Manger Parish, Hordaland, Norway Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search


Guide to Manger, Norway ancestry, family history, and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, and military records.

Manger Parish
Jurisdictions
Stift/Bispedømme/
Diocese
Bjørgvin (1070-1537) included Bergen, Hordaland and Sogn og Fjordane, Bjørgvin (1538-today)
Prosti Nordhordaland prosti
Len 1599-1660 Bergenhus
Amt 1689-1919 1660-1763: Bergenhus, 1763-1919: Søndre Bergenhus
Fylke 1919-Present Hordaland
Region Vestlandet
Prestegjeld Manger
Kommune Alver kommune
Skifteretten Nordhordland
Tinglag Manger
Fogderi Nordhordland
Sorenskriveri Nordhordland
Skipreide N/A


Church Records[edit | edit source]

Microfilm of parish registers available at the Family History Library for Manger clerical district. Contains the parish registers for the parishes Manger, Hordabø (Bøe) and Sæbø. Included Herdla and Hjelme parishes until 1868. The Archive burned in 1759. Records available from 1759-1923.


Digital images of parish records are online for Manger, Hordabø (Bøe), and Sæbø.


Manger clerical district: 1759-938


Census Records[edit | edit source]

  • 1664-1666 Census Fogdens og sorenskriverens manntall 1664-1666 This census was taken by the local civil authorities. Nordhordland Fogderi for Manger clerical district included Manger, Sæbø, Hjelme, Herdla and Hordabø parishes. This census is on microfilm at the Family History Library Film 122979 Item 4. It is online at Digitalarkivet as scanned images.
  • 1664-1666 Census Sogneprestenes manntall 1664-1666 This census was taken by the local parish priests. Nordhordland Prosti for Manger clerical district included Manger, Sæbø, Hjelme, Herdla and Hordabø parishes. This census is on microfilm at the Family History Library Film 122972 Item 1. It is online at Digitalarkivet as scanned images. Of the two records the Sogneprestenes mantall is the most complete.
  • 1825 Census The 1825 census for Manger clerical district includes Manger, Hordabø, Sæbø, and Herdla parishes. It is on microfilm at the Family History Library Film 1283409 Item 8 and online as a database at Digitalarkivet Folketeljing 1825 for Manger.

Court Records[edit | edit source]

Land Records[edit | edit source]

Farm Books[edit | edit source]

Haugland, Anders, 1949-: Radøy gjennom tidene. Contents: v. 2. From 27/28 Kvalheim to generation 41 Bjørkeland -- v. 3. From generation 42 Flone to generation 62 Kolås -- v. 4. From generation 63 Marås to generation 87/88 Sæbø. FHL 948.32/M4 D2

Farm Names[edit | edit source]

40 Aasen

41 Birkeland 49 Blauten 53 Boge, Bø

37 Dalland

38 Finmarken 49 Fjeldet 42 Floen,

Grindheim

40 Haalen 60 Halland, Haugland, Helle 38 Helland

38 Kartnaglen 55 Kartveit 59 Kjesæter 62 Kolaas 52 Kolstad, Kvalheim,

Lervik, Li, Listveiten 58 Lørvik

46 Manger øvre 44 Mangersneset, Marøy, Mjøs 51 Morken indre 35 Myking 48 Myren,

Nordanger, 57 Nordli 49 Nøttveit

49 Paradis 45 Præstegaarden 38 Pusse

39 Raunhaugen, Rikdstad, Risnes, Rossneset,

Sylta 53 Skogen 49 Skuggelien 47 Solend nordre, Soltveit, 52 Stølen 36 Sætre 61 Sævdal 56 Sørli

43 Toske 39 Tveiten nedre

54 Ulvatn 50 Uren,

Villanger, Vøgenes

Genealogy[edit | edit source]

Kvamme, Vera Joyce (Vera Joyce Fox), 1921-: Ancestral forefathers of John Kvamme Sr., North Makota, Minnesota.

Ancestors and descendants of Johannes (John) C. Kvamme (b.1892), who emigrated from Norway to Cloquet, Minnesota and married Nellie Larson. Includes ancestors and descendants of Nellie Larson (who was born in Wisconsin to Norwegian immigrants). Descendants lived in Minnesota and elsewhere. Some relatives emigrated from Wisconsin to British Columbia and elsewhere in Canada. Kvamme and Larson ancestors lived in Manger parish, Hordaland County, and in the parishes at Innset and Kvikne, Hedmark County, Norway.

Includes Baage, Bergstedt, Botnan, Flotten, Larshus, Naeverdal and related families. FHL 929.273 K971

Probate Records[edit | edit source]

From 1702-1910: Records are found in Nordhordaland, 1702-1910 judicial district.

1800-1852: Some of the farms in this parish belonged to Lysekloster Estate. If the probate is not found in the district above look at Hardanger og Voss where the probates for Lysekloster were kept.

1773-1810: Clerical probate records are found in Nordhordaland Deanery.

References[edit | edit source]

Oluf Rygh: Norwegian Farm Names