Marshall County, Tennessee Genealogy
(Redirected from Marshall County, Tennessee Genealogy)
Jump to navigation
Jump to search
Guide to Marshall County, Tennessee ancestry, genealogy and family history, birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
|
| ||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
| ||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
County Information[edit | edit source]
Description[edit | edit source]
Marshall County was named the American jurist, John Marshall, Chief Justice of the U.S. Supreme Court. The county is located in the south-central area of the state.[2]
County Courthouse[edit | edit source]
Marshall County Courthouse
207 Marshall Courthouse
Lewisburg, TN 37091
County Courthouse Phone: 931-359-1072
County Clerk Phone: 931-359-1072
County Clerk and Master Phone: 931-359-2181
Marshall County Registrar of Deeds
1103 Courthouse Annex
Lewisburg, TN 37901
County Registrar of Deeds Phone: 931-359-4933
County Clerk has marriage and probate records from 1836.
Register of Deeds has land records.[3]
Marshall County, Tennessee Record Dates[edit | edit source]
Information for this chart was taken from various sources, often containing conflicting dates. This information should be taken as a guide and should be verified by contacting the county and/or the state government agency.
| Birth* | Marriage | Death* | Court | Land | Probate | Census |
| 1914 | 1836 | 1914 | 1836 | 1836 | 1836 | 1810 |
Record Loss[edit | edit source]
|
1872 and 1927 Marshall County's courthouse caught fire, but no records were lost.[5] [6] |
Boundary Changes[edit | edit source]
For animated maps illustrating Tennessee county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Tennessee County Boundary Maps" (1777-1985) may be viewed at the MapofUS.org website. |
Populated Places[edit | edit source]
For a complete list of populated places, including small neighborhoods and suburbs, visit HomeTown Locator. The following are the most historically and genealogically relevant populated places in this county:[8]
| Cities | ||
| Towns | ||
| Unincorporated communities | ||
History Timeline[edit | edit source]
Additional Information
Middle Tennessee county in the Chestnut Ridge region. Established 1836.
The county is named after U.S. Chief Justice John Marshall (1755-1835).[9]
Resources[edit | edit source]
Bible Records[edit | edit source]
Biographies[edit | edit source]
- Douthat, James L. Marshall County, Tennessee Biographies. 1887; reprint, Signal Mountain, Tenn.: Mountain Press. Free Surname Index and purchase details at Mountain Press website.
Business, Commerce, and Occupations[edit | edit source]
- Middle Tennessee's Forgotten Children: Apprentices from 1784 to 1902. 2004. By Alan N. Miller. Baltimore, Md.: Clearfield Company. FHL US/CAN 976.8 U2ma. Includes Marshall County.
Cemeteries[edit | edit source]
| See Tennessee Cemeteries for more information. | |
Additional Cemetery Resources
- Tennessee Cemeteries - Hometown Locator
Census Records[edit | edit source]
| Historical populations | ||
|---|---|---|
| Census | Pop. | %± |
| 1840 | 14,555 | — |
| 1850 | 15,616 | 7.3% |
| 1860 | 14,592 | −6.6% |
| 1870 | 16,207 | 11.1% |
| 1880 | 19,259 | 18.8% |
| 1890 | 18,906 | −1.8% |
| 1900 | 18,763 | −0.8% |
| 1910 | 16,872 | −10.1% |
| 1920 | 17,375 | 3.0% |
| 1930 | 15,574 | −10.4% |
| 1940 | 16,030 | 2.9% |
| 1950 | 17,768 | 10.8% |
| 1960 | 16,859 | −5.1% |
| 1970 | 17,319 | 2.7% |
| 1980 | 19,698 | 13.7% |
| 1990 | 21,539 | 9.3% |
| 2000 | 26,767 | 24.3% |
| 2010 | 30,617 | 14.4% |
| Source: "Wikipedia.org". | ||
1840, 1850, 1860, 1870, 1880, 1900, 1910, 1920, and 1930 federal population schedules of Marshall County are available online. For tips on accessing census records online, see Tennessee Census. If you're having trouble finding your ancestors in online indexes, try checking printed indexes. Created by local experts familiar with the area's families, these indexes are often transcribed more accurately than nationwide online indexes.
