Lunenburg County, Virginia Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Guide to Lunenburg County, Virginia ancestry, genealogy and family history, birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

County Facts
County seat: Lunenburg
Organized: 01 May 1746[1]
Parent County(s): Brunswick
Variant Spellings: Lunenburgh[2]
Neighboring Counties
Brunswick  • Charlotte  • Mecklenburg  • Nottoway  • Prince Edward
See County Maps
Courthouse
VirginiaLunenburgCourthouse.jpg
Location Map
Location of Lunenburg County, Virginia.png
Adoption

County Information[edit | edit source]

Description[edit | edit source]

Lunenburg County is located in the south-central portion of the Commonwealth of Virginia and was named for the former Duchy of Brunswick-Lünenburg.[3]

County Courthouse[edit | edit source]

Luneburg County Courthouse
11435 Courthouse Road
Lunenburg, VA 23952
Phone: 434-696-2132
Luneburg County Website

Clerk Circuit Court has marriage, divorce, probate and land records from 1746[4]

Lunenburg County, Virginia Record Dates[edit | edit source]

Information for this chart was taken from various sources, often containing conflicting dates. This information should be taken as a guide and should be verified by contacting the county and/or the state government agency.

Known Beginning Dates for Major County Records[5]
Birth* Marriage Death* Court Land Probate Census
1853 1746 1853 1746 1746 1746 1810
* Statewide registration for births and deaths began in 1912.
General compliance year is unknown.

Record Loss[edit | edit source]

  • There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.
  • Lost censuses: 1790, 1800, 1890

For suggestions about research in places that suffered historic record losses, see:

Boundary Changes[edit | edit source]

Populated Places[edit | edit source]

For a complete list of populated places, including small neighborhoods and suburbs, visit HomeTown Locator. The following are the most historically and genealogically relevant populated places in this county:[8]

Towns
Unincorporated communities
Census-designated places


History Timeline[edit | edit source]

The county was named after the Duchy of Brunswick-Lunenburg, which is located in modern-day Germany.

Resources[edit | edit source]

Bible Records[edit | edit source]

For databases and indexes, see Virginia Bible Records.

Biographies[edit | edit source]

Business, Commerce, and Occupations[edit | edit source]

Cemeteries[edit | edit source]

Cemeteries of Lunenburg County, Virginia online and in print
Tombstone Transcriptions Online
Tombstone Transcriptions in Print (Often more complete)
List of Cemeteries in the County
See Virginia Cemeteries for more information.

 

Census Records[edit | edit source]

For databases, indexes, and information online, see Virginia Census.

Historical populations
Census Pop.
1790 8,959
1800 10,381 15.9%
1810 12,265 18.1%
1820 10,662 −13.1%
1830 11,957 12.1%
1840 11,055 −7.5%
1850 11,692 5.8%
1860 11,983 2.5%
1870 10,403 −13.2%
1880 11,535 10.9%
1890 11,372 −1.4%
1900 11,705 2.9%
1910 12,780 9.2%
1920 15,260 19.4%
1930 14,058 −7.9%
1940 13,844 −1.5%
1950 14,116 2.0%
1960 12,523 −11.3%
1970 11,687 −6.7%
1980 12,124 3.7%
1990 11,419 −5.8%
2000 13,146 15.1%
2010 12,914 −1.8%
Source: "Wikipedia.org".

1890 Union Veterans

Church Records[edit | edit source]

List of Churches and Church Parishes

Baptist
Early Baptist churches (with years constituted):

  1. Cedar Creek (1779)[9]
  2. Flatrock (1805)[9]
  3. Meherrin (1771)[9]. 1771 list of original members has been published.[10] Marriages 1771-1773 have been published: Southsider, Vol. 2, No. 1 (Winter 1983). A history was published in Virginia Baptist Register, Issue 15 (1976) and a 1774 note in the same publication, Issue 10 (1971).
  4. Reedy Creek (1775)[9]
  5. Tussekiah (1777)[9]
  • 1776 Petition of Baptists (10,000 names!) and sympathizers from all over Virginia, dated 16 October 1776, asking for an end to persecution of Baptists by the established church. After locating your ancestor, view the digital copies.
    – Digital copies at Library of Congress; also at Library of Virginia using the code word "000606093"
    – Hall, Jean Pickett. "Legislative Petitions: the 10,000 name petition" transcription in the Magazine of Virginia Genealogy, Vols. 35-38, with annotations in Vol. 39, (Richmond, Virginia: Virginia Genealogical Society, 1983-) online at Ancestry ($) and in book form at various libraries.
    Lunenburg County fell within the bounds of the Meherrin Association.

