Mecklenburg County, Virginia Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Guide to Mecklenburg County, Virginia ancestry, genealogy and family history, birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

County Facts
County seat: Boydton
Organized: 01 Mar 1765[1]
Parent County(s): Lunenburg
Variant Spellings: Mecklenburgh[2]
Neighboring Counties
Brunswick  • Charlotte  • Granville (NC)  • Halifax  • Lunenburg  • Vance (NC)  • Warren (NC)
See County Maps
Courthouse
VirginiaMecklenburgCourthouse.jpg
Location Map
Location of Mecklenburg County, Virginia.png
Adoption

County Information[edit | edit source]

Description[edit | edit source]

Mecklenburg County is located in the south-central portion of the Commonwealth of Virginia and shares a border with North Carolina. Mecklenburg County was named after Queen Charlotte of Mecklenburg-Strelitz, wife of King George III.[3]

County Courthouse[edit | edit source]

Mecklenburg County Courthouse
911 Madison Street
PO Box 306
Boydton, VA 23917-0306
Phone: 434-738-6260
Mecklenburg County Website

Clerk Circuit Court has marriage, probate, land and court records[4]

Mecklenburg County, Virginia Record Dates[edit | edit source]

Information for this chart was taken from various sources, often containing conflicting dates. This information should be taken as a guide and should be verified by contacting the county and/or the state government agency.

Known Beginning Dates for Major County Records[5]
Birth* Marriage Death* Court Land Probate Census
1853 1765 1853 1764 1765 1764 1810
* Statewide registration for births and deaths began in 1912.
General compliance year is unknown.

Record Loss[edit | edit source]

Boundary Changes[edit | edit source]

Populated Places[edit | edit source]

For a complete list of populated places, including small neighborhoods and suburbs, visit HomeTown Locator. The following are the most historically and genealogically relevant populated places in this county:[9]

Towns
Unincorporated communities
Census-designated places


History Timeline[edit | edit source]

Resources[edit | edit source]

Bible Records[edit | edit source]

For databases and indexes, see Virginia Bible Records.

Biographies[edit | edit source]

Business, Commerce, and Occupations[edit | edit source]

  • Cutten, George Barton. The Silversmiths of Virginia (together with Watchmakers and Jewelers) from 1694 to 1850. Richmond, Va.: The Dietz Press, Incorporated, 1952. Available at FHL. [Includes a section on Mecklenburg County silversmiths.]

Cemeteries[edit | edit source]

Cemeteries of Mecklenburg County, Virginia online and in print
Tombstone Transcriptions Online
Tombstone Transcriptions in Print (Often more complete)
List of Cemeteries in the County
See Virginia Cemeteries for more information.

 

Census Records[edit | edit source]

For databases, indexes, and information online, see Virginia Census.

Historical populations
Census Pop.
1790 14,733
1800 17,008 15.4%
1810 18,453 8.5%
1820 19,786 7.2%
1830 20,477 3.5%
1840 20,724 1.2%
1850 20,630 −0.5%
1860 20,096 −2.6%
1870 21,318 6.1%
1880 24,610 15.4%
1890 25,359 3.0%
1900 26,551 4.7%
1910 28,956 9.1%
1920 31,208 7.8%
1930 32,622 4.5%
1940 31,933 −2.1%
1950 33,497 4.9%
1960 31,428 −6.2%
1970 29,426 −6.4%
1980 29,444 0.1%
1990 29,241 −0.7%
2000 32,280 10.4%
2010 32,727 1.4%
Source: "Wikipedia.org".

