Manatee County, Florida Genealogy
Guide to Manatee County, Florida ancestry, genealogy and family history, birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
|
| ||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
| ||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
County Information[edit | edit source]
Description[edit | edit source]
The county was named for the Florida manatee (commonly called a “sea cow” and distantly related to the elephant), which is endangered and Florida’s official marine mammal.[2] The County is located in the west-central area of the state.[3]
County Courthouse[edit | edit source]
Manatee County Courthouse
1115 Manatee Ave W; PO Box 25400;
Bradenton, FL 34206
Phone. 941-749-1800
Manatee County Website
Clerk Circuit Court has marriage, divorce, probate, court and land records from 1857
Manatee County, Florida Record Dates[edit | edit source]
Information for this chart was taken from various sources, often containing conflicting dates. This information should be taken as a guide and should be verified by contacting the county and/or the state government agency.
| Birth* | Marriage | Death* | Court | Land | Probate | Census |
| 1901 | 1857 | 1915 | 1857 | 1857 | 1857 | 1830 |
Record Loss[edit | edit source]
|
There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county. |
Boundary Changes[edit | edit source]
|
Populated Places[edit | edit source]
For a complete list of populated places, including small neighborhoods and suburbs, visit HomeTown Locator. The following are the most historically and genealogically relevant populated places in this county:[6]
| Cities | ||
| Towns | ||
| Unincorporated communities | ||
| Census-designated places | ||
| Historic communities | ||
| Ghost towns | ||
History Timeline[edit | edit source]
Resources[edit | edit source]
Bible Records[edit | edit source]
Biographies[edit | edit source]
Business, Commerce, and Occupations[edit | edit source]
Cemeteries[edit | edit source]
Census Records[edit | edit source]
| Historical populations | ||
|---|---|---|
| Census | Pop. | %± |
| 1860 | 854 | — |
| 1870 | 1,931 | 126.1% |
| 1880 | 3,544 | 83.5% |
| 1890 | 2,895 | −18.3% |
| 1900 | 4,663 | 61.1% |
| 1910 | 9,550 | 104.8% |
| 1920 | 18,712 | 95.9% |
| 1930 | 22,502 | 20.3% |
| 1940 | 26,098 | 16.0% |
| 1950 | 34,704 | 33.0% |
| 1960 | 69,168 | 99.3% |
| 1970 | 97,115 | 40.4% |
| 1980 | 148,442 | 52.9% |
| 1990 | 211,707 | 42.6% |
| 2000 | 264,002 | 24.7% |
| 2010 | 322,833 | 22.3% |
| Source: "Wikipedia.org". | ||
For tips on accessing census records online, see: Florida Census.
- 1783 Spanish Census USGenWeb
- 1821 Census/Tax List Index USGenWeb
- 1823 Census/Tax List Index USGenWeb
- 1880 Census African Born Blacks and Mulattos USGenWeb
- 1885 Florida State Population Census includes sex, age, relationship, occupation, place of birth of each family member and parents. Also census for agriculture, manufacture and mortality. - How to Use this Collection
- 1935 1935 Florida State Census at MyHeritage - index ($))
- Federal Census Information from National Archives USGenWeb
- State Census Information from Florida State Archives USGenWeb
- Census of Pensioners Revolutionary Military Service USGenWeb
Church Records[edit | edit source]
Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Florida denominations, view the Florida Church Records wiki page.
List of Churches and Church Parishes
Court Records[edit | edit source]
- 1915-1917 Docket, 1915-1917(*); County Court at FamilySearch Catalog — images
Directories[edit | edit source]
Emigration and Immigration[edit | edit source]
- NARA Ships Passenger Lists - These passenger lists cover:
- 1834-1897 - Immigration of Russians to the United States
- 1/12/1846-12/31/1851 - Irish Famine
- 1850-1897 - Germans to the United States
- 1855-1900 - Italians to the United States
- 1834-1897 - Immigration of Russians to the United States
Ethnic, Political, and Religious Groups[edit | edit source]
African American
- USGenWeb Florida African American Griots Project
- Afrigeneas - African Genealogy
Funeral Homes[edit | edit source]
- Abundant Favor Mortuary in Bradenton
- AM Cremation and Funeral Care in Palmetto
- Apostle I Funeral Home, LLC in Bradenton
- Baldwin Brothers Funeral and Cremation Society in Bradenton
- Brown and Sons Funeral Homes and Crematory in Bradenton
- Good Earth Crematory in Bradenton
- Griffith-Cline Funeral and Cremation Services in Bradenton
- Groover Funeral Home at Mansion Memorial Park in Ellenton
- Robert Toale and Sons Funeral Home in Bradenton
- Shannon Funeral Home and Cremation Services in Bradenton
- Skyway Memorial Funeral Home and Cremation Services in Bradenton
- Westside Funeral Home in Palmetto
Genealogies[edit | edit source]
Guardianship[edit | edit source]
Land and Property Records[edit | edit source]
Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.