See Tennessee Population Schedule Indexes: Fiche, Film, or Book for more information about statewide printed indexes.
See Marshall County, TN census assignments, including links to transcribed files. The USGenWeb Census Project®
1810-1891
1840 Revolutionary War Pensioners
- A Census of Pensioners for Revolutionary or Military Services: With their Names, Ages, and Places of Residence, as Returned by the Marshalls of the Several Judicial Districts, Under the Act for Taking the Sixth Census. 1841; reprint, Baltimore, Md.: Genealogical Publishing, 1967. FHL US/CAN Book 973 X2pc 1840; FHL US/CAN Film 2321. 1841 edition digitized by the U.S. Census Bureau and Google Books et. al. See Tennessee, Middle District, Marshall County on page 156.
1850
- Lightfoot, Marise P. and Evelyn B. Shackelford. Maury County Neighbors Records of Giles, Lewis and Marshall Counties, Tennessee.Mt. Pleasant, Tennessee s.n., 1967. FHL 976.8 V22Ls
- Porch, Deane. Marshall County, Tennessee, 1850 Census. S.p., 1967. FHL 976.8585 X2p
1857
- Marshall County, Tennessee Agricultural Census, 1857. Nashville, Tennessee: Filmed by TSLA, 197-?. FHL 977522 Item 1 Lists of people by districts with pertinent data such as number of slaves, livestock, value of each, corn, tobacco, etc.. Each district is alphabetically arranged by first letter of surname.
1880
- Sistler, Byron H. 1880 Census Marshall County, Tennessee, Nashville, Tennessee Byron Sistler & Associates, 1999. FHL 976.8585 X2s 1880
1891 Male Voters
- 1891 Tennessee Enumeration of Male Voters 1891 at Ancestry ($)
Church Records[edit | edit source]
List of Churches and Church Parishes
Church records include baptisms, marriages and burials, as well as information about family members and clues about family migration.For additional information about church records, religions, and religious archives in Tennessee, see Tennessee Church Records.
- Marshall County Church Records
- - FamilySearch Catalog - Marshall County Church Records
- If the records you need are not in the Family History Library collection, contact the church(es) in the area where your ancestor lived.Two sites that give information about churches in McMinn County are:
- - List of Marshall County churches with addresses and phone numbers (Yellowbook)
- - List of Marshall County churches (TN HomeTownLocator)
Baptist
Bethbirei Baptist Church
- 1810-1910 - Bethbirei Baptist Church. Nashville, Tennessee: Historical Commission of the Southern Baptist Convention, 196-? FHL 987751
Rock Creek Primitive Baptist Church
- 1814-1851 - Rock Creek Primitive Baptist Church Records. Marshall County, 1814-1851.TSLA Reel #386
- 1814-1851 - Sistler, Byron and Barbara Sistler. Vital Statistics from 19th Century Tennessee Church Records. Nashville: Sitler and Associates, 1979. FHL 976.8 K29s vol.2 Index to original Rock Creek Primitive Baptist Church Records. Marshall County, 1814-1851.
Presbyterian
Bear Creek Cumberland Presbyterian Church
- 1902-1938 - Bear Creek Cumberland Presbyterian Church (Marshall County, Tennessee). Nashhville, Tennessee: Tennessee State Library and Archives, 19--. FHL 1730833 Items 1 and 2
Bethbirei Presbyterian Church
- 1810-1895 - Bethbirei Presbyterian Church, Lewisburg, Marriage Index 1810-1895 in International Genealogical Index at FamilySearch
- 1810-1910 - Bethbirei Presbyterian Church Records(Marshall County, Tennessee). Nashhville, Tennessee: Tennessee State Library and Archives, 1989. TSLA Reel #24 FHL 1550756 Items 1-3
- 1810-1900 - Sistler, Byron and Barbara Sistler. Vital Statistics from 19th Century Tennessee Church Records. Nashville: Sitler and Associates, 1979. vol. 1 FHL 976.8 K29s Index to original Bethbirei Presbyterian Church Records.