Church of England
Gotoarrow.png See also Cornwall Parish
Gotoarrow.png See also Cumberland Parish
Gotoarrow.png See also St. James's Parish

Meade's 1861 history of parishes in Lunenburg County is available online.[11]

Christian

  • Bockstruck, Lloyd DeWitt. "Deaths from the Records of Perseverance Christian Church in Lunenburg County," The Virginia Genealogist, Vol. 24, No. 4 (Oct.-Dec. 1980):301-302. Available at FHL; online at American Ancestors by NEHGS ($).

Court Records[edit | edit source]

Online Court Indexes and Records

  • Library of Virginia's Virginia Memory: Chancery Records Index can be used to search for Lunenburg County chancery records for the years 1743-1921. Records can be found on microfilm, at the Clerk's Office or in original format at the Library of Virginia (suits marked "ORIGINAL" in the index are only available at the Library of Virginia).

Directories[edit | edit source]

Emigration and Immigration[edit | edit source]

For databases and immigrant groups, see Virginia Emigration and Immigration

  • List of imported servants and transported convicts from Europe who served labor terms in Colonial Virginia are online at: Immigrant Servants Database.

Ethnic, Political, and Religious Groups[edit | edit source]

African American

Search the Library of Virginia's Virginia Untold collection for digitized records related to African Americans of Lunenburg County.

Funeral Homes[edit | edit source]

Genealogies[edit | edit source]

Compiled Genealogies by Surname

A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z

Compiled Genealogies for Multiple Families

Guardianship[edit | edit source]

Land and Property Records[edit | edit source]

For land indexes, records, and databases, see Virginia Land and Property, including Colonial and State Land Grants.

Online Land Indexes and Records

Grants and Patents
Land patents (pre-1779), land grants (after 1779) and surveys are available online at the Library of Virginia website. For step-by-step instructions on retrieving these records, read the Virginia Land and Property article.

Local Histories[edit | edit source]

  • 1660-1800 Virginia Marriages 1660-1800 at Ancestry — index ($)
  • Bell, Landon Covington. The Old Free State: A Contribution to the History of Lunenburg County and Southside Virginia. Richmond, Virginia: W. Byrd Press, 1927. Two volumes available at FHL; digital version at Ancestry ($); and World Vital Records ($) Volume 1 and Volume 2.

Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]

County and state maps, historical and more current, are valuable research tools. For map collections, online and in libraries, see Virginia Maps.

Charlotte CountyPrince Edward CountyNottoway CountyBrunswick CountyMecklenburg CountyVA LUNENBURG.PNG
Click a neighboring county
for more resources

Migration[edit | edit source]

  • Clay, Robert Y. "Some Delinquent Taxpayers 1787-1790," The Virginia Genealogist, Vol. 20, No. 3 (Jul.-Sep. 1976):199-208; Vol. 22, No. 1 (Jan.-Mar. 1978):43-50. Available at FHL; online at American Ancestors by NEHGS ($). [These records identify migrants who left the county and often their intended destinations. Lunenburg County's 1789 Delinquent List appears on 20:202-204; 1787 Delinquent List appears on 22:46.]
  • Elliott, Katherine B. Emigration to Other States from Southside Virginia. 2 vols. South Hill, Virginia: K.B. Elliott, 1966. Vol. 1 of original edition available at FHL; 1983 reprints (both volumes) available at FHL; 1990-1992 reprints (both volumes) also available at FHL. [Includes individuals who migrated out of Lunenburg County to other parts of the country.]

Bell published records of Lunenburg County residents who migrated to South Carolina:

  • Bell, Mary McCampbell. "Some Migrations from Virginia to South Carolina," The South Carolina Magazine of Ancestral Research, Vol. 9, No. 3 (Summer 1981):143-144; Vol. 10, No. 2 (Spring 1982):70-77; Vol. 11, No. 2 (Spring 1983):97-102; Vol. 12, No. 1 (Winter 1984):19-21. FHL Book 975.7 B2sc v. 10-12

Military Records[edit | edit source]

