Madison County, North Carolina Genealogy
Jump to navigation
Jump to search
Guide to Madison County, North Carolina ancestry, genealogy and family history, birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
|
| ||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
| ||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
County Information[edit | edit source]
Description[edit | edit source]
Madison County is located in the southwestern portion of North Carolina and shares a border with Tennessee. It was named for President James Madison.[2]
County Courthouse[edit | edit source]
Madison County Courthouse
PO Box 66
Marshall, NC 28753
Phone: 828-649-3131
Madison County Website
Register of Deeds has birth, marriage, death, burial and land records.
Clerk Superior Court has divorce, probate and court records from 1851.[3]
Madison County, North Carolina Record Dates[edit | edit source]
Information for this chart was taken from various sources, often containing conflicting dates. This information should be taken as a guide and should be verified by contacting the county and/or the state government agency.
| Birth* | Marriage | Death* | Court | Land | Probate | Census |
| 1913 | 1851 | 1913 | 1851 | 1851 | 1851 | 1784 |
Record Loss[edit | edit source]
|
There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county. |
Boundary Changes[edit | edit source]
For animated maps illustrating North Carolina county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation North Carolina County Boundary Maps" (1664-1965) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website. |
Populated Places[edit | edit source]
For a complete list of populated places, including small neighborhoods and suburbs, visit HomeTown Locator. The following are the most historically and genealogically relevant populated places in this county:[6]
| Towns | ||
| Unincorporated communities | ||
| Townships | ||
|
|
|
History Timeline[edit | edit source]
Resources[edit | edit source]
Bible Records[edit | edit source]
- Bible Records at North Carolina Digital Archives - index and image
Biographies[edit | edit source]
Business, Commerce, and Occupations[edit | edit source]
Cemeteries[edit | edit source]
- North Carolina, Historical Records Survey, Cemetery Inscription Card Index at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; index and images Also at: Ancestry ($)
Census Records[edit | edit source]
| Historical populations | ||
|---|---|---|
| Census | Pop. | %± |
| 1860 | 5,908 | — |
| 1870 | 8,192 | 38.7% |
| 1880 | 12,810 | 56.4% |
| 1890 | 17,805 | 39.0% |
| 1900 | 20,644 | 15.9% |
| 1910 | 20,132 | −2.5% |
| 1920 | 20,083 | −0.2% |
| 1930 | 20,306 | 1.1% |
| 1940 | 22,522 | 10.9% |
| 1950 | 20,522 | −8.9% |
| 1960 | 17,217 | −16.1% |
| 1970 | 16,003 | −7.1% |
| 1980 | 16,827 | 5.1% |
| 1990 | 16,953 | 0.7% |
| 2000 | 19,635 | 15.8% |
| 2010 | 20,764 | 5.7% |
| Source: "Wikipedia.org". | ||
Church Records[edit | edit source]
- 1700-1970 - North Carolina, Church Records, 1700-1970 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; index and images
List of Churches and Church Parishes
Court Records[edit | edit source]
Directories[edit | edit source]
Emigration and Immigration[edit | edit source]
Ethnic, Political, and Religious Groups[edit | edit source]
African Americans
- 1862-1870 North Carolina, Freedmen's Bureau Assistant Commissioner Records, 1862-1870 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; index and images
- 1863-1872 North Carolina, Freedmen's Bureau Field Office Records, 1863-1872 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; images only
- 1865-1874 Freedman Bank Records, 1865-1874. Database containing bank records of African-American individuals from all 29 branches of the bank. North Carolina bank locations included Wilmington, Raleigh and New Bern.
