McKean County, Pennsylvania Genealogy
Guide to McKean County, Pennsylvania ancestry, genealogy and family history, birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
|
| ||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
| ||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
County Information[edit | edit source]
Description[edit | edit source]
The county was named Thomas McKean. It is located in the north-central area of the state.[2]
County Courthouse[edit | edit source]
McKean County Courthouse
500 W. Main Street
Smethport, PA 16749
Phone: 814-887-3323
Fax: 814-887-2712
Email: jlbly@mckeancountypa.org
Register of Wills & Orphan's Court: Phone: 814-887-3260
Recorder of Deeds: Phone: 814-887-3250
Prothonotary & Clerk of Courts: Phone - 814-887-3270
McKean County Website
Register of Wills has probate records
Recorder of Deeds has land records from 1806[3]
McKean County, Pennsylvania Record Dates[edit | edit source]
Information for this chart was taken from various sources, often containing conflicting dates. This information should be taken as a guide and should be verified by contacting the county and/or the state government agency.
| Birth* | Marriage | Death* | Court | Land | Probate | Census |
| bef 1906 | 1827 | bef 1906 | 1827 | 1806 | 1827 | 1790 |
Record Loss[edit | edit source]
|
There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county. |
Boundary Changes[edit | edit source]
For animated maps illustrating Pennsylvania county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Pennsylvania County Boundary Maps" (1673-1878) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website. |
Populated Places[edit | edit source]
For a complete list of populated places, including small neighborhoods and suburbs, visit HomeTown Locator. The following are the most historically and genealogically relevant populated places in this county:[9]
| Cities | ||
| Boroughs | ||
| Unincorporated communities | ||
| Census-designated places | ||
| Townships | ||
History Timeline[edit | edit source]
Resources[edit | edit source]
Bible Records[edit | edit source]
Biographies[edit | edit source]
Business, Commerce, and Occupations[edit | edit source]
Cemeteries[edit | edit source]
Additional Cemetery Resources
- ca.1700-ca.1950 Pennsylvania Cemetery Records, ca. 1700-ca. 1950 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; index and images
- Cemetery Abstracts at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; index and images (incomplete)
- Names in Stone
- Painted Hills Genealogical Society
Census Records[edit | edit source]
Federal Census
- 1850-1880 Pennsylvania Mortality Schedules, 1850-1880 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; index and images
| Historical populations | ||
|---|---|---|
| Census | Pop. | %± |
| 1810 | 142 | — |
| 1820 | 728 | 412.7% |
| 1830 | 1,439 | 97.7% |
| 1840 | 2,975 | 106.7% |
| 1850 | 5,254 | 76.6% |
| 1860 | 8,859 | 68.6% |
| 1870 | 8,825 | −0.4% |
| 1880 | 42,565 | 382.3% |
| 1890 | 46,863 | 10.1% |
| 1900 | 51,343 | 9.6% |
| 1910 | 47,868 | −6.8% |
| 1920 | 48,934 | 2.2% |
| 1930 | 55,167 | 12.7% |
| 1940 | 56,673 | 2.7% |
| 1950 | 56,607 | −0.1% |
| 1960 | 54,517 | −3.7% |
| 1970 | 51,915 | −4.8% |
| 1980 | 50,653 | −2.4% |
| 1990 | 47,131 | −7.0% |
| 2000 | 45,963 | −2.5% |
| 2010 | 43,450 | −5.5% |
| Source: "Wikipedia.org". | ||
Church Records[edit | edit source]
Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. For members, they may contain: age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage date and maiden name; death/burial date. For general information about Pennsylvania denominations, see Pennsylvania Church Records.
- 1620-1991 Pennsylvania, Historical Society of Pennsylvania, Congregational Records, 1620-1991(*) at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; index and images
County-wide Database – Multi-denominational
- 1708-1985 Pennsylvania, Church and Town Records, 1708-1985 at Historical Society of Pennsylvania – $, free to members of the society; Also available at Ancestry $
Some lists of early church members may be found in the Beers' history of McKean County[10] When congregations were too far distant for early county settlers, they would sometimes form a Union Church Society or a Union Sunday School. These groups met as Christian congregations, without being officially recognized by any one sect.