See Florida Land and Property for additional information about early Florida land grants. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse and where records are currently housed.
Florida Territorial Land Records
Local Histories[edit | edit source]
Local histories are available for most counties. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories see the wiki page section Florida Local Histories.
Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]
for more resources
- 1821-1997 Maps of Florida
- 1870 Gray's Atlas Panhandle Portion of StateUSGenWeb
- 1882 Rand McNally Panhandle Portion of StateUSGenWeb
- Exploring Florida, FCIT Maps University of South Florida
- FamilySearch Places: Map of cities and towns in this county - How to Use FS Places
Migration[edit | edit source]
Military Records[edit | edit source]
- Manatee County Military Records (USGenWeb Archives)
- Florida State Military Files USGenWeb
- Florida state pension records from various wars Pension Transcriptions USGenWeb
Civil War
- 1861-1865 - Florida Civil War Service Records of Confederate Soldiers, 1861-1865 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection
- 1861-1865 - Florida Civil War Service Records of Union Soldiers, 1861-1865 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection
- 1861-1865 - U.S., Confederate Soldiers Compiled Service Records, 1861-1865 at Ancestry (free)
- 1861-1865 - U.S., Union Soldiers Compiled Service Records, 1861-1865 at Ancestry (free)
- 1883 Manatee County Pensioners on the Roll as of January 1, 1883 (Genealogy Trails)
- 1885-1955 - Florida Confederate Veterans and Widows Pension Applications, 1885-1955 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection
World War I
- 1917-1918 - Manatee County Civilian Draft Registration (USGenWeb Archives)
- 1917-1920 - Florida, World War I Navy Card Roster, 1917-1920 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection
World War II
- 1940-1945 - Florida, World War II Draft Registration Cards,1940-1945 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection
- Manatee County World War II Enlistees, Names Ackerman - Darley (USGenWeb Archives)
- Manatee County World War II Enlistees, Names Davis - Hutchinson (USGenWeb Archives)
- Manatee County World War II Enlistees, Names Imbler - Palmer (USGenWeb Archives)
- Manatee County World War II Enlistees, Names Parah - Strong (USGenWeb Archives)
- Manatee County World War II Enlistees, Names Sudbury - Zipperer (USGenWeb Archives)
- Manatee County World War II Casualties (USGenWeb Archives)
Korean War
- Manatee County Korean War Casualties (USGenWeb Archives)
- Florida Casualties in the Korean Conflict distantcousin.com
Vietnam War
- Manatee County Vietnam War Casualties (Genealogy Trails)
- Distantcousin.com Florida Casualties in the Vietnam War
Naturalization and Citizenship[edit | edit source]
Newspapers[edit | edit source]
- 1800s-1999 U.S., Newspapers.com Marriage Index, 1800s-1999 at Ancestry - index ($)
- Florida Digital Newspaper Library at George A. Smathers Libraries
- Early Florida Newspapers at the Florida State Library
- Obituaries published in Bradenton Herald - Obituary File 1976-present, a service of the Manatee Genealogical Society. The Card File is located at the Historical Records Library in Bradenton, FL.
Obituaries[edit | edit source]
- USGenWeb Obituaries Project Obituary transcriptions from Florida counties
- Manatee County, Florida Obituary Collection Free from GenealogyBuff.com. From Various Funeral Homes in the Bradenton, Sarasota, Parrish, and Palmetto areas.
- Obituaries published in Bradenton Herald - Obituary File 1976-present, a service of the Manatee Genealogical Society. The Card File is located at the Historical Records Library in Bradenton, FL.
Other Records[edit | edit source]
Periodicals[edit | edit source]
Probate Records[edit | edit source]
Online Indexes and Records
- 1784-1990 Florida Probate Records, 1784-1990(*) at FamilySearch — How to Use this Collection; images
- 1827-1950 Florida, U.S., Wills and Probate Records, 1827-1950 at Ancestry ($)
- 1857-1977 Florida, Manatee County, Probate Records, 1857-1977(*); County Judge's Court at FamilySearch Catalog — index & images
- 1859-1878 Miscellaneous Record, 1859-1878(*); Clerk of the Circuit Court at FamilySearch Catalog — images
School Records[edit | edit source]
Social Security Records[edit | edit source]
- 1935-2014 United States Social Security Death Index at FamilySearch - How to use this collection; index. Also at Ancestry, findmypast, Fold3, GenealogyBank, MyHeritage, and Steve Morse. Click here for more information.
- 1936-2007 U.S., Social Security Applications and Claims Index, 1936-2007 at Ancestry ($) — index, click here for more information.
Tax Records[edit | edit source]
Taxes were levied on free white males over 21 and slaves aged 21 to 60. These persons are referred to as "polls." Tax listings, or digests, of a county generally list the taxable landowners and other polls and the amount of tax. The records for each county are divided by militia district. For more information see the wiki page Florida Taxation.
