Lyon County, Nevada Genealogy
Guide to Lyon County, Nevada ancestry, genealogy and family history, birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
| ||||||||||||||||||||||||
County Information[edit | edit source]
Description[edit | edit source]
The county was named for General Nathaniel Lyon who died in the Civil War in Missouri in 1860.[2] It is located in the west central area of the state.[3]
County Courthouse[edit | edit source]
Lyon County Courthouse
27 S Main Street
PO Box 816
Yerington, NV 89447
Phone: 775-577-5043
Lyon County Website
County Recorder has marriage and land records from 1862.
County Clerk has divorce, probate and court records from 1890.[1]
Lyon County, Nevada Record Dates[edit | edit source]
Information for this chart was taken from various sources, often containing conflicting dates. This information should be taken as a guide and should be verified by contacting the county and/or the state government agency.
| Birth* | Marriage | Death* | Court | Land | Probate | Census |
| 1887 | 1862 | 1887 | 1890 | 1862 | 1890 | 1850 |
Record Loss[edit | edit source]
There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.
Boundary Changes[edit | edit source]
- Parent County: created 25 November 1861 as an original county
- County Seat: Yerington [1]
- Interactive Formation Boundary Map of Nevada - shows boundary changes for Nevada Counties
- Nevada Historical Boundary Changes - list of all boundary changes by county provided by Newberry Library
Populated Places[edit | edit source]
For a complete list of populated places, including small neighborhoods and suburbs, visit Hometown Locator. The following are the most historically and genealogically relevant populated places in this county:[5]
| Cities | ||
|
||
| Unincorporated communities | ||
|
|
|
| Census-designated places | ||
Locations previously posted to this location:
|
|
History Timeline[edit | edit source]
Resources[edit | edit source]
Bible Records[edit | edit source]
Listed below are resources for Bible records specific to Lyon County. To find more resources, go to the Nevada Bible Records page.
Biographies[edit | edit source]
Business, Commerce, and Occupations[edit | edit source]
Cemeteries[edit | edit source]
The following web site has additional information on Lyon county cemeteries.
- US Vol. 5 page 274 - Dayton Graveyard (mistaken listed under Storey County)
- US Vol. 5 page 282 - Silver City Cemetery (mistaken listed under Storey County)
Census Records[edit | edit source]
| Historical populations | ||
|---|---|---|
| Census | Pop. | %± |
| 1870 | 1,837 | — |
| 1880 | 2,409 | 31.1% |
| 1890 | 1,987 | −17.5% |
| 1900 | 2,268 | 14.1% |
| 1910 | 3,568 | 57.3% |
| 1920 | 4,078 | 14.3% |
| 1930 | 3,810 | −6.6% |
| 1940 | 4,076 | 7.0% |
| 1950 | 3,679 | −9.7% |
| 1960 | 6,143 | 67.0% |
| 1970 | 8,221 | 33.8% |
| 1980 | 13,594 | 65.4% |
| 1990 | 20,001 | 47.1% |
| 2000 | 34,501 | 72.5% |
| 2010 | 51,980 | 50.7% |
| Source: "Wikipedia.org". | ||
The first enumeration for Nevada before it was a state in 1864, was in the 1850 Census in both New Mexico and Utah Territories, but the area had not been divided into counties. Those living there may be in the Utah 1851 Census. For 1860, Nevada was again enumerated in New Mexico and Utah Territories. [6] A partial state census exists for Nevada in 1862 and 1863 and a full state census exists for 1875. [7] See links listed below.
State and Territory Census Records[edit | edit source]
- 1850 United States Census, 1850 at FamilySearch Historical Records — index and images; Nevada was included in both the 1850 New Mexico and Utah Territory Censuses. - How to Use this Collection
- 1860 United States Census, 1860 at FamilySearch Historical Records — index and images; Nevada was included in both the 1860 New Mexico and Utah Territory Censuses. - How to Use this Collection
- 1860 Nevada, Compiled Census Index, 1860-1910 at Ancestry ($), index
- 1862-1863 1862-1863 Nevada Territory Tax List - Index
- 1875 Nevada State Census, 1875 at Ancestry ($), index
Federal Census Records[edit | edit source]
Federal Censuses were taken for the state of Nevada starting in 1870. Although, those living in south-eastern Nevada in 1870 may be enumerated in Utah or Arizona because of disputed boundaries with Nevada.[8] For links to Federal Census indexes, see Nevada Census.