French and Indian War

  • Bockstruck, Lloyd DeWitt. Virginia's Colonial Soldiers. Baltimore: Genealogical Publishing Co., 1988. Available at FHL. [Identifies some Lunenburg County militia officers, soldier enlistments, and veterans; see place name index.]
  • Boogher, William F. Gleanings of Virginia History: An Historical and Genealogical Collection, Largely from Original Sources. Washington: n.p., 1903. Available at FHL; digital version at Google Books. [Includes a chapter titled "Legislative Enactments connecting the preceding historic sketch [French and Indian War, Lord Dunmore's War] with the adjudication of the resulting accounts that follow; with the list of officers, soldiers and civilians entitled to compensation for military and other services rendered." For Lunenburg County, see pp. 89-95, 112.]
  • 1651-1776 Crozier, William Armstrong. Virginia Colonial Militia 1651-1776. Baltimore: Southern Book Co., 1954. Available at FHL US/CAN Book 975.5 M2c; digital book at Ancestry ($). Identifies some County militia officers and soldiers; see place name index.


Revolutionary War

  • A Census of Pensioners for Revolutionary or Military Services: With their Names, Ages, and Places of Residence, as Returned by the Marshalls of the Several Judicial Districts, Under the Act for Taking the Sixth Census]. 1841. Digital version at Google Books et. al. 1967 reprint: FHL Collection 973 X2pc 1840. [See Virginia, Eastern District, Lunenburg County on page 131.]
  • Rejected or Suspended Applications for Revolutionary War Pensions. Washington, D.C., 1852. Reprinted by Genealogical Publishing Co., Inc., 1969, and 1991. Reprints include "an Added Index to States." FHL Book 973 M24ur; digital version at Ancestry ($). Includes veterans. Virginia section begins on page 238.

Regiments. Service men in Lunenburg County served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Lunenburg County supplied soldiers for the:

- 6th Virginia Regiment
- 14th Virginia Regiment (3rd Company)[12]

Lunenburg residents' participation in the Revolutionary War.[13]

War of 1812

  • Douthat, James L. Roster of War of 1812, Southside, Virginia. Signal Mountain, Tenn.: Mountain Press, 2007. Mountain Press provides online surname list. FHL Collection 975.5 M2djL. Includes Lunenburg County.
  • War of 1812 the 6th Virginia Militia was Lunenburg County, Virginia
  • List of Pensioners on the Roll, January 1, 1883; Giving the Name of Each Pensioner, the Cause for Why Pensioned, the Post-Office Address, the Rate of Pension Per Month, and the Date of Original Allowance... Washington, D.C.: Government Printing Office, 1883. FHL Collection 973 M2Lp v. 5; digital versions at Google Books and Internet Archive. See Vol. 5, Virginia, Lunenburgh County [sic], p. 89. Identifies War of 1812 veterans living in this county in 1883.

Regiments. Lunenburg County men served in the 73rd Regiment.[14]

Civil War

Regiments. Civil War service men in Lunenburg County served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed here:

- 9th Regiment, Virginia Cavalry (Confederate). Company G (Lunenburg Light Dragoons).[15]
- 20th Regiment, Virginia Infantry (Confederate). Company B (The Pryor Rifle Company) and Company C (The Flat Rock Riflemen or Loch Leven Rangers).[16]
- 59th Regiment, Virginia Infantry (Confederate). Company H2 (Lunenburg Heavy Artillery).[17]


World War II

Naturalization and Citizenship[edit | edit source]

Online Naturalization Indexes and Records

Newspapers[edit | edit source]

For online newspaper resources, see the Virginia Newspapers page.

Indexed images of the Virginia Gazette (1736-1780) are available online through the Colonial Williamsburg website. In addition, Professor Tom Costa and The Rector and Visitors of the University of Virginia have created a database of all runaway advertisements for slaves, indentured servants, transported convicts, and ship deserters listed in this source and other Virginia newspapers (1736-1803), see: The Geography of Slavery in Virginia. These newspapers are valuable resources for all regions of Virginia.

Obituaries[edit | edit source]

Other Records[edit | edit source]

Periodicals[edit | edit source]

Probate Records[edit | edit source]

For probate records, indexes, and databases, see Virginia Probate Records.

