Marshall County, Indiana Genealogy
Guide to Marshall County, Indiana ancestry, genealogy and family history, birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
|
| ||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
| ||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
County Information[edit | edit source]
Description[edit | edit source]
Marshall County was named for John Marshall. It is located in the north-central area of the state.[2]
County Courthouse[edit | edit source]
Marshall County Courthouse
211 W Madison Street
Plymouth, IN 46563-1762
Phone: 219-936-8922
County Website
Marshall County Health Department
510 W. Adams GL-30
Plymouth, IN, 46563
Health Officer: Byron Holm, MD
Phone Number: 574-935-8565
Fax: 574-936-9247
Health Department
County Health Department has birth, death and burial records from 1882.County Clerk has marriage, divorce, probate and court records from 1836. County Recorder has land records. [3]
Health Department has birth records and death records.
Copies may be obtained from the county health department or the Indiana State Division of Vital Records.
Marshall County, Indiana Record Dates[edit | edit source]
Information for this chart was taken from various sources, often containing conflicting dates. This information should be taken as a guide and should be verified by contacting the county and/or the state government agency.
| Birth* | Marriage | Death* | Court | Land | Probate | Census |
| 1882 | 1836 | 1882 | 1836 | 1834 | 1836 | 1807 |
Record Loss[edit | edit source]
|
There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county. |
Boundary Changes[edit | edit source]
|
Populated Places[edit | edit source]
For a complete list of populated places, including small neighborhoods and suburbs, visit HomeTown Locator. The following are the most historically and genealogically relevant populated places in this county:[7]
| Cities | ||
| Towns | ||
| Unincorporated communities | ||
| Census-designated places | ||
| Townships | ||
History Timeline[edit | edit source]
Resources[edit | edit source]
Bible Records[edit | edit source]
Biographies[edit | edit source]
Business, Commerce, and Occupations[edit | edit source]
Cemeteries[edit | edit source]
Census Records[edit | edit source]
For tips on accessing Marshall County census records online, see: Indiana Census.
| Historical populations | ||
|---|---|---|
| Census | Pop. | %± |
| 1840 | 1,651 | — |
| 1850 | 5,348 | 223.9% |
| 1860 | 12,722 | 137.9% |
| 1870 | 20,211 | 58.9% |
| 1880 | 23,414 | 15.8% |
| 1890 | 23,818 | 1.7% |
| 1900 | 25,119 | 5.5% |
| 1910 | 24,175 | −3.8% |
| 1920 | 23,744 | −1.8% |
| 1930 | 25,077 | 5.6% |
| 1940 | 25,935 | 3.4% |
| 1950 | 29,468 | 13.6% |
| 1960 | 32,443 | 10.1% |
| 1970 | 34,986 | 7.8% |
| 1980 | 39,155 | 11.9% |
| 1990 | 42,182 | 7.7% |
| 2000 | 45,128 | 7.0% |
| 2010 | 47,051 | 4.3% |
| Source: "Wikipedia.org". | ||
- Index to Defective, Dependent & Delinquent Census for Marshall County, Indiana at Indiana Genealogical Society ($)
Church Records[edit | edit source]
Most church records are held by individual churches. For contact information, check a phone directory, such as SearchBug or Dex Knows. Some denominations are gathering their records into a central repository.
For more information about these major repositories, see Indiana Church Records.
List of Churches and Church Parishes
Court Records[edit | edit source]
Directories[edit | edit source]
Emigration and Immigration[edit | edit source]
Ethnic, Political, and Religious Groups[edit | edit source]
African American
- 28th US Colored Troops, Addition Recruits for Colored Troops
Funeral Homes[edit | edit source]
Genealogies[edit | edit source]
Guardianship[edit | edit source]
Land and Property Records[edit | edit source]
Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents. See Indiana Land and Property for additional information about early Indiana land grants and patents.
After land was transferred from the government to private ownership, subsequent transactions were recorded at the Marshall County courthouse, where records are currently housed.
Local Histories[edit | edit source]
Local histories are available for Marshall County. County histories may include biographies; church, school and government histories; and military information. For more information about local histories, see Indiana Local Histories.
- History of Indiana. Special Edition for Marshall County. 2 volumes. 1890. Madison, Wisconsin : Brant Fuller & Co. Online at: Vol. 1 - FamilySearch Digital Library, Vol. 2 - FamilySearch Digital Library, Hathitrust, Vol. 1 - Internet Archive, Vol. 2 - Internet Archive.
