Merrimack County, New Hampshire Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Guide to Merrimack County, New Hampshire ancestry, genealogy and family history, birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

County Facts
County seat: Concord
Organized: August 1, 1823[1]
Parent County(s): Hillsborough, Rockingham
Neighboring Counties
Belknap  • Grafton  • Hillsborough  • Rockingham  • Strafford  • Sullivan
See County Maps
Courthouse
New Hampshire, Merrimack County Courthouse.png
Location Map
Nh-merrimack.png
Adoption

County Information[edit | edit source]

Description[edit | edit source]

Merrimack County is located in the south central region of the state. The county was named for the Merrimack River. [2]

County Courthouse[edit | edit source]

Merrimack County Courthouse
5 Court Street
Concord, NH 03301
Phone: 855-212-1234
Merrimack County Website

County Clerk has divorce records from 1840 and court records from 1823.
Town or City Clerks have birth, marriage, death, burial records.
Probate Judge has probate records from 1823.
Register of Deeds has land records from 1823.[3]

Merrimack County, New Hampshire Record Dates[edit | edit source]

Information for this chart was taken from various sources, often containing conflicting dates. This information should be taken as a guide and should be verified by contacting the county and/or the state government agency.

Known Beginning Dates for Major Records[4]
Birth* Marriage Death* Court Land Probate Census
1823 1823 1823 1823 1823 1823 1790
*Statewide registration for births and deaths started 1866. General compliance by 1901.

Record Loss[edit | edit source]

There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.

Boundary Changes[edit | edit source]

Populated Places[edit | edit source]

New HampshireMerrimack CountyCheshire CountyHillsborough CountyRockingham CountyBelknap CountyGrafton CountySullivan CountyHooksettAllenstownEpsomPittsfieldChichesterPembrokeBowDunbartonHennikerHopkintonConcordLoudonCanterburyBoscawenWebsterWarnerBradfordNewburySuttonNew LondonWilmotSalisburyAndoverDanburyHillFranklinNorthfieldHarrisvilleNelsonStoddardHancockAntrimWindsorHillsboroughGreenfieldBenningtonFrancestownDeeringWeareNew BostonGoffstownBedfordManchesterWashingtonLempsterGoshenSunapeeNewportCroydonGranthamSpringfieldAuburnChesterCandiaRaymondDeerfieldNorthwoodStraffordBarnsteadGilmantonAltonBelmontTiltonGilfordLaconiaSanborntonMeredithNew HamptonWolfeboroEnfieldGraftonCanaanOrangeAlexandriaBristolBridgewater
Modern town borders in Merrimack County, New Hampshire.


For a complete list of populated places, including small neighborhoods and suburbs, visit HomeTown Locator. The following are the most historically and genealogically relevant populated places in this county:[7]

Cities
Towns
Villages
Unincorporated communities
Census-designated places

Towns Organized Before 1800:

  • Andover 1779
  • Bradford 1787
  • Bow 1727
  • Boscawen 1760
  • Canterbury 1727
  • Chichester 1727
  • Concord 1765
  • Dunbarton 1765
  • Epsom 1727
  • Henniker 1768
  • Hopkinton 1765
  • Loudon 1773
  • Newbury 1778
  • New London 1779
  • Northfield 1780
  • Pembroke 1759
  • Pittsfield 1782
  • Salisbury 1768
  • Sutton 1784
  • Warner 1774

History Timeline[edit | edit source]

Resources[edit | edit source]

Bible Records[edit | edit source]

Biographies[edit | edit source]

Business, Commerce, and Occupations[edit | edit source]

Cemeteries[edit | edit source]

Cemeteries of Merrimack County, New Hampshire online and in print
Tombstone Transcriptions Online
Tombstone Transcriptions in Print (Often more complete)
List of Cemeteries in the County
See New Hampshire Cemeteries for more information.

 

Census Records[edit | edit source]

Historical populations
Census Pop.
1830 34,614
1840 36,253 4.7%
1850 40,337 11.3%
1860 41,408 2.7%
1870 42,151 1.8%
1880 46,300 9.8%
1890 49,435 6.8%
1900 52,430 6.1%
1910 53,335 1.7%
1920 51,770 −2.9%
1930 56,152 8.5%
1940 60,710 8.1%
1950 63,022 3.8%
1960 67,785 7.6%
1970 80,925 19.4%
1980 98,302 21.5%
1990 120,005 22.1%
2000 136,225 13.5%
2010 146,445 7.5%
Source: "Wikipedia.org".

Church Records[edit | edit source]

Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about New Hampshire denominations, view the New Hampshire Church Records Wiki page. For tips on how to determine denomination, view the New Hampshire Research Tips and Strategies Wiki page.