Funeral Homes[edit | edit source]
- Blue Ridge Funeral & Cremation Service in Mars Hill
- Madison Funeral Services in Marshall
Genealogies[edit | edit source]
Guardianship[edit | edit source]
Land and Property Records[edit | edit source]
Local Histories[edit | edit source]
Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]
Click a neighboring county
for more resources
for more resources
- Madison County Maps
- FamilySearch Places: Map of cities and towns in this county - How to Use FS Places
Migration[edit | edit source]
Military Records[edit | edit source]
- Madison County Military records (NCGenWeb Archives)
Revolutionary War
- 1778-1833 Delamar Transcripts of Revolutionary War Petitions at North Carolina Genealogical Society - index ($)
- 1779-1782 North Carolina Revolutionary Pay Vouchers 1779-1782 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; index and images
Civil War
- 1861-1865 North Carolina, Civil War Service Records of Confederate Soldiers, 1861-1865 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; index and images
- 1861-1865 North Carolina, Civil War Service Records of Union Soldiers, 1861-1865 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; index and images
- 1861-1865 U.S., Confederate Soldiers Compiled Service Records, 1861-1865 at Ancestry
- 1861-1865 U.S., Union Soldiers Compiled Service Records, 1861-1865 at Ancestry
- 1885 and 1901 1885 and 1901 Confederate Pension Applications at North Carolina Digital Collections - index and images
- 1885-1953 North Carolina, Confederate Soldiers and Widows Pension Applications, 1885-1953 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; index and image
Regiments. Men in Madison County served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Madison County:
- - 2nd Battalion, North Carolina Infantry
- - 2nd Battalion, North Carolina Infantry, Company H
- - 5th Battalion, North Carolina Cavalry, Company A
- - 5th Regiment, North Carolina Senior Reserves, Company G
- - 7th Regiment, North Carolina Cavalry, Company D
- - 16th Regiment, North Carolina Infantry, Company B
World War I
- 1914-1918 World War I Papers at North Carolina Digital Collections - index and images
- 1917-1919 North Carolina, World War I Service Cards, 1917-1919 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; index and images
World War II
- 1939-1945 World Ward II Papers at North Carolina Digital Collections - index and images
- 1940-1948 North Carolina, Discharge and Statement of Service Records, 1940-1948 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; index and images
Naturalization and Citizenship[edit | edit source]
Newspapers[edit | edit source]
- 1799-1893 Madison County marriages (North Carolina Digital Collections). May be included throughout Carrie Broughton's 6-volume index of the Raleigh Register & State Gazette newspaper (1799-1893). Marriages are listed by year and PDF files are searchable.
- Madison county newspapers (Library of Congress). A listing of newspapers published in the county and libraries that hold them. If you find a paper of interest on microfilm, you may be able to request it via Interlibrary Loan with your local public library.
- Madison County residents in the newspaper. Name listing of people from the county as located in misc. newspaper articles; time span varies. Articles indexed in the NC People in the Papers database.
- Madison County deaths. Listing of county area deaths reported in various newspapers; dates range from late 1700s to 1900s.
- North Carolina Newspapers at DigitalNC
Obituaries[edit | edit source]
- Obituaries, from The Record and The French Broad News (an ongoing project by Madison County Genealogical Society).
Other Records[edit | edit source]
Voter Registration
- 1868-1898 - North Carolina, Voter Registration Records, 1868-1898 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; index and images
Periodicals[edit | edit source]
Probate Records[edit | edit source]
Online Probate Indexes and Records
- 1660-1790 North Carolina Will Abstracts 1660-1790 at Ancestry ($)
- 1663-1789 Secretary of State Wills at North Carolina Digital Collections - index and images
- 1663-1978 Wills and Estate Papers (Madison County), 1663-1978(*); at FamilySearch Catalog — images
- 1663-1979 North Carolina Estate Files, 1663-1979 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; index and images
- 1665-1998 North Carolina Wills and Probate Records 1665-1998 at Ancestry ($)
- 1720-1960 Will Books A to F and 1 to 8 (1720-1960) at FamilySearch.org - How to Use this Collection; images only (by County)
- 1735-1970 North Carolina Probate Records 1735-1970 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; images only (by County)
- 1760-1800 North Carolina Will Abstracts 1760-1800 at Ancestry ($)
- 1833-1943 Madison County, North Carolina, Estate Records, 1833-1943; Index 1833-1943(*); Superior Court at FamilySearch Catalog — index & images
- 1851-1952 Will Books A to C (1851-1952) at FamilySearch at FamilySearch.org - How to Use this Collection; images only (by County)
- 1851-1968 Probate Records, 1851-1968(*); Superior Court at FamilySearch Catalog — index & images
- 1851-1969 Record of Wills, 1851-1952; Cross Index to Wills, 1851-1969(*); Superior Court at FamilySearch Catalog — index & images
- 1868-1928 Orders & Decrees, 1868-1928(*); Superior Court at FamilySearch Catalog — index & images
- 1874-1892 Guardian Bonds, 1874-1892(*); Probate Court at FamilySearch Catalog — index & images
- 1874-1914 Apprentice Bonds, 1874-1914(*); Probate Court at FamilySearch Catalog — index & images
- 1917-1968 Guardians Bonds, 1917-1968d(*); Superior Court at FamilySearch Catalog — index & images
- North Carolina Probate Records tips
- Wills and Estate records of Madison County (USGenWeb Archives)
School Records[edit | edit source]
- Mars Hill College yearbooks, from 1917-2011. (NC Digital Heritage Center)
- Madison County College Students. Name list of students at various NC colleges with identified hometowns in the county.