1782 Enumeration

1790 - Lost, but a subsitute is available, see Taxation.
1800 - Lost, but a subsitute is available, see Taxation.
1810 - Lost, but a subsitute is available, see Taxation.
1890 Union Veterans

Church Records[edit | edit source]

List of Churches and Church Parishes

Baptist
Early Baptist churches (with years constituted):

  1. Allen's Creek (1791)[10]
  2. Blue Stone (1772)[10]
  3. Buffaloe (1778)[10]
  4. Maloane's or Geneto (1773)[10]
  5. Wilson's (1799)[10]
  • 1776 Petition of Baptists (10,000 names!) and sympathizers from all over Virginia, dated 16 October 1776, asking for an end to persecution of Baptists by the established church. After locating your ancestor, view the digital copies.
    – Digital copies at Library of Congress; also at Library of Virginia using the code word "000606093"
    – Hall, Jean Pickett. "Legislative Petitions: the 10,000 name petition" transcription in the Magazine of Virginia Genealogy, Vols. 35-38, with annotations in Vol. 39, (Richmond, Virginia: Virginia Genealogical Society, 1983-) online at Ancestry ($) and in book form at various libraries.
    Mecklenburg County fell within the bounds of the Meherrin Association and the Roanoke Association.

Church of England
Gotoarrow.png See also St. James Parish Meade's 1861 history of parishes in Mecklenburg County is available online.[11]

Quaker
Early monthly meetings (with years of existence):

  • Durham's Monthly Meeting (1790-?)[12]
  • Ladd's Monthly Meeting (1790-1808) aka Taylor's Creek[12]

Court Records[edit | edit source]

Online Court Indexes and Records
Library of Virginia's Virginia Memory: Chancery Records Index can be used to search Mecklenburg County chancery records for the years 1783-1941. Originals located at the Library of Virginia.

Directories[edit | edit source]

Emigration and Immigration[edit | edit source]

For databases and immigrant groups, see Virginia Emigration and Immigration

  • List of imported servants and transported convicts from Europe who served labor terms in Colonial Virginia are online at: Immigrant Servants Database.

Ethnic, Political, and Religious Groups[edit | edit source]

African American
In 1860, Mecklenburg County had one of the largest enslaved populations in the state (12,420 individuals). Ten years later in 1870, it had one of the largest African American populations in Virginia (14,156).[13]

Funeral Homes[edit | edit source]

Genealogies[edit | edit source]

Compiled Genealogies by Surname

A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z

Compiled Genealogies for Multiple Families

Guardianship[edit | edit source]

Land and Property Records[edit | edit source]

For land indexes, records, and databases, see Virginia Land and Property, including Colonial and State Land Grants.

Online Land Indexes and Records

Grants and Patents
Land patents (pre-1779), land grants (after 1779) and surveys are available online at the Library of Virginia website. For step-by-step instructions on retrieving these records, read the Virginia Land and Property article.

Local Histories[edit | edit source]

Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]

County and state maps, historical and more current, are valuable research tools. For map collections, online and in libraries, see Virginia Maps.

Halifax CountyCharlotte CountyLunenburg CountyBrunswick CountyWarren CountyVance CountyGranville CountyVA MECKLENBURG.PNG
Click a neighboring county
for more resources

Migration[edit | edit source]

  • Clay, Robert Y. "Some Delinquent Taxpayers 1787-1790," The Virginia Genealogist, Vol. 20, No. 3 (Jul.-Sep. 1976):199-208; Vol. 22, No. 1 (Jan.-Mar. 1978):43-50. Available at FHL; digital version at American Ancestors by NEHGS ($). [These records identify migrants who left the county and often their intended destinations. Mecklenburg County's 1787-1788 Delinquent Lists appear on 20:204-207; 1788-1789 Delinquent Lists appear on 22:46-50.]
  • Elliott, Katherine B. Emigration to Other States from Southside Virginia. 2 vols. South Hill, Virginia: K.B. Elliott, 1966. Vol. 1 of original edition available at FHL; 1983 reprints (both volumes) available at FHL; 1990-1992 reprints (both volumes) also available at FHL. [Includes individuals who migrated out of Mecklenburg County to other parts of the country.]
  • Bell, Mary McCampbell. "Some Migrations from Virginia to South Carolina," The South Carolina Magazine of Ancestral Research, Vol. 10, No. 3 (Summer 1982):136-143. FHL Book 975.7 B2sc v. 10

Military Records[edit | edit source]

French and Indian War

  • Bockstruck, Lloyd DeWitt. Virginia's Colonial Soldiers. Baltimore: Genealogical Publishing Co., 1988. FHL Collection. [Identifies some Mecklenburg County militia officers and veterans; see place name index.]


