Martin County, North Carolina Genealogy
(Redirected from Martin County, North Carolina Genealogy)
Jump to navigation
Jump to search
Guide to Martin County, North Carolina ancestry, genealogy and family history, birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
|
| ||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
| ||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
County Information[edit | edit source]
Description[edit | edit source]
Martin County is located in the eastern portion of North Carolina and was named for Josiah Martin, the last Royal Governor of North Carolina.[2]
County Courthouse[edit | edit source]
Martin County Courthouse
305 East Main Street
Williamston, NC 27892-0668
Phone: 252-792-1683
Martin County Website
Register of Deeds has birth, marriage and land records.
Clerk Superior Court has divorce and court records from 1800s and and probate records from 1700s.[3]
Martin County, North Carolina Record Dates[edit | edit source]
Information for this chart was taken from various sources, often containing conflicting dates. This information should be taken as a guide and should be verified by contacting the county and/or the state government agency.
| Birth* | Marriage | Death* | Court | Land | Probate | Census |
| 1913 | 1872 | 1913 | 1809 | 1774 | 1774 | 1784 |
Record Loss[edit | edit source]
|
1862, 1884 Courthouse fires destroyed many court records. For suggestions about research in places that suffered historic record losses, see:
|
Boundary Changes[edit | edit source]
For animated maps illustrating North Carolina county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation North Carolina County Boundary Maps" (1664-1965) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website. |
Populated Places[edit | edit source]
For a complete list of populated places, including small neighborhoods and suburbs, visit HomeTown Locator. The following are the most historically and genealogically relevant populated places in this county:[6]
| Towns | ||
| Townships | ||
|
|
|
History Timeline[edit | edit source]
Resources[edit | edit source]
Bible Records[edit | edit source]
- Bible Records at North Carolina Digital Archives - index and image
- Bibles at Martin County, NC USGenWeb Archives
Biographies[edit | edit source]
Business, Commerce, and Occupations[edit | edit source]
Cemeteries[edit | edit source]
- North Carolina, Historical Records Survey, Cemetery Inscription Card Index at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; index and images Also at: Ancestry ($)
Census Records[edit | edit source]
| Historical populations | ||
|---|---|---|
| Census | Pop. | %± |
| 1790 | 6,010 | — |
| 1800 | 5,629 | −6.3% |
| 1810 | 5,987 | 6.4% |
| 1820 | 6,320 | 5.6% |
| 1830 | 8,539 | 35.1% |
| 1840 | 7,637 | −10.6% |
| 1850 | 8,307 | 8.8% |
| 1860 | 10,195 | 22.7% |
| 1870 | 9,647 | −5.4% |
| 1880 | 13,140 | 36.2% |
| 1890 | 15,221 | 15.8% |
| 1900 | 15,383 | 1.1% |
| 1910 | 17,797 | 15.7% |
| 1920 | 20,828 | 17.0% |
| 1930 | 23,400 | 12.3% |
| 1940 | 26,111 | 11.6% |
| 1950 | 27,938 | 7.0% |
| 1960 | 27,139 | −2.9% |
| 1970 | 24,730 | −8.9% |
| 1980 | 25,948 | 4.9% |
| 1990 | 25,078 | −3.4% |
| 2000 | 25,593 | 2.1% |
| 2010 | 24,505 | −4.3% |
| Source: "Wikipedia.org". | ||
Church Records[edit | edit source]
- 1700-1970 - North Carolina, Church Records, 1700-1970 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; index and images
- Churches in Martin County
Baptist
- Skewarkey, near Williamston, N.C. Established by 1787.[7]
List of Churches and Church Parishes
Court Records[edit | edit source]
- Martin County Court transcriptions (USGenWeb Archives)
Directories[edit | edit source]
Emigration and Immigration[edit | edit source]
Ethnic, Political, and Religious Groups[edit | edit source]
- 1862-1870 North Carolina, Freedmen's Bureau Assistant Commissioner Records, 1862-1870 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; index and images
- 1863-1872 North Carolina, Freedmen's Bureau Field Office Records, 1863-1872 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; images only
Funeral Homes[edit | edit source]
- Biggs Funeral Home LLC. in Williamston
- Manson Mortuary in Williamston
- Mercedes' Funeral Mansion & Cremation Service in Williamston
- Paradise Funeral Home, Inc in Williamston
- W.E. Flanagan Memorial Funeral Home and Cremations in Robersonville
- Walker Funeral Homes in Williamston
Genealogies[edit | edit source]
Guardianship[edit | edit source]
Land and Property Records[edit | edit source]
- 1774-1867 Deeds, 1774-1867; grantor index, 1771-1881
- 1774-1811 Martin County, North Carolina abstracts of deed books at FamilySearch. 3-volume set that covers 1774-1811.
