McCormick County, South Carolina Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Guide to McCormick County, South Carolina ancestry, genealogy and family history, birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

County Facts
County seat: McCormick
Organized: April 12, 1916[1]
Parent County(s): Abbeville , Edgefield, Greenwood [2]
Neighboring Counties
Abbeville  • Columbia (GA)  • Edgefield  • Elbert (GA)  • Greenwood  • Lincoln (GA)
See County Maps
Courthouse
South Carolina, McCormick County Courthouse.png
Location Map
Sc-mccormick.png
Adoption

County Information[edit | edit source]

Description[edit | edit source]

The County was named after American inventor Cyrus McCormick (1809-1884). [3] The County is located in the west central location of the state.[4]

County Courthouse[edit | edit source]

McCormick County Courthouse
133 S. Mine Street Room 102
McCormick, SC 29835
Phone: 864-852-2195
McCormick County Website

County Pronunciation
Hear it spoken[5]

McCormick County, South Carolina Record Dates[edit | edit source]

Information for this chart was taken from various sources, often containing conflicting dates. This information should be taken as a guide and should be verified by contacting the county and/or the state government agency.

Known Beginning Dates for Major County Records[6]
Birth* Marriage Death* Court Land Probate Census
1916 1916 1916 1916 1916 1916 1790
*Statewide registration for births and deaths began in 1915. General compliance by 1918.

Record Loss[edit | edit source]

There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.

Boundary Changes[edit | edit source]

Populated Places[edit | edit source]

For a complete list of populated places, including small neighborhoods and suburbs, visit HomeTown Locator. The following are the most historically and genealogically relevant populated places in this county:[9]

Towns
Census-designated places
American inventor Cyrus McCormick (1809-1884)

History Timeline[edit | edit source]

Resources[edit | edit source]

Bible Records[edit | edit source]

Biographies[edit | edit source]

Business, Commerce, and Occupations[edit | edit source]

Cemeteries[edit | edit source]

Cemeteries of McCormick County, South Carolina online and in print
Tombstone Transcriptions Online
Tombstone Transcriptions in Print (Often more complete)
List of Cemeteries in the County
See South Carolina Cemeteries for more information.

 

Census Records[edit | edit source]

For all existing and online Federal population schedules of South Carolina, see South Carolina Census. See also USGenWeb Census Project, South Carolina, including links to transcribed files.

Historical populations
Census Pop.
1920 16,444
1930 11,471 −30.2%
1940 10,367 −9.6%
1950 9,577 −7.6%
1960 8,629 −9.9%
1970 7,955 −7.8%
1980 7,797 −2.0%
1990 8,868 13.7%
2000 9,958 12.3%
2010 10,233 2.8%
Source: "Wikipedia.org".

Church Records[edit | edit source]

List of Churches and Church Parishes

Court Records[edit | edit source]

Online Court Indexes and Records

  • Equity records of Old 96 and Abbeville district[s] (as on file in the Abbeville Courthouse, S. C.) vol. 1 1791-1849 FHL Book 975.7 P2y
  • South Carolina genealogical records volume I, Abbeville District FHL Book 975.73 P2t

Directories[edit | edit source]

Emigration and Immigration[edit | edit source]

Ethnic, Political, and Religious Groups[edit | edit source]

African Americans

Known plantations South Carolina Plantations:

  • Badwell
  • Bath
  • Bradley
  • Cedar Hill
  • Cherry Hill
  • Cotton Level
  • Dornville
  • Dr. Murray's
  • Eden Hall
  • Ivy Gates - Troy
  • Mapleton
  • Oak Grove
  • Petigru
  • Pleasant Grove
  • Silk Hope

Funeral Homes[edit | edit source]

Genealogies[edit | edit source]

General
Surname indexes to Leonardo Andrea's Files | Folders | Resources are available online, courtesy: The Andrea Files: South Carolina Genealogical Research. Gotoarrow.png Learn more.

  • Wood, Willie Mae G. Old Families of McCormick County, South Carolina and Dorn Families of Edgefield, Greenwood and McCormick Counties. 2 vols. 1982. FHL Book 975.736 D2w v. 1

Guardianship[edit | edit source]

Land and Property Records[edit | edit source]

Because South Carolina was an agricultural state, many residents owned land. For earliest records, search 1) Charleston District, 2) your ancestor’s residential district, 3) neighboring districts, 4) the residential county, 5) neighboring counties. Not all districts and counties kept records. See also South Carolina Land and Property.

