendium, Directories, Middlesex County,
- Old Saybrook city directory including Chester, Deep River, Essex, Westbrook, (New Haven [Connecticut] Price & Lee, 1972-).Available at the Family History Library, FHL US/CAN Book 974.66 E4po.
- Middletown, Portland directory, (New Haven [Connecticut] Price & Lee, 1931-). Includes index. Available at the Family History Library, FHL US/CAN Book 974.66 E4p.
- Durham (Middlesex County, Conn.) city directory including Haddam, Higganum, Middlefield, Rockfall, (New Haven [Connecticut] Price & Lee, 1973-). Available at the Family History Library, FHL US/CAN Book 974.66 E4pd.
- Connecticut River Valley directories, (Woodbridge, Connecticut Research Publications, 1995). Available at the Family History Library, 1913-14 FHL US/CAN Film 2308483 Item 1, continues through Item 5 (1928).
Emigration and Immigration[edit | edit source]
- 1804-1959 Connecticut, passenger and crew lists, 1804-1959 at FamilySearch — How to Use this Collection; index/images
- 1966-2002 Connecticut, Marriages, 1966-2002 at MyHeritage - index ($)
Ethnic, Political, and Religious Groups[edit | edit source]
Funeral Homes[edit | edit source]
Genealogies[edit | edit source]
Guardianship[edit | edit source]
Land and Property Records[edit | edit source]
Deeds, mortgages, releases, and other documents are at the town halls. Most are indexed by grantor and grantee, no statewide index. Microfilm copies (early to the mid or late 1800s, with some up to the 1900s) are available at the Connecticut State Library and also online at FamilySearch.org.
Online Land Indexes and Records
- Library of Congress. Geography and Map Division, Middlesex County, Connecticut land ownership map, 1859 , (Washington, District of Columbia Library of Congress, 1983).Available at the Family History Library, FHL US/CAN Fiche 6079300. Also available online at flickr from Yahoo,
Local Histories[edit | edit source]
- David Dudley Field, Centennial address with historical sketches of Cromwell, Portland, Chatham, Middle-Haddam, Middletown and its parishes, (Middletown, Connecticut W.B. Casey, 1853).The town of Chatham became East Hampton in 1915.Available at the Family History Library, FHL US/CAN Book 974.66 H2f, or FHL US/CAN Film 1036820 Item 3.Also found at the Family History Library on the Desktop, Computer US/CAN Desktop CD-ROM no. 2630 v. 1.
- History of Middlesex County, Connecticut. 1884. New York, New York : J.B. Beers. Online at: Hathitrust; Internet Archive; At various libraries (WorldCat). Index (not available online): An every name index to History of Middlesex County, Connecticut. By J.A. McKenzie. 1993. Burbank, California : Southern California Genealogical Society. Filmed by the Genealogical Society of Utah, 2005. Available at FHL: FHL US/CAN Film 1783640 Item 4.
- A Statistical Account of the County of Middlesex in Connecticut. By David D. Field. 1819. Middletown, Conn., Printed by Clark & Lyman. Online at: Hathitrust; Internet Archive; Google Books; At various libraries (WorldCat).
- Connecticut Indexes at EveryNameIndex.com — Select the county.
Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]
for more resources
- Middlesex County, Gazetteer
- Map of Middlesex County (1859) - available at the Library of Congress. Shows nearly every household name.
- Maps of Connecticut (1643-1960)
- Department of Economic and Community Development, Connecticut Maps, Organized by State and County.Links to road maps, county outlines, colored outlines and lists of towns.
- Linkpendium, Maps and Gazetteers, Middlesex County
- F.W. Beers & Co., County Atlas of Middlesex, Connecticut from actual surveys / by and under the direction of F.W. Beers. (1874), (New York:F.W. Beers & Co., (1874).Available online at Internet Archives, Also available at the Family History Library, FHL Vault US/CAN Film 1783410 Item 5.
- FamilySearch Places: Map of cities and towns in this county - How to Use FS Places
Migration[edit | edit source]
Military Records[edit | edit source]
Civil War
- Civl War Research Database ($),
- Civil War Soldiers and Sailors Database;
- Sons of Union Veterans of the Civil War Grave Database;
- Middlesex County In The Civil War, Chapter VIII, History of Middlesex County, by J.B. Beers & Co., publishers; Henry Whittemore; New York, 1884. American Libraries Online Book. A list of volunteers by town starts on page 44.
Regiments. Service men from Middlesex County served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Most of the men in the following companies were from Middlesex County.
