Marshall County, Iowa Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Guide to Marshall County, Iowa ancestry, genealogy and family history, birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

County Facts
County seat: Marshalltown
Organized: October 1, 1849[1]
Parent County(s): Non-County Area 7[2]
Neighboring Counties
Grundy  • Hardin  • Jasper  • Poweshiek  • Story  • Tama
See County Maps
Courthouse
Iowa, Marshall County Courthouse.png
Location Map
Iowa Marshall Map.png
Adoption

County Information[edit | edit source]

Description[edit | edit source]

Marshall County was named for John Marshall and is located in central Iowa.[3]

County Courthouse[edit | edit source]


Marshall County Courthouse
1 E Main St
Marshalltown, IA 50158
Phone: 641-754-1603
Marshall County Website

Marshall County, Iowa Record Dates[edit | edit source]

Information for this chart was taken from various sources, often containing conflicting dates. This information should be taken as a guide and should be verified by contacting the county and/or the state government agency.

Known Beginning Dates for Major County Records[4]
Birth* Marriage Death* Court Land Probate Census
1880 1850 1880 1850 1850 1850 1847
* Statewide registration started for births in July 1880 and for deaths January 1891. General compliance by 1924.

Record Loss[edit | edit source]

There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.

Boundary Changes[edit | edit source]

Populated Places[edit | edit source]

For a complete list of populated places, including small neighborhoods and suburbs, visit HomeTown Locator. The following are the most historically and genealogically relevant populated places in this county:[8]

Cities
Unincorporated communities
Census-designated places
Townships


History Timeline[edit | edit source]

Resources[edit | edit source]

Bible Records[edit | edit source]

Listed below are resources for Bible records specific to Marshall County. To find more resources, go to the Iowa Bible Records page.

Biographies[edit | edit source]

  • 1917-1918 Marshall county in the World War, 1917-1918: a Pictorial History of the Community's Participation in all Wartime Activities. By Joseph A. Whitacre and W.J. Moore. Marshall, IA: Marshall Printing Company. Online at: FamilySearch Digital Library.
  • Portrait and Biographical Record of Jasper, Marshall and Grundy Counties, Iowa: Containing Biographical Sketches of Prominent and Representative Citizens of the Counties. 1894. Chicago, IL: Biographical Publishing Company. Online at: FamilySearch Digital Library, Ancestry - index & images ($)

Business, Commerce, and Occupations[edit | edit source]

Cemeteries[edit | edit source]

Cemeteries of Marshall County, Iowa online and in print
Tombstone Transcriptions Online
Tombstone Transcriptions in Print (Often more complete)
List of Cemeteries in the County
See Iowa Cemeteries for more information.

Census Records[edit | edit source]

Iowa recorded not only federal, but state censuses for several in-between years as well. For more information, see the very informative Iowa Census article.

Historical populations
Census Pop. %±
1850 338 —
1860 6,015 1679.6%
1870 17,576 192.2%
1880 23,752 35.1%
1890 25,842 8.8%
1900 29,991 16.1%
1910 30,279 1.0%
1920 32,630 7.8%
1930 33,727 3.4%
1940 35,406 5.0%
1950 35,611 0.6%
1960 37,984 6.7%
1970 41,076 8.1%
1980 41,652 1.4%
1990 38,276 −8.1%
2000 39,311 2.7%
2010 40,648 3.4%
Source: "Wikipedia.org".

State Census

Church Records[edit | edit source]

Most church records are held by individual churches. Some denominations are gathering their records into a central repository. For more information about these major repositories, see Iowa Church Records.

Lutheran

Court Records[edit | edit source]

Directories[edit | edit source]

Emigration and Immigration[edit | edit source]

Ethnic, Political, and Religious Groups[edit | edit source]

Funeral Homes[edit | edit source]

Genealogies[edit | edit source]

Guardianship[edit | edit source]

Land and Property Records[edit | edit source]

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. They include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Iowa Land and Property for information about early Iowa land grants. After land was transferred to private ownership, transactions were usually recorded and housed at the county courthouse.

Online Land and Property Records

Local Histories[edit | edit source]

Local histories are available for Marshall County, which may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see Iowa Local Histories.

