Miami County, Indiana Genealogy
Guide to Miami County, Indiana ancestry, genealogy and family history, birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, and military records.
|
| ||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
| ||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
County Information[edit | edit source]
Description[edit | edit source]
Miami County was named for the Miami tribe, Kentucky. It is located in the north-central area of the state.[3]
County Courthouse[edit | edit source]
Miami County Courthouse
25 North Broadway
Peru, IN 46970
Phone: 756-472-3901
County Website
Miami County Health Department
35 Court Street
Peru, IN, 46970
Health Officer: Christi Redmon, MD
Phone: 765-472-3901
Fax: 765-473-6398
Email: healthofficer@miamicountyin.gov
Health Department
County Health Department has birth, death and burial records.
County Clerk has marriage, divorce, probate and court records from 1843. Indiana. [4]
Health Department has birth records and death records.
Copies may be obtained from the county health department or the Indiana State Division of Vital Records.
Miami County, Indiana Record Dates[edit | edit source]
Information for this chart was taken from various sources, often containing conflicting dates. This information should be taken as a guide and should be verified by contacting the county and/or the state government agency.
| Birth* | Marriage | Death* | Court | Land | Probate | Census |
| 1882 | 1843 | 1882 | 1843 | 1836 | 1843 | 1807 |
Record Loss[edit | edit source]
For suggestions about research in places that suffered historic record losses, see:
|
Boundary Changes[edit | edit source]
|
Populated Places[edit | edit source]
For a complete list of populated places, including small neighborhoods and suburbs, visit HomeTown Locator. The following are the most historically and genealogically relevant populated places in this county:[8]
| Cities | ||
| Towns | ||
| Unincorporated communities | ||
| Census-designated places | ||
| Townships | ||
| Ghost towns | ||
History Timeline[edit | edit source]
Resources[edit | edit source]
Bible Records[edit | edit source]
Biographies[edit | edit source]
- Biographical and Genealogical History of Cass, Miami, Howard and Tipton Counties, Indiana. 2003. La Crosse WI: Brookhaven Press. Available online at: FamilySearch Digital Library; Hathitrust
- Indiana Biography Index at Indiana State Library
Business, Commerce, and Occupations[edit | edit source]
Cemeteries[edit | edit source]
Census Records[edit | edit source]
For tips on accessing Miami County census records online, see: Indiana Census.
| Historical populations | ||
|---|---|---|
| Census | Pop. | %± |
| 1840 | 3,048 | — |
| 1850 | 11,304 | 270.9% |
| 1860 | 16,851 | 49.1% |
| 1870 | 21,052 | 24.9% |
| 1880 | 24,083 | 14.4% |
| 1890 | 25,823 | 7.2% |
| 1900 | 28,344 | 9.8% |
| 1910 | 29,350 | 3.5% |
| 1920 | 28,668 | −2.3% |
| 1930 | 29,032 | 1.3% |
| 1940 | 27,926 | −3.8% |
| 1950 | 28,201 | 1.0% |
| 1960 | 38,000 | 34.7% |
| 1970 | 39,246 | 3.3% |
| 1980 | 39,820 | 1.5% |
| 1990 | 36,897 | −7.3% |
| 2000 | 36,082 | −2.2% |
| 2010 | 36,903 | 2.3% |
| Source: "Wikipedia.org". | ||
- Index to Defective, Dependent & Delinquent Census for Miami County, Indiana (1880) at Indiana Genealogical Society ($)
Church Records[edit | edit source]
Most church records are held by individual churches. For contact information, check a phone directory, such as SearchBug or Dex Knows. Some denominations are gathering their records into a central repository.
For more information about these major repositories, see Indiana Church Records.
List of Churches and Church Parishes
- Churches of Miami County at INGenWeb
- Young People's Christian Association. Historical Committee (Kokomo, Indiana). Mennonite Church history of Howard and Miami counties, Indiana. Mennonite Publishing House, Scottsdale, PA 1916. Online at:FamilySearch Digital Library.
Ward and Branch Records of The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints
- Peru
Court Records[edit | edit source]
Directories[edit | edit source]
Emigration and Immigration[edit | edit source]
Ethnic, Political, and Religious Groups[edit | edit source]
African Americans
- 28th US Colored Troops, Addition Recruits for Colored Troops
- Miami Nation of Indians of the State of Indiana
80 W. 6th St.
Peru, IN 46970
Phone: 765-473-9631
Website
Funeral Homes[edit | edit source]
Genealogies[edit | edit source]
Guardianship[edit | edit source]
Land and Property Records[edit | edit source]
Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents. See Indiana Land and Property for additional information about early Indiana land grants and patents.
After land was transferred from the government to private ownership, subsequent transactions were recorded at the Miami County courthouse, where records are currently housed.