  • This series consists of recorded copies of plats for state land grants for the Charleston and the Columbia Series with their certificates of admeasurement or certification. All personal names and geographic features on these plats are included in the repository's On-line Index to Plats for State Land Grants
  • The South Carolina Constitution of 1790 required the surveyor general to maintain offices in both the new capital at Columbia and in Charleston. The surveyor general began to use separate volumes for recording plats in his Columbia office in 1796. Before that, all plats were recorded in the set of volumes begun in Charleston in 1784. After 1796, most plats for land grants in the Upper Division of the state were recorded and filed in Columbia. The surveyor general chose to make the Columbia volumes a continuation of the state plat volumes begun in Charleston and gave the initial Columbia volume the number thirty-six to correspond with the number of the volume that had then been reached in the Charleston series. As a result, there are volumes numbered thirty-six through forty-three from each office, but the records in them are not duplicative.
  • Also included are the Plan Books containing Plats and Plans.

Online Land Indexes and Records
The following chart show where you may best expect to find land records.

Tracing Land Currently in McCormick County with Parent Counties and Districts [10]
Date Government Office
1916-present McCormick County
1897-1916 Greenwood County
1873-1897 Abbeville County
1868-1873 Abbeville County Records Lost *
1800-1865 Abbeville District Records Lost *
1769-1800 Abbeville County (old) Records Lost *
1719-1769 Charleston District
1710-1719 Proprietary Land Grants
  • Abbeville deeds burned in 1873 while in storage

** Records of Pendleton/Anderson County should also be checked

Local Histories[edit | edit source]

  • Edmonds, Bobby F. The Making of McCormick County (McCormick, South Carolina Cedar Hill, c1999 ). 447 pages. This is a narrative of the people during its making, how they interacted with each other, how they reacted to, failed to react to, or over reacted to the times, situations and events. Book at FHL 975.736 H2e and [3e3mjq3 Other Libraries].
  • Edmonds, Bobby F.McCormick County Land of Cotton. (McCormick, South Carolina Cedar Hill, c2001), 490 pages. The stories presented were gathered from period newspapers and journals, letters, diaries, public records, and scholarly and general works. Book at FHL 975.736 H2ed and [3fnzbwk Other Libraries].

Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]

Elbert CountyLincoln CountyColumbia CountyEdgefield CountyGreenwood CountyAbbeville CountySC McCORMICK.PNG
Click a neighboring county
for more resources

Migration[edit | edit source]

Early migration routes to and from McCormick County for European settlers included:[11]

Military Records[edit | edit source]

Civil War

Regiments. McCormick County did not exist during the Civil War. During the Civil War, men from the area of McCormick County mostly would have served in various regiments recruited in its parent counties. Counties were called districts during the Civil War.

Other Resources

  • Cook, H. T. The Hard Labor Section. (S.l.: W.C. Kirkland?, 1993). 90 [40] pages. The Hard Labor area includes Greenwood & McCormick counties. Includes lists of militiamen and confederate soldiers. Book at FHL 975.73 D2c and Other Libraries.

World War II

Naturalization and Citizenship[edit | edit source]

Newspapers[edit | edit source]

Historic
The Library of Congress has identified the following historic newspapers for McCormick County, South Carolina on their Chronicling America website. For publication details, including dates of publication, frequency, preceding and succeeding titles, and to find out which libraries have holdings, click on the newspaper title.

University of South Carolina Library Catalog

Obituaries[edit | edit source]

Other Records[edit | edit source]

Periodicals[edit | edit source]

Tap into the minds of local experts. Editors of genealogical periodicals publish unique sources that researchers new to their area may not encounter. Periodicals at various levels (county, region, and state) may carry articles useful to research in this area. For more information and links, see South Carolina Periodicals.

Probate Records[edit | edit source]

Various types of records are created throughout the probate process of settling estates and property, usually after death. These may include, wills, bonds, petitions, accounts, inventories, administrations, orders, decrees, and distributions. For further information see probate records in South Carolina Probate Records.

Online Probate Indexes and Records
The South Carolina Department of Archives and History features a statewide Will Transcriptions, 1782 to 1855, database online. Includes a searchable index by name, with digitized images. A probate record collection of Abbeville District, which includes early records of Marlboro County:

School Records[edit | edit source]

Social Security Records[edit | edit source]

Tax Records[edit | edit source]

Tax-related records are kept by the offices of the county Assessor, Auditor, Sheriff, and Treasurer. Taxes were levied on real and personal property and can help establish ages, residences, and relationships. See South Carolina Taxation for online resources and suggestions.