List of Churches and Church Parishes

Court Records[edit | edit source]

Online Court Indexes and Records

Directories[edit | edit source]

The Family History Library has many city directories on microfilm. See the FamilySearch Catalog and look up the city or town - Directories. For example Concord, New Hampshire city directories are available on microfilms and/or microfiche for 1830 to 1935 with gaps for some years. Those directories also often include the names of persons living in other towns in the county.

Many directories are also available on the internet at www.ancestry.com. Go to Ancestry's card catalog, and under Search Titles, then type New Hampshire City Directories. Then you can select the city and see for which years ancestry has digital images of the city directories.

Emigration and Immigration[edit | edit source]

Ethnic, Political, and Religious Groups[edit | edit source]

Funeral Homes[edit | edit source]

Genealogies[edit | edit source]

Guardianship[edit | edit source]

Land and Property Records[edit | edit source]

Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents. See New Hampshire Land and Property for additional information about early New Hampshire land grants. A

Online Land Indexes and Records

Local Histories[edit | edit source]

County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section New Hampshire Local Histories.

There are town histories for most of the towns in Merrimack County, and there is often a genealogical section with a great deal of family history information. The Family History Library has microfilmed many of those books, and some are on the internet.

For the following towns the Family History Library has town histories or genealogical collections which include a good deal of genealogical information: Andover, Boscawen. Bow, Bradford, Canterbury, Concord, Dunbarton, Epsom, Henniker, Hopkinton, Loudon, New London, Northfield, Pembroke, Pittsfield, Salisbury, Sutton, and Webster.

For the other towns, Allenstown, Chichester, Danbury, Franklin, Hill, Hookset, Loudon, Newbury, Warner, and Wilmot the Family History Library usually has microfilms of births, marriages, and deaths, and often cemetery records.

The New Hampshire State Library in Concord, New Hampshire has a vast collection of books about New Hampshire towns and counties. Check their internet catalog for a town of interest.

The [1] also in Concord has a very large collection of local history books and other publications.

If your ancestor lived in the area that is Merrimack County, before 1823, you will need to determine if the town where your ancestor lived was in Hillsborough, Grafton, or Rockingham counties. Ancestry's Redbook: American State, County, and Town Sources, 3rd ed., Provo, Ut., 2004 (FHL book 973 D27) has a map of New Hampshire on page 437, and after the map there is a list of towns telling to which county the town belongs now, and to which county it belonged before 1823.

The eastern half of Merrimack County including the towns from Hookset, up to Concord, and up to and including Franklin was taken from Rockinginham County in 1823.
The nothern two towns of Danbury and Hill were taken from Grafton County in 1823.
The western towns of Merrimack County in the line of Dunbarton, Hopkinton, Boscowen, Salisbury, to Andover and westwards were taken from Hillsborough County in 1823.

Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]

Grafton CountyBelknap CountyStrafford CountyRockingham CountyHillsborough CountySullivan CountyNH MERRIMACK.PNG
Click a neighboring county
for more resources


For historical publications and online resources for the state, see the pages: New Hampshire Maps and New Hampshire Gazetteers.

There are two very good early atlases that show the county and town boundary lines. One was published in 1822 by H. C. Carey and I. Lea, A Complete, Historical, Chronological, and Geographical American Atlas: . .. Philadelphia: H. C. Carey and I. Lea, 1822 (FHL film 02083 item 6).

The second very useful early atlas was published in 1838 by T. G. Bradford, An Illustrated Atlas, Geographical, Statistical, and Historical, of the United States, and Adjacent Countries. Boston: Weeks, Jordan and Company, 1838 (FHL film 02083 item 7).

Migration[edit | edit source]

Military Records[edit | edit source]

Revolutionary War
The most complete listing of New Hampshire Revolutionary War soldiers is found in volumes 14-17 of the New Hampshire State Papers. You can go to google.com, and look for New Hampshire State Papers with the link to ancestry.com. There you will find a name index to volumes 14-17, then you can go to the needed volume and page for information on the soldier. Often the place of residence is given.

For a military history of New Hampshire, see: Potter, Chandler Eastman, The Military History of the State of New Hampshire. Concord, N.H.: McFarland and Jenks, 1866. (Family History Library film 1033664; fiche 6046858.) You can search this book on-line by going to google.com. Look for ancestry.com as the internet way to search this book. This history comprises events from the first settlements in New Hampshire to the rebellion in 1861. It includes biographical notices of many of the officers and explanatory notes.

Civil War
Online Civil War Indexes and Records

Regiments.' Civil War service men from Merrimack County served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are many companies or regiments that were formed from men of Merrimack County.