Local Histories[edit | edit source]
Local histories are available for Miami County. County histories may include biographies; church, school and government histories; and military information. For more information about local histories, see Indiana Local Histories.
- History of Miami County. 1896. By John H. Stephens. Peru, Indiana : John H. Stephens Pub. House. Online at: FamilySearch Digital Library, Hathitrust; At various libraries (WorldCat).
- History of Miami County, Indiana. 2 volumes. 1914. By Arthur L. Bodurtha. Chicago : Lewis Pub. Co. Vol. 1 - FamilySearch Digital Library, Vol. 2 - FamilySearch Digital Library, Vol. 1 - Internet Archive, Vol. 2 - Internet Archive, Ancestry ($).
- History of Miami County Indiana : from the Earliest Time to the Present. 1887. Chicago : Brant & Fuller. Online at: FamilySearch Digital Library, Hathitrust, Internet Archive, Google Books; At various libraries (WorldCat). Index: EveryNameIndex.com, compiled by Cathy L. O'Connor, 2008.
Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]
for more resources
- Historic Indiana Maps at IUPUI University Library
- Old Antique Atlases & Maps of Indiana
- FamilySearch Places: Map of cities and towns in this county - How to Use FS Places
Migration[edit | edit source]
Military Records[edit | edit source]
Civil War
Civil War service men from Miami County served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Miami County.
- 8th Regiment, Indiana Cavalry, Company A
- 12th Regiment, Indiana Cavalry, Companies L, and M
- 14th Battery, Indiana Light
- 16th Regiment, Indiana Infantry, Reorganized Companies F, and I
- 17th Regiment, Indiana Infantry, Company F
- 20th Regiment, Indiana Infantry, Company A , and Reorganized Company H
- 21st Battery, Indiana Light Artillery
- 26th Regiment, Indiana Infantry, Company A
- 29th Regiment, Indiana Infantry, Company H
- 31st Regiment, Indiana Infantry, Company B
- 40th Regiment, Indiana Infantry, Company B
- 51st Regiment, Indiana Infantry, Company G
- 87th Regiment, Indiana Infantry, Company C
- 99th Regiment, Indiana Infantry, Companies D, and I
- 109th Regiment, Indiana Infantry, Company D, and F
- 134th Regiment, Indiana Infantry (100 days, 1864), Company K
- 138th Regiment, Indiana Infantry (100 days, 1864), Company A
- 139th Regiment, Indiana Infantry (100 days, 1864), Company A
- 142nd Regiment, Indiana Infantry, Companies I, and K
- 151st Regiment, Indiana Infantry, Companies C, and D
- 155th Regiment, Indiana Infantry, Company K
- 28th US Colored Troops, Addition Recruits for Colored Troops
Civil War Book
- Military History, Chapter 11 in Bodurtha, Arthur L. History of Miami County, Indiana: A Narrative Account of Its Historical Progress, Its People and Its Principal Interests. 2008. Chicago: Lewis Pub. Co. Available online at: FamilySearch Digital Library; Internet Archive - Vol. 1; Internet Archive - Vol. 2.
World War I
- 1919 Indiana, World War I, Enrollment Cards, 1919 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection
Naturalization and Citizenship[edit | edit source]
- Naturalization Record Series (for this county) at Indiana Digital Archives. Search by names.
Newspapers[edit | edit source]
Indiana newspapers may contain genealogical value including obituaries, births, marriages, deaths, anniversaries, family gatherings, family travel, achievements, business notices, engagement information, and probate court proceedings.
For more Indiana newspaper information see the wiki page Indiana Newspapers.
- 1800s-1999 U.S., Newspapers.com Marriage Index, 1800s-1999 at Ancestry - index ($)
- Hoosier State Chronicles
Obituaries[edit | edit source]
Other Records[edit | edit source]
Periodicals[edit | edit source]
Probate Records[edit | edit source]
In most counties in Indiana, probate records have been kept by the county clerk of the circuit court. They include wills, fee books, claim registers, legacy records, inheritance records, probate ticklers, and dockets. The records are available at the Miami County courthouse. For more information, see Indiana Probate Records.
- 1798-1999 Indiana, Wills and Probate Records 1798-1999 at Ancestry
School Records[edit | edit source]
- Students, Teachers, and Alumni of various Schools in Miami County (1886-1963) at Indiana Genealogical Society ($)
Social Security Records[edit | edit source]
- 1935-2014 United States Social Security Death Index at FamilySearch - How to use this collection; index. Also at Ancestry, findmypast, Fold3, GenealogyBank, MyHeritage, and Steve Morse. Click here for more information.
- 1936-2007 U.S., Social Security Applications and Claims Index, 1936-2007 at Ancestry ($) — index, click here for more information.