Pleasant Grove Cumberland Presbyterian Church, Chapel Hill
- 1840-1885 - Pleasant Grove Cumberland Presbyterian Church, Chapel Hill, Baptism Index 1840-1885 in International Genealogical Index at FamilySearch. Batch C710981
- 1840-1885 - Pleasant Grove Cumberland Presbyterian Church, Chapel Hill, Marriage Index 1840-1885 in International Genealogical Index at FamilySearch. Batch M710981
- 1840-1899 - Pleasant Grove Cumberland Presbyterian Church Records. Chapel Hill, 1840-1899. TSLA Reel #345
- 1840-1899 - Sistler, Byron and Barbara Sistler. Vital Statistics from 19th Century Tennessee Church Records. Nashville: Sitler and Associates, 1979. vol. 1 FHL 976.8 K29s Index to original Pleasant Grove Cumberland Presbyterian Church Records.
Court Records[edit | edit source]
- 1836-1840 - County Court Minutes, Volume. A. These records were transcribed and indexed by the Works Progress Administration (WPA) in the 1930s and published by TSLA on Roll 57 of Record Group 107. Free online index, created by Steve Carson, courtesy: GSC Associates Historical Records Products (the pages may load slowly). For a small fee, the company sells one Marshall County CD, which includes a digitized version of these records, and a variety of other local records.
Law and Legislation
- Tennessee State Library and Archives, Acts of Tennessee 1796-1850: Index to Names. January 25, 2005. [In addition to creating new laws, legislative acts were often required to obtain a divorce, grant legitimacy to a child, or for appointments to or grant payments for public service.] TSLA has created an index to names that appear in these acts covering the years 1796 to 1850. Online searchable index at TSLA.
Directories[edit | edit source]
Emigration and Immigration[edit | edit source]
Ethnic, Political, and Religious Groups[edit | edit source]
Funeral Homes[edit | edit source]
Genealogies[edit | edit source]
- Bedwell - William Talbert Bedwell, Ruth Lucas Bedwell, Judith Bedwell FitzPatrick Hugh M. Bedwell and related families Center Line, Michigan J.B. FitzPatrick, c1993 (Baltimore, Maryland Gateway Press) FHL book 929.273 B391 Digital version available at FamilySearch Digital Library.
- Drake - McCutcheon, Larry. Our Drake and Crutcher Families of Marshall County, Tennessee. Hohenwald, Tenn.: L. McCutcheon, 2007. FHL FAM HIST Book 929.273 D789mL.
- Duncan - Harris, Olive and Joe Cleatus Harris. William Duncan of Scotland, Chatham Co., N.C., Maury and Marshall Counties, Tennessee and His Eleven Known Children and Their Descendants. MSS. FHL US/CAN Book 976.4 D2c.
- Ferguson - Ferguson, Herman W. Descendants of James and Elizabeth Fleming Ferguson: Bedford County (now Marshall), Tennessee. Rocky Mount, N.C.: H. Ferguson, 1988. FHL FAM HIST Book 929.273 F381fhw.
- Glenn - Glenn, Wayne. The Glenn Family of Lancaster County, Pa., Orange County, N.C., Caswell County, N.C., Lincoln County, N.C., White County, Tenn., Marshall County, Tenn., and Christian County, Mo.: Related Families Include Ramsay, Simpson, Reynolds, Wilson, Simmons, Clark, Grigg, Phillips, Beard, Collins. Nixa, Missouri: W. Glenn, 1985. FHL FAM HIST Book 929.273 G487gw.
- Hardison - Hawkins, Fred Lee and Dorothy Westmoreland Gilliam. Hardison and Allied Families: Especially Those of Maury and Marshall Counties of Tennessee. Columbia, Tenn.: F.L. Hawkins, 1992. FHL FAM HIST Book 929.273 H219haw.
- Hunt - Allen, William A. and Allen Family Reunion. History of George Hunt & Mary Ogilvie Allen and Their Descendants: and Related Families Ogilvie, Ewing, and Fonville: Prepared for the Allen Family Reunion, August 8-11, 1985, Caney Spring, Marshall County, Tennessee. Brentwood, Tenn.: W.A. Allen, 1985. Original edition: FHL FAM HIST Book 929.273 AL53aw; 1995 revised edition: FHL FAM HIST Book 929.273 AL53aw 1995.