- 1st Regiment, New Hampshire Cavalry, Troops A, D, E, F, G, H, I, L, and M.
- 1st Regiment, New Hampshire Heavy Artillery, Companies A, B, C, E, and L.
- 1st Regiment, New Hampshire Infantry, Companies D and F.
- 2nd Regiment, New Hampshire Infantry, Companies B, C, E, and H.
- 3rd Regiment, New Hampshire Infantry, Companies B and E.
- 4th Regiment, New Hampshire Infantry, Companies D, E, and I.
- 5th Regiment, New Hampshire Infantry, Companies A, E, F, and I.
- 6th Regiment, New Hampshire Infantry, Company I.
- 8th Regiment, New Hampshire Infantry, Company H.
- 9th Regiment, New Hampshire Infantry, Companies A, B, and I.
- 10th Regiment, New Hampshire Infantry, Companies D and E.
- 11th Regiment, New Hampshire Infantry, Companies D, E, and F.
- 12th Regiment, New Hampshire Infantry, Companies C, D and F.
- 13th Regiment, New Hampshire Infantry, Companies C and E.
- 14th Regiment, New Hampshire Infantry, Companies H and K.
- 15th Regiment, New Hampshire Infantry, Companies D, F, and G.
- 16th Regiment, New Hampshire Infantry, Companies D, E, and H.
- 17th Regiment, New Hampshire Infantry, Companies A and B.
- 18th Regiment, New Hampshire Infantry, Companies A, B, C, D, E, F, and G.
- New Hampshire Sharpshooters, 1st Company E.
- New Hampshire Sharpshooters, 2nd Companies F and G.
- New Hampshire Sharpshooters, 3rd Company.


World War I

  • 1917-1918: A very helpful source for World War I is an index at www.ancestry.com of World War I draft registration records, 1917-1918. All men between ages eighteen and forty-five were required to register. Their birth date and place, address, and sometimes the name of nearest kin, are listed on the card. Many of these men served in the war.

World War II

Naturalization and Citizenship[edit | edit source]

Online Naturalization Indexes and Records

Newspapers[edit | edit source]

Newspaperarchive.com ($) has historical newspapers available on-line. Their database has Portsmouth, NH newspapers from the late 1700's covering local news that included residents from Merrimack County communities.
Another internet source is genealogybank.com. This site has Concord, New Hampshire newspapers from 1790 to 1891.

Obituaries[edit | edit source]

Other Records[edit | edit source]

Periodicals[edit | edit source]

Probate Records[edit | edit source]

In most counties in New Hampshire, probate records have been kept by the county. They include wills, fee books, claim registers, legacy records, inheritance records, probate ticklers, and dockets. The records are available at the county courthouse.


Online Probate Indexes and Records

School Records[edit | edit source]

Social Security Records[edit | edit source]

Tax Records[edit | edit source]

Online Tax Indexes and Records
Many town tax records have been preserved by town clerks and town tax officials. Town tax records were generally taken each year. The Family History Library has many town records on microfilms. For microfilm numbers see the FamilySearch Catalog under New Hampshire - Merrimack County - [name of town] - Town Records. You may wish to contact the Town Clerk's Office to see if they have addtional tax records.

Town Records[edit | edit source]

Vital Records[edit | edit source]

In 1905, when the state created the Bureau of Vital Records and Health, printed cards were distributed to the local town clerks and earlier vital records were transcribed onto the cards and submitted to the state. Certified copies of of birth, death, and marriage records are also available from the State Division of Archives and Records Management or from the local city and town clerk where the event took place. Original records are kept by the city or town clerk and copies are sent to the state.

Birth[edit | edit source]

Marriage[edit | edit source]

Death[edit | edit source]

Divorce[edit | edit source]

Research Facilities[edit | edit source]

Archives[edit | edit source]

Family History Centers[edit | edit source]

Family History Center and Affiliate Library Locator map - search for local Family History Centers or Affiliate Libraries

  • Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance, free access to center-only databases, and to premium genealogical websites.
  • FamilySearch Affiliate Libraries have access to most center-only databases, but may not always have full services normally provided by a family history center.

Local Centers and Affiliate Libraries

Libraries[edit | edit source]

Museums[edit | edit source]

Societies[edit | edit source]

Merrimack Historical Societies as listed by CountyOffice.orgWebsite

Websites[edit | edit source]

Research Guides[edit | edit source]

References[edit | edit source]

  1. Newberry
  2. Wikipedia contributors, "Merrimack County," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Merrimack_County,_New_Hampshire accessed 25 September 2018.
  3. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Merrimack County, New Hampshire page 452, At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  4. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Merrimack County, New Hampshire. Page 452-453. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002; Alice Eichholz, ed. Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County, and Town Sources, Third ed. (Provo, Utah: Ancestry, 2004), 436.
  5. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), 181. [FHL book 973 D27e 2002].
  6. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), New Hampshire.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  7. Wikipedia contributors, "Merrimack County, New Hampshire," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Merrimack_County,_New_Hampshire, accessed 16 November 2018.