Macon County, Tennessee Genealogy
(Redirected from Macon County, Tennessee Genealogy)
Jump to navigation
Jump to search
Guide to Macon County, Tennessee ancestry, genealogy and family history, birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
|
| ||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
| ||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
County Information[edit | edit source]
Description[edit | edit source]
Macon County was named the late Revolutionary War veteran and United States Senator, Nathaniel Macon. The county is located in the north-central area of the state.[2]
County Courthouse[edit | edit source]
Macon County Courthouse
106 County Courthouse
Lafayette, TN 37083
County Courthouse Phone: 615-666-2000
County Clerk Phone: 615-666-2333
Circuit Court Clerk Phone: 615-666-2354
Register of Deeds Phone: 615- 666-2353
County Clerk has birth record 1908-1912, marriage record from 1901; probate record from 1900
Clerk Circuit Court has divorce and court records
Register of Deeds has land records[3]
Macon County, Tennessee Record Dates[edit | edit source]
Information for this chart was taken from various sources, often containing conflicting dates. This information should be taken as a guide and should be verified by contacting the county and/or the state government agency.
| Birth* | Marriage | Death* | Court | Land | Probate | Census |
| 1908 | 1901 | 1925 | 1843 | 1901 | 1900 | 1810 |
Record Loss[edit | edit source]
|
1860, 1901, and 1932 Most pre-1900 records have been lost in courthouse fires.[5]
Surviving chancery court records act as a substitute to the lost land and probate records. For suggestions about research in places that suffered historic record losses, see:
|
Boundary Changes[edit | edit source]
For animated maps illustrating Tennessee county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Tennessee County Boundary Maps" (1777-1985) may be viewed at the MapofUS.org website. |
Populated Places[edit | edit source]
For a complete list of populated places, including small neighborhoods and suburbs, visit HomeTown Locator. The following are the most historically and genealogically relevant populated places in this county:[7]
| Cities | ||
| Unincorporated communities | ||
|
|
|
History Timeline[edit | edit source]
Additional Information
Middle Tennessee county established in 1842. Macon County's land belonged to the pioneer Cumberland Settlements.[8]
The county is named after U.S. Senator Nathaniel Macon (1758-1837).[9]
Resources[edit | edit source]
Bible Records[edit | edit source]
Biographies[edit | edit source]
- Douthat, James L. Macon County, Tennessee Biographies. Signal Mountain, Tenn.: Mountain Press. Mountain Press provides online surname list.
Business, Commerce, and Occupations[edit | edit source]
Cemeteries[edit | edit source]
| See Tennessee Cemeteries for more information. | |
Additional Cemetery Resources
- Tennessee Cemeteries - Hometown Locator
Census Records[edit | edit source]
| Historical populations | ||
|---|---|---|
| Census | Pop. | %± |
| 1850 | 6,948 | — |
| 1860 | 7,290 | 4.9% |
| 1870 | 6,633 | −9.0% |
| 1880 | 9,321 | 40.5% |
| 1890 | 10,878 | 16.7% |
| 1900 | 12,881 | 18.4% |
| 1910 | 14,559 | 13.0% |
| 1920 | 14,922 | 2.5% |
| 1930 | 13,872 | −7.0% |
| 1940 | 14,904 | 7.4% |
| 1950 | 13,599 | −8.8% |
| 1960 | 12,197 | −10.3% |
| 1970 | 12,315 | 1.0% |
| 1980 | 15,700 | 27.5% |
| 1990 | 15,906 | 1.3% |
| 2000 | 20,386 | 28.2% |
| 2010 | 22,248 | 9.1% |
| Source: "Wikipedia.org". | ||
1850, 1860, 1870, 1880, 1900, 1910, 1920, 1930, and 1940 federal population censuses of Macon County are available online. For tips on accessing census records online, see Tennessee Census. If you're having trouble finding your ancestors in online indexes, try checking printed indexes. Created by local experts familiar with the area's families, these indexes are often transcribed more accurately than nationwide online indexes.