Baptist
Baptists began meeting in McKean County in 1840. The Regular Baptist Church of Bradford was organized in 1852.[10] Additional congregations were in Turtle Point, Annin Township, Smethport, Port Allegany, Norwich (1820-21), and Kane Township. Baptists and Methodists shared the Union Church in Eldred.
Catholic
St. Bernard's was the first Catholic congregation established in Bradford. This happened in 1877. [10] Additional churches were St. Mary's in Newell Creek, Eldred, St. Elizabeth's in Smethport, St. Gabriel's in Port Allegany, and Kane township.
Congregational
Many town had Congregational congregations. The ministers came from New England towns. Addition congregations were in Port Allegany, and Duke Centre. Methodist Church was organized in the spring of 1880 in Bradford. [10]
Lutheran
Mount Jewett had a Swedish Evangelical Lutheran Church established in 1888. An additional congregation was in Port Allegany. Three Swedish Lutheran congregations were founded in Kane Township between 1876-1885. Methodist Church was organized in the spring of 1880 in Bradford. [10]
Methodist
Methodist Church of Tunuanguant was organized in 1848. The First Methodist Church of Bradford congregation was established in 1878. An African Methodist Church was organized in the spring of 1880 in Bradford. [10] Kendall township established a Methodist congregation in 1881. Additional congregations were in Annin Creek, Smethport, Port Allegany, Liberty Township, Otto Township, Duke Centre, and Kane Township. Baptists and Methodists shared the Union Church in Eldred.
Presbyterian
The First Presbyterian Church of Bradford was organized in June, 1879. [10] A second congregation was established in Kendall township in 1885. Additional congregations were in Mount Jewett, Port Allegany,and Kane Township.
Protestant Espiscopal
The Protestant Episcopal church (St. Luke's) was formed in Smethport as early as 1842. Addition congregations were in Port Allegany and Otto Township.
List of Churches and Church Parishes
Court Records[edit | edit source]
For information about records kept in the Orphan's court, Prothonotary Court, Court of Common Pleas, and other courts in counties of Pennsylvania, visit the Pennsylvania Court Records Wiki page.
Prothonotary
The Prothonotary and Clerk of Courts is located under Departments at the McKean County website.The Court no longer accepts passport applications. Passports must be processed at the local post office.
Directories[edit | edit source]
Emigration and Immigration[edit | edit source]
For online resources, passenger lists, and specific groups coming to Pennsylvania, see Pennsylvania Emigration and Immigration.
- 1798-1828 Pennsylvania Landing Reports of Aliens, 1798-1828 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; Alphabet index then by numbered entry
- 1900-1923 Pennsylvania, Philadelphia Case Files of Chinese Immigrants, 1900-1923 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; images only (by county)
- 1952-1957 Pennsylvania, Crew Lists arriving at Erie, 1952-1957 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; index and images
Ethnic, Political, and Religious Groups[edit | edit source]
For groups that came, see People section of the Pennsylvania Emigration page.
Funeral Homes[edit | edit source]
Genealogies[edit | edit source]
Guardianship[edit | edit source]
The Orphan's Court ensures the best interests of those not capable of handling their own affairs: minors, incapacitated persons, decedents' estates, and more.[11]
Orphans Court
McKean County Courthouse
Register Clerk of Orphans' Court
500 Main Street
Smethport, PA 16749
Phone: 814-887-3263
Land and Property Records[edit | edit source]
Land and property records can place an ancestor in a specific location and reveal family relationships. Records include: deeds, abstracts, indexes, mortgages, leases, grants, sheriff sales, land patents, maps and more. For more information, see Pennsylvania Land and Property.
Land records in McKean County began in 1804. These records are filed with the Recorder of Deeds office in Smethport, Pennsylvania.
Online Land Indexes and Records
- 1806-1972 Deed books, 1806-1886; Indexes, 1806-1972. FHL film 928973 (first of 76 films) - images only; click on the camera icon to view images
- 1806-1900 Deeds, 1806-1868; Deed Index 1806-1900 FHL film 864223 (first of 32 films) - images only; click on the camera icon to view images
- 1811-1972 Mortgage Index. FHL film 946692–946715 - images only; click on the camera icon to view images
- 1973–present Images are available online using the Landex system. There is a fee to view the images.