  • Atlas of Marshall County, Iowa: Containing Maps of Townships of the County, Maps of State, United States and world, farmers directory, analysis of the system of U.S. land surveys. 1924. by G.W. Anderson. Des Moines, IA: The Anderson Publishing Co. Online at: FamilySearch Digital Library.
  • Description and History of Marshall County, Iowa, 1862. 1862. by Taylor and Barnhart. Marshalltown, IA: Taylor Barnhart. Online at: FamilySearch Digital Library
  • The History of Marshall County, Iowa, Containing a History of the County, its Cities, Town, & a Biographical Directory of Citizens, War Records of Its Volunteers.. 1878. Chicago, IL: Western Historical Co. Online at: FamilySearch Digital Library, Internet Archive, HathiTrust.
  • Portrait and Biographical Record of Jasper, Marshall and Grundy Counties, Iowa, Containing Biographical Sketches of Prominent and Representative Citizens of the Counties. 1894. Chicago, IL: Biographical Publishing. Online at: FamilySearch Digital Library, Ancestry ($)

Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]

County and state maps, historical and more current, are valuable research tools. For online maps and collections in libraries and societies, see Iowa Maps. Historical maps may be especially useful.

Hardin CountyGrundy CountyTama CountyPoweshiek CountyJasper CountyStory CountyIA MARSHALL.PNG
Click a neighboring county
for more resources

Migration[edit | edit source]

Military Records[edit | edit source]

Multiple Wars

Civil War

Civil War service men in Marshall County served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed here:

- 2nd Regiment, Iowa Cavalry, Company B
- 4th Independent Battery, Iowa Light Artillery
- 5th Regiment, Iowa Infantry, Company D
- 11th Regiment, Iowa Infantry, Company B
- 13th Regiment, Iowa Infantry, Company H
- 23rd Regiment, Iowa Infantry, Company K
- 44th Regiment, Iowa Infantry (100 days, 1864), Company G

Naturalization and Citizenship[edit | edit source]

Please see the Iowa Naturalization and Citizenship page for state-wide information.

Online Naturalization Indexes and Records

Newspapers[edit | edit source]

  • 1858 Marshall County Time. 1858. Marshall, IA, USA. Online at Ancestry ($)
  • 1890-1923 Evening Times-Republican (Marshalltown, Iowa) Chronicling America
    • Chronicling America was missing the last 4 months of 1912 of the above newspaper. This was found by browsing the newspaper for the issued year of 1912. I was able to get a copy of the obituary from the Marshalltown Public Library's microfilm copy.

Obituaries[edit | edit source]

Other Records[edit | edit source]

Periodicals[edit | edit source]

Probate Records[edit | edit source]

In most counties in Iowa, probate records have been kept by the county judge. They include wills, fee books, claim registers, legacy records, inheritance records, probate ticklers, and dockets. The records are available at the county courthouse.

Online Probate Indexes and Records

School Records[edit | edit source]

Social Security Records[edit | edit source]

Tax Records[edit | edit source]

Iowa tax records complement land records and can supplement the years between censuses. Iowa's unique Old Age Assistance tax gives names, addresses and birth years. There may be gaps of several years. For more information, see the wiki page Iowa Taxation.

Online Tax Indexes and Records

Vital Records[edit | edit source]

Vital Records consist of births, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded by civil officials on registers, certificates, and other documents. Copies or extracts may be purchased from the Iowa Department of Public Health or the County Clerk's office. See also Iowa Vital Records.

Birth[edit | edit source]

Marriage[edit | edit source]

Death[edit | edit source]

Divorce[edit | edit source]

Research Facilities[edit | edit source]

Archives[edit | edit source]

Listed below are archives in Marshall County. For state-wide library facilities, see Iowa Archives and Libraries.

Family History Centers[edit | edit source]

Family History Center and Affiliate Library Locator map - search for local Family History Centers or Affiliate Libraries

  • Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance, free access to center-only databases, and to premium genealogical websites.
  • FamilySearch Affiliate Libraries have access to most center-only databases, but may not always have full services normally provided by a family history center.

Local Centers and Affiliate Libraries

Libraries[edit | edit source]

Listed below are libraries in Marshall County. For state-wide library facilities, see Iowa Archives and Libraries.