Church Records[edit | edit source]
Most church records are held by individual churches. For contact information, check a phone directory, such as SearchBug or Dex Knows. Some denominations are gathering their records into a central repository. For more information about these major repositories, see Nevada Church Records.
List of Churches and Church Parishes
Court Records[edit | edit source]
Directories[edit | edit source]
- 1868-1869 Nevada Directory 1868-1869 at Ancestry ($), index only, includes settlers of Nevada.
Emigration and Immigration[edit | edit source]
Ethnic, Political, and Religious Groups[edit | edit source]
Funeral Homes[edit | edit source]
- Freitas Rupracht Funeral Home in Yerington
Genealogies[edit | edit source]
Guardianship[edit | edit source]
Land and Property Records[edit | edit source]
The county recorder's office keeps land records once the land was transferred to private ownership. Abstracts and indexes for these records are generally available at the county courthouse.
In the FamilySearch Catalog, land records for Nevada are listed in the Place Search under: NEVADA, Lyon – LAND AND PROPERTY
- 1796-1907 U.S. General Land Office Records, 1796-1907 at Ancestry - index, info taken from Bureau of Land Management website.
- 1863-1908 U.S. Homestead Records 1863-1908 at Ancestry ($), index and images
- Land Patent Search - index to federal patents and homesteads on the Bureau of Land Management website, some images available.
For more information see Nevada Land and Property
Local Histories[edit | edit source]
County histories may include biographies of early settlers and residents, church and school information, and local military regiments at the time of publication.
- Southern Lyon County, 1893. c1986. By Mary Ann Miller. At various libraries(WorldCat).
Online County Histories
- Mason Valley News, Yerington, Lyon, Nevada: Marriages and Deaths 1969-1972 Newspaper Clippings. N.d. N.p:n.p. Online at FamilySearch Digital Library; At various libraries(WorldCat).
Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]
for more resources
- FamilySearch Places: Map of cities and towns in this county - How to Use FS Places
- Interactive Formation Boundary Map of Nevada - shows boundary changes for Nevada Counties
- Historical Maps and Atlases of Nevada - maps and atlases of Nevada
Migration[edit | edit source]
Early migration routes to and from Lyon County, Nevada Genealogy for emigrant settlers included:
|
- California Trail 1844 to 1869 from western Missouri to northern California[9]
- Truckee (River) Trail 1844 crossed the Forty Mile Desert to the Truckee River to follow it west past Reno, Nevada to Donner Pass to Emigrant Gap to Sutter's Fort (Sacramento, California). The exact route varied over the years, the most used being the Nevada City Road and Auburn Emigrant Road combination.
- Carson (River) Trail 1848 (aka Mormon Emigrant Trail) crossed the Forty Mile Desert past the west side of the Carson Sink to pick up the Carson River near Fallon, Nevada up to Hope Valley and Red Lake. The Devil's Ladder then climbed 700 feet (210 m) in half a mile so ropes, chains, and pulleys were required to lift the wagons. Carson Pass was followed by the relatively easy West Pass (Kirkwood, California) and then on to Pollock Pines, Placerville, and Sutter's Fort, California
- Walker River-Sonora Road 1852-1854 from the Carson Trail south to the Walker River along the base of the Sierra Nevada until it ascends to Sonora Pass and then down to Strawberry and Sonora, California
- Central Pacific Railroad since 1869 from Ogden, Weber County, Utah Genealogy to Sacramento, California[10]
- Central Overland Trail 1859-1869 from Salt Lake City, Salt Lake County, Utah Genealogy to Carson City, Nevada through central Nevada on a route south of the Humboldt River][11]
Military Records[edit | edit source]
Online Collections[edit | edit source]
These collections are unique to Nevada. You will find nationwide databases for military records on U.S. Military Online Genealogy Records and Nevada Military Records.
