Miami County, Ohio Genealogy
Guide to Miami County, Ohio ancestry, genealogy and family history, birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
|
| ||||||||||||||||||||||||
| ||||||||||||||||||||||||
County Information[edit | edit source]
Description[edit | edit source]
The county was named for the Miami Indians. It is located in the West-Central area of the state.[3]
County Courthouse[edit | edit source]
Miami County Courthouse
215 W Main St
Troy, OH 45373-3263
Phone: 937-440-3910
Miami County Website
Miami County, Ohio Record Dates[edit | edit source]
Information for this chart was taken from various sources, often containing conflicting dates. This information should be taken as a guide and should be verified by contacting the county and/or the state government agency.
| Birth* | Marriage | Death* | Court | Land | Probate | Census |
| 1853 | 1807 | 1867 | 1807 | 1807 | 1807 | 1820 |
Record Loss[edit | edit source]
|
There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county. |
Boundary Changes[edit | edit source]
|
Populated Places[edit | edit source]
For a complete list of populated places, including small neighborhoods and suburbs, visit Hometown Locator. The following are the most historically and genealogically relevant populated places in this county: [7]
| Cities | ||
| Villages | ||
| Unincorporated communities | ||
| Townships | ||
History Timeline[edit | edit source]
Resources[edit | edit source]
Bible Records[edit | edit source]
For an extensive list of resources for Bible Records see Ohio Bible Records.
Biographies[edit | edit source]
- Biographical Sketches and Stories at The Troy Historical Society of Miami County Ohio - People, places, and things. Indexed by surname
- Biographies from The History of Miami County, Ohio (1880) at My Genealogy Hound published by W. H. Beers - indexed. The full book is listed next.
- The History of Miami County, Ohio: containing a history of the county; its cities, towns, etc.; general and local statistics; portraits of early settlers and prominent men; history of the Northwest Territory; history of Ohio. Published by W.H Beers, 1880. online at: FamilySearch Digital Library
- A Genealogical and Biographical Record of Miami County, Ohio: Compendium of National Biography (Chicago, Illinois: Lewis Publishing, 1900). Online at FamilySearch Digital Library, Google Books, Internet Archive.
Business, Commerce, and Occupations[edit | edit source]
Cemeteries[edit | edit source]
Census Records[edit | edit source]
| Historical populations | ||
|---|---|---|
| Census | Pop. | %± |
| 1810 | 3,941 | — |
| 1820 | 8,851 | 124.6% |
| 1830 | 12,807 | 44.7% |
| 1840 | 19,688 | 53.7% |
| 1850 | 24,999 | 27.0% |
| 1860 | 29,959 | 19.8% |
| 1870 | 32,740 | 9.3% |
| 1880 | 36,158 | 10.4% |
| 1890 | 39,754 | 9.9% |
| 1900 | 43,105 | 8.4% |
| 1910 | 45,047 | 4.5% |
| 1920 | 48,428 | 7.5% |
| 1930 | 51,301 | 5.9% |
| 1940 | 52,632 | 2.6% |
| 1950 | 61,309 | 16.5% |
| 1960 | 72,901 | 18.9% |
| 1970 | 84,342 | 15.7% |
| 1980 | 90,381 | 7.2% |
| 1990 | 93,182 | 3.1% |
| 2000 | 98,868 | 6.1% |
| 2010 | 102,506 | 3.7% |
| Source: "Wikipedia.org". | ||
Church Records[edit | edit source]
Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Ohio denominations, see Ohio Church Records.
List of Churches and Church Parishes
Lutheran
- Records of St. John's Lutheran Church, Piqua, in Evangelical Lutheran Church in America database at Archives.com ($).
Court Records[edit | edit source]
- Records from Miami County Courthouse and other Locations at The Troy Historical Society - Indexes containing Probate Court Index, Deeds Index, Marriage Index, Children's Home records, Pauper's Records, etc.
Directories[edit | edit source]
Emigration and Immigration[edit | edit source]
Ethnic, Political, and Religious Groups[edit | edit source]
Funeral Homes[edit | edit source]
Genealogies[edit | edit source]
Miami Valley Genealogy Index at Preble County District Library is an Index to more than a half million pointers to records all over Miami Valley not just Miami County, Ohio.
Guardianship[edit | edit source]
Land and Property Records[edit | edit source]
Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.
See Ohio Land and Property for additional information about early Ohio land grants. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse and where records are currently housed.
Local Histories[edit | edit source]
Local histories are available for this county. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see Ohio Local Histories.
- Harbaugh, Thomas C., Centennial History: Troy, Piqua and Miami County, Ohio and Representative Citizens, (Chicago, Illinois: Richmond-Arnold Publishing Company, 1909). Online at FamilySearch Digital Library, Internet Archive.
