Marion County, South Carolina Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Guide to Marion County, South Carolina ancestry, genealogy and family history, birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

County Facts
County seat: Marion
Organized: 01 Jan 1800[1]
Parent County(s): Liberty, Georgetown
Neighboring Counties
Dillon  • Florence  • Georgetown  • Horry  • Williamsburg
See County Maps
Courthouse
South Carolina, Marion County Courthouse.png
Location Map
Sc-marion.png
Adoption

County Information[edit | edit source]

Description[edit | edit source]

The County was named after "The Swamp Fox" Revolutionary War Brigadier General Francis Marion (c1732-1795).[2]. The County is located in the northeast location of the state.[3]

"The Swamp Fox" Brig. Gen. Francis Marion (c1732-1795)

County Courthouse[edit | edit source]

Marion County Courthouse
100 West Court
Marion, SC 29571
Phone: 843-423-8240
Marion County Website

County Pronunciation
Hear it spoken[4]

Marion County, South Carolina Record Dates[edit | edit source]

Information for this chart was taken from various sources, often containing conflicting dates. This information should be taken as a guide and should be verified by contacting the county and/or the state government agency.

Known Beginning Dates for Major County Records[5]
Birth* Marriage Death* Court Land Probate Census
1915 1800 1915 1800 1800 1790 1790
*Statewide registration for births and deaths began in 1915. General compliance by 1918.

Record Loss[edit | edit source]

  • 1890 Lost census

For suggestions about research in places that suffered historic record losses, see:

Boundary Changes[edit | edit source]

Populated Places[edit | edit source]

For a complete list of populated places, including small neighborhoods and suburbs, visit HomeTown Locator. The following are the most historically and genealogically relevant populated places in this county:[8]

Cities
Towns
Unincorporated communities


History Timeline[edit | edit source]

Resources[edit | edit source]

Bible Records[edit | edit source]

Biographies[edit | edit source]

Business, Commerce, and Occupations[edit | edit source]

Cemeteries[edit | edit source]

Cemeteries of Marion County, South Carolina online and in print
Tombstone Transcriptions Online
Tombstone Transcriptions in Print (Often more complete)
List of Cemeteries in the County
See South Carolina Cemeteries for more information.

 

Census Records[edit | edit source]

For all existing and online Federal population schedules of South Carolina, see South Carolina Census. See also USGenWeb Census Project, South Carolina, including links to transcribed files.

Historical populations
Census Pop.
1800 6,914
1810 8,884 28.5%
1820 10,201 14.8%
1830 11,208 9.9%
1840 13,932 24.3%
1850 17,407 24.9%
1860 21,190 21.7%
1870 22,160 4.6%
1880 34,107 53.9%
1890 29,976 −12.1%
1900 35,181 17.4%
1910 20,596 −41.5%
1920 23,721 15.2%
1930 27,221 14.8%
1940 30,107 10.6%
1950 33,110 10.0%
1960 32,014 −3.3%
1970 30,270 −5.4%
1980 34,179 12.9%
1990 33,899 −0.8%
2000 35,466 4.6%
2010 33,062 −6.8%
Source: "Wikipedia.org".

1800

  • Grant, Marty. 1800 Census of Marion District, Liberty County, South Carolina: Liberty County, South Carolina. Marion, S.C.: Pee Dee Chapter, South Carolina Genealogical Society, 2002. FHL Collection 975.786 X2g 1800

1810

  • Dickerson, Jo Church. 1810 Census Marion District, South Carolina. Marion, S.C.: Pee Dee Chapter, South Carolina Genealogical Society, 2002. FHL item 975.786 X2d 1810

1820

  • Silva, Lois Turner. 1820 Census of the United States, State of South Carolina, District of Marion: National Archives Microfilm Publication, Microcopy 33, Roll 121, S.C., Vol. 4. Hemingway, S.C.: Three Rivers Historical Society, (1994?). FHL Collection 975.786 X2s 1820

1820 Manufactures
The original manufactures schedules for South Carolina are kept at the NARA, Washington, D.C. FHL copies: FHL Collection 1024517 - 1024518. Published abstract:

  • National Archives. Indexes to Manufactures Census of 1820. 1920; reprint, Knightstown, Ind.: Bookmark, 1977. FHL Collection 973 X2m 1820;