See Tennessee Population Schedule Indexes: Fiche, Film, or Book for more information about statewide printed indexes.
See Macon County, TN census assignments, including links to transcribed files. The USGenWeb Census Project®
1810-1891
1850
- Cothron, Judy M., ed. Macon County Tennessee, 1850 & 1860 Census. Lafayette, Tennessee: Macon County Historical Society, 1997. FHL 976.8484 X2c
- Porch, Deane. Macon County, Tennessee, 1850 Census. Franklin, Tennessee: L.G. Lynch, 19-?. FHL 976.8484 X2p 1850
1860
- Cothron, Judy M., ed. Macon County Tennessee, 1850 & 1860 Census. Lafayette, Tennessee: Macon County Historical Society, 1997. FHL 976.8484 X2c
1870
- Cothron, Judy M., ed.Macon County, Tennessee, 1870 & 1880 Census.Lafayette, Tennessee Macon County Historical Society, 1995. FHL 976.8484 X2m 1870-1880
1880
- Cothron, Judy M., ed.Macon County, Tennessee, 1870 & 1880 Census.Lafayette, Tennessee Macon County Historical Society, 1995. FHL 976.8484 X2m 1870-1880
- Sistler, Byron H. and Barbara Sistler. 1880 census, Macon County, Tennessee. Nashville, Tennessee B. Sistler & Associates, 1993. FHL 976.8484 X2s 1880
1890 Lost, but substitutes are available:
- Reed, Sue S. Enumeration of Male Inhabitants of Twenty-one Years of Age and Upward, Citizens of Tennessee, January 1, 1891, as Provided for by an Act of General Assembly of Tennessee, Passed January 15, 1891, and Approved January 22, 1891. 8 vols. Houston, Texas: S.S. Reed, 1989. FHL US/CAN Book 976.8 X2r v. 6 1891. Macon County is included in Vol. 6.
- Sistler, Byron H. and Barbara Sistler. 1890 Civil War Veterans Census, Tennessee. Evanston, Ill.: Byron Sister and Associates, 1978. FHL US/CAN Book 976.8 X2s 1890.
1891 Male Voters
1900
- Crumpton, Barbara. 1900 Census, Macon County, Tennessee.Duncan, Oklahoma: Creative Copies, 1988. FHL 976.8484 X2c 1900
- Pryor, Mary C. Macon County, Tennessee 1900 & 1910 Census. Lafayette, Tennessee: Macon County Historical Society, 2004. FHL 976.8484 X2pm 1900-1910
1910
- Pryor, Mary C. Macon County, Tennessee 1900 & 1910 Census. Lafayette, Tennessee: Macon County Historical Society, 2004. FHL 976.8484 X2pm 1900-1910
1920
- Young, Denise, ed. Macon County, Tennessee Census, 1920 (database on-line). Provo, UT, USA: The Generations Network, Inc., 1999. Available at Ancestry ($).
- Macon County, Tennessee Census, 1920 at Ancestry ($)
Church Records[edit | edit source]
Church records include baptisms, marriages and burials, as well as information about family members and clues about family migration. For additional information about church records, religions, and religious archives in Tennessee, see Tennessee Church Records.
- Macon County Church Records
- FamilySearch Catalog - Macon County Church Records
- Church histories tell when a church started in the area, who the early members were, give data about church leaders, etc.
- FamilySearch Catalog - Macon County Church History
- If the records you need are not through the Family History Library, contact the church(es) in the area where your ancestor lived. Two sites that give information about churches in Macon County are:
- List of Macon County churches with addresses and phone numbers (Yellowbook)
- List of Macon County churches (TN HomeTownLocator)
- List of Macon County churches with addresses and phone numbers (Yellowbook)
Baptist
- 1831-1928 - Hillsdale Baptist Church Records. Macon County, 1831-1928. Manuscript. TSLA Reel #215. FHL 570855 Item 3. Formerly the East Fork of Goose Creek Church.