- Larwood - Larwood, James. Morphology of Larwood Genealogy: Being a Prefatory Tabulation of the Relationships and Descents of Members of the Larwood Family in America since Circa 1720: Preparatory to a Full Account of the History and Nomenclature of the Name in England since Circa 1300, with its Transitions through De La Wode, Larwode, (Delawood), Larawode, Larrawood to Larwood. Unknown: unknown, 1933. Available at Ancestry ($); and Heritage Quest Online ($).
- Neathery - Neathery, Milton W. and Marie Bradley Neathery. Neatherys of Marshall County, Tennessee. Athens, Ga.: Athens Printing Co., 1998. FHL FAM HIST Book 929.273 N272n.
- Poarch - Koetter, Wilba Delores Poarch. Poarch - Creed Family Genealogy, 1836-1974. Typescript, 1974. FHL 1206451 Item 37
- Williams - Schack, Elizabeth Thompson. The Williams Family of Granville County, North Carolina and Marshall County, Tennessee: Ancestors -- Descendants -- Connections to the Allison, Boyd, Camden, Haislip, Harris, Ogilvie and Peace Families. New York, New York: E.T. Schack, 2002. FHL FAM HIST Book 929.273 W676se.
- Wilson - Smith, Othella Boyd. Descendants of Hiram and Mariah Wilson of Marshall County, Tennessee. Typescript, National Library of the Daughters of the American Revolution, Washington, D.C. Microfilmed in 1971. FHL US/CAN Film 879650 Item 2.
Guardianship[edit | edit source]
Land and Property Records[edit | edit source]
- Marshall County Register of Deeds has Land Records from 1836 and is located at 207 Marshall Courthouse, Lewisburg, Tennessee 37091-2020; Telephone: (931) 359-1072. Land and property records include transfer of real estate or personal property, mortgages, leases, surveys, and entries
- The Family History Library has miscrofilm copies of deed records 1836-1891 with indexes 1836-1940; land ownership maps at the Library of Congress 1899.
- Marsh, Timothy Richard and Helen Crawford Land deed genealogy of Marshall County, Tennessee Greenville, South Caorlina Southern Historical Press, c1998 FHL US/CAN book 976.8585 R2m v.1-2 Free lookups available!
Local Histories[edit | edit source]
Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]
Click a neighboring county
for more resources
for more resources
- Maps of Tennessee (1777-1985)
- FamilySearch Places: Cities and Towns in this county - How to Use FS Places
Migration[edit | edit source]
Military Records[edit | edit source]
Revolutionary War
- A Census of Pensioners for Revolutionary or Military Services: With their Names, Ages, and Places of Residence, as Returned by the Marshalls of the Several Judicial Districts, Under the Act for Taking the Sixth Census. 1841; reprint, Baltimore, Md.: Genealogical Publishing, 1967. FHL US/CAN Book 973 X2pc 1840; FHL US/CAN Film 2321. 1841 edition digitized by the U.S. Census Bureau and Google Books et. al. See Tennessee, Middle District, Marshall County on page 156.
War of 1812
- Embry, Hermione D. "War of 1812 - Tennessee Pensioners on List - January 2, 1883," Ansearchin' News, Vol. 8, No. 1 (Jan. 1961):20-23. FHL US/CAN Book 976.8 B2a v. 8 (1961); digital version at journal website. [Includes Marshall County pensioners (p. 22).]
Civil War
Online Records
- 1861-1865 Tennessee, Civil War Service Records of Confederate Soldiers, 1861-1865 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection
- 1861-1865 Tennessee, Civil War Service Records of Union Soldiers, 1861-1865 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection
- 1861-1865 - U.S., Confederate Soldiers Compiled Service Records, 1861-1865 at Ancestry
- 1861-1865 - U.S., Union Soldiers Compiled Service Records, 1861-1865 at Ancestry
- 1861-1865 U.S., Civil War Soldier Records and Profiles, 1861-1865 at Ancestry
- 1891-1965 Tennessee, Confederate Pension Applications, Soldiers and Widows, 1891-1965 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection
- Civil War Soldiers and Sailors System
Regiments. Men in Marshall County served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (part of a large regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Marshall County:
Confederate Soldiers
- 4th Regiment, Tennessee Cavalry - CSA - Company A.
