Marlboro County, South Carolina Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Guide to Marlboro County, South Carolina ancestry, genealogy and family history, birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

County Facts
County seat: Bennettsville
Organized: March 12, 1785[1]
Parent County(s): Cheraws District[2]
Variant Spellings: Marlborough[3]
Neighboring Counties
Anson (NC)  • Chesterfield  • Darlington  • Dillon  • Florence  • Richmond (NC)  • Scotland (NC)
See County Maps
Courthouse
South Carolina, Marlboro County Courthouse.png
Location Map
Sc-marlboro.png
Adoption

County Information[edit | edit source]

Description[edit | edit source]

The County was named for the Duke of Marlborough. The County is located in the north central location of the state. [4]

County Courthouse[edit | edit source]

Marlboro County Courthouse
105 Main Street
Bennettsville, SC 29512
Phone: 843-479-5616
Marlboro County Website

County Pronunciation
Hear it spoken[5]

Marlboro County, South Carolina Record Dates[edit | edit source]

Information for this chart was taken from various sources, often containing conflicting dates. This information should be taken as a guide and should be verified by contacting the county and/or the state government agency.

Known Beginning Dates for Major County Records[6]
Birth* Marriage Death* Court Land Probate Census
1915 1788 1915 1785 1786 1787 1790
*Statewide registration for births and deaths began in 1915. General compliance by 1918.

Record Loss[edit | edit source]

  • 1890 Lost census

For suggestions about research in places that suffered historic record losses, see:

Boundary Changes[edit | edit source]

Populated Places[edit | edit source]

For a complete list of populated places, including small neighborhoods and suburbs, visit HomeTown Locator. The following are the most historically and genealogically relevant populated places in this county:[9]

Cities
Towns
Census-designated places


History Timeline[edit | edit source]

Resources[edit | edit source]

Bible Records[edit | edit source]

Biographies[edit | edit source]

Business, Commerce, and Occupations[edit | edit source]

Cemeteries[edit | edit source]

Cemeteries of Marlboro County, South Carolina online and in print
Tombstone Transcriptions Online
Tombstone Transcriptions in Print (Often more complete)
List of Cemeteries in the County
See South Carolina Cemeteries for more information.

 

Census Records[edit | edit source]

For all existing and online Federal population schedules of South Carolina, see South Carolina Census. See also USGenWeb Census Project, South Carolina, including links to transcribed files.

Historical populations
Census Pop.
1790 10,706
1800 5,452 −49.1%
1810 4,966 −8.9%
1820 6,425 29.4%
1830 8,582 33.6%
1840 8,408 −2.0%
1850 10,789 28.3%
1860 12,434 15.2%
1870 11,814 −5.0%
1880 20,598 74.4%
1890 23,500 14.1%
1900 27,639 17.6%
1910 31,189 12.8%
1920 33,180 6.4%
1930 31,634 −4.7%
1940 33,281 5.2%
1950 31,766 −4.6%
1960 28,529 −10.2%
1970 27,151 −4.8%
1980 31,634 16.5%
1990 29,361 −7.2%
2000 28,818 −1.8%
2010 28,933 0.4%
Source: "Wikipedia.org".

1820 Manufactures
The original manufactures schedules for South Carolina are kept at the NARA, Washington, D.C. FHL copies: FHL Collection 1024517 - 1024518. Published abstract:

  • National Archives. Indexes to Manufactures Census of 1820. 1920; reprint, Knightstown, Ind.: Bookmark, 1977. FHL Collection 973 X2m 1820;

1840 Revolutionary War Pensioners

  • A Census of Pensioners for Revolutionary or Military Services: With their Names, Ages, and Places of Residence, as Returned by the Marshalls of the Several Judicial Districts, Under the Act for Taking the Sixth Census. Washington, D.C.: Blair and Rives, 1841. FHL Collection 973 X2pc 1840; FHL Collection 2321; digital version at [1] Google Books. See South Carolina, Marlborough [Marlboro] District on page 144.

Church Records[edit | edit source]

Church of England (Anglican, Episcopal)
Gotoarrow.png See St. Davids Parish, South Carolina

List of Churches and Church Parishes

Court Records[edit | edit source]

Online Court Indexes and Records
Marlboro County has court records from 1785 that are held in the office of the Clerk of Court. Marlboro County was a part of the Cheraws District from 1785 - 1800. The South Carolina Archives and History Center has court records available on microfilm for Marlboro County. The Family History Library collection includes books and microfilm regarding court records for Marlboro County.