- 1831-1900 - Sistler, Byron and Barbara Sistler. Vital Statistics from 19th Century Tennessee Church Records. Nashville: Sitler and Associates, 1979. vol. 1 FHL 976.8 K29s Index to original Hillsdale Baptist Church Records. Macon County, 1831-1928.
- 1841-1883 Hastings, Patricia G. Into His Marvelous Light: the Minutes of the Siloam Missionary Baptist Church, 1841-1883. Nashville, Tennessee: P.G. Hastings, 1988. FHL 976.8484 K2h
Court Records[edit | edit source]
- 1844-1860 SourtheasternGenealogy.com Chancery Court Minutes ($)
- 1845-1855 SourtheasternGenealogy.com Superior Court Records - Execution Docket ($)
Law and Legislation
- Tennessee State Library and Archives, Acts of Tennessee 1796-1850: Index to Names. January 25, 2005. In addition to creating new laws, legislative acts were often required to obtain a divorce, grant legitimacy to a child, or for appointments to or grant payments for public service. The TSLA has created an index to names that appear in these acts covering the years 1796 to 1850. Online searchable index at TSLA.
Directories[edit | edit source]
Emigration and Immigration[edit | edit source]
Ethnic, Political, and Religious Groups[edit | edit source]
Funeral Homes[edit | edit source]
Genealogies[edit | edit source]
- Macon County Tennessee Historical Society. Macon County, Tennessee: History and Families. Paducah, Ky.: Turner Pub. Co., 2001. FHL US/CAN Book 976.8484 H2m.
- Macon County Historical and Genealogical Society. Macon Roots: A Record of the Families of Macon County, Tennessee in 1850. n.p.: Ridge Runner, 2008. FHL US/CAN Book 976.8484 D2m.
- Masters, Jack and Bill Puryear. Founding of the Cumberland Settlements: The First Atlas 1779-1804: Showing Who Came, How They Came, and Where They Put Down Roots. Gallatin, Tenn.: Warioto Press, 2009. FHL US/CAN Large Q Book 976.8 E7d. Supplements: FHL US/CAN Book 976.8 E7d supp. 1 ff.
- Ballew - Ballew, David L. Ancestors of Leonard Ballew. West Palm Beach, Fla.: D.L. Ballew, 1987? FHL FAM HIST Book 929.273 B212b.
- Cragon - Cragon, Henry D., Harvey Allen Cragon, Miller Murray Cragon, and James Alexander Cragon. Tennessee Cragons and Their Kinfolk. [Birmingham, Alabama?: H.D. Cragon], 1974. FHL FAM HIST Book 929.273 C843c.
- Doss - Murphy, Nathan W. Descendants of Azariah Doss and His Wife Lydia (Ayres) Doss. Hanson, Ky.: David W. Murphy and Associates, 1998. FHL FAM HIST Book 929.273 D741m
Guardianship[edit | edit source]
Land and Property Records[edit | edit source]
- Land Grants. Online index to 1500+ Pioneer Cumberland Settlements Land Grants at Cumberland Pioneer Settlers. The Cumberland Settlements region covered what is now this county. FHL US/CAN Large Q Book 976.8 E7d.
Local Histories[edit | edit source]
- Blankenship, Harold G. History of Macon County, Tennessee. n.p.: H.G. Blankenship, 1986. FHL US/CAN Book 976.8484 H2b.
- Roddy, Vernon On the early story of Red Boiling Springs, Tennesse with selected supporting materials Hartsville, Tennessee V. Roddy, 1991 (Murfreesboro, Tennessee Ambassador Print) FHL US/CAN book 976.8484 H2rv
Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]
Click a neighboring county
for more resources
for more resources
Migration[edit | edit source]
Military Records[edit | edit source]
War of 1812
- Embry, Hermione D. "War of 1812 - Tennessee Pensioners on List - January 2, 1883," Ansearchin' News, Vol. 8, No. 1 (Jan. 1961):20-23. FHL US/CAN Book 976.8 B2a v. 8 (1961); digital version at Ansearchin' News archives at Tennessee Genealogical Society. Includes Macon County pensioners (p. 21).