Civil War
- 1861-1865 Nevada, Civil War Service Records of Union Soldiers, 1861-1865 at FamilySearch — index- How to Use this Collection
- 1863-1866 Nevada Civil War Volunteers, 1863-1866 ($) at Ancestry — index
World War I
World War II
- Nevada Casualties of World War II
- 1940-1945 - Nevada, World War II Draft Registration Cards,1940-1945 at FamilySearch — index and images- How to Use this Collection
Korea War
- Nevada Military Killed in Action in Korea
- U.S. Military Fatal Casualties of the Korean War for Nevada
Vietnam War
- Nevada Military Killed in Action in Vietnam
- The Vietnam Veterans Memorial - Nevada
- Vietnam Conflict Casualty Lists - Nevada
Other Conflicts
For further information see Nevada Military Records.
Naturalization and Citizenship[edit | edit source]
Please see the Nevada Naturalization and Citizenship page for state-wide information.
Online Naturalization Indexes and Records
- 1956-1991 Nevada, Naturalization Petitions, 1956-1991 at Ancestry($), index.
Newspapers[edit | edit source]
For more information, see Nevada Newspapers.
- GenealogyBank ($), contains images of Nevada newspapers
- Newspaper Archive ($), contains images of Nevada newspapers
- Chronicling America - contains images of some Nevada newspapers; searching tips
- Elephind - Free; search engine that retrieves newspaper images from other free newspaper websites
- U.S. Newspaper Directory, 1690-Present on Chronicling America - contains a list of all known newspapers and the dates they cover; once you locate a newspaper name, contact the local library to see if they have copies of the newspaper
Obituaries[edit | edit source]
Other Records[edit | edit source]
Periodicals[edit | edit source]
Probate Records[edit | edit source]
Probate records may include, wills, bonds, petitions, accounts, inventories, administrations, orders, decrees, and distributions. They may include the decedent’s date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, etc. See Nevada Probate Records for additional information.
School Records[edit | edit source]
Social Security Records[edit | edit source]
- 1935-2014 United States Social Security Death Index at FamilySearch - How to use this collection; index. Also at Ancestry, findmypast, Fold3, GenealogyBank, MyHeritage, and Steve Morse. Click here for more information.
- 1936-2007 U.S., Social Security Applications and Claims Index, 1936-2007 at Ancestry ($) — index, click here for more information.
Tax Records[edit | edit source]
Nevada tax records complement land records and can be used to supplement the years between censuses. There may be gaps of several years in the tax records. Most tax records can be obtained from the county treasurer or assessor. For more information, see the wiki page Nevada Taxation. The Family History Library does not have copies of Nevada tax records (as of June 2013).
Vital Records[edit | edit source]
Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents.
A copy or an extract of most Nevada original records can be purchased from the Nevada Department of Health and Human Services or the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred. See also Nevada Vital Records. For information about restrictions and costs for certificates, see the CDC Where to Write for Vital Records site.
Birth[edit | edit source]
- 1871-1992 Nevada County Birth and Death Records, 1871-1992 at FamilySearch — index and images- How to Use this Collection
- 1975-2012 Nevada Birth Index 1975-2012 at Ancestry ($)
Marriage[edit | edit source]
- 1809-2011 Western States Marriage Index, 1809-2011 - Index, incomplete, list of counties included
- 1862-1992 Nevada County Marriages, 1862-1993 at FamilySearch — index and images- How to Use this Collection
- 1956-2005 Nevada Marriage Index 1956-2005 at Ancestry ($)
Death[edit | edit source]
- 1871-1992 Nevada County Birth and Death Records, 1871-1992 at FamilySearch — index and images- How to Use this Collection
Divorce[edit | edit source]
- 1968-2015 Nevada Divorce Records 1968-2015 at Ancestry ($)
Research Facilities[edit | edit source]
Archives[edit | edit source]
Listed below are archives in Lyon County. For state-wide archival repositories, see Nevada Archives and Libraries.
Family History Centers[edit | edit source]
Family History Center and Affiliate Library Locator map - search for local Family History Centers or Affiliate Libraries
- Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance, free access to center-only databases, and to premium genealogical websites.