- -1st Regiment, Connecticut Heavy Artillery - Company G and H, (Middletown)
- -2nd Regiment, Connecticut Infantry - Infantry Company A
- -14th Regiment, Connecticut Infantry - Company B
- -20th Regiment, Connecticut Infantry - Company D
- -21st Regiment, Connecticut Infantry - Company I
- -24th Regiment, Connecticut Infantry - Company A, B, D, F and G.
World War I
- World War I Draft Registration Cards, 1917-1918 $
- Connecticut, World War I, Military Census of Nurses, 1917 at FamilySearch — index - How to Use this Collection
World War II
- 1942 U.S., World War II Draft Registration Cards, 1942 at Ancestry ($)
- 1940-1945 Connecticut, World War II Draft Registration Cards, 1940-1945 at FamilySearch — How to Use this Collection; index/images
- 1942 United States, World War II Draft Registration Cards, 1942 of men age 45-64 (born 1877-1897) ,at FamilySearch — How to Use This Collection; index and images
Naturalization and Citizenship[edit | edit source]
Online Naturalization Indexes and Records
- 1851-1992 Connecticut, District Court Naturalization Indexes, 1851-1992 at FamilySearch — How to Use this Collection; index/images
- Connecticut. County Court and Superior Court, (Middlesex County), Naturalization records, 1844-1871 , (Salt Lake City, Utah Filmed by the Genealogical Society of Utah, 1984).Contains declarations of intent, and records of naturalization. Includes records of the County Court and the Superior Court.For index to naturalizations in these records see: Connecticut. Superior Court (Middlesex County). Naturalization index, 1844- 1955.Available at the Family History Library, FHL US/CAN Film 1398618 Items 4-5.
- Connecticut. Superior Court (Middlesex County), Naturalization records, 1844-1909 , (Salt Lake City, Utah Filmed by the Genealogical Society of Utah, 1984).Indexes are found with most volumes.Naturalization records 1847-1859, includes also declarations of intent 1844-1856.For general index to these records see: Connecticut. Superior Court (Middlesex County). Naturalization index, 1844-1955.Available at the Family History Library, FHL US/CAN Film 1398618 Item 3. (4 films)
- Connecticut. Superior Court (Middlesex County), Naturalization records (Middlesex County, Connecticut), 1841-1945, (Salt Lake City, Utah Filmed by the Genealogical Society of Utah, 1984-2008).Indexes are found within each volume.Vol. 1, 1906-1909, Declarations of intention is missing and was not filmed.The records are filmed in certificate number order.Available at the Family History Library, FHL US/CAN Film 1398618 Item 2. (12 films)
- Connecticut. Superior Court (Middlesex County), Naturalization index, 1844-1955 , (Salt Lake City, Utah Filmed by the Genealogical Society of Utah, 1984). Available at the Family History Library, FHL US/CAN Film 1398614, 1st of 5 films.
Newspapers[edit | edit source]
- 1800s-1999 Newspapers.com Marriage Index, 1800s-1999 at Ancestry ($)
- Connecticut State Library holds the best known collection of Connecticut newspapers, including extensive holdings for Middlesex County. Click on "Find Newspapers at the Connecticut State Library" to search by location.
- Connecticut Newspaper List, accessed 8 Nov 2014).
Obituaries[edit | edit source]
- Linkpendium, Obituaries and Funeral Home Records, Middlesex County. (Scroll to "Obituaries and Funeral Home Records" section.)
- Middlesex County, Connecticut Obituaries, A directory of obituary databases and archives on the internet.
- Obits, USGenWeb CTArchives
Other Records[edit | edit source]
Periodicals[edit | edit source]
Probate Records[edit | edit source]
The records are kept at district courts. The County government does not exist. Not every town has a court. Some are included in a district making up from 1 to 5 towns. The Districts are: Avon, Berlin, Bristol, Burlington, Canton, East Granby, East Hartford, East Windsor, Enfield, Farmington, Granby, Hartford, Hartland, Manchester, Marlborough, Plainville, Simsbury, Southington, Suffield, and Windsor.
See Connecticut Probate Records. See also Connecticut State Library, Research Guide to Connecticut Probate Records.
Online Probate Indexes and Records
- 1609-1999 Connecticut Wills and Probate Records 1609-1999 at Ancestry.com — index and images ($)
School Records[edit | edit source]
Social Security Records[edit | edit source]
- 1935-2014 United States Social Security Death Index at FamilySearch — How to use this collection; index. Also at Ancestry, findmypast, Fold3, GenealogyBank, MyHeritage, and Steve Morse. Click here for more information.