Civil War
Online Records
- 1861-1865 Tennessee, Civil War Service Records of Confederate Soldiers, 1861-1865 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection
- 1861-1865 Tennessee, Civil War Service Records of Union Soldiers, 1861-1865 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection
- 1861-1865 - U.S., Confederate Soldiers Compiled Service Records, 1861-1865 at Ancestry
- 1861-1865 - U.S., Union Soldiers Compiled Service Records, 1861-1865 at Ancestry
- 1861-1865 U.S., Civil War Soldier Records and Profiles, 1861-1865 at Ancestry
- 1891-1965 Tennessee, Confederate Pension Applications, Soldiers and Widows, 1891-1965 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection
- Civil War Soldiers and Sailors System
Regiments. Men in Macon County served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (part of a large regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Macon County:
Confederate Soldiers
- 20th Regiment, Tennessee Infantry - CSA
- 24th Regiment, Tennessee Infantry - CSA - Company C.
- 30th Regiment, Tennessee Infantry - CSA - Company G.
- 44th Regiment, Tennessee Infantry - CSA - Company H.
- 55th Regiment, Tennessee Infantry (McKoin's) - CSA- Henry B. Day, unlettered company
Union Soldiers
- 1st Regiment, Tennessee Mounted Infantry - Company E.
- 8th Regiment, Tennessee Mounted Infantry - Companies A and D.
Additional sources for Civil War soldiers from Macon County:
- McMurray, William Joseph. History of the 20th Tennessee Regiment Volunteer Infantry, C.S.A. Nashville, Tennessee: s.p., 1904. Free digital copy.
- USGenWeb Archives, Macon County Tennessee Archives. Military Pensions.
- Tennessee State Library and Archives, Tennessee Confederate Pension Applications: Macon County. Includes soldier's name, county, pension #, unit or widow.
- United States Pension Bureau, List of Pensioners on the Roll January 1, 1883: Giving the Name of Each Pensioner, the Cause for... (Washington Printing Office; 1883). Online at Internet Archive. Macon County, page 361-362.
Naturalization and Citizenship[edit | edit source]
Newspapers[edit | edit source]
- Gregory, Charles Cal's Column-Macon County Times. Transcription Cal's Column.
- Many Tennessee newspapers are filmed and available at the TSLA. Most of these newspapers may be accessed by interlibrary loan to libraries within Tennessee, although there are some newspapers which are not available in or outside of Tennessee. For further information regarding interlibrary loan policies and newspapers not available for interlibrary loan click here. For a list of newspapers available at the archives for Macon County click on the following cities:
- 1794-1851 - Lucas, Silas Emmett. Marriages from Early Tennessee Newspapers 1794-1851. Easley, S.C.: Southern Historical Press, 1978. FHL 976.8 V2L.
- 1847 - 1851 - Smith, Jonathan K.T. Genealogical Abstracts from Reported Deaths, the Nashville Christian Advocate. [1847-1914] 10 vols. [Jackson, Tenn.]: J.K.T. Smith, 1997-2003. FHL US/CAN Books 976.855/N1 V48s 1847-1851 ff; digital versions at David Donahue Memorial: Tennessee Records Repository. Website expands upon the publications and includes deaths from the 1830s, 1840s, 1910s and 1920s. (Largely Methodist?)
Obituaries[edit | edit source]
Other Records[edit | edit source]
Prisons[edit | edit source]
- 1831-1850 Inmates of the Tennessee State Penitentiary 1831-1850 at Tennessee State Library and Archives
- 1851-1870 Inmates of the Tennessee State Penitentiary 1851-1870 at Tennessee State Library and Archives
Periodicals[edit | edit source]
Genealogical periodicals can contain unique sources and can be local, regional, or statewide. The following periodicals cover this county:
- Ansearchin' News: Quarterly magazine of the Tennessee Genealogical Society. For a keyword search, go to the county index. Read previous issues on their website; FHL Book 976.8 B2a.