Directories[edit | edit source]

Emigration and Immigration[edit | edit source]

Ethnic, Political, and Religious Groups[edit | edit source]

African Americans

Known Marlboro County plantations, South Carolina Plantations:

  • Appin - Bennettsville
  • Broad Oaks - Clio
  • Claudius Pegues House
  • Fulton
  • Rose Hill
  • Weatherly Plat
  • Wolftrap

Funeral Homes[edit | edit source]

Genealogies[edit | edit source]

General
Surname indexes to Leonardo Andrea's Files | Folders | Resources are available online, courtesy: The Andrea Files: South Carolina Genealogical Research. Gotoarrow.png Learn more.

  • Thomas, J.A.W. A History of Marlboro County, with Traditions and Sketches of Numerous Families. Atlanta, Ga.: Foote & Davis, 1897. FHL 824348 Item 5; digital version at World Vital Records ($).

Bibliography

  • Adams Pate, Julia Claire. Pate, Adams, Newton and Allied Families Principally in Richmond, Scotland and Robeson Counties in North Carolina and Marlboro County, South Carolina. Red Springs, N.C.: J.C. Pate, 1958. FHL 929.273 P271pj
  • Darby - Templeton, R.H. "Darbys of the South Carolina Pee Dee Area," The South Carolina Magazine of Ancestral Research, Vol. 38, No. 2 (Spring 2009):63-68. FHL Book 975.7 B2sc v. 38
  • Drake - Watson, John Drake. Descendents of Zachariah Alford Drake of Marlboro County, S.C. Newberry, S.C.: J.D. Watson, 1981. FHL 929.273 D789wj
  • Fuller - "An Unusual Migration in the Fuller Family," The South Carolina Magazine of Ancestral Research, Vol. 27, No. 4 (Fall 1999):208-209. FHL Book 975.7 B2sc v. 27
  • Grant- Kendall, Jerry T. The Grant Family Descendants of Duncan Grant, Marlboro County, South Carolina. Bennettsville, S.C.: J.T. Kendall, 2002. FHL 929.273 G767k
  • Harris Harris, Malcolm Hart. "Three William Harrises in Hanover County," The Virginia Genealogist, Vol. 22, No. 1 (Jan.-Mar. 1978):3-15; Vol. 22, No. 2 (Apr.-Jun. 1978):99-104; Vol. 22, No. 3 (Jul.-Sep. 1978):187-192. Online at American Ancestors by NEHGS ($). FHL Book 975.5 B2vg v. 22 (1978).
  • McCollum - McCollum, J. Kinloch. The Family of John McCollum (1792-1867) of Bennettsville (Marlboro County) South Carolina. Middleburg, Fla.: J.K. McCollum, 1999. FHL 929.273 M133mk
  • Newton - Pate, Julia Claire. Pate, Adams, Newton and Allied Families Principally in Richmond, Scotland and Robeson Counties in North Carolina and Marlboro County, South Carolina. Red Springs, N.C.: J.C. Pate, 1958. FHL 929.273 P271pj
  • Pate - Pate, Julia Claire. Pate, Adams, Newton and Allied Families Principally in Richmond, Scotland and Robeson Counties in North Carolina and Marlboro County, South Carolina. Red Springs, N.C.: J.C. Pate, 1958. FHL 929.273 P271pj
  • Stubbs Andrea, Leonardo and Joseph Edward Hill. Abstracts of Divisions of Estates of Stubbs and Allied Families of Marlboro County, South Carolina. 1964. FHL Book 929.273 St93a

Guardianship[edit | edit source]

Land and Property Records[edit | edit source]

Because South Carolina was an agricultural state, many residents owned land. For earliest records, search 1) Charleston District, 2) your ancestor’s residential district, 3) neighboring districts, 4) the residential county, 5) neighboring counties. Not all districts and counties kept records. See also South Carolina Land and Property.

Online Land Indexes and Records

This series consists of recorded copies of plats for state land grants for the Charleston and the Columbia Series with their certificates of admeasurement or certification.All personal names and geographic features on these plats are included in the repository's On-line Index to Plats for State Land Grants

The South Carolina Constitution of 1790 required the surveyor general to maintain offices in both the new capital at Columbia and in Charleston. The surveyor general began to use separate volumes for recording plats in his Columbia office in 1796. Before that, all plats were recorded in the set of volumes begun in Charleston in 1784. After 1796, most plats for land grants in the Upper Division of the state were recorded and filed in Columbia. The surveyor general chose to make the Columbia volumes a continuation of the state plat volumes begun in Charleston and gave the initial Columbia volume the number thirty-six to correspond with the number of the volume that had then been reached in the Charleston series. As a result, there are volumes numbered thirty-six through forty-three from each office, but the records in them are not duplicative.