- 1774-1941 Deeds, 1774-1941; index to real estate conveyances, 1772-1963; WorldCat
- 1866-present Martin County Register of Deeds maintains online records for land transactions in the county.
- Deeds (USGenWeb Archives)
Local Histories[edit | edit source]
Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]
Click a neighboring county
for more resources
for more resources
- Maps relevant to Martin County
- FamilySearch Places: Map of cities and towns in this county - How to Use FS Places
Migration[edit | edit source]
Early migration routes to and from Martin County for European settlers included:[8]
- Atlantic Ocean
- King's Highway about 1704
- Secondary Coast Road late 1730s
Military Records[edit | edit source]
- Military (NCGenWeb)
- Military records (USGenWeb Archives)
Revolutionary War
- 1778-1833 Delamar Transcripts of Revolutionary War Petitions at North Carolina Genealogical Society - index ($)
- 1779-1782 North Carolina Revolutionary Pay Vouchers 1779-1782 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; index and images
Civil War
- 1861-1865 North Carolina, Civil War Service Records of Confederate Soldiers, 1861-1865 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; index and images
- 1861-1865 North Carolina, Civil War Service Records of Union Soldiers, 1861-1865 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; index and images
- 1861-1865 U.S., Confederate Soldiers Compiled Service Records, 1861-1865 at Ancestry
- 1861-1865 U.S., Union Soldiers Compiled Service Records, 1861-1865 at Ancestry
- 1885 and 1901 1885 and 1901 Confederate Pension Applications at North Carolina Digital Collections - index and images
- 1885-1953 North Carolina, Confederate Soldiers and Widows Pension Applications, 1885-1953 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; index and images
Regiments. Men in Martin County served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Martin County:
- - 1st Regiment, North Carolina Infantry
- - 1st Brigade, North Carolina Reserves, Company K
- - 1st Regiment, North Carolina Infantry, Company H
- - 1st Regiment, North Carolina Junior Reserves, Company K
- - 17th Regiment, North Carolina Infantry (1st Organization), Company F
- - 17th Regiment, North Carolina Infantry (1st Organization), Company G
- - 41st Regiment Volunteers - 3rd Cavalry, Company K
World War I
- 1914-1918 World War I Papers at North Carolina Digital Collections - index and images
- 1917-1919 North Carolina, World War I Service Cards, 1917-1919 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; index and images
World War II
- 1939-1945 World Ward II Papers at North Carolina Digital Collections - index and images
- 1940-1948 North Carolina, Discharge and Statement of Service Records, 1940-1948 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; index and images
Naturalization and Citizenship[edit | edit source]
Newspapers[edit | edit source]
Obituaries[edit | edit source]
- Martin County obituaries and death notices
Other Records[edit | edit source]
Voter Registration
- 1868-1898 - North Carolina, Voter Registration Records, 1868-1898 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; index and images
Periodicals[edit | edit source]
Probate Records[edit | edit source]
Online Probate Indexes and Records
*1660-1790 North Carolina Will Abstracts 1660-1790 at Ancestry $
- 1663-1979 North Carolina Estate Files, 1663-1979 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; index and images
- 1663-1789 Secretary of State Wills at North Carolina Digital Collections - index and images
- 1665-1998 North Carolina Wills and Probate Records 1665-1998 at Ancestry $
- 1720-1960 Will Books A to F and 1 to 8 (1720-1960) at FamilySearch.org - How to Use this Collection; images only (by County)
- 1735-1970 North Carolina Probate Records 1735-1970 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; images only (by County)
- 1760-1800 North Carolina Will Abstracts 1760-1800 at Ancestry $
- 1774-1868 Martin County, North Carolina: abstracts of will books, 1774-1868. Index available online: Martin County Wills Index.
- 1774-1963 Will Books 1 to 10 (1774-1963) at FamilySearch.org - How to Use this Collection; images only (by County)
- Pre-1790 Pre-1790 Martin County, North Carolina Genealogy Wills (North Carolina State Archives)
- Images of Wills and Estates 1774-1810; 1810-1868. North Carolina Pioneers $
- Martin County wills. Coverage varies. (USGenWeb Archives)
School Records[edit | edit source]
Yearbooks
- Martin County students attending NC colleges. (NCGenWeb)
Social Security Records[edit | edit source]
- 1935-2014 United States Social Security Death Index at FamilySearch - How to use this collection; index. Also at Ancestry, findmypast, Fold3, GenealogyBank, MyHeritage, and Steve Morse. Click here for more information.