Local Histories[edit | edit source]
- History of the Counties of McKean, Elk, Cameron and Potter, Pennsylvania, with Biographical Selections. 1890. Chicago : J.H. Beers & Co. Online at: FamilySearch Digital Library, Hathitrust, Internet Archive, Google Books, Ancestry ($); At various libraries (WorldCat).
Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]
for more resources
Maps
- Maps of Pennsylvania (1673-1878)
- Ancestor Tracks has posted free and downloadable images from the 1856 Map of McKean County and the map of McKean Co. Pennsylvania Compiled and Published by D.G. Beers & Co., 1871. These wall maps in the Library of Congress show major landowners and geographic sites at the dates of publishing. While the physical maps are in the public domain, the images we have taken of the maps belong to us and are not to be used commercially. We hereby give permission to use them strictly for personal use; please attribute to Ancestor Tracks.
- FamilySearch Places: Map of cities and towns in this county - How to Use FS Places
Migration[edit | edit source]
Early migration routes for European settlers to and from McKean County included:[12]
- Catskill Turnpike, trail 1760s; turnpike 1804, from Catskill to Bath, Steuben County, New York Genealogy with extensions to Buffalo, Erie County, New York Genealogy, or Erie County, Pennsylvania
- Forbidden Path, 1767 from Athens, Pennsylvania to Salamanca, Cattaraugus County, New York Genealogy[13]
Military Records[edit | edit source]
Civil War
- 1861-1865 Pennsylvania, Register of Military Volunteers, 1861-1865 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; index
- 1865-1936 Pennsylvania, Grand Army of the Republic Membership Records, 1865-1936 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; index and images
World War II
- 1933-1947 Pennsylvania, Historical Society of Pennsylvania, World War II Casualty Cards, 1933-1947 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; index and images
Naturalization and Citizenship[edit | edit source]
Naturalization records can contain information about immigration and nativity. Prior to 1906, it is rare to find the town of origin in naturalization records. For more information, see Pennsylvania Naturalization
- 1795-1931 Pennsylvania, Eastern District Petitions for Naturalization, 1795-1931 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; index and images
- 1795-1952 Pennsylvania, Eastern District Naturalization Indexes, 1795-1952 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; index and images
Naturalization records for McKean County, Pennsylvania include the following:
Online Naturalization Indexes and Records
- 1820-1906 Index to Declarations and Petitions in the Western District of Pennsylvania, US Circuit and District Courts located in US Naturalization Records Indexes, 1794-1995 database on Ancestry $
- 1820-1930 Naturalization Petitions of the U.S. District Court, 1820-1930, and Circuit Court, 1820-1911, for the Western District of Pennsylvania on Fold3.com - ($), indexed, National Archives publication M1537, incomplete for all counties
- 1820-1930 Naturalization Petitions of the U.S. District Court, 1820-1930, and Circuit Court, 1820-1911, for the Western District of Pennsylvania located in Selected US Naturalization Records - Original Documents, 1790-1974 database on Ancestry $
- 1842-1906 Alien dockets, 1842-1906. FHL film 13315156 (first of 2). - images only; click on the camera icon to view images
Newspapers[edit | edit source]
Newspapers may contain obituaries, births, marriages, deaths, anniversaries, family gatherings, family travel, achievements, business notices, engagement information, and probate court proceedings. Newspapers are often found in local or university libraries, historical or genealogical societies, or state archives in the area where the newspaper was published. See Pennsylvania Newspapers for more information.
Newspapers of McKean County
Online Newspapers
To learn if there are newspapers online for a specific town or city in Pennsylvania, see news.google.com/newspapers and search for the town or the name of a newspaper.
- Chronicling America US Newspaper Directory.
- Newspaper Archives of Green Free Library
- Newspaper Archives of Smethport
- Pennsylvania Newspaper Archive
- Pennsylvania Newspapers
Online Newspaper Abstracts
- PA-Roots Newspaper Articles for McKean County, Pennsylvania.
- McKean County Archives Newspaper Articles, 1874-1931 courtesy USGenWeb Archives Includes births, marriages and deaths
- 1897-1931 Selected births from McKean County Newspapers, 1897-1931 courtesy USGenWeb Archives
Obituaries[edit | edit source]
Obituaries are generally found in local newspapers where the person died or where family members lived. Local libraries or societies may have indexes or other sources.
