Middlesex Archives and Libraries
|Middlesex Wiki Topics|
|Local Research Resources|
Archives[edit | edit source]
Barnet Local Studies Centre[edit | edit source]
- Do you want to know more about the history of the London Borough of Barnet or trace your family history? We have a unique collection of historical documents dating from 1600 and a range of records in different formats, such as photographs, maps, archives, newspapers and publications representing people, places and buildings.
Brent Archives[edit | edit source]
- The wide variety of material available at Brent Archives covers not only the history of Wembley and Willesden, but also the history of the local areas within them including Alperton, Brondesbury, Chalkhill, Cricklewood, Dollis Hill, Harlesden, Kensal Green, Kenton, Kilburn, Kingsbury, Neasden, Park Royal, Preston, Queen’s Park, Stonebridge, Sudbury, Tokyngton, Uxendon and Willesden Green.
Camden Local Studies and Archives Centre[edit | edit source]
Camden Local Studies and Archives Centre
32-38 Theobalds Road
London WC1X 8PA UK
Telephone: 020 7974 6342
Website: Camden Local Studies and Archives Centre
- Books, periodicals, newspapers, maps, illustrations, archives and other items about the Borough past and present, and family history. Parish vestry and Council records 17th to 20th centuries, including valuation lists until 1989. Archives of local organisations and individuals, including Highgate Cemetery registers. Consultation of archives is by prior appointment.
City of Westminster Archives Centre[edit | edit source]
- At our Archives, view books, directories, maps, newspapers, images, local government records, electoral and parish registers, census returns and more relating to family, local and business history.
Ealing Local History Centre[edit | edit source]
Ealing Local History Centre
103 Ealing Broadway Centre
London W5 5JY UK
Telephone: 020 3700 1055
Website: Ealing Local History Centre
- Based in Ealing Central Library, the Local History Centre is the archive of the London Borough of Ealing. Our focus is on making Ealing’s past more readily available and understandable to people in the present. We assist researchers of all kinds and hold over 45,000 archival items and 20,000 photographs, plus many books and microfilms to help you learn about the rich and forgotten history of the borough.
Enfield Local Studies Library & Archive[edit | edit source]
Enfield Local Studies Library & Archive
Thomas Hardy House (1st floor)>br>39 London Road
Enfield, London EN2 6DS UK
Telephone 020 8379 2724
Website: Local Studies Library & Archive
- Our Local Studies library and archive identifies, acquires, and preserves materials that document the history of Enfield. You can visit and discover a unique collection of historical documents dating back to the 13th century.
Hackney Archives and Local History[edit | edit source]
Hackney Archives and Local History
Dalston CLR James Library and Hackney Archives
Hackney, London E8 3BQ UK
Telephone: 020 8356 8925
Website: Hackney Archives and Local History
- We collect, preserve and provide access to records that contribute to Hackney's socio-economic and cultural identity to help everyone understand Hackney's past and present. We're the official repository for the historic records of the London Borough of Hackney and its predecessors, including minutes and reports. Our reference collections support research into Hackney, Stoke Newington and Shoreditch, providing contextual information about the local area and its residents.
Hammersmith & Fulham Archives and Local Studies[edit | edit source]
Hammersmith & Fulham Archives and Local Studies
Shepherds Bush Road
Hammersmith, London W6 7AT UK
Telephone: 020 8753 3850
Website: Hammersmith & Fulham Archives and Local Studies
- We hold the archives and local history collections for Hammersmith & Fulham, including documents, books, maps, photographs and paintings, old newspapers and other sources for family and house history. These records come from the council and its predecessor bodies, local institutions such as hospitals, churches and schools, and from members of the local community.
- Are you interested in tracing your family history or house history, or looking at how your neighbourhood has changed over the years? Maybe you want to learn more about notable local residents or local pottery works? Whatever your interests, staff and volunteers will be happy to assist your research, either in person or through email.
Haringey Archive and Local History[edit | edit source]
Haringey Archive and Local History
Haringey Archive and Museum Service
Bruce Castle Museum
London N17 8NU UK
Telephone: 020 8808 8772
Website: Haringey Archive and Local History
- Haringey Archive Service is based at Bruce Castle Museum. The service holds the archives and the local history library and collections of the London Borough of Haringey.
Harrow Local History Centre[edit | edit source]
- If you are tracing your family history, researching the history of a building, or just have an interest in the local area, please come in and use our resources.
Hillingdon Local History and Heritage[edit | edit source]
Hillingdon Local History and Heritage
Uxbridge Library (Level 6)
14-15 High Street
Uxbridge, Middlesex UB8 1HD UK
Telephone: 01895 250702
Website: Hillingdon Local History and Heritage
- The local studies collection began in the 1930s with the encouragement of Mr H T Hamson, then editor of the Middlesex Advertiser and Gazette. For that reason the collection is slightly biased towards Uxbridge material although since 1965 great efforts have been made to comprehensively cover the whole of the borough of Hillingdon.
Islington Local History Centre[edit | edit source]
- Our centre has a wide range of resources on the history of the borough, including books, maps, illustrations, newspapers, trade directories and archive material.
Kensington and Chelsea Local Studies and Archives[edit | edit source]
Kensington and Chelsea Local Studies and Archives
London W8 7RX UK
Telephone: 0207 361 3038
Website: Kensington and Chelsea Local Studies and Archives
- The Kensington and Chelsea Local Studies collection is housed at Kensington Central Library. It contains all the borough's material on the history of both Kensington and Chelsea, including books, newspapers, illustrations (these include prints, photographs, paintings and drawings: we also hold a large collection of maps including Ordnance Survey, parish and general maps of London), census returns, electoral registers, manuscripts, ephemera and other archive material.