Revolutionary War

  • Elliott, Katherine B. Revolutionary War Records, Mecklenburg County, Virginia. Easley, South Carolina: Southern Historical Press, 1983. Available at FHL.
  • A Census of Pensioners for Revolutionary or Military Services: With their Names, Ages, and Places of Residence, as Returned by the Marshalls of the Several Judicial Districts, Under the Act for Taking the Sixth Census]. 1841. Digital version at Google Books et. al. 1967 reprint: FHL Collection 973 X2pc 1840. [See Virginia, Eastern District, Mecklenburg County on page 132.]
  • Rejected or Suspended Applications for Revolutionary War Pensions. Washington, D.C., 1852. Reprinted by Genealogical Publishing Co., Inc., 1969, and 1991. Reprints include "an Added Index to States." FHL Book 973 M24ur; digital version at Ancestry ($). Includes veterans. Virginia section begins on page 238.

Regiments. Service men in Mecklenburg County served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Mecklenburg County supplied soldiers for the:

- 6th Virginia Regiment

Mecklenburg residents' participation in the Revolutionary War.[14]

War of 1812

  • Douthat, James L. Roster of War of 1812, Southside, Virginia. Signal Mountain, Tenn.: Mountain Press, 2007. Mountain Press provides online surname list. FHL Collection 975.5 M2djL. Includes Mecklenburg County.
  • List of Pensioners on the Roll, January 1, 1883; Giving the Name of Each Pensioner, the Cause for Why Pensioned, the Post-Office Address, the Rate of Pension Per Month, and the Date of Original Allowance... Washington, D.C.: Government Printing Office, 1883. FHL Collection 973 M2Lp v. 5; digital versions at Google Books and Internet Archive. See Vol. 5, Virginia, Mecklenburgh County [sic], p. 90. Identifies War of 1812 veterans living in this county in 1883.

Regiments. Mecklenburg County men served in the 22nd and 98th Regiments.[15]

Civil War

Regiments. Civil War service men in Mecklenburg County served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed here:

- 3rd Regiment, Virginia Cavalry (Confederate). Company A (Boydton Cavalry or Mecklenburg Dragoons).[16]
- 14th Regiment, Virginia Infantry (Confederate). Company E (Clarksville Blues) and Company F (Chambliss Grays).[17]
- 21st Regiment, Virginia Infantry (Confederate). Company C (Oliver Grays).[18]
- 34th Regiment, Virginia Infantry (Confederate). Company B (Mecklenburg Heavy Artillery).[19]
- 38th Regiment, Virginia Infantry (Pittsylvania Regiment) (Confederate). Company G (Mecklenburg Rifles) and 1st Company I (Confederate Guards).[20]
- 56th Regiment, Virginia Infantry (Confederate). Companies A (Mecklenburg Guards) and B (Mecklenburg Spartans).[21]


World War II

Naturalization and Citizenship[edit | edit source]

Online Naturalization Indexes and Records

Newspapers[edit | edit source]

For online newspaper resources, see the Virginia Newspapers page.

Indexed images of the Virginia Gazette (1736-1780) are available online through the Colonial Williamsburg website. In addition, Professor Tom Costa and The Rector and Visitors of the University of Virginia have created a database of all runaway advertisements for slaves, indentured servants, transported convicts, and ship deserters listed in this source and other Virginia newspapers (1736-1803), see: The Geography of Slavery in Virginia. These newspapers are valuable resources for all regions of Virginia.

Obituaries[edit | edit source]

Other Records[edit | edit source]

Voting Records

Periodicals[edit | edit source]

Probate Records[edit | edit source]

For probate records, indexes, and databases, see Virginia Probate Records.