- Sterrett, Frank M., A History of Miami County, Ohio, (Troy, Ohio: Montgomery Printing, 1917). Online at FamilySearch Digital Library; part 1 online at Hathitrust; part 2 online at Hathitrust
- Miller, Irene E., History of Miami County, Ohio, (Tipp City, Ohio: Miami County Genealogy and Historical Society, 1982). FHL film 1598188 Item 3; book 977.148 H2hi
- The History of Miami County, Ohio: Containing a History of the County; Its Cities, Towns, Etc, (Chicago, Illinois: W.H. Beers, 1880). Online at FamilySearch Digital Library, Google Books, Internet Archive, Ancestry ($) - (Indexed).
- Hill, Leonard U., A History of Miami County, Ohio, 1807-1953, (Columbus, Ohio: 1953). Online at FamilySearch Digital Library
- Histories of Miami County at The Troy Historical Society for 1846, 1880, 1909, 1920 and Randolph Slaves.
- Ohio Indexes at EveryNameIndex.com — Select the county.
Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]
for more resources
- Maps of Ohio (1788-1940) at MapofUS.org
- FamilySearch Places: Map of cities and towns in this county - How to Use FS Places
Migration[edit | edit source]
Military Records[edit | edit source]
- 1888-1919 Ohio Soldier Home Records, 1888-1919 at FamilySearch — How to Use this Collection.
Civil War, 1861-1865
Civil War service men from Miami County served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Miami County.
- - 1st Regiment, Ohio Cavalry, Company I
World War I
- 1914-1918 Ohio, World War I, Enrollment Cards, 1914-1918 at FamilySearch — How to Use this Collection.
- 1914-1919 Ohio, World War I Statement of Service Cards, 1914-1919 at FamilySearch — How to Use this Collection
- 1916-1920 Ohio, WWI Index and Return Cards, 1916-1920 at FamilySearch — How to Use this Collection.
Naturalization and Citizenship[edit | edit source]
Online Naturalization Indexes and Records
- 1800-1977 Ohio, County Naturalization Records, 1800-1977 at FamilySearch — How to Use this Collection.
Newspapers[edit | edit source]
Miami County newspapers often contain genealogical value including obituaries, births, marriages, deaths, anniversaries, family gatherings, family travel, achievements, business notices, engagement information, and probate court proceedings.
- For more online Ohio newspapers index and images, see Ohio Newspapers.
- 1793-late 1900's Newspapers at Ohio History Connection — Select county.
- 1793-2009 Ohio Newspapers, 1793-2009 at MyHeritage — index & images, ($)
- Early- late 1900's Newspapers at Ohio Memory — sort by County, City, Time Period, and more.
Obituaries[edit | edit source]
Other Records[edit | edit source]
Periodicals[edit | edit source]
Probate Records[edit | edit source]
From 1797 or the creation of the county, probate records were held by the Court of Common Pleas. After 1852, records are held by the Miami County Probate Court. Records include wills, estates, guardianships, naturalizations, marriage, adoption, and birth and death records (1867-1908 only). The records may give the decedent's date of death, name of spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, neighbors, associates, relatives, and their place of residence.
See Ohio Probate Records for information about how to use probate records.
Online Probate Indexes and Records
- 1786-1998 Ohio, Wills and Probate Records 1786-1998 at Ancestry ($) — index and images.
- 1789-1996 Ohio Probate Records 1789-1996 at FamilySearch.org — How to Use this Collection.
- 1803-1850 Miami Valley will abstracts at Ancestry.com ($) original data
School Records[edit | edit source]
Social Security Records[edit | edit source]
- 1935-2014 United States Social Security Death Index at FamilySearch — How to use this collection; index. Also at Ancestry, findmypast, Fold3, GenealogyBank, MyHeritage, and Steve Morse. Click here for more information.
- 1936-2007 U.S., Social Security Applications and Claims Index, 1936-2007 at Ancestry ($) — index, click here for more information.
Tax Records[edit | edit source]
Ohio tax records complement land records and can be used in place of censuses before 1820 or to supplement the years between censuses. Because only persons who owned taxable property were listed, many residents were not included in tax lists. There may also be gaps of several years in the tax records of some counties.
Online Tax Indexes and Records
- 1800-1850 Ohio Tax Records, 1800-1850 at FamilySearch — How to Use this Collection.
- 1800-1850 Ohio Tax Records, 1800-1850 at MyHeritage ($) — index
- 1810-1840 Early Tax and Census at The Troy Historical Society
Vital Records[edit | edit source]
Vital records consist of birth, death, marriage and divorce records. Marriages were usually recorded from the formation of the county and are held at the office of the County Probate Court. Divorce records are located with the county Clerk of Courts.
Any existing birth and death records from 1867 through December 19, 1908 are located at the County Probate Court. The Ohio Department of Health has birth records filed after December 20, 1908 and death records filed after January 1, 1954, while the Ohio History Connection houses death records from December 20, 1908 through December 31, 1953.
Birth[edit | edit source]
- 1774-1973 Ohio, Births and Christenings Index, 1774-1973 at Ancestry ($) — index
- 1821-1962 Ohio Births and Christenings, 1821-1962 at FamilySearch — How to Use this Collection
- 1841-2003 Ohio, County Births, 1841-2003 at FamilySearch — How to Use this Collection.