1830

  • Grant, Marvin A. 1830 Census - Marion District, South Carolina: A Full Transcription of the 1830 Census of Marion District South Carolina Encompassing All of Present Day Marion County and Dillon County and a Portion of Florence County. Kinston, N.C.: M.A. Grant, 2004. FHL Collection 975.78 X2g 1830
  • Ward, Carolyn Prater. 1830 Census of the United States, District of Marion [South Carolina]. FHL Collection 975.786 X2w 1830

1840

  • Ward, Carolyn Prater. 1840 Census of the United States, State of South Carolina, District of Marion. 1990. FHL Collection 975.786 X2w 1840

1840 Revolutionary War Pensioners

  • A Census of Pensioners for Revolutionary or Military Services: With their Names, Ages, and Places of Residence, as Returned by the Marshalls of the Several Judicial Districts, Under the Act for Taking the Sixth Census. Washington, D.C.: Blair and Rives, 1841. FHL Collection 973 X2pc 1840; FHL Collection 2321; digital version at Google Books. See South Carolina, Marion District on page 143.

1850

  • Ward, Carolyn Prater. 1850 Census of Marion County, South Carolina. 1978. FHL Collection 975.786 X2c 1850

1860

  • Johnson, Claudia T. Marion County, South Carolina 1860 Census. Hemingway, S.C.: Three Rivers Historical Society, 1987. FHL Collection 975.786 X2j 1860

1870

1880

  • Marsh, Steve and Mary Bingham Marsh. 1880 Marion County, S.C. Census. Hemingway, S.C.: Three Rivers Historical Society, 1986. FHL Collection 975.786 X2m 1880

Church Records[edit | edit source]

  • Stanley, Victor Bland. Marion Churches and Churchmen, 1735-1935: A Narrative of the Church of England and Its Successor, the Episcopal Church. Charleston, S.C.: Southern Print. & Pub. Co., 1938. Digital version at Ancestry ($).

Episcopal Church
Before 1785, residents of what is now Marion County were served by these colonial parishes.[9]

List of Churches and Church Parishes

Court Records[edit | edit source]

Online Court Indexes and Records

Directories[edit | edit source]

Emigration and Immigration[edit | edit source]

Ethnic, Political, and Religious Groups[edit | edit source]

African Americans

Known plantations South Carolina Plantations:

  • China Grove
  • Davis
  • Dogg Bluff
  • Ella's Grove
  • Oak Grove
  • Pauls - Pamplico
  • Woodlawn

Funeral Homes[edit | edit source]

Genealogies[edit | edit source]

General
Surname indexes to Leonardo Andrea's Files, Folders, Resources are available online, courtesy: The Andrea Files: South Carolina Genealogical Research. Gotoarrow.png Learn more.

Bibliography

  • Bingham - Marsh, Mary Bingham. Bingham or Bigham - Ancestry and De[s]cendants of James Bingham or Bigham Sr. of Marion District, S.C. Hemingway, S.C.: Three Rivers Historical Society, 1995. FHL 929.273 B513ma
  • Harrelson - Holcomb, Brent H. Lineage & Descendants of John Wesley Harrelson, Marion County, South Carolina, 1756-1984. 1984. FHL 929.273 H235h
  • Keeffe - Hanna, Muriel K. Keeffe/Keefe/Keith family of Florence and Marion Counties, South Carolina. Summerton, S.C.: M.K. Hanna,2004. FHL 929.273 K243h
  • Lane - Sirmon, Marilyn Lane and William Arnold Sirmon. The Ancestry and Known Descendants of Joseph Lane (1770 - 1850) of Marion County, South Carolina and Simpson County, Mississippi. 1986. FHL 929.273 L242s
  • Lewis Crump, Vivian Hayes. The Lewis Family of Monroe Co. and Marion Co., South Carolina. 1968. FHL 929.273 L585cv; digital version at FamilySearch Digital Library.
  • Lewis Lewis, J.D. My Neck of the Woods: The Lewis Families of Southeastern North Carolina and Northeastern South Carolina. Baltimore, Md.: Genealogical Publishing Co., 2002. FHL Collection book 929.273 L585Ljd, CD-ROM no. 1036

Guardianship[edit | edit source]

Land and Property Records[edit | edit source]

Because South Carolina was an agricultural state, many residents owned land. For earliest records, search 1) Charleston District, 2) your ancestor’s residential district, 3) neighboring districts, 4) the residential county, 5) neighboring counties. Not all districts and counties kept records. See also South Carolina Land and Property.