Vital Records[edit | edit source]

Birth, marriage, and death records were not recorded by South Carolina until the 1900s, thus leaving a lack of vital records created by Civil authorities. See South Carolina Vital Records for online resources and suggestions.

Birth[edit | edit source]

State-wide birth registration did not begin until 1915. For records after 1915, see the South Carolina Vital Records page.

Marriage[edit | edit source]

In South Carolina, Probate Courts issued and still keep marriage licenses from 1 July 1911 to the present. Licenses were not required before 1911. In the 1700s, the Church of England parish churches were required to record all marriages - even if the couple were not members of the denomination. Statewide registration of marriages started in July, 1950. See South Carolina Vital Records for indexes and more information.

  • Abbeville District, South Carolina marriages, 1777-1852 FHL Book 975.7 A1 no. 72
  • McCormick County, South Carolina marriage license affidavits to obtain licenses and the marriage license, ca. 1916-1952 FHL films
  • McCormick County, South Carolina marriage licenses,1916-1950 FHL films

Online Marriage Records and Indexes

Death[edit | edit source]

State-wide death registration began in 1915. For information and online records, see the South Carolina Vital Records page.

Online Death Records and Indexes

Divorce[edit | edit source]

Research Facilities[edit | edit source]

Archives[edit | edit source]

Listed below are archives in McCormick County. For state-wide library facilities, see South Carolina Archives and Libraries.

Family History Centers[edit | edit source]

Family History Center and Affiliate Library Locator map - search for local Family History Centers or Affiliate Libraries

  • Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance, free access to center-only databases, and to premium genealogical websites.
  • FamilySearch Affiliate Libraries have access to most center-only databases, but may not always have full services normally provided by a family history center.

Local Centers and Affiliate Libraries

Libraries[edit | edit source]

Listed below are libraries in McCormick County. For state-wide library facilities, see South Carolina Archives and Libraries.

McCormick County Historical Commission
805-201-5150
E-mail: mccormickschistory@gmail.com
Facebook

Museums[edit | edit source]

Societies[edit | edit source]

Listed below are societies in McCormick County. For state-wide genealogical societies, see South Carolina Societies.

Websites[edit | edit source]

  • FamilySearch Catalog – The FamilySearch catalog contains descriptions and access information for all genealogical materials (including books, online materials, microfilm, microfiche, and publications) in their collection.  Use Historical Records to search for specific individuals in genealogical records.

Research Guides[edit | edit source]

References[edit | edit source]

  1. South Carolina Historical Boundary Changes - list of all boundary changes by county provided by Newberry Library; accessed on 11 April 2021.
  2. South Carolina Historical Boundary Changes - list of all boundary changes by county provided by Newberry Library; accessed on 11 April 2021.
  3. List of counties in South Carolina
  4. "McCormick County, South Carolina" in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, "https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/McCormick_County,_South_Carolina." accessed 27/06/2019
  5. Voice of Phillip Stalvey, resident of Myrtle Beach, S.C. (2011).
  6. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), McCormick County, South Carolina. Page 611-615 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002; Alice Eichholz, ed. Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County, and Town Sources, Third ed. (Provo, Utah: Ancestry, 2004), 607-608.
  7. South Carolina Historical Boundary Changes - list of all boundary changes by county provided by Newberry Library; accessed on 11 April 2021.
  8. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), South Carolina .At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  9. Wikipedia contributors, "McCormick County, South Carolina," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/McCormick_County,_South_Carolina#Communities, accessed 27 December 2019.
  10. Schweitzer, George K. , South Carolina Genealogical Research (Knoxville, Tennessee: s.p. 1985), 39-42, FHL book 975.7 D27s
  11. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), 847-61. (FHL Book 973 D27e 2002) WorldCat entry., and William E. Myer, Indian Trails of the Southeast. (Nashville, Tenn.: Blue and Gray Press, 1971), 12-14, and the book's pocket map "The Trail System of the Southeastern United States in the early Colonial Period" (1923). (FHL Book 970.1 M992i) WorldCat entry.
  12. Herd, Jr., E. Don, Marriage and Death Notices from the Abbeville Banner, 1846-1860, (S.l. : s.n.), c1980.
  13. Herd, Jr., E. Don, Marriage and Death Notices from the Abbeville Banner, 1846-1860, [S.l. : s.n.], c1980.
  14. Lucas, Silas Emmett, Abbeville District, South Carolina Marriages, 1777-1852, Easley, SC: Southern Historical Press, c1979.