- 1908-1998 Ohio, Birth Index, 1908-1998 at Ancestry ($) — index
- 1959-1998 Ohio, Birth Index, 1959-1998 at MyHeritage - index ($)
Marriage[edit | edit source]
- 1789-2013 Ohio, County Marriages, 1789-2013 at FamilySearch — How to Use this Collection.
- 1800-1942 Ohio Marriages, 1800-1942 at FamilySearch — How to Use this Collection.
- 1800-1958 Ohio Marriages, 1800-1958 at FamilySearch — How to Use this Collection.
- 1970-2003 Ohio, Marriages, 1970-2003 at MyHeritage ($) — index
Death[edit | edit source]
- 1833-1967 Ohio, Church and Civil Deaths, 1833-1967 at FamilySearch — How to Use this Collection; index
- 1840-2001 Ohio, County Death Records, 1840-2001 at FamilySearch — How to Use this Collection.
- 1908-1932, 1938–1944, and 1958–2007 Ohio Death Index, 1908-1932, 1938-1944, and 1958-2007 at FamilySearch – How to Use this Collection
- 1908-1932, 1938-2018 Ohio, Death Records, 1908-1932, 1938-2018 at Ancestry ($) — index and images
- 1913-1944, 1954-1963 Ohio Death Index, 1913-1944, 1954-1963 at MyHeritage ($) — index
Divorce[edit | edit source]
- 1962-2007 Ohio, Divorce Abstracts, 1962-1963, 1967-1971, 1973-2007 at Ancestry ($)
Research Facilities[edit | edit source]
Archives[edit | edit source]
Listed below are archives in Miami County. For state-wide archival repositories, see Ohio Archives and Libraries.
Family History Centers[edit | edit source]
Family History Center and Affiliate Library Locator map - search for local Family History Centers or Affiliate Libraries
- Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance, free access to center-only databases, and to premium genealogical websites.
- FamilySearch Affiliate Libraries have access to most center-only databases, but may not always have full services normally provided by a family history center.
Local Centers and Affiliate Libraries
- Dayton Ohio Family History Center
- Dayton Ohio East Family History Center
- Piqua Public Library - an affiliate library
Libraries[edit | edit source]
Listed below are libraries in Miami County. For state-wide library facilities, see Ohio Archives and Libraries.
The following public libraries in Miami County have collections of particular interest to genealogists.
Troy-Miami County Public Library
419 W Main St
Troy, OH 45373
937-339-0502
Website
J. R. Clarke Public Library
102 E Spring St
Covington, OH 45318-1500
937-473-2226
Website
Milton-Union Public Library
560 S Main St
West Milton, OH 45383-1406
937-698-5515
Website
Piqua Public Library
116 W High St
Piqua, OH 45356
937-773-6753
Website
Tipp City Public Library
11 E Main St
Tipp City, OH 45371
937-667-3826
Website
Museums[edit | edit source]
Museum of Troy History
124 E Water St
Troy, OH 45373
937-339-5155
Email:museumoftroyhistory124@gmail.com
Website
The Miami Valley Military History Museum
Building 120
120 Ohio Ave
Dayton, OH 45428
937-267-7628
E-mail:mvmhm2007@gmail.com
Website
Societies[edit | edit source]
Listed below are societies in Miami County. For state-wide genealogical societies, see Ohio Societies.
Miami County Historical & Genealogical Society, Inc
PO Box 808
Piqua, OH 45356
E-mail:mchgsohio@gmail.com
Website
Troy Historical Society
PO Box 401
100 W Main St
Troy, OH 45373
937-339-5900
E-mail:tths@frontier.com
Webpage
Websites[edit | edit source]
- Local Gov't Records by County at Ohio History Connection — Browse their list; records are not online.
- Custom Browse of Historical Collections at Ohio Memory — Use map or alpha bar to select county or place, then browse search options in left sidebar.
- Ohio Genealogical Society ($) — online databases
- Miami County OH Genealogy at LDS Genealogy
- Miami County OhGenWeb at OHGenWeb
- Miami County USGW Archive at USGenWeb Archive
- Miami County, Ohio at The Troy Historical Society - links to court records, newspapers, histories of the county, etc.
- FamilySearch Catalog – The FamilySearch catalog contains descriptions and access information for all genealogical materials (including books, online materials, microfilm, microfiche, and publications) in their collection. Use Historical Records to search for specific individuals in genealogical records.
Research Guides[edit | edit source]
References[edit | edit source]
- ↑ Ohio Atlas of Historical County Boundaries Ohio: Individual County Chronologies; Copyright The Newberry Library 2007
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Ohio.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- ↑ Genealogy Trails History Group, “Miami County, Ohio Genealogy and History”, http://genealogytrails.com/ohio/miami/ accessed 2/22/2017.
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Ohio.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Ohio.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- ↑ Ohio Atlas of Historical County Boundaries Ohio: Individual County Chronologies; Copyright The Newberry Library 2007
- ↑ Wikipedia contributors, "Miami County, Ohio," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Miami_County,_Ohio, accessed 3 January 2019.