- The Story of Marshall County. 1923. By Minnie Harris Swindell. Plymouth, Indiana : M.H. Swindell. Online at: FamilySearch Digital Library, Hathitrust, Google Books, Ancestry ($); At various libraries (WorldCat).
- A Twentieth Century History of Marshall County, Indiana. 2 volumes. 1908. By Daniel McDonald. Chicago: Lewis Pub. Co. Online at: Vol. 1 - FamilySearch Digital Library, Vol. 2 - FamilySearch Digital Library, Hathitrust, Vol. 1 - Internet Archive, Vol. 2 - Internet Archive; At various libraries (WorldCat).
Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]
for more resources
- Historic Indiana Maps at IUPUI University Library
- Old Antique Atlases & Maps of Indiana
- FamilySearch Places: Map of cities and towns in this county - How to Use FS Places
Migration[edit | edit source]
Military Records[edit | edit source]
- Military Record Series Index at Indiana Digital Archives
- Veterans in Marshall County (1913) at Indiana Genealogical Society ($)
- Residents of Marshall County Who Served in the Spanish-American War at Indiana Genealogical Society ($)
Civil War
Civil War service men from Marshall County served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Marshall County.
- 9th Regiment, Indiana Infantry, Reorganized Company B
- 12th Regiment, Indiana Cavalry, Company E, and H
- 12th Regiment, Indiana Infantry, Reorganized Company A
- 13th Regiment, Indiana Cavalry, Company K
- 17th Regiment, Indiana Infantry, Company F
- 20th Regiment, Indiana Infantry, Company C, and Reorganized Company D
- 20th Battery, Indiana Light Artillery
- 29th Regiment, Indiana Infantry, Company I, and K
- 30th Regiment, Indiana Infantry, Reorganized Company E
- 73rd Regiment, Indiana Infantry, Companies D, and F
- 124th Regiment, Indiana Infantry, Company I
- 128th Regiment, Indiana Infantry, Company I
- 138th Regiment, Indiana Infantry (100 days, 1864), Company E
- 151st Regiment, Indiana Infantry, Company I
- 155th Regiment, Indiana Infantry, Company H, and I
- 28th US Colored Troops, Addition Recruits for Colored Troops
World War I
Naturalization and Citizenship[edit | edit source]
- Naturalization Record Series (for this county) at Indiana Digital Archives. Search by names.
Newspapers[edit | edit source]
Indiana newspapers may contain genealogical value including obituaries, births, marriages, deaths, anniversaries, family gatherings, family travel, achievements, business notices, engagement information, and probate court proceedings.
For more Indiana newspaper information see the wiki page Indiana Newspapers.
- 1800s-1999 U.S., Newspapers.com Marriage Index, 1800s-1999 at Ancestry - index ($)
- Hoosier State Chronicles
Obituaries[edit | edit source]
Obituaries from The Bremen Enquirer 1884 to 2010 Courtesy of the Bremen Public Library
Other Records[edit | edit source]
Periodicals[edit | edit source]
Probate Records[edit | edit source]
In most counties in Indiana, probate records have been kept by the county clerk of the circuit court. They include wills, fee books, claim registers, legacy records, inheritance records, probate ticklers, and dockets. The records are available at the Marshall County courthouse. For more information, see Indiana Probate Records.
- 1798-1999 Indiana Wills and Probate Records 1798-1999 at Ancestry $
School Records[edit | edit source]
- Students and Teachers of various Marshall County, Indiana Schools (1904, 1908, 1923, 1928, 1930, 1938-9) at Indiana Genealogical Society ($)
- Every Name Index to P. H.S. 1876-1976 Centennial Edition Every Name Index by Cathy L. O'Connor, 2011; original text by Plymouth High School Centennial Annual Committee. EveryNameIndex.com
Social Security Records[edit | edit source]
- 1935-2014 United States Social Security Death Index at FamilySearch - How to use this collection; index. Also at Ancestry, findmypast, Fold3, GenealogyBank, MyHeritage, and Steve Morse. Click here for more information.
- 1936-2007 U.S., Social Security Applications and Claims Index, 1936-2007 at Ancestry ($) — index, click here for more information.