- 4th Regiment, Tennessee Cavalry (McLemore's) - CSA
- 8th Regiment, Tennessee Cavalry (Smith's) - CSA - Company A.
- 8th Regiment, Tennessee Infantry - CSA - Company I.
- 11th Regiment, Tennessee Cavalry (Holman's) - CSA - Companies B, C, and E.
- 17th Regiment, Tennessee Infantry - CSA - Companies C, F, and H.
- 22nd Regiment, Tennessee Cavalry (Nixon's) - CSA
- 23rd Regiment, Tennessee Infantry (Martin's) - CSA-2nd Company F.
- 32nd Regiment, Tennessee Infantry - CSA - Companies A and G.
- 41st Regiment, Tennessee Infantry - CSA - Companies E and H.
- 53rd Regiment, Tennessee Infantry - CSA - Companies B, D, and E.
- Douglas' Battalion, Tennessee Partisan Rangers - CSA - T. C. H. Miller's Company
- Holman's Battalion, Tennessee Partisan Rangers- CSA - Companies A and C.
Additional sources for Civil War soldiers from Marshall County:
- Tennesseans in the Civil War: a military history of Confederate and Union units with available rosters of personnel Nashville, Tennessee: Civil War Centennial Commission, 1964. FHL US/CAN book 976.8 M2t v. 1-2 Free lookups available! Volunteer will also lookup other Civil War resources, particularly Confederate and Marshall county soldiers and units.
- USGenWeb Archives, Marshall County Tennessee Archives. Civil War Records.
- Tennessee State Library and Archives, Tennessee Confederate Pension Applications: Marshall County. Includes soldier's name, county, pension #, unit or widow.
- United States Pension Bureau, List of Pensioners on the Roll January 1, 1883: Giving the Name of Each Pensioner, the Cause for... (Washington Printing Office; 1883). Online at Internet Archive. Marshall County, page 363.
- TNGenWeb, Marshall County Tennessee Military Records.
Naturalization and Citizenship[edit | edit source]
United States Passport Applications are available from 1796-1925 - Indexed at Family Search
Newspapers[edit | edit source]
Many Tennessee newspapers are filmed and available at TSLA. Most of these newspapers may be accessed by interlibrary loan to libraries within Tennessee, although there are some newspapers which are not available in or outside of Tennessee. For further information regarding interlibrary loan policies and newspapers not available for interlibrary loan click here. For a list of newspapers available at the archives for Marshall County click on the following city:
- 1847 - 1851 - Smith, Jonathan K.T. Genealogical Abstracts from Reported Deaths, the Nashville Christian Advocate. [1847-1914] 10 vols. [Jackson, Tenn.]: J.K.T. Smith, 1997-2003. FHL US/CAN Books 976.855/N1 V48s 1847-1851 ff; digital versions at David Donahue Memorial: Tennessee Records Repository. Website expands upon the publications and includes deaths from the 1830s, 1840s, 1910s and 1920s. (Largely Methodist?)
Obituaries[edit | edit source]
Other Records[edit | edit source]
Prisons[edit | edit source]
- 1831-1850 Inmates of the Tennessee State Penitentiary 1831-1850 at Tennessee State Library and Archives
- 1851-1870 Inmates of the Tennessee State Penitentiary 1851-1870 at Tennessee State Library and Archives
Periodicals[edit | edit source]
Genealogical periodicals can contain unique sources and can be local, regional, or statewide. The following periodicals cover this county:
- Ansearchin' News: Quarterly magazine of the Tennessee Genealogical Society. For a keyword search, go to the county index. Read previous issues on their website; FHL Book 976.8 B2a.