Social Security Records[edit | edit source]
- 1935-2014 United States Social Security Death Index at FamilySearch - How to use this collection; index. Also at Ancestry, findmypast, Fold3, GenealogyBank, MyHeritage, and Steve Morse. Click here for more information.
- 1936-2007 U.S., Social Security Applications and Claims Index, 1936-2007 at Ancestry ($) — index, click here for more information.
Tax Records[edit | edit source]
Vital Records[edit | edit source]
- 1800-2000 - North Carolina, Department of Archives and History, Index to Vital Records, 1800-2000 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; index and images
- Uncertified copies of vital records can be ordered for a small fee from the Register of Deeds.
Birth[edit | edit source]
- 1800-2000 North Carolina Birth Index 1800-2000 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; index
- 1866-1964 North Carolina Births and Christenings 1866-1964 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; index
- 1913-1922 North Carolina, Center for Health Statistics, Vital Records Unit, County Birth Records, 1913-1922 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; index and images
Marriage[edit | edit source]
- 1741-2004 North Carolina, United States Marriages at Findmypast
- 1741-2004 North Carolina Marriage Index 1741-2004 at Ancestry $
- 1759-1979 North Carolina Marriages 1759-1979 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; Index
- 1762-1979 North Carolina, County Marriages, 1762-1979 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; index and images
- 1763-1868 North Carolina, Civil Marriages, 1763-1868 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; index and images
Death[edit | edit source]
- 1898-1994 North Carolina Deaths and Burials, 1898-1994 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; index and images
- 1906-1930 North Carolina Deaths 1906-1930 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; index and images Also at: MyHeritage ($)
- 1908-2004 North Carolina Death Indexes 1908-2004 at Ancestry $
- 1909-1975 North Carolina Death Certificates 1909-1975 at Ancestry $
- 1931-1994 North Carolina Deaths 1931-1994 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; index and images
Divorce[edit | edit source]
- 1926-1975 North Carolina, County Divorce Records, 1926-1975 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; index and images
- 1958-2004 North Carolina Divorce Index 1958-2004 at Ancestry $
Research Facilities[edit | edit source]
Archives[edit | edit source]
Listed below are archives in Madison County. For state-wide archival repositories, see North Carolina Archives and Libraries.
Family History Centers[edit | edit source]
Family History Center and Affiliate Library Locator map - search for local Family History Centers or Affiliate Libraries
- Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance, free access to center-only databases, and to premium genealogical websites.
- FamilySearch Affiliate Libraries have access to most center-only databases, but may not always have full services normally provided by a family history center.
Local Centers and Affiliate Libraries
Libraries[edit | edit source]
Listed below are libraries in Madison County. For state-wide library facilities, see North Carolina Archives and Libraries.
Museums[edit | edit source]
Societies[edit | edit source]
Listed below are societies in Madison County. For state-wide genealogical societies, see North Carolina Societies.
- Buncombe County Genealogical Society
128 Bingham Road, Suite 950
Asheville, NC 28806
Phone: 828-253-1894
Website - Madison County Genealogical Society
PO Box 155
Mars Hill, NC 28754-0155
Website
Websites[edit | edit source]
- [Madison County, NCGenWeb
- FamilySearch Catalog – The FamilySearch catalog contains descriptions and access information for all genealogical materials (including books, online materials, microfilm, microfiche, and publications) in their collection. Use Historical Records to search for specific individuals in genealogical records.
Research Guides[edit | edit source]
References[edit | edit source]
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), North Carolina.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- ↑ https://www.ncpedia.org/geography/madison
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Madison County, North Carolina. Page 510 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Madison County, North Carolina. Page 506-514 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002; Alice Eichholz, ed. Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County, and Town Sources, Third ed. (Provo, Utah: Ancestry, 2004), 505-509.
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), North Carolina.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- ↑ Wikipedia contributors, "Madison County, North Carolina," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Madison_County%2C_North_Carolina, accessed 21 February 2020.