Tax Records[edit | edit source]
Indiana tax records complement land records and can be used in place of censuses or to supplement the years between censuses. Because only persons who owned taxable property were listed, many residents were not included in tax lists. There may also be gaps of several years in the tax records of some counties. For more information see the wiki page Indiana Taxation.
Vital Records[edit | edit source]
Vital records consist of birth, death, marriage and divorce records. Indiana law in 1882 required registration of births and deaths in counties. The Indiana Department of Health has birth records filed after October 1907 and death records filed after January 1900 for deaths. Copies may be obtained from the county health department or the Indiana State Division of Vital Records.
- Bakehorn, Ray. Early Birth, Marriage and Death Records of Miami County, Indiana. 1990. S.l: s.n. Available online at: Internet Archive
Birth[edit | edit source]
Marriage[edit | edit source]
- 1780-1992 Indiana Marriages, 1780-1992 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; Also at: MyHeritage ($)
- 1800s-2007 Indiana, United States Marriages at Findmypast ($)
- 1802-1892 Indiana, Compiled Marriages, 1802-1892 at Ancestry
- 1811-1959 Indiana, Marriages, 1811-1959 at MyHeritage - index and images, ($)
- 1811-2007 Indiana Marriages, 1811-2007 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection
Death[edit | edit source]
- Pre-1882 WEB: Indiana, Deaths, Pre-1882 at Ancestry.com - index, (Free collection)
- 1750-1993 Indiana Deaths and Burials, 1750-1993 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection
- 1882-1920 Indiana, Death Index, 1882-1920 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection
- 1899-2011 Indiana, Death Certificates, 1899-2011 at Ancestry
Divorce[edit | edit source]
Research Facilities[edit | edit source]
Archives[edit | edit source]
Listed below are archives in Miami County. For state-wide archival repositories, see Indiana Archives and Libraries.
Family History Centers[edit | edit source]
Family History Center and Affiliate Library Locator map - search for local Family History Centers or Affiliate Libraries
- Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance, free access to center-only databases, and to premium genealogical websites.
- FamilySearch Affiliate Libraries have access to most center-only databases, but may not always have full services normally provided by a family history center.
Local Centers and Affiliate Libraries
- Huntington Indiana Family History Center
- Kokomo Indiana Family History Center
- Marion Indiana Family History Center
- Huntington City - Township Public Library - an affiliate library.
- Kokomo-Howard County Public Library - an affiliate library.
- Marion Public Library/ Indiana History and Genealogy Service - an affiliate library.
Libraries[edit | edit source]
Listed below are libraries in Miami County. For state-wide genealogical societies, see Indiana Archives and Libraries.
Peru Public Library
102 E. Main St
Peru, IN 46970
Phone: 765-473-3069
Email: perupubliclibrary@yahoo.com
Website
Museums[edit | edit source]
Societies[edit | edit source]
Listed below are societies in Miami County. For state-wide genealogical societies, see Indiana Societies.
Miami County Historical Society and Museum
51 N. Broadway
Peru, IN 46970
Phone: 765-473-9183
Email: admin@mcmuseum.org
Facebook
Miami Nation of Indians of the State of Indiana
80 W. 6th St.
Peru, IN 46970
Phone: 765-473-9631
Facebook
Website
Websites[edit | edit source]
- Indiana Digital Archives Search by name in all records or specific collections
- Indiana Historical Society Digital Collections Extensive - keyword searches suggested
- Indiana Memory Click the map or select a statewide collection
- List of indexes and databases at Indiana State Library
- Indiana Genealogical Society Databases Free and Members-only. Scroll the list.
- INGenWeb, Miami County. May have maps, name indexes, history or other information for this county.
- EveryNameIndex.com for Indiana Free online genealogy indexes for county histories. Select a county.
- Miami County, Indiana: Family History & Genealogy, Census, Birth, Marriage, Death Vital Records & More at Linkpendium
- FamilySearch Catalog – The FamilySearch catalog contains descriptions and access information for all genealogical materials (including books, online materials, microfilm, microfiche, and publications) in their collection. Use Historical Records to search for specific individuals in genealogical records.
Research Guides[edit | edit source]
References[edit | edit source]
- ↑ Wikipedia contributors, "Miami County, Indiana" in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia at http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Miami_County,_Indiana (accessed 10 May 2012).
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Miami County, Indiana. Page 211-218, FHL Book 973 D27e 2002
- ↑ Wikipedia contributors, "Miami County," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Miami_County,_Indiana (accessed 29 Mar 2017)
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Miami County, Indiana. Page 211-218, FHL Book 973 D27e 2002
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Indiana. FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Indiana. FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- ↑ Wikipedia contributors, "Miami County, Indiana" in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia at http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Miami_County,_Indiana (accessed 10 May 2012).
- ↑ Wikipedia contributors, "Miami County, Indiana," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Miami_County,_Indiana (accessed 24 December 2019).