- Marshall County Historical Quarterly: FHL US/CAN book 976.8585B2m
- The Middle Tennessee Journal of Genealogy and History: Quarterly magazine of the Middle Tennessee Genealogical Society. For surnames, use the volume-by-volume index, or do a keyword search of the Article Index. FHL US/CAN Book 976.85 D25m.
Probate Records[edit | edit source]
The Marshall County Court has responsibility for the probate records.
Online Records and Indexes
- 1779-2008 Tennessee Wills and Probate Records 1779-2008 at Ancestry ($)
- 1835-1855; 1855-1877; 1875-1912 Probate Records - Images of Wills 1835-1855; 1855-1877; 1875-1912 at Southeastern Genealogy ($)
- 1835-1935 Marshall County portion of Tennessee, Probate Court Books, 1795-1927 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; handwritten indexes may be found at the front or back of some volumes.
Book Abstracts and Indexes
- 1835-1861 - Sistler, Byron and Barbara Sistler. Index to Tennessee Wills & Administrations 1779-1861. Nashville, Tenn. Byron Sistler & Associates, Inc., 1990. FHL US/CAN 976.8 P22s. Includes an index to this county's wills.
- 1835-1861 - Porch, Deane Marshall County, Tennessee, wills, 1835-1865 Franklin, Tennessee Louise G. Lynch, 1978 FHL US/CAN book 976.8585 P2p
- Index to Will Book A, Marshall County pages of USGenWeb transcribed by Rachel Combs
School Records[edit | edit source]
Social Security Records[edit | edit source]
- 1935-2014 United States Social Security Death Index at FamilySearch - How to use this collection; index. Also at Ancestry, findmypast, Fold3, GenealogyBank, MyHeritage, and Steve Morse. Click here for more information.
- 1936-2007 U.S., Social Security Applications and Claims Index, 1936-2007 at Ancestry ($) — index, click here for more information.
Tax Records[edit | edit source]
Book Abstracts and Indexes
- 1836 "Marshall County, Tennessee Tax List 1836," Ansearchin' News, Vol. 31, No. (1984). For FHL and online access, as well as indexes, see Marshall.
- 1839-1841 - Porch, Deane. Marshall County, Tennessee, Tax Record, 1839-1841. Manuscript, 1966. FHL 976.8585 R4p
- 1839-1843 - List, People Paying Taxes on Lots, 1839-43, Marshall County Historical Quarterly, Vol. 10, No. 4 (Winter 1979).
Vital Records[edit | edit source]
Birth[edit | edit source]
- 1908-1912 Tennessee, Birth Records (ER Series), 1908-1912 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection
Marriage[edit | edit source]
Online indexes and Records
- 1625-1966 Tennessee, United States Marriages at Findmypast ($)
- 1780-2002 Tennessee State Marriages 1780-2002 at Ancestry ($)
- 1780-2002 Tennessee State Marriage Index 1780-2002 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection
- 1790-1962 Tennessee County Marriages, 1790-1950 - at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection. Covers all counties in Tennessee.
- 1796-1950 Tennessee Marriages 1796-1950 (Indexes only) at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection
- 1836-1870 - Marriage record, Marshall County, Tennessee, 1836-1870. FHL Book 976.8585 V25p (Digital copy)
- 1836-1895 - Marshall County Marriage Index 1836-1895 in International Genealogical Index at FamilySearch[10]
- 1838-1865 - Marriage Bonds, Volume 1, 2 Available at Tennessee State Library & Archives: TSLA Free online index
- 1838-1865 - Marriage Records, 1838-1865, Marshall County, Tennessee. FHL Film 24762 Items 5-7 click on camera icon
- 1838-1888 Tennessee Civil Marriages, 1838-1888 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection
- 1851-1900 Tennessee Marriages 1851-1900 at Ancestry ($)
- 1980-2014 -Marriage Records Index 1980-2014 at Shelby County Register of Deeds - index
Book Abstracts and Indexes
- 1836-1870 - Early Middle Tennessee Marriages. 2 vols. . FHL US/CAN Book 976.8 V2sb v. 2 ff. Indexes names of brides, grooms, marriage dates for this county for specified years.