Also included are the Plan Books containing Plats and Plans.

The following chart shows where you may best expect to find land records.

Tracing Land Currently in Marlboro County with Parent Counties and Districts [10]
Date Government Office
1868-present Darlington County
1800-1868 Marlboro District
1785-1800 Marlboro County
1769-1785 Cheraws District
1719-1769 Charleston District
1710-1719 Proprietary Land Grants
  • Some early records may be in North Carolina

Land and Deeds Records, USGenWeb Archives

Local Histories[edit | edit source]

John Churchill, 1st Duke of Marlborough (1650-1722)

The county is named after John Churchill, 1st Duke of Marlborough (1650-1722).[11]

  • McColl, D.D. Sketches of Old Marlboro. 1916. Digital version at Internet Archive.
  • Thomas, J. A. W. A History of Marlboro County: With Traditions and Sketches of Numerous Families. Atlanta, Ga.: Foote & Davies Co., Printers and Binders, 1897. Digital versions at Ancestry ($), Google Books, and Internet Archive.
  • Gregg, Alexander.History of the Old Cheraws Containing an Account of the Aborigines of the Pedee, the First White Settlements, their Subsequent Progress, Civil Changes, the Struggle of the Revolution, and the Growth of the Country Afterward, Extending from About A.D. 1730 to 1810 with Notices of Families and Sketches of Individuals (Baltimore, Maryland Genealogical Pub. Co., 1967 ), 629 pages. Book at FHL 975.7 F2g 1967
  • Kelly, Margaret McLaurin Ricaud. A Short History of Marlboro County, S.C., 1600-1979. (Baltimore, Maryland Gateway Press, 1979), 74 pages. The first settlers on the Great Pee Dee River, in what is now Marlboro County and their descendants. Book at FHL 975.764 H2s and [3gep7j6 Other Libraries].

Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]

Anson CountyRichmond CountyScotland CountyDillon CountyFlorence CountyDarlington CountyChesterfield CountySC MARLBORO.PNG
Click a neighboring county
for more resources

Migration[edit | edit source]

Early migration routes to and from Marlboro County for European settlers included:[12]

Military Records[edit | edit source]

Revolutionary War

War of 1812

  • List of Pensioners on the Roll, January 1, 1883; Giving the Name of Each Pensioner, the Cause for Why Pensioned, the Post-Office Address, the Rate of Pension Per Month, and the Date of Original Allowance... Washington, D.C.: Government Printing Office, 1883. FHL Collection 973 M2Lp v. 5; digital versions at Google Books and Internet Archive. See Vol. 5, South Carolina, Marlborough [sic] County, p. 187. Identifies War of 1812 veterans living in this county in 1883.

Civil War

Regiments. Civil War service men from Marlboro County served in various regiments. Men often joined a regiment or a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were formed in Marlboro County or from many of its men:

- 1st Regiment, South Carolina Rifles (Orr's), Company H (also known as Pee Dee Guards)
- 2nd Regiment, South Carolina Artillery, Company D
- 4th Regiment, South Carolina Cavalry (Rutledge's), Company A and Company E
- 4th Regiment, South Carolina State Troops, Company H
- 6th Regiment, South Carolina Cavalry (Aiken's Partisan Rangers) (1st Partisan Rangers), Company B
- 7th Regiment, South Carolina Cavalry , Company F
- 7th Battalion, South Carolina Reserves (Ward's), Company C Roster
- 8th Regiment, South Carolina Infantry, Company G and Company K
-9th Battalion, South Carolina infantry (Smith's) (Pee Dee Legion), Company C
- 16th Battalion, South Carolina Cavalry, Company B
-20th Regiment, South Carolina Infantry, Reorganized Company I, Reorganized Company L, Reorganized Company M, and Reorganized Company N
-21st Regiment, South Carolina Infantry, Company F
-23rd Regiment, South Carolina Infantry (Hatch's Coast Rangers), Company G
- 24th Regiment, South Carolina Infantry, Company B

Other Resources

  • Kendall, Jerry T. Confederate Burials, Marlboro County, South Carolina. (Bennettsville, South Carolina J.T. Kendall, c2001), 124 pages. Purpose is to make a record of the places where Confederate Veterans are buried in Marlboro County, South Carolina so their grave sites can be marked and preserved. Book at FHL 975.764 M2k and [3bxvs89 Other Libraries].