- Makin' History: Newsletter of the Macon County, Tennessee, Historical Society: The Family History Library hasVolume 1- present. FHL US/CAN Book 976.8484 B2n
Indexed in PERiodical Source Index
- The Middle Tennessee Journal of Genealogy and History: Quarterly magazine of the Middle Tennessee Genealogical Society. For surnames, use the volume-by-volume index, or do a keyword search of the Article Index. FHL US/CAN Book 976.85 D25m.
Probate Records[edit | edit source]
The Macon County Court and County Clerk have responsibility for probate records.
Online Records and Indexes
- 1779-2008 Tennessee Wills and Probate Records 1779-2008 at Ancestry ($)
- 1946-1977 Macon County portion of Tennessee, Probate Court Books, 1795-1927 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; handwritten indexes may be found at the front or back of some volumes.
Book Abstracts and Indexes
- Macon County (Tennessee) County Clerk and Tennessee State Library and Archives (Nashville, Tennessee) Macon County, Tennessee wills, ca. 1946-1977 Nashville, Tennessee Filmed by the Tennessee State Library and Archives, 1988. FHL US/CAN film 1928767 item 6
School Records[edit | edit source]
Social Security Records[edit | edit source]
- 1935-2014 United States Social Security Death Index at FamilySearch - How to use this collection; index. Also at Ancestry, findmypast, Fold3, GenealogyBank, MyHeritage, and Steve Morse. Click here for more information.
- 1936-2007 U.S., Social Security Applications and Claims Index, 1936-2007 at Ancestry ($) — index, click here for more information.
Tax Records[edit | edit source]
Book Abstracts and Indexes[10]
- 1789 Cumberland Settlements, Tax List, 1789, The Middle Tennessee Journal of Genealogy and History, Vol. 4, No. 2 (Fall 1990). For possible FHL and online access, as well as indexes, seePeriodicals. Includes area that later became Macon County.
- 1868 Taxpayers, 3rd District, 1868, Macon County Historical Society Newsletter, Vol. 8, No. 2 (Summer 1992).
Vital Records[edit | edit source]
Birth[edit | edit source]
- 1908-1912 Tennessee, Birth Records (ER Series), 1908-1912 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection
Marriage[edit | edit source]
Online indexes and Records
- 1625-1966 Tennessee, United States Marriages at Findmypast ($)
- 1780-2002 - Tennessee State Marriages, 1780-2002 Tennessee State Marriages, 1780-2002 ($).
- 1780-2002 Tennessee State Marriage Index 1780-2002 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection
- 1790-1962 Tennessee County Marriages, 1790-1950 - at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection. Covers all counties in Tennessee.
- 1796-1950 Tennessee Marriages 1796-1950 (Indexes only) at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection
- 1838-1888 Tennessee Civil Marriages, 1838-1888 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection
- 1851-1900 Tennessee Marriages 1851-1900 at Ancestry ($)
- 1980-2014 Marriage Records Index 1980-2014 at Shelby County Register of Deeds - index
Book Abstracts and Indexes
- 1901-1994 Macon County, Tennessee Bonds and Marriages. FHL Book 976.8484 V2m 2 volumes
Death[edit | edit source]
- 1874-1955 Tennessee Deaths and Burials 1874-1955 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection
- 1908-1933 Tennessee Deaths, 1908 - 1933 at MyHeritage ($) — index
- 1908-1958 Tennessee Death Records 1908 - 1958 at Ancestry ($)
- 1908-1912 Tennessee Death Records 1908-1912 at Tennessee State Library & Archives - index
- 1914-1933 Tennessee Death Records 1914-1933 at Tennessee State Library & Archives - index
- 1914-1966 Tennessee Deaths, 1914-1966 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection
- 1949-2014 Death Records Index 1949-2014 at Shelby County Register of Deeds - index
Divorce[edit | edit source]
Online Records
- 1796-1850 Acts of Tennessee 1796-1850 at Tennessee State Library & Archives - index
- 1980-2014 Divorce Records Index 1980-2014 at Shelby County Register of Deeds - index
Online Titles
- W.P.A. Guide to Public Vital Statistics in Tennessee. Nashville, Tenn.: The Tennessee Historical Records Survey, 1941. FamilySearch Digital Library
Research Facilities[edit | edit source]
Archives[edit | edit source]
Listed below are archives in Macon County. For state-wide archival repositories, see Tennessee Archives and Libraries.