London Metropolitan Archives[edit | edit source]
- We are home to an amazing range of documents, images, maps, films and books about London. London Metropolitan Archives (LMA) is free to use and open to everyone. Whether you're tracing your family history or researching the history of your neighbourhood, if you're interested in London or Londoners, LMA is the place to visit!
- The London Metropolitan Archives has prepared a helpful guide for family historians: Family History at London Metropolitan Archives
Tower Hamlets Local History Library & Archives[edit | edit source]
- Tower Hamlets Local History Library & Archives covers the area created from the former Metropolitan Boroughs of Bethnal Green, Poplar and Stepney – the heart of London’s world famous East End.
Waltham Forest Archives and Local Studies Library[edit | edit source]
Waltham Forest Archives and Local Studies Library
Vestry House Museum
Walthamstow, London E17 9NH UK<brTelephone: 020 8496 4381
Website: Waltham Forest Archives and Local Studies Library
- The Waltham Forest archives and local studies library are based at Vestry House Museum. We can help you if you are interested in researching your family history, the history of your house or street, the development of the local area and local communities, or subjects for a school project or for academic research.
Libraries[edit | edit source]
Kensington Central Library[edit | edit source]
- This library is affiliated with Royal Borough of Kensington and Chelsea. The collection of the library contains 640,000 volumes.
Middlesex Library London[edit | edit source]
- Middlesex provides extensive, flexible library services that can be accessed on-campus, or wherever you are in the world. The Sheppard Library houses an enormous collection of hard copy resources, and the vast majority of our 30,000 full text journals are available online.
Sheppard Library[edit | edit source]
- The Sheppard Library is the home of independent study at Middlesex. Open 24 hours per day, seven days per week during term time, the library contains over 1,000 study areas, more than 600 computer spaces and dedicated rooms for group study and projects. You will have access to an extensive catalogue of resources, including 350,000 books and e-books and over 24,000 online journals – everything you need to achieve success in your research and studies.
Museums[edit | edit source]
Brent Museum[edit | edit source]
- Brent Museum has been collecting material about the history of Brent for over 50 years and we have over 10,000 objects in our collection. We have items which are thousands of years old but we also collect from the people living and working in Brent today so that our collection represent all communities, past and present.
Bruce Castle Museum[edit | edit source]
- Bruce Castle is now a museum, holding the archives of the London Borough of Haringey, and housing a permanent exhibition on the past, present and future of Haringey and its predecessor boroughs, and temporary displays on the history of the area.
Geffrye Museum[edit | edit source]
- The Geffrye explores the home and the way people live. Our collections show how homes have been used and furnished over the past 400 years, reflecting changes in society and behaviour as well as style, fashion and taste. A series of period rooms lead visitors on a walk through time from 17th century oak furniture and panelling, past muted Georgian elegance and eclectic Victorian style, to 20th century modernity and contemporary living.
Gunnersbury Park Museum[edit | edit source]
- The museum was opened in 1929. Since then it has collected a wide range of objects, paintings and photographs which reflect life in Ealing and Hounslow Boroughs from prehistory to the present day. It still continues to collect material to make sure that visitors in the future will be able to see how we lived today.
Hackney Museum[edit | edit source]
- Learn about the fascinating stories of people who have moved to Hackney and made it their home, from Anglo-Saxon settlers to early Victorian villas and recent refugees.
Harrow Museum[edit | edit source]
- The four remarkable buildings which make up Harrow Museum are all located in the beautiful grounds of Headstone Manor, records of which date back to 825AD. All the buildings are listed by English Heritage, and the site as a whole is a Scheduled Ancient Monument.
Islington Museum[edit | edit source]
- From free exhibitions, talks and events to vibrant learning programmes, explore Islington's past with us.
Ragged School Museum[edit | edit source]
- The Ragged School Museum is housed in a group of three canalside buildings which once formed the largest “ragged” or free school in London. The museum was founded to make the history of the Ragged Schools and the broader social history of the Victorian East End accessible to all. Within the original buildings, an authentic Victorian Classroom has been set up where each year some 16,000 children experience a school lesson as it would have been taught more than 100 years ago.
- We have also recreated a Victorian East End Kitchen from the 1900s, demonstrating what life would have been like in a simple, one-room home with no electricity or running water. The museum has several gallery areas, a reconstructed Victorian Classroom and a Victorian East End Kitchen displaying its own collection of historical objects, all designed for hands-on inspection. This is a museum where you can sit at the school desks, use the tin bath and experience what life was like for the Victorian poor of the East End of London.
Vestry House Museum[edit | edit source]
- Vestry House Museum presents the history of Waltham Forest. Situated in Walthamstow Village, the building used to house the parish workhouse, and was later a police station and private home.
- It now contains themed displays capturing the unique heritage of the local area and includes the famous Bremer Car, a Victorian parlour, costume gallery and wonderful display of locally manufactured toys and games. A collection of 80,000 historic photographs from across the Borough is accessible to everyone by appointment. The beautiful volunteer-run garden is an oasis in which to relax and enjoy the arrival of spring.
Victoria and Albert Museum[edit | edit source]
- The V&A is the world’s leading museum of art and design, housing a permanent collection of over 2.3 million objects that span over 5,000 years of human creativity. The Museum holds many of the UK's national collections and houses some of the greatest resources for the study of architecture, furniture, fashion, textiles, photography, sculpture, painting, jewellery, glass, ceramics, book arts, Asian art and design, theatre and performance.
For a long list of London museums, go to List of museums in London in Wikipedia.