- 1947-2021 Pennsylvania Obituary and Marriage Collection, 1947-2010 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; index and images
- 1977-2010 Pennsylvania Obituaries, 1977-2010 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; index and images
Obituary Abstracts
- PA-Roots Obituaries for McKean County, Pennsylvania.
- McKean County PA Genealogy Obituaries
- McKean County Obituaries, courtesy USGenWeb Archives
Other Records[edit | edit source]
Periodicals[edit | edit source]
Probate Records[edit | edit source]
Probate matters in McKean County are handled by the Orphans' Court and start when the county was created.
In addition to wills and administrations, the Orphans' Court also handles: audits of accounts of executors, administrators, trustees, and guardians; distribution of estates; appointments of guardians; adoptions; appeals from the Register of Wills; inheritance tax appeals, and various petitions and motions.
Online Probate Indexes and Records
- 1683-1993 Pennsylvania Wills and Probate Records 1683-1993 at Ancestry $
- 1683-1994 Pennsylvania, Probate Records, 1683-1994 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; images only (by county)
- 1827-1969 McKean County Probate Records - at FamilySearch
- 1827-1917 Register's Dockets FHL film 869265 (first of 8 films) - Index included: 1827-1969
School Records[edit | edit source]
Social Security Records[edit | edit source]
- 1935-2014 United States Social Security Death Index at FamilySearch - How to use this collection; index. Also at Ancestry, findmypast, Fold3, GenealogyBank, MyHeritage, and Steve Morse. Click here for more information.
- 1936-2007 U.S., Social Security Applications and Claims Index, 1936-2007 at Ancestry ($) — index, click here for more information.
Tax Records[edit | edit source]
Vital Records[edit | edit source]
Vital records are handled by the County Orphans' Court. Between the years 1852-1855 Pennsylvania made a failed attempt to record birth, marriage and death events at the county level. County marriage records were kept in earnest in 1885. Births and deaths, at the county level, were begun in 1893 and kept through 1905. For the most complete set of records, contact the County Orphans' Court.
Birth[edit | edit source]
Early births 1893–1905 are located at the County Orphans' Court. For more information, see Pennsylvania Vital Records.
- 1520-1999 Pennsylvania, Historical Society of Pennsylvania, Births and Baptisms, 1520-1999 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; index and images
- 1709-1950 Pennsylvania, Births and Christenings, 1709-1950 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; index
- 1852-1854 Pennsylvania Births Ancestry $
- 1883-1906 McKean County Birth Index 1883-1906 in International Genealogical Index at FamilySearch[14]
- 1893-1906 Smethport Birth Index 1893-1906 in International Genealogical Index at FamilySearch[14]
- 1941-1976 Pennsylvania Delayed Birth Records, 1941-1976 at FamilySerch - How to Use this Collection; index and images
Marriage[edit | edit source]
Pennsylvania marriages were created by county officials. Contact McKean County Courthouse
- 1512-1989 Pennsylvania, Historical Society of Pennsylvania, Marriage Records, 1512-1989 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; index and images
- 1626-2016 Pennsylvania, United States Marriages at Findmypast
- 1677-1950 Pennsylvania Civil Marriages, 1677-1950 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; index and images
- 1682-1976 Pennsylvania, Church Marriages, 1682-1976 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; index and images
- 1700-1821 Pennsylvania Marriage Records Ancestry $
- 1709-1940 Pennsylvania Marriages, 1709-1940 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; index
- Pre-1810 Pennsylvania Marriages Ancestry $
- 1852-1854 Pennsylvania Marriages Ancestry $
- 1885 McKean County Marriage Index 1885 in International Genealogical Index at FamilySearch[14]
- 1885-1950 Pennsylvania County Marriage, 1885-1950 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; index and images
- 1947-2010 Pennsylvania Obituary and Marriage Collection, 1947-2010 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; index and images
Death[edit | edit source]
Early deaths 1893–1905 are located at the County Orphans' Court. For indexes and records, 1906 and later, see Pennsylvania Vital Records.