Family History Centers[edit | edit source]
Family History Center and Affiliate Library Locator map - search for local Family History Centers or Affiliate Libraries
- Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance, free access to center-only databases, and to premium genealogical websites.
- FamilySearch Affiliate Libraries have access to most center-only databases, but may not always have full services normally provided by a family history center.
Local Centers and Affiliate Libraries
- Cookeville Tennessee Family History Center
- Crossville Tennessee Family History Center
- Jamestown Tennessee Family History Center
- Art Circle Public Library - an affiliate library.
- Tennessee State Library and Archives - an affiliate library.
Libraries[edit | edit source]
Listed below are libraries in Macon County. For state-wide library facilities, see Tennessee Archives and Libraries.
Macon County Public Library
311 Church St.
Lafayette, TN 37083
Phone: 615-666-4340
Fax: 615-666-8932
Website
Red Boiling Springs Branch Library
335 East Main Street
Red Boiling Springs, TN 37150
Phone: 615-699-3701
Museums[edit | edit source]
Societies[edit | edit source]
Listed below are societies in Macon County. For state-wide genealogical societies, see Tennessee Societies.
Macon County Historical Society
111 East Locust Street
P.O. Box 231
Lafayette, TN 37083
Phone: 615-688-6247
Email: mcths2019@gmail.com
Website
Facebook
Websites[edit | edit source]
- Cumberland Pioneer Settlers Cumberland Compact Signers, Pioneer Land Grant Recipients, Publication Descriptions, Free Book Indexes
- Macon County, TNGenWeb (USGenWeb)
- Rootwalker: Genealogy Pages for Northern Middle TN Free Genealogy Resources for the Region
- Macon County TN Genealogy (ldsgenealogy.com)
- FamilySearch Catalog – The FamilySearch catalog contains descriptions and access information for all genealogical materials (including books, online materials, microfilm, microfiche, and publications) in their collection. Use Historical Records to search for specific individuals in genealogical records.
Research Guides[edit | edit source]
- "Research in Macon County," The Middle Tennessee Journal of Genealogy and History, Vol. 6, No. 3 (Winter 1993). For possible FHL and online access, as well as indexes, see Periodicals.
- Genealogical "Fact Sheets" About Tennessee Counties: Macon County, courtesy: TSLA. (Identifies published county histories, published local records, census records, newspapers and local records on microfilm, and select manuscripts.)
References[edit | edit source]
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Tennessee.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- ↑ Wikipedia contributors, "Macon, Tennessee", accessed 27 Dec 2018
- ↑ The Handybook for Genealogists : United States of America, 10th ed., (Draper, UT: Everton Publishers, 2002) Macon County, Tennessee, p.641
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Tennessee.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- ↑ Lost Records: Courthouse Fires and Disasters in Tennessee in Tennessee State Library and Archives in Tennessee Secretary of State.
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Tennessee.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- ↑ Wikipedia contributors, "Macon County, Tennessee," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Macon_County,_Tennessee, accessed 2 December 2019.
- ↑ Founding of the Cumberland Settlements: The First Atlas 1779-1804.
- ↑ "Nathaniel Macon", Wikipedia.
- ↑ The Heritage Quest Online version of PERSI aided in the compilation of this list.