  • This series consists of recorded copies of plats for state land grants for the Charleston and the Columbia Series with their certificates of admeasurement or certification.All personal names and geographic features on these plats are included in the repository's On-line Index to Plats for State Land Grants
  • The South Carolina Constitution of 1790 required the surveyor general to maintain offices in both the new capital at Columbia and in Charleston. The surveyor general began to use separate volumes for recording plats in his Columbia office in 1796. Before that, all plats were recorded in the set of volumes begun in Charleston in 1784. After 1796, most plats for land grants in the Upper Division of the state were recorded and filed in Columbia. The surveyor general chose to make the Columbia volumes a continuation of the state plat volumes begun in Charleston and gave the initial Columbia volume the number thirty-six to correspond with the number of the volume that had then been reached in the Charleston series. As a result, there are volumes numbered thirty-six through forty-three from each office, but the records in them are not duplicative.

Also included are the Plan Books containing Plats and Plans.

Online Land Indexes and Records
The following chart show where you may best expect to find land records.

Tracing Land Currently in Marion County with Parent Counties and Districts [10]
Date Government Office
1868-present Marion County
1800-1865 Marion District
1769-1800 Georgetown District Records Lost
1719-1769 Charleston District
1710-1719 Proprietary Land Grants
  • Many colonial deeds for Marion County are recorded in deed records after 1800.

Local Histories[edit | edit source]

  • Moody, Mary C. Every Name Index to W. W. Sellers: A History of Marion County, South Carolina. (Arlington, Texas Blackstone Pub., 1985), 184 pages. To make the original volume more valuable, an every name index has been compiled. This index contains over 14,500 names. In this compilation, the actual spelling of the name was retained; therefore, the name of a person may be found under more than one spelling, abbreviated or listed with a title. Book at FHL 975.786 H2sw Index and [3t4zeyl Other Libraries.]
  • Sellers, William W. A History of Marion County, South Carolina From its Earliest Times to the Present, 1901. (Greenville, South Carolina Southern Historical Press, c1996), 647 pages. Names and organizations of Confederate military organizations from the county, pages 572-646. Book at FHL 975.786 H2sw 1996 and microform copies at [3cmqbrl Other Libraries]. The book is also located on Archives.org. The link is https://ia800206.us.archive.org/2/items/cu31924028790414/cu31924028790414.pdf
  • South Carolina Indexes at EveryNameIndex.com — Select the county.marion/ Marion

Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]

Dillon CountyHorry CountyGeorgetown CountyWilliamsburg CountyFlorence CountySC MARION.PNG
Click a neighboring county
for more resources

Migration[edit | edit source]

Military Records[edit | edit source]

General

  • "Military Pay Rolls, 1814," Pee Dee Queue, February 1987, Volume 11, Issue 2. Pee Dee Chapter, South Carolina Genealogical Society: Marion, SC.
  • "Veterans Burials," Pee Dee Queue, February 1987, Volume 11, Issue 2. Pee Dee Chapter, South Carolina Genealogical Society: Marion, SC.
  • Marion County Military, USGenWeb project.

Revolutionary War

  • "Levi Odom-Henry Brasswell-Phebe Rowell-Mary McIsack pension petition, 1838," Pee Dee Queue, September 2006, Volume 30, Issue 5. Pee Dee Chapter, South Carolina Genealogical Society: Marion, SC.
  • "John and Rebecca Bird Booth Rev. War pension file, 1833," Pee Dee Queue, September 2005, Volume 29, Issue 5. Pee Dee Chapter, South Carolina Genealogical Society: Marion, SC.
  • "T. Norwood Indent Note, 1792," Darlington Flag, Spring 2001, Volume 13, Issue 2. Old Darlington District Chapter, South Carolina Genealogical Society: Hartsville, SC.