- 1720-1999 Pennsylvania Deaths and Burials, 1720-1999 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; index, some images
- 1852-1854 Pennsylvania Deaths Ancestry $
- 1856-1971 Pennsylvania, Historical Society of Pennsylvania, Deaths and Burials, 1856-1971 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; index and images
- 1881-1905 Bradford Death Index 1881-1905 in International Genealogical Index at FamilySearch[14]
- 1893-1906 Smethport Death Index 1893-1906 in International Genealogical Index at FamilySearch[14]
Divorce[edit | edit source]
Divorce records are available through the office of the Prothonotary.
Research Facilities[edit | edit source]
Archives[edit | edit source]
Listed below are archives in McKean County. For state-wide archival repositories, see Pennsylvania Archives and Libraries.
The National Archives at Philadelphia
14700 Townsend Road
Philadelphia, PA 19154-1096
Phone: 215-305-2044
Fax: 215-305-2052
Website
Family History Centers[edit | edit source]
Family History Center and Affiliate Library Locator map - search for local Family History Centers or Affiliate Libraries
- Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance, free access to center-only databases, and to premium genealogical websites.
- FamilySearch Affiliate Libraries have access to most center-only databases, but may not always have full services normally provided by a family history center.
Local Centers and Affiliate Libraries
- Jamestown New York Family History Center
- Olean New York Family History Center
- Wellsville New York Family History Center
- Cameron County Historical Society - an affiliate library.
- James Prendergast Library Association - an affiliate library.
- Olean Public Library - an affiliate library.
Libraries[edit | edit source]
Listed below are libraries in McKean County. For state-wide library facilities, see Pennsylvania Archives and Libraries.
Bradford Area Public Library
67 West Washington Street
Bradford, PA 16701-1234
Phone: 814-362-6527
Email: bapublib@atlanticbb.net
Website
Collection includes cemetery listings, city directories, local histories, and civil war volunteers listings. The library will do limited research for a fee.
Hanley Library
University of Pittsburgh at Bradford
300 Campus Drive
Bradford, PA 16701
Phone: 814-362-7610
Website
The Hanley library holds the McKean County Genealogical Society collection. This collection includes local and regional histories, cemetery records, and family genealogies.
Museums[edit | edit source]
Eldred WWII Museum & Learning Center
201 Main Street
P.O. Box 273
Eldred, PA 16731
Phone: 814-225-2220
Website
Societies[edit | edit source]
Listed below are societies in McKean County. For state-wide genealogical societies, see Pennsylvania Societies.
Painted Hills Genealogy Society
Email: paint@paintedhills.org
Website
Bradford Landmark Society
45 East Corydon Street
Bradford, PA 16701
Phone: 814–362-3906
Email: info@bradfordlandmark.org
Website
Websites[edit | edit source]
- McKean County PAGenWeb
- USGenWeb
- McKean County PA Genealogy
- FamilySearch Catalog – The FamilySearch catalog contains descriptions and access information for all genealogical materials (including books, online materials, microfilm, microfiche, and publications) in their collection. Use Historical Records to search for specific individuals in genealogical records.
Research Guides[edit | edit source]
References[edit | edit source]
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Pennsylvania.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- ↑ https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/McKean_County,_Pennsylvania accessed 2/12/2017
- ↑ The Handybook for Genealogists : United States of America, 10th ed., (Draper, UT: Everton Publishers, 2002) McKean County, Pennsylvania, p.591
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Pennsylvania.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Pennsylvania.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Pennsylvania.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Pennsylvania.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Pennsylvania.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- ↑ Wikipedia contributors, "McKean County, Pennsylvania," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/McKean_County,_Pennsylvania, accessed 27 January 2020.
- ↑ 10.0 10.1 10.2 10.3 10.4 10.5 10.6 History of the counties of McKean, Elk, Cameron and Potter, Pennsylvania, with Biographical Selections. (Chicago, Illinois : J.H. Beers and Co., 1890), 185-186. Online at: FamilySearch Digital Library.
- ↑ The Philadelphia Courts at Common Pleas accessed 10 July 2012
- ↑ Handybook, 847-61.
- ↑ Paul A. W. Wallace, Indian Paths of Pennsylvania (Harrisburg, Pa.: PA Historical and Museum Commission, 1971), 46-48. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 974.8 H2wp.
- ↑ 14.0 14.1 14.2 14.3 14.4 Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/wiki/en/images/1/10/Igipennsylvaniall.pdf.