- 1936-2007 U.S., Social Security Applications and Claims Index, 1936-2007
Tax Records[edit | edit source]
Vital Records[edit | edit source]
Birth[edit | edit source]
- Pre 1850 Connecticut, Vital Records, Prior to 1850 (Barbour Collection) at FamilySearch — How to Use this Collection; index/images
- 1639-1941 Connecticut, Births and Baptisms, 1639-1941 at FamilySearch — How to Use this Collection; index/images
- 1640-1955 Connecticut, Charles R. Hale Collection, Vital Records, 1640-1955 at FamilySearch — How to Use this Collection; index/images
Marriage[edit | edit source]
- Pre 1850 Connecticut, Vital Records, Prior to 1850 (Barbour Collection) at FamilySearch — How to Use this Collection; index/images
- 1640-1939 Connecticut Marriages, 1640-1939 at FamilySearch — How to Use this Collection; Index/images
- 1640-1955 Connecticut, Charles R. Hale Collection, Vital Records, 1640-1955 at FamilySearch — How to Use this Collection; index/images
- 1966-2002 Connecticut, Marriages, 1966-2002 at MyHeritage - index ($)
Death[edit | edit source]
- Pre 1850 Connecticut, Vital Records, Prior to 1850 (Barbour Collection) at FamilySearch — How to Use this Collection; index/images
- 1640-1955 Connecticut, Deaths, 1640-1955 at FamilySearch — How to Use this Collection; index/images
- 1640-1955 Connecticut, Charles R. Hale Collection, Vital Records, 1640-1955 at FamilySearch — How to Use this Collection; index/images
- 1949-2012 Connecticut Death Index, 1949-2012 at MyHeritage - index ($)
Divorce[edit | edit source]
- Connecticut.Superior Court, Middlesex County, Divorce Records, 1786-1797, (Salt Lake City, Utah Filmed by the Genealogical Society of Utah, 1989).Microfilm of original records in the Connecticut State Archives, Hartford.Records are in two chronological groupings, 1786 to 1789, 1790 to 1797. Available at the Family History Library, FHL US/CAN Film 1639454 Item 1.
Research Facilities[edit | edit source]
Archives[edit | edit source]
Listed below are archives in Middlesex County. For state-wide facilities, see Connecticut Archives and Libraries.
Family History Centers[edit | edit source]
Family History Center and Affiliate Library Locator map - search for local Family History Centers or Affiliate Libraries
- Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance, free access to center-only databases, and to premium genealogical websites.
- FamilySearch Affiliate Libraries have access to most center-only databases, but may not always have full services normally provided by a family history center.
Local Centers and Affiliate Libraries
- Goshen Connecticut Family History Center
- Groton Connecticut Family History Center
- Madison Connecticut Family History Center
- Newtown Connecticut Family History Center
- Southington Connecticut Family History Center
- Woodbridge Connecticut Family History Center
- Bridgeport Public Library - an affiliate library
- Fairfield Museum and History Center - an affiliate library
- Gadsden Public Library - Main - an affiliate library
- Hagaman Memorial Library - an affiliate library
- James Blackstone Memorial Library - an affiliate library
- North Branford Libraries - Edward Smith Library - an affiliate library
- North Haven Memorial Library - an affiliate library
- Southbury Public Library - an affiliate library
- Wilton Library Association Inc. - an affiliate library
Libraries[edit | edit source]
Listed below are libraries in Middlesex County. For state-wide library facilities, see Connecticut Archives and Libraries.
Acton Public Library
60 Old Boston Post Road
Old Saybrook, CT 06475
860-395-3184
E-Mail: actonlibrary@actonlibrary.org
Facebook
Website
Brainerd Memorial Library
920 Saybrook Road
Haddam, CT 06438
860-345-2204
E-mail: library@brainerdlibrary.org
Facebook
Website
Facebook
Website
Chester Public Library
21 West Main Street
Chester, CT 06412
860-526-0018
E-mail: library@chesterct.org
Facebook
Website
The Henry Carter Hull Library
10 Killingworth Turnpike
Clinton, CT 06413
860-669-2342
E-mail: askus@hchlibrary.org
Facebook
Website
Cromwell Belden Public Library
39 West Street
Cromwell, CT 06416
(860) 632-3460
E-mail: https://www.cromwellct.com/user/1943/contact
Facebook
Website
Deep River Public Library
150 Main Street
Deep River, CT 06417
(860) 526-6039
E-mail: deepriverpubliclibrary@gmail.com
Facebook
Website
Durham Public Library
7 Maple Avenue
Durham, CT 06422
860.349.9544
E-mail: cmichaud@durhamlibrary.org
Facebook
Website
East Haddam Library System
There are two branches in this library system
E-mail: MGilroy@easthaddamlibrarysystem.org
Facebook
Website
East Hampton Public Library
105 Main Street,
East Hampton CT 06424
860-267-6621
E-mail: epaul@easthamptonct.gov
Facebook
Website
Essex Library Association
33 West Avenue
Essex, CT 06426
(860) 767-1560
E-mail: dsmith@essexlib.org
Facebook
Website
Godfrey Memorial Library
134 Newfield St
Middletown, CT 06457
860-346-4375
Fax: 860-347-9874
E-Mail: Sharon@godfrey.org
Website
The Killingworth Library
P.O. Box 725 S
301 Route 81
Killingworth, CT 06419
860-663-2000
E-mail: mail@killingworthlibrary.org
Website
Levi E. Coe Memorial Library
414 Main Street
Middlefield, CT 06455
860-349-3857
E-mail: levicoelibrary@gmail.com
Website
Middlesex County Public Libraries.
