Marston, Lincolnshire Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Guide to Marston, Lincolnshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Marston, Lincolnshire
St Mary's church.JPG
St Mary's church
Type Chapelry (England)
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Loveden
County Lincolnshire, England Genealogy
Poor Law Union Newark
Registration District Newark
Records begin
Parish registers: 1707; For more records see Hougham
Bishop's Transcripts: 1562
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Loveden
Diocese Lincoln
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Lincoln (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Lincolnshire Archives
v • d • e

Parish History[edit | edit source]

MARSTON (St. Mary), a parish, in the union of Newark, wapentake of Loveden, parts of Kesteven, county of Lincoln, 5 miles (N. by W.) from the town of Grantham. [1]

Resources[edit | edit source]

Civil Registration[edit | edit source]

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

This parish was from 1837 within Newark registration district
Following re-organisation of local government historical registration was transferred to Lincolnshire
Certificates can be obtained from:
Lincolnshire
Certificate Applications
PO Box 760
Lincoln
LN2 5WG
Phone: 01522 782244

Email: regist@lincolnshire.gov.uk

Church Records[edit | edit source]

Marston parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FS PRs = England, Lincolnshire, Parish Registers, 1538-1990 (FamilySearch) - free
FS = FamilySearch - free
FREG = FreeREG - free
FMP = Lincolnshire Baptisms, Marriages, Burials (FindMyPast) - ($)
FMP Banns = Lincolnshire Banns (FindMyPast) - ($)
FMP Marr Index = Lincolnshire Marriage Index (FindMyPast) - ($)
FMP Marr = Lincolnshire Marriage Licence Bonds and Allegations (FindMyPast) - ($)
JOIN = The Joiner Marriage Index - ($)
NBI = National Burial Index (FindMyPast) - free
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[2]
FS Catalog PRs = FamilySearch Catalog Parish registers - free
FS Catalog BTs = FamilySearch Catalog Bishop's transcripts - free
Marston Online Parish Records
Baptisms
Marriages
Burials
Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS PRs 1538-1990
1538-1990
1538-1990
FS 1538-1975
1538-1973
1538-1991
FREG 1538-1900s
1538-1900s
1538-1900s
FMP 1538-1911
1537-1911
1537-1970
FMP Banns

1647-1911


FMP Marr Index

1700-1837


FMP Marr

1628-1837


JOIN

1562-1837


NBI



1754-2002
IGI



FS Catalog PRs


FS Catalog BTs


To find the names of the neighboring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851 Map. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Records are also available at the Lincolnshire Archives.

The digitisation of parish records for the county now offers images  via the Lincs to the past website (July 2011). Use advanced search terms at Search Lincs to the past to search for available images for parish registers and other records for this parish with images. Advance search terms Marston Par 1 will identify available images.

Material deposited at Lincolnshire Archives,

St Rumbold Street
Lincoln
Lincolnshire
LN2 5AB
England

Enquiries: lincolnshire.archives@lincolnshire.gov.uk The website enables you to view a PDF file for all records held for each parish as part of continuing efforts to provide an online catalogue.

Link to the FamilySearch Catalogue showing the film numbers in their collection Marston

Non-Conformists (All other Religions)[edit | edit source]

Census Records[edit | edit source]

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.


See Lincolnshire Census

Poor Law Unions[edit | edit source]

Newark Poor Law Union, Nottinghamshire Genealogy

Probate Records[edit | edit source]

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Lincolnshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites[edit | edit source]

http://www.genuki.org.uk/big/eng/LIN/Marston/


References[edit | edit source]

  1. ↑ Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England,(1848). Date accessed: 09 September 2013.
  2. ↑ ArcherSoftware.co.uk
v • d • e
Links to Lincolnshire, England Genealogy-related articles
Topics
Parishes