Death[edit | edit source]
- 1874-1955 Tennessee Deaths and Burials 1874-1955 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection
- 1908-1933 Tennessee Deaths, 1908 - 1933 at MyHeritage ($) — index
- 1908-1958 Tennessee Death Records 1908 - 1958 at Ancestry ($)
- 1908-1912 Tennessee Death Records 1908-1912 at Tennessee State Library & Archives - index
- 1914-1933 Tennessee Death Records 1914-1933 at Tennessee State Library & Archives - index
- 1949-2014 Death Records Index 1949-2014 at Shelby County Register of Deeds - index
Divorce[edit | edit source]
Online Records
- 1796-1850 Acts of Tennessee 1796-1850 at Tennessee State Library & Archives - index
- 1980-2014 Divorce Records Index 1980-2014 at Shelby County Register of Deeds - index
Online Titles
- W.P.A. Guide to Public Vital Statistics in Tennessee. Nashville, Tenn.: The Tennessee Historical Records Survey, 1941. FamilySearch Digital Library
Research Facilities[edit | edit source]
Archives[edit | edit source]
Listed below are archives in Marshall County. For state-wide archival repositories, see Tennessee Archives and Libraries.
Family History Centers[edit | edit source]
Family History Center and Affiliate Library Locator map - search for local Family History Centers or Affiliate Libraries
- Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance, free access to center-only databases, and to premium genealogical websites.
- FamilySearch Affiliate Libraries have access to most center-only databases, but may not always have full services normally provided by a family history center.
Local Centers and Affiliate Libraries
- Columbia Tennessee Family History Center
- Fayetteville Tennessee Family History Center
- Murfreesboro Tennessee Family History Center
- Fayetteville-Lincoln County Public Library - an affiliate library.
- Spring Hill Public Library - an affiliate library.
- Williamson County Public Library - an affiliate library.
Libraries[edit | edit source]
Listed below are libraries in Marshall County. For state-wide library facilities, see Tennessee Archives and Libraries.
Marshall County Memorial Library
310 Farmington Pike
Lewisburg, TN 37091
Phone: 931-359-3335
Website
The Gabard-Haynes Genealogical Room houses all local newspapers on microfilm, an excellent historical records section, memorabilia from three governors, and Dr. William Gabard's personal library. Ancestry.com and HeritageQuest databases are available on the public access computers at the library.
Museums[edit | edit source]
Societies[edit | edit source]
Listed below are societies in Marshall County. For state-wide genealogical societies, see Tennessee Societies.
Marshall County Historical Society
P.O. Box 1352
Lewisburg, TN 37901-0352
Website
Websites[edit | edit source]
- Chestnut Ridge Cousins Genealogy Records, Surname Exchange, Maps, Obituaries, Photos, History
- Marshall County, TNGenWeb (USGenWeb)
- Marshall County TN Genealogy (ldsgenealogy.com)
- FamilySearch Catalog – The FamilySearch catalog contains descriptions and access information for all genealogical materials (including books, online materials, microfilm, microfiche, and publications) in their collection. Use Historical Records to search for specific individuals in genealogical records.
Research Guides[edit | edit source]
- Genealogical "Fact Sheets" About Tennessee Counties: Marshall County, courtesy: TSLA. (Identifies published county histories, published local records, census records, newspapers and local records on microfilm, and select manuscripts.)
References[edit | edit source]
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Tennessee.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- ↑ Wikipedia contributors, "Marshall, Tennessee" in https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Marshall_County,_Tennessee accessed 27 Dec 2018
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Tennessee.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Tennessee.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- ↑ Lost Records: Courthouse Fires and Disasters in Tennessee in Tennessee State Library and Archives in Tennessee Secretary of State (accessed 13 March 2016).
- ↑ Robert M. McBride, Tennessee County Data (Nashville, Tennessee: Tennessee States Library and Archives, 1966), 35.
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Tennessee.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- ↑ Wikipedia contributors, "Marshall County, Tennessee," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Marshall_County,_Tennessee, accessed 4 December 2019.
- ↑ "List of counties in Tennessee," Wikipedia.
- ↑ Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/wiki/en/images/8/88/Igitennesseel.pdf.