Frances Rhoades Williams Research Library
503 West Main Street
PO Box 1224
Marshalltown, IA 50158
641-752-6664
E-mail: info@marshallhistory.org
Website

Gutekunst Public Library
309 2nd Street SE
P.O. Box 603
State Center, IA 50247
641-483-2741
E-mail: maraedler.lib@gmail.com
Website
Facebook

Museums[edit | edit source]

Societies[edit | edit source]

Listed below are societies in Marshall County. For state-wide genealogical societies, see Iowa Societies.

Historical Society of Marshall County
202 E. Church Street
PO Box 1224
Marshalltown, IA 50158
641-752-6664
E-mail: info@marshallhistory.org
Website.

Websites[edit | edit source]

  • Marshall County at Cyndi's List - a comprehensive, categorized & cross-referenced list of links that point you to genealogical research sites online
  • Marshall County at Genealogy Trails - volunteer transcriptions of genealogical and historical data
  • Marshall County at Iowa USGenWeb - free online resources for genealogical research
  • Marshall County at Iowa USGenWeb Archives - free online data for genealogical research
  • State Historical Society of Iowa — select from research collection topics
  • State Library of Iowa — electronic depository of documents intended for the general public produced by Iowa agencies
  • The Iowa Heritage Digital Collection — digital images from a variety of Iowa cultural institutions
  • FamilySearch Catalog – The FamilySearch catalog contains descriptions and access information for all genealogical materials (including books, online materials, microfilm, microfiche, and publications) in their collection.  Use Historical Records to search for specific individuals in genealogical records.

Research Guides[edit | edit source]

References[edit | edit source]

  1. ↑ Iowa Historical Boundary Changes - list of all boundary changes by county provided by Newberry Library; accessed on 11 April 2021.
  2. ↑ Iowa Historical Boundary Changes - list of all boundary changes by county provided by Newberry Library; accessed on 11 April 2021.
  3. ↑ Wikipedia contributors, "Marshall, Iowa," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, "https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Marshall_County,_Iowa."
  4. ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Iowa.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  5. ↑ Iowa Historical Boundary Changes - list of all boundary changes by county provided by Newberry Library; accessed on 11 April 2021.
  6. ↑ Iowa Historical Boundary Changes - list of all boundary changes by county provided by Newberry Library; accessed on 11 April 2021.
  7. ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Iowa.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  8. ↑ Wikipedia contributors, "Marshall County, Iowa," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Marshall_County,_Iowa#Communities, accessed 16 October 2019.
v • d • e
Links to Iowa-related articles
Topics
Counties
Adair · Adams · Allamakee · Appanoose · Audubon · Benton · Black Hawk · Boone · Bremer · Buchanan · Buena Vista · Butler · Calhoun · Carroll · Cass · Cedar · Cerro Gordo · Cherokee · Chickasaw · Clarke · Clay · Clayton · Clinton · Crawford · Dallas · Davis · Decatur · Delaware · Des Moines · Dickinson · Dubuque · Emmet · Fayette · Floyd · Franklin · Fremont · Greene · Grundy · Guthrie · Hamilton · Hancock · Hardin · Harrison · Henry · Howard · Humboldt · Ida · Iowa · Jackson · Jasper · Jefferson · Johnson · Jones · Keokuk · Kossuth · Lee · Linn · Louisa · Lucas · Lyon · Madison · Mahaska · Marion · Marshall · Mills · Mitchell · Monona · Monroe · Montgomery · Muscatine · O'Brien · Osceola · Page · Palo Alto · Plymouth · Pocahontas · Polk · Pottawattamie · Poweshiek · Ringgold · Sac · Scott · Shelby · Sioux · Story · Tama · Taylor · Union · Van Buren · Wapello · Warren · Washington · Wayne · Webster · Winnebago · Winneshiek · Woodbury · Worth · Wright
Extinct Co.
Bancroft · Buncombe · Cook · Crocker · Fox · Kishkekosh · Risley · Slaughter · Wahkaw · Yell
Major
 Repositories
Early Paths

This website requires a paid subscription for full access.

Due to contractual agreements, some images and/or databases on FamilySearch.org may only be viewed at a Family History Center or FamilySearch Affiliate Library.

FamilySearch affiliate libraries may have access to center-only databases, but do not always have all services normally provided by a family history center.

Retrieved from "https://www.familysearch.org/en/wiki/index.php?title=Marshall_County,_Iowa_Genealogy&oldid=4685630"