Online Probate Indexes and Records

  • Elliott, Katherine B. Early Wills, 1746-1765, Lunenburg County, Virginia. South Hill, Virginia: K.B. Elliott, 1967. Available at FHL. Reviewed in The Virginia Genealogist, Vol. 11, No. 3 (Jul.-Sep. 1967):137. Review available at FHL; online at American Ancestors by NEHGS ($).
  • Digital Images of Lunenburg County Wills 1810-1818; 1818-1826. See names of Testators. Virginia Pioneers
  • 1639-1850 Virginia Land, Marriage and Probate Records 1639-1850 at Ancestry — index, incomplete ($)
  • 1810-1818;1818-1826 Images of Wills at Virginia Pioneers ($).
  • Images of Wills, Inventories, Accounts 1745-1762, No 1; 1762-1778, No 2; 1778-1791, No 3; 1791-1799, No 4; 1800-1802, No 5; 1802-1809, No 6 Virginia Pioneers.net($)
  • Guardian Accounts 1791-1798; 1798-1810; 1828-1851 Virginia Pioneers.net($)

School Records[edit | edit source]

Social Security Records[edit | edit source]

Tax Records[edit | edit source]

For additional online collections and the value and use of Virginia's tax lists in your research, see Virginia Taxation.

Online Tax Indexes and Records

  • 1748-1783 Bell, Landon C. Sunlight on the Southside: Lists of Tithes, Lunenburg County, Virginia, 1748-1783. Philadelphia, Pennsylvania: George S. Ferguson, 1931. Available at FHL; digital version available under "Tax Lists" at Lunenburg County, VA USGenWeb Archives census genealogy.
  • 1749 Morton, W.S. "Lunenburg County Tithable List Taken by William Caldwell in 1749," William and Mary College Quarterly, 2nd Series, Vol. 11 (1931):55-58. Available at FHL; reprinted in Virginia Tax Records. Baltimore: Genealogical Publishing Co., Inc., 1983, which is also available at FHL; digital version at JSTOR ($).
  • 1782-1835 Lunenburg County Personal Property Tax Lists 1782-1835 (images); digital version in Tax List Club at Binns Genealogy ($).
  • 1782, 1785 T.L.C. Genealogy. Lunenburg County, Virginia Personal Property Tax Lists 1782 & 1785. Miami Beach, Florida: TLC Genealogy, 1992. Available at FHL.
  • 1782 Fothergill, Augusta B. and John Mark Naugle. Virginia Tax Payers, 1782-87, Other Than Those Published by the United States Census Bureau. 1940; reprint, Baltimore: Genealogical Publishing Co., Inc., 1978. Available through the FamilySearch Catalog ; FHL. [1782 personal property tax list of Lunenburg County.]
  • 1782-1807 Heinegg, Paul. "Lunenburg County Personal Property Tax List, 1782-1807," Free African Americans.com. [Heinegg abstracted free blacks listed in these records.]
  • 1783 - Personal Property (or Land) Tax List, 1783; index online at Revolutionary War Service website - free.
  • 1783-1784 Lunenburg County 1783-1784 Tax List. FHL book 975.5643 R4 or microfiche.
  • 1787 Schreiner-Yantis, Netti and Florene Speakman Love. The 1787 Census of Virginia: An Accounting of the Name of Every White Male Tithable Over 21 Years, the Number of White Males Between 16 & 21 Years, the Number of Slaves over 16 & Those Under 16 Years, Together with a Listing of Their Horses, Cattle & Carriages, and Also the Names of All Persons to Whom Ordinary Licenses and Physician's Licenses Were Issued. 3 vols. Springfield, Va.: Genealogical Books in Print, 1987. Available at FHL. [The source of this publication is the 1787 personal property tax list. Lunenburg County is included in Vol. 2.]
  • 1787, 1789 Clay, Robert Y. "Some Delinquent Taxpayers 1787-1790," The Virginia Genealogist, Vol. 20, No. 3 (Jul.-Sep. 1976):199-208; Vol. 22, No. 1 (Jan.-Mar. 1978):43-50. Available at FHL; online at American Ancestors by NEHGS ($). [These records identify migrants who left the county and often their intended destinations. Lunenburg County's 1789 Delinquent List appears on 20:202-204; 1787 Delinquent List appears on 22:46.]
  • 1789 Indexed images of the 1789 Personal Property Tax List of Lunenburg County, Virginia are available online, courtesy: Binns Genealogy.
  • 1800 Tax List, 1800, Virginia Genealogist, Vol. 38, No. 3 (Jul. 1994); Vol. 38, No. 4 (Oct. 1994); Vol. 39, No. 1 (Jan. 1995). Available at FHL.
  • 1803 Images of the 1803 Personal Property Tax List of Lunenburg County, Virginia are available online, courtesy: Binns Genealogy.
  • 1815 Ward, Roger D. 1815 Directory of Virginia Landowners (and Gazetteer). 6 vols. Athens, Georgia: Iberian Pub. Co., 1997-2000. Available at FHL. [The source for this publication is the 1815 land tax. Lunenburg County is included in Vol. 2.]