Vital Records[edit | edit source]
Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Florida Department of Health, Bureau of Vital Statistics, Florida State Archives, or the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred.
Birth[edit | edit source]
- 1880-1935 - Florida, Births and Christenings, 1880-1935 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection
Marriage[edit | edit source]
- 1802-1998 - Florida, United States Marriages at Findmypast $
- 1822-1875 and 1927 - 2001 - Florida, Marriage Index, 1822-1875 and 1927-2001 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection
- 1830-1957 - Florida, County Marriages, 1830-1957 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection
- 1830-1993 - Florida, Marriages, 1830-1993 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection
- 1837-1974 - Florida, Marriages, 1837-1974 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection
- 1970 - 1999 Florida, Marriages, 1970 - 1999 at MyHeritage - index ($))
Death[edit | edit source]
- 1877-1939 - Florida, Deaths, 1877-1939 at FamilySearch- How to Use this Collection
- 1877-1998 - Florida, Death Index, 1877-1998 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection
- 1900-1921 - Florida, Deaths and Burials, 1900-1921 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection
Divorce[edit | edit source]
- 1927-2001 Florida, Divorce Index, 1927-2001 at Ancestry - index $
- 1970 - 1999 Florida, Divorces, 1970 - 1999 at MyHeritage - index ($))
Voter Records[edit | edit source]
- 1867-1868 Web: Florida, U.S., Voter Registration Rolls, 1867-1868 at Ancestry - index ($)
Research Facilities[edit | edit source]
Archives[edit | edit source]
Listed below are archives in Manatee County. For state-wide archival repositories, see Florida Archives and Libraries.
Family History Centers[edit | edit source]
Family History Center and Affiliate Library Locator map - search for local Family History Centers or Affiliate Libraries
- Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance, free access to center-only databases, and to premium genealogical websites.
- FamilySearch Affiliate Libraries have access to most center-only databases, but may not always have full services normally provided by a family history center.
Local Centers and Affiliate Libraries
Libraries[edit | edit source]
Listed below are libraries in Manatee County. For state-wide library facilities, see Florida Archives and Libraries.
Downtown Central Library
1301 Barcarrota Boulevard West
Bradenton, FL 34205-7522
Phone: 941-748-5555
Website
- Most Manatee County historical records (usually more than 1 year old) are transferred to the [Records Library] located at 1405 4th Ave W. Bradenton, FL 34205. Phone: (941) 741-4070. The Historical Records Library is housed within the 1918 Carnegie Library building, which was placed on the U.S. Department of the Interior's Registry of Historic Sites in 1987.
- Most Manatee County historical records (usually more than 1 year old) are transferred to the [Records Library] located at 1405 4th Ave W. Bradenton, FL 34205. Phone: (941) 741-4070. The Historical Records Library is housed within the 1918 Carnegie Library building, which was placed on the U.S. Department of the Interior's Registry of Historic Sites in 1987.
Museums[edit | edit source]
The Family Heritage House Museum
1707 15th St. East
Bradenton, FL 34205
Website
Manatee Village Historical Park
1404 Manatee Avenue East (SR 64)
Bradenton, FL 34208
Phone: 941-749-7165
website
Societies[edit | edit source]
Listed below are societies in Manatee County. For state-wide genealogical societies, see Florida Societies.
- Anna Maria Island Historical Society
P.O. Box 4315
Anna Maria, FL 34216
Phone: 941-778-0492
Email: amihs4315@gmail.com
Website
Facebook - Manatee County Historical Society
4501 Manatee Ave. West
Bradenton, FL 34209-3925
Phone: 941-748-5788
Website
Facebook - Manatee Genealogical Society
P.O. Box 1194
Bradenton, FL 34206
Email: info@mgsfl.org
Website
Facebook - Myakka City Historical Society
P.O. Box 500
Myakka City, FL 34252
Facebook
Websites[edit | edit source]
|
- Manatee County GenWeb Project, Inc.
- Manatee County, Florida Genealogy and Family History (Linkpendium)
- State of Florida
- Manatee County, Florida,USGenWeb Archives
- Sarasota County, Florida Genealogy and Family History (Linkpendium)
- Manatee County, FLGenWeb Project
- Manatee County, Florida Genealogy Trails
- Manatee County FL Genealogy (ldsgenealogy.com)
- FamilySearch Catalog – The FamilySearch catalog contains descriptions and access information for all genealogical materials (including books, online materials, microfilm, microfiche, and publications) in their collection. Use Historical Records to search for specific individuals in genealogical records.
Research Guides[edit | edit source]
References[edit | edit source]
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Florida.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- ↑ Genealogy Trails History Group, “Madison County, Florida Genealogy and History”, genealogy trails accessed 04/25/2017.
- ↑ Wikipedia contributors, "Madison County," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, wikipedia 04/25/2017.
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Florida.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Florida.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- ↑ Wikipedia contributors, "Manatee County, Florida," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, wikipedia accessed 30 January 2019.