War of 1812

  • List of Pensioners on the Roll, January 1, 1883; Giving the Name of Each Pensioner, the Cause for Why Pensioned, the Post-Office Address, the Rate of Pension Per Month, and the Date of Original Allowance... Washington, D.C.: Government Printing Office, 1883. FHL Collection 973 M2Lp v. 5; digital versions at Google Books and Internet Archive. See Vol. 5, South Carolina, Marion County, p. 186-187. Identifies War of 1812 veterans living in this county in 1883.
  • "Pee Dee Militia Companies, Roster," Pee Dee Queue, January 2000, Volume 24, Issue 1. Pee Dee Chapter, South Carolina Genealogical Society: Marion, SC.
  • "Soldiers Receiving Pensions or Grants," Pee Dee Queue, January 2000, Volume 24, Issue 1. Pee Dee Chapter, South Carolina Genealogical Society: Marion, SC.
  • "Company of Inf., Pee Dee," Pee Dee Queue, September 1999, Volume 23, Issue 5. Pee Dee Chapter, South Carolina Genealogical Society: Marion, SC.
  • "Militia Companies," Pee Dee Queue, July 1999, Volume 23, Issue 4. Pee Dee Chapter, South Carolina Genealogical Society: Marion, SC.
  • "Pension or Land Grants,"Pee Dee Queue, January 2000, Volume 24, Issue 1. Pee Dee Chapter, South Carolina Genealogical Society: Marion, SC.
  • "Capt. Bethea's Co.," Pee Dee Queue, May 1999, Volume 23, Issue 3. Pee Dee Chapter, South Carolina Genealogical Society: Marion, SC.
  • "Peter Caulder, Free Black Soldier," Arkansas Historical Quarterly, Spring 1999, volume 58, Issue 1. Arkansas Historical Association Hist. Dept., University of AR: Fayettville, AR.

Civil War

Regiments. Civil War service men from Marion County served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed of men from Marion County.

- 1st Battalion, South Carolina Sharpshooters, Company B - (also known as the Sumter Guards) and Company C - (also known as the Charleston Sharpshooters and Palmetto Guards)
- 1st Regiment, South Carolina Infantry (Hagood's), 2nd Company I
- 1st Regiment, South Carolina Infantry (McCreary's) (1st Provisional Army), Company E -(also known as Marion Volunteers Rifles)
- 1st Regiment, South Carolina Rifles (Orr's), Company H (also known as Pee Dee Guards)
- 2nd Regiment, South Carolina Artillery, Company D
- 2nd Regiment, South Carolina State Troops Junior Reserves (State Militia), Company B and Company L
- 3rd Regiment, South Carolina State Troops (6 months 1863-1864)
- 3rd Battalion, South Carolina Light Artillery (Palmetto Battalion), Company C (also known as the Wilson Light Artillery, Culpepper's Light Artillery and Culpeper Battery) and Company E (also known as the Yeadon Light Artillery)
- 4th Regiment, South Carolina Cavalry (Rutledge's), Company E and Company F
-6th Battalion, South Carolina Infantry (Byrd's), Company A
- 6th Regiment, South Carolina Cavalry (Aiken's Partisan Rangers) (1st Partisan Rangers), Company H and Company I
- 7th Regiment, South Carolina Cavalry , Company F and Company K
- 7th Battalion, South Carolina Reserves (Ward's), Company D Roster and Company E
- 8th Regiment, South Carolina Infantry, Company H, Company I, and Company L
- 10th Regiment, South Carolina Infantry , Company D, Company F, Company I, and Company L
-20th Regiment, South Carolina Infantry, Reorganized Company L
-23rd Regiment, South Carolina Infantry (Hatch's Coast Rangers), Company E and Company H

Other Resources

  • Brunson, Joseph Woods. Pee Dee Light Artillery of Maxcy Gregg's (Later Samuel McGowan's) Brigade, First South Carolina Volunteers (infantry) C. S. A., a Historical Sketch and Roster, (University, Alabama Confederate Pub., c1983), 60 pages. Includes rosters of the three Pee Dee infantry companies (from Darlington, Horry and Marion counties) which were supported by the Pee Dee artillery. The battery was officially Company D of the 1st South Carolina regiment. Book found at FHL 975.7 M2bjr and Other Libraries.
  • Sellers, William W. A History of Marion County, South Carolina From its Earliest Times to the Present, 1901. (Greenville, South Carolina: Southern Historical Press, c1996), 647 pages. Names and organizations of Confederate military organizations from the county, pages 572-646. Book at FHL 975.786 H2sw 1996 and microfilm copies at [3cmqbrl Other Libraries].