Tax Records[edit | edit source]
Indiana tax records complement land records and can be used in place of censuses or to supplement the years between censuses. Because only persons who owned taxable property were listed, many residents were not included in tax lists. There may also be gaps of several years in the tax records of some counties. For more information see the wiki page Indiana Taxation.
Vital Records[edit | edit source]
Vital records consist of birth, death, marriage and divorce records. Indiana law in 1882 required registration of births and deaths in counties. The Indiana Department of Health has birth records filed after October 1907 and death records filed after January 1900 for deaths. Copies may be obtained from the county health department or the Indiana State Division of Vital Records.
Birth[edit | edit source]
Marriage[edit | edit source]
- 1780-1992 Indiana Marriages, 1780-1992 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; Also at: MyHeritage ($)
- 1800s-2007 Indiana, United States Marriages at Findmypast $
- 1802-1892 Indiana Marriages, 1802-1892 at Ancestry $
- 1811-1959 Indiana, Marriages, 1811-1959 at MyHeritage - index and images, ($)
- 1811-2007 Indiana Marriages, 1811-2007 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection
Death[edit | edit source]
- Pre-1882 WEB: Indiana, Deaths, Pre-1882 at Ancestry.com - index, (Free collection)
- 1750-1993 - Indiana Deaths and Burials, 1750-1993 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection
- 1882-1920 Indiana, Death Index, 1882-1920 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection
- 1899-2011 Indiana, Death Certificates, 1899-2011 at Ancestry $
Divorce[edit | edit source]
Research Facilities[edit | edit source]
Archives[edit | edit source]
Listed below are archives in Marshall County. For state-wide archival repositories, see Indiana Archives and Libraries.
Family History Centers[edit | edit source]
Family History Center and Affiliate Library Locator map - search for local Family History Centers or Affiliate Libraries
- Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance, free access to center-only databases, and to premium genealogical websites.
- FamilySearch Affiliate Libraries have access to most center-only databases, but may not always have full services normally provided by a family history center.
Local Centers and Affiliate Libraries
- South Bend Indiana Family History Center
- Valparaiso Indiana Family History Center
- Michigan City Public Library - an affiliate library.
- St Joseph County Library - an affiliate library.
- Starke County Public Library - an affiliate library.
Libraries[edit | edit source]
Listed below are libraries in Marshall County. For state-wide genealogical societies, see Indiana Archives and Libraries.
Museums[edit | edit source]
Societies[edit | edit source]
Listed below are societies in Marshall County. For state-wide genealogical societies, see Indiana Societies.
Marshall County Genealogical Society
3383 East Eights Road
Bourbon, IN 46504
Phone: 574-936-2306
Facebook
Marshall County Historical Society
123 N Michigan St
Plymouth, IN 46563
Phone: 574-936-2306
Email: anita@mchistoricalsociety.org
Genealogy Dept email: karinrettinger@mchistoricalsociety.org
Website
Antiquarian and Historical Society of Culver
P.O. Box 125
Culver, IN 46511-0125
Phone: 574-635-0053
Email: historyofculver@gmail.com
Website
Websites[edit | edit source]
- Indiana Digital Archives Search by name in all records or specific collections
- Indiana Historical Society Digital Collections Extensive - keyword searches suggested
- Indiana Memory Click the map or select a statewide collection
- List of indexes and databases at Indiana State Library
- Indiana Genealogical Society Databases Free and Members-only. Scroll the list.
- USGenWeb project May have maps, name indexes, history or other information for this county. Select the state, then the county.
- EveryNameIndex.com for Indiana Free online genealogy indexes for county histories. Select a county.
- Marshall County, Indiana: Family History & Genealogy, Census, Birth, Marriage, Death Vital Records & More at Linkpendium
- FamilySearch Catalog – The FamilySearch catalog contains descriptions and access information for all genealogical materials (including books, online materials, microfilm, microfiche, and publications) in their collection. Use Historical Records to search for specific individuals in genealogical records.
Research Guides[edit | edit source]
References[edit | edit source]
- ↑ The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
- ↑ Wikipedia contributors, "Marshall County," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Marshall_County,_Indiana 3/29/2017.
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Indiana.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Indiana.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Indiana.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- ↑ Wikipedia contributors, "Marshall County, Indiana" in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia at http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Marshall _County,_Indiana (accessed 10 May 2012).
- ↑ Wikipedia contributors, "Marshall County, Indiana," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Marshall_County,_Indiana, accessed 24 December 2019.