Museums[edit | edit source]
Societies[edit | edit source]
Listed below are societies in Middlesex County. For state-wide genealogical and historical societies, see Connecticut Societies.
Chatham Historical Society
6 Bevin Blvd
East Hampton, CT 06424
E-mail: sandy.doren60@yahoo.com
Facebook
Website
Chester Historical Society
9 West Main Street
PO Box 204
Chester, CT 06412
860.526.5781
E-mail: info@chesterhistoricalsociety.org
Clinton Historical Society
103 E. Main Street
PO Box 86
Clinton CT 06413
860-669-2148
E-mail: info@clintoncthistory.org
Facebook
Website
Cromwell Historical Society, Inc.
Post Office Box 146
395 Main Street
Cromwell, Connecticut 06416
860 635-0501
Email: Cromwellhistory@aol.com
Website
Deep River Historical Society
245 Main Street
Deep River, CT. 06417
860-526-1449
E-mail: info@deepriverhistoricalsociety.org
Facebook
Website
Durham Historical Society
38 Town House Road
Durham, CT 06422
860-716-5497
E-mail: durhamhistoryct@gmail.com
Facebook
Website
East Haddam Historical Society & Museum
264 Town Street
P.O. Box 27
East Haddam, CT 06423-0027
(860) 873-3944
E-mail: museum@easthaddamhistory.org
Facebook
Website
Essex Historical Society
P.O. Box 123
Essex, CT 06426
(860) 767-0681
Email: ehs@essexhistory.org
Facebook
Website
Haddam Historical Society
P.O. Box 97
14 Hayden Hill Road
Haddam ,CT 06438
860 345-2400
E-Mail: research@haddamhistory.org
Website
Killingworth Historical Society
P.O. Box 707
Killingworth, CT 06419
E-mail: killingworthhs@gmail.com
Website
Middlefield Historical Society
405 Main St
Middlefield, CT 06455
(860) 349-0665
Facebook
The Portland Historical Society
P. O. Box 98
492 Main Street
Portland, CT 06480
E-Mail: PortlandHistSoc@Yahoo.Com
Website
Saybrook Colony Founders Association
P.O. Box 1635
Old Saybrook, CT 06475-1000
Email: scfainc@snet.net
Website
Old Saybrook Historical Society
350 Main Street
Post Office Box 4
Old Saybrook, CT 06475
860-395-1635
Email:contact@saybrookhistory.org
Website
The Society of Middletown First Settlers Descendants
Middletown. CT 06457
Hal Whitmore, Registrar
1301 North Harrison Street, Apt. 201
Wilimington, DE 19806
E-mail: hbwhitmore@yahoo.com
Website
Websites[edit | edit source]
- Middlesex County Genealogy LDS Genealogy 983 Middlesex county genealogy record sources.
- ancestry.com($). Available databases for Middlesex County.
- Cyndi's List General Resource Sites
- Linkpendium Middlesex County Genealogy and Family History
- The USGenWeb Archives Project
- CT GenWeb
- FamilySearch Catalog – The FamilySearch catalog contains descriptions and access information for all genealogical materials (including books, online materials, microfilm, microfiche, and publications) in their collection. Use Historical Records to search for specific individuals in genealogical records.
Research Guides[edit | edit source]
References[edit | edit source]
- ↑ Newberry
- ↑ Wikipedia contributors, "Middlesex County," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Middlesex_County,_Connecticut 04/27/2017.
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), 113. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Middlesex County, Connecticut . Page 113 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002; Alice Eichholz, ed. Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County, and Town Sources, Third ed. (Provo, Utah: Ancestry, 2004), 104-110.
- ↑ Newberry
- ↑ Wikipedia contributors,"Middlesex County, Connecticut, " in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia,https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Middlesex_County%2C_Connecticut, accessed 7 October 2018.