Naturalization and Citizenship[edit | edit source]

Newspapers[edit | edit source]

Historic
The Library of Congress has identified the following historic newspapers for Marlboro County, South Carolina on their Chronicling America website. For publication details, including dates of publication, frequency, preceding and succeeding titles, and to find out which libraries have holdings, click on the newspaper title.

University of South Carolina Library Catalog

Current

Obituaries[edit | edit source]

Other Records[edit | edit source]

Periodicals[edit | edit source]

Tap into the minds of local experts. Editors of genealogical periodicals publish unique sources that researchers new to their area may not encounter. Periodicals at various levels (county, region, and state) may carry articles useful to research in this area. For more information and links, see South Carolina Periodicals.

Probate Records[edit | edit source]

Various types of records are created throughout the probate process of settling estates and property, usually after death. These may include, wills, bonds, petitions, accounts, inventories, administrations, orders, decrees, and distributions. For further information see probate records in South Carolina Probate Records.

Online Probate Indexes and Records
The South Carolina Department of Archives and History has microfilms or typescripts of wills, inventories, bills of sale, power of attorneys, bonds, notes, administrations, judgments, and sales records. Archival records include estate papers from 1790-1893 from the court of ordinary and probate court records, along with other corollary papers. Statewide Will Transcriptions, 1782 to 1855, database is available online with a searchable index by name. Images are available. Early will records of Marlboro County may be found in Cheraws and Chesterfield District. See James C. Pigg's compilation of Cheraw[s]/Chesterfield District wills, 1750-1865 & Abstracts from the Court of Common Pleas, 1823-1869 for some early Marlboro County probate records, formerly recorded in Cheraws District. FHL Book 975.763 P2pj Estate records of Marlboro County are found in the county court of ordinary, probate court, civil court, and court of equity. Many of these records are also available on microfilm, including the following:

Note: Marlboro County frequently assigned the same apartment and package number to more than one estate files. Whenever estate files with duplicate file numbers were found they were filmed consecutively.

School Records[edit | edit source]

Social Security Records[edit | edit source]

Tax Records[edit | edit source]

Tax-related records are kept by the offices of the county Assessor, Auditor, Sheriff, and Treasurer. Taxes were levied on real and personal property and can help establish ages, residences, and relationships. See South Carolina Taxation for online resources and suggestions.

Online Tax Indexes and Records

  • South Carolina Department of Archives and History tax lists for Marlboro County.

Original sources
The 1868 tax execution book is kept at the county courthouse. Copies: FHL Films 1027335 and SC Dept. Archives and History.

Published abstracts

Vital Records[edit | edit source]

Birth, marriage, and death records were not recorded by South Carolina until the 1900s, thus leaving a lack of vital records created by Civil authorities. See South Carolina Vital Records for online resources and suggestions.

Birth[edit | edit source]

State-wide birth registration did not begin until 1915. For records after 1915, see the South Carolina Vital Records page.

Marriage[edit | edit source]

In South Carolina, Probate Courts issued and still keep marriage licenses from 1 July 1911 to the present. Licenses were not required before 1911. In the 1700s, the Church of England parish churches were required to record all marriages - even if the couple were not members of the denomination. Statewide registration of marriages started in July, 1950. See South Carolina Vital Records for indexes and more information.

Online Marriage Records and Indexes

  • Some Marriage Records Online by Marlboro County, South Carolina USGenWeb - index, incomplete
  • Marriage Lists, North Carolina by Leonardo Andrea [13] FHL Collection - index; includes Marlboro County, South Carolina
  • 1724-1953 Marlboro County, South Carolina Marriage Registers, 1724-1953 [14] FHL Collection - index and records
  • 1791-1825 Marriage Bonds and Licenses from abt. 1791-1825 [15] FHL Collection
  • 1885-1906 Early Marlboro County, South Carolina Newspapers by Gloria Calhoun [16] FHL Collection WorldCat - index
  • 1911-1950 Marlboro County, South Carolina Marriage Licenses, ca. July 1911-Dec. 1950 [17] FHL Collection - records
  • There are several online marriage indexes containing miscellaneous marriage records found insome counties of South Carolina listed on the South Carolina Vital Records page.

