Maine, United States Genealogy
|Maine Wiki Topics|
|Local Research Resources|
Guide to Maine ancestry, family history, and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, and military records.
Maine Information[edit | edit source]
Maine became the twenty-third state admitted to the United States on Mar 15, 1820. Maine was created from Massachusetts (District of Maine) and is located in the northeast region of the United States. The State of Maine has 16 counties. The State Capital is Augusta. 
Getting Started[edit | edit source]
Getting Started with Maine Research
Links to articles on getting started with Maine research.
Maine Research Tools
Links to articles and websites that assist in Maine research.
Maine Clickable Map[edit | edit source]
Many genealogy records are kept on the county level in the United States. Click on a county below to go to the county Wiki article listing more information.
Counties[edit | edit source]
Extinct or Renamed Counties: Cornwall · Devonshire · Dominion of New England Genealogy · East · Lincoln (old) · Massachusetts Bay Colony Genealogy · New Ireland Colony · New Somerset · West · Yorkshire
Maine Migration Routes[edit | edit source]
FamilySearch Resources[edit | edit source]
Below are FamilySearch resources that can assist you in researching your family.
- Facebook Communities - Facebook groups discussing genealogy research
- Learning Center - Online genealogy courses
- Historical Records - databases and record images on FamilySearch
- Family History Center locator map
Additional Resources[edit | edit source]
- The Maine genealogist Farmington, Maine : Maine Genealogical Society, 1991- FHL 974.1 D25ms
- Maine Research Outline – Original Family History Library research outline; contains many out of date links
- Sybil Noyes, Charles Thornton Libby, Walter Goodwin Davis, Genealogical dictionary of Maine and New Hampshire 5 volumes. Portland, Maine : Southworth Press, 1928-1939
- Cyndi's List - Maine genealogy sites on the internet
- Maine Genealogy Trails - collection of transcribed data for the state of Maine
- Access Genealogy – Genealogy guide for Maine
- Random Acts of Genealogical Kindness - Guide to Ancestry and Family Tree Records for Maine
- Every Name Index
References[edit | edit source]
- Wikipedia contributors, "Maine" in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia at http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Maine (accessed 15 March 2016).
- Wikipedia contributors, "List of US States by Date of Admission," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_U.S._states_by_date_of_admission_to_the_Union, accessed 09/18/2016.