Online Probate Indexes and Records

School Records[edit | edit source]

Social Security Records[edit | edit source]

Tax Records[edit | edit source]

For additional online collections and the value and use of Virginia's tax lists in your research, see Virginia Taxation.

Online Tax Indexes and Records

  • 1782 1782 Land Tax Records online at Genealogy Trails - free.
  • 1782-1805 FHL Mecklenburg County Personal Property Tax Lists 1782-1805; images
  • 1782-1820 Heinegg, Paul. "Mecklenburg County Personal Property Tax List, 1782-1820," Free African Americans.com. [Heinegg abstracted free blacks listed in these records.]
  • 1784 Sheriff's Tax Land Sales, 1784, Virginia Genealogist, Vol. 33, No. 4 (Oct. 1989). Available at FHL, American Ancestors by NEHGS ($).
  • 1787 Schreiner-Yantis, Netti and Florene Speakman Love. The 1787 Census of Virginia: An Accounting of the Name of Every White Male Tithable Over 21 Years, the Number of White Males Between 16 & 21 Years, the Number of Slaves over 16 & Those Under 16 Years, Together with a Listing of Their Horses, Cattle & Carriages, and Also the Names of All Persons to Whom Ordinary Licenses and Physician's Licenses Were Issued. 3 vols. Springfield, Va.: Genealogical Books in Print, 1987. FHL. [The source of this publication is the 1787 personal property tax list. Mecklenburg County is included in Vol. 1.]
  • 1787-1789 Clay, Robert Y. "Some Delinquent Taxpayers 1787-1790," The Virginia Genealogist, Vol. 20, No. 3 (Jul.-Sep. 1976):199-208; Vol. 22, No. 1 (Jan.-Mar. 1978):43-50. Available at FHL; digital version at American Ancestors by NEHGS ($). [These records identify migrants who left the county and often their intended destinations. Mecklenburg County's 1787-1788 Delinquent Lists appear on 20:204-207; 1788-1789 Delinquent Lists appear on 22:46-50.]
  • 1800 Tax List, 1800, Virginia Genealogist, Vol. 40, No. 1 (Jan. 1996); Vol. 40, No. 2 (Apr. 1996); Vol. 40, No. 3 (Jul. 1996); Vol. 40, No. 4 (Oct. 1996); Vol. 41, No. 1 (Jan. 1997); Vol. 41, No. 2 (Apr. 1997). Available at FHL, American Ancestors by NEHGS ($).
  • 1810 Schreiner-Yates, Netti. A Supplement to the 1810 Census of Virginia: Tax Lists of the Counties for which the Census is Missing. Springfield, Va.: Genealogical Books in Print, 1971. Available at FHL. [The source for this publication is the 1810 personal property tax list. Mecklenburg County is included because the 1810 Census for that county has been destroyed.]
  • 1815 Ward, Roger D. 1815 Directory of Virginia Landowners (and Gazetteer). 6 vols. Athens, Georgia: Iberian Pub. Co., 1997-2000. Available at FHL. [The source for this publication is the 1815 land tax. Mecklenburg County is included in Vol. 2.]

Vital Records[edit | edit source]

For additional indexes, databases, and details, see Virginia Vital Records.

Birth[edit | edit source]

Marriage[edit | edit source]

Death[edit | edit source]

Divorce[edit | edit source]

Research Facilities[edit | edit source]

Archives[edit | edit source]

Listed below are archives in Mecklenburg County. For state-wide facilities, see Virginia Archives and Libraries.

Family History Centers[edit | edit source]

Family History Center and Affiliate Library Locator map - search for local Family History Centers or Affiliate Libraries

  • Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance, free access to center-only databases, and to premium genealogical websites.
  • FamilySearch Affiliate Libraries have access to most center-only databases, but may not always have full services normally provided by a family history center.

Local Centers and Affiliate Libraries

Libraries[edit | edit source]

Listed below are libraries in Mecklenburg County. For state-wide library facilities, see Virginia Archives and Libraries.