Naturalization and Citizenship[edit | edit source]

Newspapers[edit | edit source]

Historic
The Library of Congress has identified the following historic newspapers for Marion County, South Carolina on their Chronicling America website. For publication details, including dates of publication, frequency, preceding and succeeding titles, and to find out which libraries have holdings, click on the newspaper title.

University of South Carolina Library Catalog

Obituaries[edit | edit source]

Other Records[edit | edit source]

Periodicals[edit | edit source]

Tap into the minds of local experts. Editors of genealogical periodicals publish unique sources that researchers new to their area may not encounter. Periodicals at various levels (county, region, and state) may carry articles useful to research in this area. For more information and links, see South Carolina Periodicals.

  • Darlington Flag
  • Georgia Genealogical Magazine
  • Pee Dee Queue (Family History Library book 975.7 D25pe .)
  • South Carolina Magazine of Ancestral Research (Family History Library book 975.7 B2sc .)

Probate Records[edit | edit source]

Various types of records are created throughout the probate process of settling estates and property, usually after death. These may include, wills, bonds, petitions, accounts, inventories, administrations, orders, decrees, and distributions. For further information see probate records in South Carolina Probate Records.

Online Probate Indexes and Records

  • The South Carolina Department of Archives and History has microfilms or typescripts of wills, inventories, bills of sale, power of attorneys, bonds, notes, administrations, judgments, and sales records. Archival records include estate papers from 1790-1893 from the court of ordinary and probate court records, along with other corollary papers. Statewide Will Transcriptions, 1782 to 1855, database is available online with a searchable index by name. Images are available.
  • Early will records of the Court of Ordinary for Marion District are available on microfilm. FHL Film 24127
  • Also see the 3-volume set of Marion County probate records, 1800-1900:
-Lucille Utley and Danny Smith, comp. [South Carolina], Marion County Probate Records. (Hemingway, S.C.: Three Rivers Historical Society, 1985. FHL Book 975.786 P2
-Marion County Wills 1796-1807 (transcripts). See list of testators. South Carolina Pioneers
-Index to Marion County Will Book I, 1796-1853. South Carolina Pioneers

School Records[edit | edit source]

Social Security Records[edit | edit source]

Tax Records[edit | edit source]

Tax-related records are kept by the offices of the county Assessor, Auditor, Sheriff, and Treasurer. Taxes were levied on real and personal property and can help establish ages, residences, and relationships. See South Carolina Taxation for online resources and suggestions.

Published abstracts

Vital Records[edit | edit source]

Birth, marriage, and death records were not recorded by South Carolina until the 1900s, thus leaving a lack of vital records created by Civil authorities. See South Carolina Vital Records for online resources and suggestions.

  • 1791-1861 Marriage, Death, and Estate Notices from Georgetown, South Carolina Newspapers, 1791-1861 [13] FHL Collection WorldCat - index

Birth[edit | edit source]

State-wide birth registration did not begin until 1915. For records after 1915, see the South Carolina Vital Records page.

Marriage[edit | edit source]

In South Carolina, Probate Courts issued and still keep marriage licenses from 1 July 1911 to the present. Licenses were not required before 1911. In the 1700s, the Church of England parish churches were required to record all marriages - even if the couple were not members of the denomination. Statewide registration of marriages started in July, 1950. See South Carolina Vital Records for indexes and more information.

Online Marriage Records and Indexes

  • 1800-1825 List of Memoranda of Marriage Licenses Granted in Marion County, South Carolina, as Found in Minute Book of the Probate Court for said County Covering the Years 1800 to 1825 [14] FHL Collection - abstract
  • 1800-1829 Marriages, 1800-1829 [15] FHL Collection - records
  • 1800-1829 Memoranda of Marriage Licenses Issued by the Court of Ordinary of Marion County, South Carolina Which Appears in Part of an Old Will Book [16]FHL Collection - abstract
  • 1858-1886 Genealogical Abstracts from Marion, South Carolina Newspapers, 1858-1886 by Gloria Calhoun [17] FHL Collection WorldCat - abstract
  • 1911-1950 Marion County, South Carolina Marriage Licenses, July 1911-Dec. 1950 [18] FHL Collection - records
  • 1911-1952 Marion County, South Carolina Marriage Registers Continued by Bound Marriage Licenses, 1911-1952 [19] FHL Collection - index and records
  • There are several online marriage indexes containing miscellaneous marriage records found in some counties of South Carolina listed on the South Carolina Vital Records page.

