Manitoba, Canada Genealogy

Canada

Manitoba

Guide to Manitoba ancestry, family history and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, parish registers, and military records.

Manitoba Wiki Topics
Beginning Research
Guided Research Research Strategies Record Finder
Record Types
Biographies Business and Commerce Cemeteries Census Church Records Civil Registration Court Records Directories Emigration and Immigration First Nations Compiled Genealogies Land and Property	Military Records Municipal Records Naturalization and Citizenship Newspapers Obituaries Online Records Periodicals Probate Records School Records Taxation Vital Statistics
Manitoba Background
Biographies Gazetteers	History Maps
Cultural Groups
Cultural Groups	First Nations
Local Research Resources
Archives and Libraries Societies Family History Centers

Manitoba Information

• The first peoples were Indigenous, including Assiniboine, Ojibwa, Cree and Dene peoples.
• In the early 17th century, fur traders began arriving in the area and establishing settlements along the Nelson, Assiniboine, and Red rivers, and on the Hudson Bay shoreline.
• England secured control of the region in 1673, and subsequently created a territory named Rupert's Land which was placed under the administration of the Hudson's Bay Company.
• Rupert's Land, which covered the entirety of present-day Manitoba, grew and evolved from 1673 until 1869 with significant settlements of Indigenous and Métis people in the Red River Colony.
• In 1869, negotiations with the Government of Canada for the creation of the province of Manitoba commenced. During the negotiations, several factors led to an armed uprising of the Métis people against the Government of Canada, a conflict known as the Red River Rebellion.
• The resolution of the rebellion and further negotiations led to Manitoba becoming the fifth province to join Canadian Confederation, when the Parliament of Canada passed the Manitoba Act on July 15, 1870.

Getting Started

Links to articles on getting started with Manitoba research. Guided Research How to Find Birth, Marriage, and Death Records for Manitoba, Canada How to Locate Your Ancestor in Canada Canada Online Genealogy Records

Manitoba Research Tools Links to articles and websites that assist in Manitoba research. Manitoba Vital Statistics Agency Archives of Manitoba Search Library and Archives Canada Mary's Genealogy Treasures

Manitoba Online Genealogy Records

Ask the FamilySearch Community

Manitoba Map

Populated Places

Morden Winnipeg Pierson Dauphin

Steinbach Portage la Prairie Brandon The Pas

Thompson Churchill

FamilySearch Resources

Below are FamilySearch resources that can assist you in researching your family.

• Facebook Communities - Facebook groups discussing genealogy research
• Learning Center - Online genealogy courses
• Historical Records - databases and record images on FamilySearch
• Family History Center locator map

Additional Resources

• How to Recognize your Canadian Ancestor
• Name Variations in Canadian Indexes and Records