Library of Virginia (Virginia State Archives)
Website

Virginia Memory Collection, part of Library of Virginia's
Website. It contains digitized collections of chanceries, newspapers, photo collections etc.


Museums[edit | edit source]

Societies[edit | edit source]

Listed below are societies in Mecklenburg County. For state-wide genealogical and historical societies, see Virginia Societies.

Websites[edit | edit source]

  • FamilySearch Catalog – The FamilySearch catalog contains descriptions and access information for all genealogical materials (including books, online materials, microfilm, microfiche, and publications) in their collection.  Use Historical Records to search for specific individuals in genealogical records.

Research Guides[edit | edit source]

References[edit | edit source]

  1. Newberry
  2. List of Pensioners on the Roll, January 1, 1883; Giving the Name of Each Pensioner, the Cause for Why Pensioned, the Post-Office Address, the Rate of Pension Per Month, and the Date of Original Allowance... (Washington, D.C.: Government Printing Office, 1883), 90. FHL Collection 973 M2Lp v. 5; digital versions at Google Books and Internet Archive.
  3. https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Mecklenburg_County,_Virginia
  4. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Iowa.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  5. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Iowa.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  6. Lost Records Localities: Counties and Cities with Missing Records, 5, in Library of Virginia (accessed 4 April 2014).
  7. Newberry
  8. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Iowa.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  9. Wikipedia contributors, "Mecklenburg_ County,_Virginia," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia,https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Mecklenburg_County,_Virginia#Communities accessed 19 February 2020.
  10. 10.0 10.1 10.2 10.3 10.4 Robert Baylor Semple and George William Beale, A History of the Rise and Progress of the Baptists in Virginia (Pitt and Dickinson, 1894), 287, 303-304. Digital version at Google Books.
  11. William Meade, Old Churches, Ministers and Families of Virginia, 2 vols. (Philadelphia: J.B. Lippincott and Co., 1861). Digital versions at Internet Archive: Vol. I and Vol. II.
  12. 12.0 12.1 Jay Worrall, The Friendly Virginians: America's First Quakers (Athens, Ga.: Iberian Publishing Company, 1994), 537-539. FHL Book 975.5 K2wj.
  13. Ninth Census of the United States: Statistics of Population, Tables I to VIII Inclusive (Washington, D.C.: Government Printing Office, 1872), 70. Digital version at Internet Archive; FHL Book 973 X2pcu.
  14. J.T. McAllister, Virginia Militia in the Revolutionary War: McAllister's Data (Hot Springs, Va.: McAllister Pub. Co., 1913), 37. Digitized by Internet Archive.
  15. Stuart Lee Butler, A Guide to Virginia Militia Units in the War of 1812 (Athens, Ga.: Iberian Pub. Co., 1988), 137. FHL Book 975.5 M2bs.
  16. Thomas P. Nanzig, 3rd Virginia Cavalry (Lynchburg, Va.: H.E. Howard, c1989). FHL Book 975.5 M2vr v. 61.
  17. Edward R. Crews and Timothy A. Parish, 14th Virginia Infantry (Lynchburg, Va.: H.E. Howard, 1995). FHL Book 975.5 M2vr v. 117.
  18. Susan A. Riggs, 21st Virginia Infantry (Lynchburg, Va.: H.E. Howard, c1991). FHL Book 975.5 M2vr v. 72.
  19. Johnny L. Scott, 34th Virginia Infantry (Appomattox, Va.: H.E. Howard, 1999). FHL Book 975.5 M2vr v. 135.
  20. G. Howard Gregory, 38th Virginia Infantry (Lynchburg, Va.: H.E. Howard, 1988). FHL Book 975.5 M2vr v. 46.
  21. William A. Young Jr. and Patricia C. Young, 56th Virginia Infantry (Lynchburg, Va.: H.E. Howard, 1990). FHL Book 975.5 M2vr v. 63.