Death[edit | edit source]

State-wide death registration began in 1915. For information and online records, see the South Carolina Vital Records page.

Online Death Records and Indexes

Divorce[edit | edit source]

Research Facilities[edit | edit source]

Archives[edit | edit source]

Listed below are archives in Marion County. For state-wide library facilities, see South Carolina Archives and Libraries.

Family History Centers[edit | edit source]

Family History Center and Affiliate Library Locator map - search for local Family History Centers or Affiliate Libraries

  • Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance, free access to center-only databases, and to premium genealogical websites.
  • FamilySearch Affiliate Libraries have access to most center-only databases, but may not always have full services normally provided by a family history center.

Local Centers and Affiliate Libraries

Libraries[edit | edit source]

Listed below are libraries in Marion County. For state-wide library facilities, see South Carolina Archives and Libraries.

Museums[edit | edit source]

Societies[edit | edit source]

Listed below are societies in Marion County. For state-wide genealogical societies, see South Carolina Societies.

Websites[edit | edit source]

  • FamilySearch Catalog – The FamilySearch catalog contains descriptions and access information for all genealogical materials (including books, online materials, microfilm, microfiche, and publications) in their collection.  Use Historical Records to search for specific individuals in genealogical records.

Research Guides[edit | edit source]

References[edit | edit source]

  1. Newberry
  2. "Francis Marion," Wikipedia.
  3. "Marion County, South Carolina" in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, "https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Marion_County,_South_Carolina." accessed 27/06/2019
  4. Voice of Phillip Stalvey, resident of Myrtle Beach, S.C. (2011).
  5. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Marion County, South Carolina. Page 611-615 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002; Alice Eichholz, ed. Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County, and Town Sources, Third ed. (Provo, Utah: Ancestry, 2004), 607-608.
  6. Newberry
  7. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), South Carolina .At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  8. Wikipedia contributors, "Marion County, South Carolina," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Marion_County,_South_Carolina, accessed 27 December 2019.
  9. "South Carolina Districts and Parishes 1770" [map] in Carolana at http://www.carolana.com/SC/Royal_Colony/sc_royal_colony_districts_parishes_1770.html (accessed 11 May 2011).
  10. Schweitzer, George K. , South Carolina Genealogical Research (Knoxville, Tennessee: s.p. 1985), 39-42, FHL book 975.7 D27s
  11. Calhoun, Gloria, Genealogical Abstracts from Marion, South Carolina Newspapers, 1858-1886, Marion, SC: Pee Dee Chapter, SCGS, c1999.
  12. 12.0 12.1 This source exists, according to Marion County, South Carolina Census and Tax Lists, SCGenWeb.
  13. Holcomb, Brent H., Marriage, Death, and Estate Notices from Georgetown, South Carolina Newspapers, 1791-1861, Easley, SC: Southern Historical Press, c1979.
  14. South Carolina. Court of Ordinary (Marion County), List of Memoranda of Marriage Licenses Granted in Marion County, South Carolina, as Found in Minute Book of the Probate Court for said County Covering the Years 1800 to 1825, Salt Lake City, UT: Filmed by the Genealogical Society of Utah, 1975.
  15. South Carolina. Court of Ordinary (Marion County), Marriages, 1800-1829, [S.l.: s.n.], ?.
  16. South Carolina. Court of Ordinary (Marion County), Memoranda of Marriage Licenses Issued by the Court of Ordinary of Marion County, South Carolina Which Appears in Part of an Old Will Book, Salt Lake City, Ut: Filmed by the Genealogical Society of Utah, 1975.
  17. Calhoun, Gloria, Genealogical Abstracts from Marion, South Carolina Newspapers, 1858-1886, Marion, SC: Pee Dee Chapter, SCGS, c1999.
  18. South Carolina. Probate Court (Marion County), Marion County, South Carolina Marriage Licenses, July 1911-Dec. 1950, Salt Lake City, UT: Filmed by the Genealogical Society of Utah, 1999.
  19. South Carolina, Probate Court (Marion County), Marion County, South Carolina Marriage Registers Continued by Bound Marriage Licenses, 1911-1952, Salt Lake City, UT: Filmed by the Genealogical Society of Utah, 2001.