- 1936-2007 U.S., Social Security Applications and Claims Index, 1936-2007 at Ancestry ($) — index, click here for more information.
Tax Records[edit | edit source]
- 1779 Tax Lists, Martin County, 1769 (index) in NC Taxpayers vol. 2, at Ancestry $
- 1779 1779 Martin County tax list (transcript) at USGenWeb Archives
- 1779 Tax Lists, Martin County, 1779 (images) at North Carolina Digital Collections
Vital Records[edit | edit source]
- 1800-2000 - North Carolina, Department of Archives and History, Index to Vital Records, 1800-2000 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; index and images
- Births, Marriages & Death information for Martin County (NCGenWeb)
Birth[edit | edit source]
- 1800-2000 North Carolina Birth Index 1800-2000 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; index
- 1866-1964 North Carolina Births and Christenings 1866-1964 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; index
- 1913-1922 North Carolina, Center for Health Statistics, Vital Records Unit, County Birth Records, 1913-1922 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; index and images
Marriage[edit | edit source]
- 1741-2004 North Carolina, United States Marriages at Findmypast
- 1741-2004 North Carolina Marriage Index 1741-2004 at Ancestry $
- 1759-1979 North Carolina Marriages 1759-1979 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; Index
- 1762-1979 North Carolina, County Marriages, 1762-1979 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; index and images
- 1763-1868 North Carolina, Civil Marriages, 1763-1868 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; index and images
- 1872-1935 Martin County Marriage Index 1872-1935 in International Genealogical Index at FamilySearch[9]
Death[edit | edit source]
- 1898-1994 North Carolina Deaths and Burials, 1898-1994 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; index and images
- 1906-1930 North Carolina Deaths 1906-1930 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; index and images Also at: MyHeritage ($)
- 1908-2004 North Carolina Death Indexes 1908-2004 at Ancestry $
- 1909-1975 North Carolina Death Certificates 1909-1975 at Ancestry $
- 1931-1994 North Carolina Deaths 1931-1994 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; index and images
Divorce[edit | edit source]
- 1926-1975 North Carolina, County Divorce Records, 1926-1975 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; index and images
- 1958-2004 North Carolina Divorce Index 1958-2004 at Ancestry $
Research Facilities[edit | edit source]
Archives[edit | edit source]
Listed below are archives in Martin County. For state-wide archival repositories, see North Carolina Archives and Libraries.
Family History Centers[edit | edit source]
Family History Center and Affiliate Library Locator map - search for local Family History Centers or Affiliate Libraries
- Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance, free access to center-only databases, and to premium genealogical websites.
- FamilySearch Affiliate Libraries have access to most center-only databases, but may not always have full services normally provided by a family history center.
Local Centers and Affiliate Libraries
Libraries[edit | edit source]
Listed below are libraries in Martin County. For state-wide library facilities, see North Carolina Archives and Libraries.
- BHM Regional Library
200 North Smithwick Street
Williamston, NC 27892
Website
Museums[edit | edit source]
Societies[edit | edit source]
Listed below are societies in Martin County. For state-wide genealogical societies, see North Carolina Societies.
- Martin County Historical Society
PO Box 468
Williamston, NC 27892
Email: info@martincountynchistory.com
Website Facebook
Websites[edit | edit source]
- NCGenWeb: Martin County
- Martin County at Our Family Tree
- FamilySearch Catalog – The FamilySearch catalog contains descriptions and access information for all genealogical materials (including books, online materials, microfilm, microfiche, and publications) in their collection. Use Historical Records to search for specific individuals in genealogical records.
Research Guides[edit | edit source]
References[edit | edit source]
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), North Carolina.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- ↑ https://www.ncpedia.org/geography/martin
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Martin County, North Carolina. Page 510 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Martin County, North Carolina. Page 506-514 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002; Alice Eichholz, ed. Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County, and Town Sources, Third ed. (Provo, Utah: Ancestry, 2004), 505-509.
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), North Carolina.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- ↑ Wikipedia contributors, "Martin County, North Carolina," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Martin_County,_North_Carolina, accessed 21 February 2020.
- ↑ George Washington Paschal, History of North Carolina Baptists, 2 vols. (1930; reprint, Gallatin, Tenn.: Church History Research and Archives, 1990), 1:491. FHL Book 975.6 K2p 1990; "Skewarkey Church," North Carolina Highway Historical Marker Program, http://www.ncmarkers.com/, accessed 22 October 2012.
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), North Carolina.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- ↑ Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/wiki/en/images/9/91/Iginorthcarolinag.pdf.