Addlethorpe  • Aisthorpe with Thorpe in the Fallows  • Alford  • Algarkirk  • Alkborough  • Althorpe with Keadby  • Alvingham  • Amber Hill  • Amcotts  • Ancaster  • Anderby  • Anwick  • Apley  • Appleby  • Asgarby (by Sleaford)  • Asgarby (by Spilsby)  • Ashby by Partney  • Ashby cum Fenby  • Ashby de la Launde  • Ashby Puerorum  • Aslackby  • Asterby  • Aswarby with Swarby  • Aswardby  • Aubourn  • Aunsby  • Authorpe  • Aylesby  • Bag Enderby  • Bardney  • Barholme with Stowe  • Barkston  • Barlings  • Barnetby le Wold  • Barnoldby le Beck  • Barrow upon Humber  • Barrowby  • Barton on Humber  • Bassingham  • Bassingthorpe with Westby  • Baston  • Baumber  • Beckingham  • Beelsby  • Beesby in the Marsh  • Belchford  • Belleau with Claythorpe, Aby and Greenfield  • Belton (near Epworth)  • Belton (near Grantham)  • Bennington  • Bennington Grange  • Benniworth  • Bicker  • Bigby  • Billingborough  • Billinghay  • Bilsby  • Binbrook St Mary and St Gabriel  • Biscathorpe  • Bishop Norton with Atterby  • Bitchfield  • Blankney  • Blyborough  • Blyton cum Wharton  • Bolingbroke with Hareby  • Bonby  • Boothby Graffoe  • Boothby Pagnell  • Boston  • Boston St Aidan  • Boston St Botolph  • Boston St James  • Bottesford  • Boultham  • Bourne  • Braceborough  • Bracebridge  • Braceby  • Bradley  • Branston  • Brant Broughton  • Bratoft  • Brattleby  • Brauncewell with Dunsby  • Brigg  • Brigsley  • Brinkhill  • Brocklesby  • Brothertoft  • Broughton  • Broxholme  • Bucknall  • Bullington  • Burgh le Marsh  • Burgh on Bain  • Burton by Lincoln  • Burton le Coggles  • Burton Penwardine  • Burton upon Stather  • Burwell  • Buslingthorpe  • Butterwick  • Byard's Leap  • Cabourne  • Cadney cum Howsham  • Caenby  • Caistor  • Calcethorpe  • Calkwell  • Cammeringham  • Candlesby  • Canwick  • Careby with Holywell and Aunby  • Carlby  • Carlton le Moorland  • Carlton Scroope  • Carrington  • Castle Bytham  • Castle Carlton (or Cast Carlton)  • Caythorpe  • Chapel Hill  • Chapel St Leonard  • Cherry Willingham  • Claxby  • Claxby Pluckacre  • Claxby with Normanby le Wold  • Claypole  • Claythorpe  • Clee  • Clixby  • Coates  • Cold Hanworth  • Coldstead  • Coleby  • Colsterworth  • Coningsby  • Conisholme  • Copping Syke  • Corby  • Corringham  • Covenham St Bartholomew  • Covenham St Mary  • Cowbit  • Cranwell  • Creeton with Counthorpe  • Croft  • Crowland  • Crowle  • Croxby  • Croxton  • Culverthorpe  • Cumberworth  • Cuxwold  • Dalby  • Deeping Fen  • Deeping St James  • Dembleby  • Denton  • Digby with Bloxholm  • Doddington with Whisby  • Dogdyke  • Donington  • Donington on Bain  • Dorrington  • Dowsby  • Drainage Marsh  • Dry Doddington  • Dunholme  • Dunston  • Eagle  • Eagle Hall  • Eagle Woodhouse  • East Allington  • East Barkwith  • East Ferry  • East Halton  • East Keal  • East Kirkby  • East Ravendale  • East Stockwith with Walkerwith  • East Torrington  • East Wykeham  • Eastoft  • Eastville  • Edenham  • Edlington  • Elsham  • Epworth  • Evedon  • Ewerby  • Faldingworth  • Farlesthorpe  • Fenton  • Ferry Corner Plot  • Fillingham  • Firsby  • Fishtoft  • Fiskerton  • Flawford  • Fleet  • Flixborough  • Folkingham with Laughton  • Fosdyke  • Foston  • Fotherby and Brackenborough  • Frampton  • Freisthorpe  • Freiston  • Friskney  • Frith Bank  • The Friths  • Frithville  • Frodingham  • Fulbeck  • Fulletby  • Fulnetby  • Fulstow  • Gainsborough All Saints  • Gainsborough Holy Trinity  • Gate Burton  • Gautby  • Gayton le Marsh  • Gayton le Wold  • Gedney  • Gedney Hill  • Gibbet Hill  • Glanford Bridge  • Glentham  • Glentworth  • Goltho  • Gosberton  • Goulceby  • Goxhill  • Grainsby  • Grainthorpe  • Grange de Lings  • Grantham  • Grantham Grange  • Grasby  • Grayingham  • Great Beats  • Great Brand End Plot  • Great Carlton  • Great Coates  • Great Gonerby  • Great Grimsby St Mary and St James  • Great Hale  • Great Ponton  • Great Steeping  • Great Sturton  • Greatford  • Greenhill and Redhill  • Greetham  • Greetwell  • Grimblethorpe  • Grimoldby  • Gunby St Peter  • Gunhouse  • Habrough  • Haceby  • Hackthorn  • Hagnaby  • Hagworthingham  • Hainton  • Hall Hills  • Halton Holegate  • Hameringham with Scrafield  • Hannah cum Hagnaby and Markby  • Harlaxton  • Harmston  • Harpswell  • Harrington  • Hart's Ground  • Hatcliffe  • Hatton  • Haugh  • Haugham  • Haven Bank  • Haverholme Priory  • Hawerby cum Beesby  • Haxey  • Healing  • Heapham  • Heckington  • Heighington  • Helpringham  • Hemingby  • Hemswell  • Heydour  • Hibaldstow  • High Toynton  • Hogsthorpe  • Holbeach  • Holland Fen  • Holton cum Beckering  • Holton le Clay  • Holton le Moor  • Holywell  • Honington  • Horbling  • Horkstow  • Horncastle  • Horsington  • Hough on the Hill  • Hougham  • Howell  • Humberstone  • Hundleby  • Huttoft  • Immingham  • Ingham  • Ingoldmells  • Ingoldsby  • Irby in the Marsh  • Irby on Humber  • Irnham  • Keddington  • Keelby  • Kelby  • Kelstern  • Kettlethorpe with Laughterton and Fenton  • Killingholme  • Kingerby  • Kirkby Green  • Kirkby Laythorpe with Asgarby  • Kirkby on Bain  • Kirkby Underwood  • Kirkstead  • Kirmington  • Kirmond le Mire  • Kirton in Holland  • Kirton in Lindsey  • Knaith  • Laceby  • Langrick Ferry  • Langriville  • Langtoft  • Langton  • Langton by Spilsby  • Langton by Wragby  • Langton St Andrew  • Laughton with Wildsworth  • Lea  • Leadenham  • Leake  • Leasingham with Roxholme  • Legbourne  • Legsby  • Lenton  • Leverton  • Limber Magna  • Lincoln Bishop's Palace  • Lincoln Castle Dykings  • Lincoln Cold Bath House  • Lincoln Holmes Common  • Lincoln Lunatic Asylum  • Lincoln Monks Liberty  • Lincoln South Common  • Lincoln St Benedict  • Lincoln St Botolph  • Lincoln St Margaret in the Close  • Lincoln St Mark  • Lincoln St Martin  • Lincoln St Mary le Wigford  • Lincoln St Mary Magdalen in the Bail  • Lincoln St Michael on the Mount  • Lincoln St Nicholas with St John  • Lincoln St Paul in the Bail  • Lincoln St Peter at Arches  • Lincoln St Peter at Gowts  • Lincoln St Peter in Eastgate  • Lincoln St Swithin  • Linwood  • Lissington  • Little Beats  • Little Brand End Plot  • Little Bytham  • Little Carlton  • Little Cawthorpe  • Little Coates  • Little Grimsby  • Little Ponton  • Little Steeping  • Londonthorpe  • Long Bennington  • Long Sutton St Mary  • Louth  • Louth Park  • Low Toynton  • Ludborough  • Luddington with Garthorpe  • Ludford Magna with Ludford Parva  • Lusby  • Mablethorpe with Stane  • Maltby le Marsh  • Manby  • Manthorpe with Londonthorpe  • Manton  • Mareham le Fen  • Mareham on the Hill  • Market Deeping  • Market Rasen  • Market Stainton  • Marsh Chapel  • Marston  • Martin  • Marton  • Mavis Enderby  • Melton Ross  • Mere  • Messingham with East Butterwick  • Metheringham  • Middle Rasen  • Midville  • Miningsby  • Minting  • Misson  • Moorby  • Morton (near Gainsborough)  • Morton (near Lincoln)  • Morton with Hacconby  • Moulton  • Moulton St James  • Mown Rakes  • Muckton  • Mumby  • Navenby  • Nettleham  • Nettleton  • New Sleaford  • Newstead  • Newton  • Newton by Toft  • Newton on Trent  • Nocton  • Normanby by Spital  • Normanton  • North Carlton  • North Coates  • North Cockerington  • North Elkington with South Elkington  • North Forty Foot Bank  • North Hykeham  • North Kelsey  • North Ormesby  • North Rauceby with South Rauceby  • North Reston  • North Scarle  • North Somercotes  • North Stoke and South with Easton  • North Thoresby  • North Willingham  • North Witham  • Northorpe  • Norton Disney  • Old Sleaford  • Orby  • Orford  • Osbournby  • Owersby with Kirkby and Osgodby  • Owmby  • Owston  • Oxcombe  • Panton  • Partney  • Pelham's Lands  • Pepper Gowt Plot  • Pickworth  • Pilham  • Pinchbeck  • Pointon  • Potter Hanworth  • Quadring  • Quarrington  • Raithby  • Raithby with Hallington  • Ranby  • Rand  • Redbourne  • Reepham  • Revesby  • Riby  • Rigsby with Ailby  • Rippingale  • Riseholme  • Ropsley  • Rothwell  • Roughton with Haltham  • Rowston  • Roxby cum Risby  • Royalty Farm  • Ruckland with Farforth and Maidenwell  • Ruskington  • Saleby with Thoresthorpe  • Salmonby  • Saltfleetby All Saints  • Saltfleetby St Clement  • Saltfleetby St Peter  • Sapperton  • Sausthorpe  • Saxby All Saints  • Saxby with Firsby  • Saxilby with Ingleby  • Scamblesby  • Scampton  • Scartho  • Scawby  • Scopwick  • Scothern  • Scotter  • Scotton  • Scott Willoughby  • Scredington  • Scremby  • Scrivelsby with Dalderby  • Searby cum Ownby  • Sedgebrook  • Sempringham with Pointon and Birthorpe  • Seven Acres  • Shuff Fen  • Sibsey  • Silk Willoughby  • Simon Weir  • Sixhills  • Skegness  • Skellingthorpe  • Skendleby  • Skidbrooke with Saltfleetby Haven  • Skillington  • Skinnand  • Skirbeck  • Snarford  • Snelland  • Snitterby  • Somerby  • Somerby with Great Humby  • Somersby  • Sotby  • South Carlton  • South Cockerington  • South Ferriby  • South Hykeham  • South Kelsey  • South Kyme and North Kyme  • South Ormesby with Ketsby, Calceby and Driby  • South Reston  • South Somercotes  • SouthThoresby  • South Willingham  • South of the Witham  • South Witham  • Southorpe  • Spalding  • Spanby  • Spilsby  • Spittlegate  • Spridlington  • Springthorpe  • Stainby with Gunby St Nicholas  • Stainfield  • Stainton by Langworth  • Stainton le Vale  • Stallingborough  • Stamford All Saints with St Peter  • Stamford Baron St Martin  • Stamford St George with St Paul  • Stamford St John with St Clement  • Stamford St Mary  • Stamford St Michael with St Andrew and St Stephen  • Stapleford  • Stenigot  • Stewton  • Stickford  • Stickney  • Stixwould  • Stow in Lindsey  • Stragglethorpe  • Stroxton  • Strubby with Woodthorpe  • Stubton  • Sudbrooke  • Surfleet  • Sutterby  • Sutterton  • Sutton Bridge  • Sutton le Marsh  • Sutton St Edmund  • Sutton St James  • Sutton St Mary  • Sutton St Nicholas  • Swaby  • Swallow  • Swaton  • Swayfield  • Swinderby  • Swineshead  • Swinethorpe  • Swinhope  • Swinstead  • Syston  • Tallington  • Tathwell  • Tattershall  • Tealby  • Tetford  • Tetney  • The Friths  • Theddlethorpe All Saints  • Theddlethorpe St Helen with Mablethorpe St Peter  • Thimbleby  • Thoresway  • Thorganby  • Thornton  • Thornton Curtis  • Thornton le Moor  • Thorpe on the Hill  • Thorpe St Peter  • Threckingham  • Thurlby (near Bourne)  • Thurlby (near Lincoln)  • Timberland  • Toft next Newton  • Torksey  • Tothill  • Toynton All Saints with Toynton St Peter  • Trusthorpe  • Tupholme  • Tydd St Mary  • Uffington  • Ulceby  • Ulceby with Fordington  • Upton with Kexby  • Usselby  • Utterby  • Waddingham  • Waddington  • Waddingworth  • Wainfleet All Saints  • Wainfleet St Mary  • Wainfleet St Thomas  • Waithe  • Walcot  • Walcot near Billinghay  • Walesby  • Walmsgate  • Waltham  • Washingborough  • Welbourn  • Welby  • Well  • Wellingore  • Welton  • Welton le Marsh  • Welton le Wold  • West Allington  • West Ashby  • West Barkwith  • West Butterwick  • West Deeping  • West Halton  • West Keal  • West Pinchbeck  • West Rasen  • West Torrington  • Westborough  • Weston  • Whaplode  • Whitton  • Wickenby  • Wigtoft  • Wildmore  • Wilksby  • Willingham  • Willoughby  • Willoughton  • Wilsford  • Wilsthorpe  • Winceby  • Winteringham  • Winterton  • Winthorpe  • Wispington  • Witham on the Hill  • Withcall  • Withern with Stain  • Wold Newton  • Wood Enderby  • Woodhall  • Woolsthorpe with Stainworth  • Wootton  • Worlaby  • Worlaby (near Barnetby le Wold)  • Wragby  • Wrangle  • Wrawby  • Wroot  • Wyberton  • Wyham with Caldeby  • Wyville with Hungerton  • Yarburgh

Probate
Courts
Court of the Bishop of Lincoln (Episcopal Consistory) • Court of the Archdeaconry of Stow  • Court of the Commissary of the Bishop of Lincoln and of the Archdeacon in the Archdeaconry of Huntingdon • Court of the Bishop of Peterborough (Episcopal Consistory) • Court of the Peculiar of the Dean and Chapter of Lincoln • Court of the Peculiar of the Prebendal of Caistor • Court of the Peculiar of the Prebendal of Corringham • Court of the Peculiar of the Prebendal of Heydour • Court of the Peculiar of the Prebendal of Kirton in Lindsey • Court of the Peculiar of the Prebendal of Louth • Court of the Peculiar of the Prebendal of Bishop Norton • Court of the Peculiar of the Prebendal of Sleaford • Court of the Peculiar of the Prebendal of Stow in Lindsey • Prerogative Court of York • Prerogative Court of Canterbury • Principal Probate Registry
Major
 Repositories

This website requires a paid subscription for full access.

Retrieved from "https://www.familysearch.org/en/wiki/index.php?title=Marston,_Lincolnshire_Genealogy&oldid=4756843"