Vital Records[edit | edit source]

For additional indexes, databases, and details, see Virginia Vital Records.

Birth[edit | edit source]

Marriage[edit | edit source]

Death[edit | edit source]

Divorce[edit | edit source]

Research Facilities[edit | edit source]

Archives[edit | edit source]

Listed below are archives in Lunenburg County. For state-wide facilities, see Virginia Archives and Libraries.

Family History Centers[edit | edit source]

Family History Center and Affiliate Library Locator map - search for local Family History Centers or Affiliate Libraries

  • Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance, free access to center-only databases, and to premium genealogical websites.
  • FamilySearch Affiliate Libraries have access to most center-only databases, but may not always have full services normally provided by a family history center.

Local Centers and Affiliate Libraries

Libraries[edit | edit source]

Listed below are libraries in Lunenburg County. For state-wide library facilities, see Virginia Archives and Libraries.

Museums[edit | edit source]

Societies[edit | edit source]

Listed below are societies in Lunenburg County. For state-wide genealogical and historical societies, see Virginia Societies.

Websites[edit | edit source]

  • FamilySearch Catalog – The FamilySearch catalog contains descriptions and access information for all genealogical materials (including books, online materials, microfilm, microfiche, and publications) in their collection.  Use Historical Records to search for specific individuals in genealogical records.

Research Guides[edit | edit source]

  • "A Guide to the Counties of Virginia: Lunenburg County," The Virginia Genealogist, Vol. 16, No. 3 (Jul.-Sep. 1972):219-221. Available at FHL; online at American Ancestors by NEHGS ($).

References[edit | edit source]

  1. Newberry
  2. List of Pensioners on the Roll, January 1, 1883; Giving the Name of Each Pensioner, the Cause for Why Pensioned, the Post-Office Address, the Rate of Pension Per Month, and the Date of Original Allowance... (Washington, D.C.: Governnment Printing Office, 1883), 89. Digital versions at Google Books and Internet Archive.
  3. https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Lunenburg_County,_Virginia
  4. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Iowa.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  5. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Iowa.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  6. Newberry
  7. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Iowa.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  8. Wikipedia contributors, "Lunenburg County, Virginia," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia,https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Lunenburg_County,_Virginia#Communities accessed 15 February 2020.
  9. 9.0 9.1 9.2 9.3 9.4 Robert Baylor Semple and George William Beale, A History of the Rise and Progress of the Baptists in Virginia (Pitt and Dickinson, 1894), 287. Digital version at Google Books.
  10. Lloyd DeWitt Bockstruck, "Meherrin Baptist Church, Lunenburg County, Virginia," The Virginia Genealogist, Vol. 21, No. 3 (Jul.-Sep. 1977):225-226. FHL; online at American Ancestors by NEHGS ($). [List of original members dated 1771.]
  11. William Meade, Old Churches, Ministers and Families of Virginia, 2 vols. (Philadelphia: J.B. Lippincott and Co., 1861). Digital versions at Internet Archive: Vol. I and Vol. II.
  12. E.M. Sanchez-Saavedra, A Guide to Virginia Military Organizations in the American Revolution, 1774-1787 (Richmond, Va.: Virginia State Library, 1978), 71. FHL Book 975.5 M2s.
  13. J.T. McAllister, Virginia Militia in the Revolutionary War: McAllister's Data (Hot Springs, Va.: McAllister Pub. Co., 1913), 37. Digitized by Internet Archive.
  14. Stuart Lee Butler, A Guide to Virginia Militia Units in the War of 1812 (Athens, Ga.: Iberian Pub. Co., 1988), 131. FHL Book 975.5 M2bs.
  15. Robert K. Krick, 9th Virginia Cavalry (Lynchburg, Va.: H.E. Howard, c1982). FHL Book 975.5 M2vr v. 2.
  16. G.L. Sherwood and Jeffrey C. Weaver, 20th and 39th Virginia Infantry (Lynchburg, Va.: H.E. Howard, c1994). FHL Book 975.5 M2vr v. 105.
  17. G.L. Sherwood and Jeffrey C. Weaver, 59th Virginia Infantry (Lynchburg, Va.: H.E. Howard, 1994). FHL Book 975.5 M2vr v. 107.