Death[edit | edit source]

State-wide death registration began in 1915. For information and online records, see the South Carolina Vital Records page.

Online Death Records and Indexes

Divorce[edit | edit source]

Research Facilities[edit | edit source]

Archives[edit | edit source]

Listed below are archives in Marlboro County. For state-wide library facilities, see South Carolina Archives and Libraries.

Family History Centers[edit | edit source]

Family History Center and Affiliate Library Locator map - search for local Family History Centers or Affiliate Libraries

  • Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance, free access to center-only databases, and to premium genealogical websites.
  • FamilySearch Affiliate Libraries have access to most center-only databases, but may not always have full services normally provided by a family history center.

Local Centers and Affiliate Libraries

Libraries[edit | edit source]

Listed below are libraries in Marlboro County. For state-wide library facilities, see South Carolina Archives and Libraries.

Museums[edit | edit source]

Societies[edit | edit source]

Listed below are societies in Marlboro County. For state-wide genealogical societies, see South Carolina Societies.

Websites[edit | edit source]

  • FamilySearch Catalog – The FamilySearch catalog contains descriptions and access information for all genealogical materials (including books, online materials, microfilm, microfiche, and publications) in their collection.  Use Historical Records to search for specific individuals in genealogical records.

Research Guides[edit | edit source]

References[edit | edit source]

  1. South Carolina Historical Boundary Changes - list of all boundary changes by county provided by Newberry Library; accessed on 30 December 2021.
  2. South Carolina Historical Boundary Changes - list of all boundary changes by county provided by Newberry Library; accessed on 31 December 2021.
  3. List of Pensioners on the Roll, January 1, 1883; Giving the Name of Each Pensioner, the Cause for Why Pensioned, the Post-Office Address, the Rate of Pension Per Month, and the Date of Original Allowance... (Washington, D.C.: Government Printing Office, 1883), 187. FHL Collection 973 M2Lp v. 5; digital versions at Google Books and Internet Archive.
  4. "Marlboro County, South Carolina" in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, "https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Marlboro_County,_South_Carolina." accessed 27/06/2019
  5. Voice of Phillip Stalvey, resident of Myrtle Beach, S.C. (2011).
  6. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Marlboro County, South Carolina. Page 611-615 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002; Alice Eichholz, ed. Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County, and Town Sources, Third ed. (Provo, Utah: Ancestry, 2004), 607-608.
  7. South Carolina Historical Boundary Changes - list of all boundary changes by county provided by Newberry Library; accessed on 11 April 2021.
  8. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), South Carolina .At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  9. Wikipedia contributors, "Marlboro County, South Carolina," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Marlboro_County,_South_Carolina, accessed 27 December 2019.
  10. Schweitzer, George K. , South Carolina Genealogical Research (Knoxville, Tennessee: s.p. 1985), 39-42, FHL book 975.7 D27s
  11. "List of counties in South Carolina," Wikipedia.
  12. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), 847-61. (FHL Book 973 D27e 2002) WorldCat entry., and William E. Myer, Indian Trails of the Southeast. (Nashville, Tenn.: Blue and Gray Press, 1971), 12-14, and the book's pocket map "The Trail System of the Southeastern United States in the Early Colonial Period" (1923). (FHL Book 970.1 M992i) WorldCat entry.
  13. Andrea, Leonardo, Marriage Lists, North Carolina, Salt Lake City, UT: Filmed by the Genealogical Society of Utah, 1974.
  14. Marlboro County, South Carolina Marriage Registers, 1724-1953, Salt Lake City, UT: Filmed by the Genealogical Society of Utah, 2002.
  15. South Carolina. County Court (Marlboro County), Marriage Bonds and Licenses from abt. 1791-1825, Salt Lake City, UT: Filmed by the Genealogical Society of Utah, 1963.
  16. Calhoun, Gloria, Early Marlboro County, South Carolina Newspapers, [Pee Dee, SC]: South Carolina Genealogical Society. Pee Dee Chapter, [1988/1989].
  17. South Carolina. Probate Court (Marlboro County), Marlboro County, South Carolina marriage licenses, ca. July 1911-Dec. 1950, Salt Lake City, UT: Filmed by the Genealogical Society of Utah, 2001-2002.
  18. Calhoun, Gloria, Early Marlboro County, South Carolina Newspapers, [Pee Dee, SC]: South Carolina Genealogical Society. Pee Dee Chapter, [1988/1989].