- FamilySearch Affiliate Libraries have access to most center-only databases, but may not always have full services normally provided by a family history center.
Local Centers and Affiliate Libraries
- Fernley Nevada Family History Center
- Silver Springs Nevada Family History Center
- Yerington Nevada Family History Center
Libraries[edit | edit source]
Listed below are libraries in Lyon County. For state-wide library facilities, see Nevada Archives and Libraries.
Dayton Valley Branch Library
321 Dayton Valley Rd
Dayton, NV 89403
Phone: 775-246-6212
Website
Smith Valley Public Library
22 Day Ln
Wellington, NV 89444
Phone: 775-465-2369
Website
Central Library
20 Nevin Way
Yerington, NV 89447
Phone: 775-463-6645
Website
Museums[edit | edit source]
Societies[edit | edit source]
Listed below are societies in Lyon County. For state-wide genealogical societies, see Nevada Societies.
Wellington Historical Society
PO Box 36
Wellington, NV 89444
Fort Churchill Chapter
Daughters of the American Revolution
Fernley, NV
Website
Nevada State Genealogical Society
PO Box 20666
Reno, NV 89515-0666
Website
Clark County Nevada Genealogy Society
PO Box 1929
Las Vegas, NV 89125-1929
Website
Nevada Historical Society
1650 North Virginia Street
Reno, NV 89503
Phone: 775-688-1190
Fax: 775-688-2917
Website
Tri-State Genealogical Society
For Arizona, California, Nevada
PO Box 21902
Bullhead City, AZ 86439
Website
Websites[edit | edit source]
- Lyon County at Cyndi's List — a comprehensive, categorized & cross-referenced list of links that point you to genealogical research sites online
- Lyon County at Genealogy Trails — volunteer transcriptions of genealogical and historical data
- Lyon County at Nevada USGenWeb - free online resources for genealogical research
- Lyon County at Nevada USGenWeb Archives - free online data for genealogical research
- Lyon County, Nevada at Linkpendium - genealogy and family history
- Lyon County, Nevada Genealogy at LDSGenealogy.com - collection of links by state, county, city, and record type
- FamilySearch Catalog The FamilySearch catalog contains descriptions and access information for all genealogical materials (including books, online materials, microfilm, microfiche, and publications) in their collection. Use Historical Records to search for specific individuals in genealogical records.
Research Guides[edit | edit source]
References[edit | edit source]
- ↑ 1.0 1.1 1.2 Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Lyon County, Oregon page 442, At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- ↑ Genealogy Trails History Group, “Lyon County, Nevada Genealogy and History”, http://genealogytrails.com/nev/lyon/ accessed 3/27/2017.
- ↑ Wikipedia contributors, "Lyon County," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Lyon_County,_Nevada 3/27/2017.
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Lyon County, Nevada. Page 442. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002; Alice Eichholz, ed. Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County, and Town Sources, Third ed. (Provo, Utah: Ancestry, 2004), 428.
- ↑ Wikipedia contributors, "Lyon County, Nevada," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Lyon_County%2C_Nevada accessed 17 March 2017.
- ↑ William Thorndale and William Dollarhide, Map Guide to the U.S. Federal Censuses (Bountiful, UT: American Genealogical Lending Library, 1985), page 211.
- ↑ ’'Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), 437. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002; Alice Eichholz, ‘’Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County and Town Sources,’’ 3rd ed. (Salt Lake City: Ancestry, 2004), 422. Free online version; FHL Book 973 D27rb 2004; WorldCat entry.
- ↑ William Thorndale and William Dollarhide, Map Guide to the U.S. Federal Censuses (Bountiful, UT: American Genealogical Lending Library, 1985), page 212.
- ↑ National Park Service, "California Trail" (map) in California National Historic Trail at http://www.nps.gov/cali/planyourvisit/upload/CALImap1-web.pdf (accessed 2 August 2011).
- ↑ Wikipedia contributors, "First Transcontinental Railroad" in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia at http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/First_Transcontinental_Railroad (accessed 2 August 2011).
- ↑ Wikipedia contributors, "Central Overland Route" in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia at http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Central_Overland_Route (accessed 4 August 2011).
| ||||||||||||
